Mirrored

  • Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: May 22, 2007
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 177

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. desert
    Aug 9, 2007
    0
    This record is as stupid as I am. Me the ugly duck. Saddest loser in The Netherlands.
  2. MikeN
    Oct 5, 2007
    3
    I had high hopes for this album after reading reviews saying that they are reinventing music, etc. This is an extremely repetitive album. The band made one cool beat for each song, and played it over and over for 4, 5, or even 10 minutes, adding more and more instruments every few bars. The only thing that was remotely impressive was the drumming, but the Mars Volta pulls that style off I had high hopes for this album after reading reviews saying that they are reinventing music, etc. This is an extremely repetitive album. The band made one cool beat for each song, and played it over and over for 4, 5, or even 10 minutes, adding more and more instruments every few bars. The only thing that was remotely impressive was the drumming, but the Mars Volta pulls that style off 500X better. Overall a boring, repetitive, and at times annoying album. Expand
  3. JamesM.
    Oct 23, 2007
    2
    I don't know why everyone raves about this album. Maybe its just because one person thought it was cool and new so everyone started liking it. I don't like this genre, but even inside this genre there are albums far better than this. (eg grizzly bears yellow house) This album will not be remember after this year.
  4. DAron
    May 26, 2007
    2
    Ever heard of Mindless self indulgence?????. Yup and they do it better.....
  5. BillH
    May 28, 2007
    0
    This is a joke, right? Please God? They're fu**ing with us aren't they? This is a Yes album. Repeat. This is a Yes album. Aaargh... what's going on? Just to be clear here: it's a piece a s**t. Got that? A complete piece of S**T!
  6. ChrisW
    May 29, 2007
    1
    This CD is way too computerized and over-layered with sound. There's a line that is drawn when you're experimenting with music and sounds... and this CD is not even close to the border... it's so far beyond listenable that it's annoying. I gave it a 1 based on the creativeness that they offer. If you were looking for the NEXT Sound to come about... this is NOT it.
  7. MarcE.
    Jun 20, 2007
    1
    I'll be the first to admit my review may not be fair. The Battles music is far from my favorite genre. I am not even sure what "math rock" is, but I have heard a lot of electronic music that I find much more enjoyable. This I found unlistenable. This is not a review for fans of the genre, this is a warning for non-fans not to be too intrigued by the high ratings from reviewers that I'll be the first to admit my review may not be fair. The Battles music is far from my favorite genre. I am not even sure what "math rock" is, but I have heard a lot of electronic music that I find much more enjoyable. This I found unlistenable. This is not a review for fans of the genre, this is a warning for non-fans not to be too intrigued by the high ratings from reviewers that are jaded by the old and embrace anything new. Believe me I embrace a lot of new, but not these guys. Expand
  8. PaulM
    Jun 22, 2007
    0
    Math Rock? How about Geek Rock.
  9. Scottb
    Jun 3, 2007
    0
    I really wanted to like this album, but it's so bad...
  10. GabeJ
    Jul 28, 2007
    2
    An unlistenable record with far more bleeps and bloops than good ideas. Stanier's immense talent is wasted thanks Ian Williams' "tricks," which are more tedious than even "American Don." Pretentious, boring, awful, and embarrassingly overrated. Rock fans steer clear; this isn't rock.
  11. SeanW
    Aug 18, 2007
    0
    This album is terrible. I listened to it once and will not touch it again. This is not music. This is just noise.
  12. JustinG
    Aug 3, 2007
    0
    Is this for real? It's sounds like my 2yr old nephew was playing around with my drum machine, keyboard, and guitar, and he threw in some fisher price toy beeps and he came up with this trash. I consider myself cutting edge, but this is def trying way too hard to be different. Common, this is just plain silly.
  13. luke
    Sep 25, 2007
    2
    I bought this album, listened to it, and thought it was boring. It's pretty uneventful. I think this album was created for the sake of the poster inside. Hardly any creativity. It does not go anywhere. Beware.
  14. AlanP
    Mar 9, 2008
    2
    The worst album I bought in 2007, complete toss.
  15. GCB
    Dec 2, 2007
    2
    Jesus wept.
  16. ThomG
    May 21, 2007
    0
    It is pretty much flawless, expressing the type of music any computer could create. Too bad there isn't any soul in the album. Don't be expecting any life to jump from the plastic of this compact.
  17. johnr
    May 22, 2007
    0
    just a bunch of worthless noise, cold and calculated math rock, and the novelty wears off after the first listen when you begin longing for some real heart in the music.
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Alternative Press
    90
    At times, the effect is akin to hearing Tortoise and Animal Collective covering the Steve Reich and Devo catalogs in tandem; but such reference points barely do justice to an album that just halfway through 2007, is already topping the year's best-of list in multiple genres. [Jun 2007, p.151]
  2. Battles combine the power of hard rock with an experimental aesthetic.
  3. Urb
    90
    Every song on the 52-minute masterpiece builds and bridges until everything self-destructs and the only thing left to do is dance. [May 2007, p.92]