Misery Is A Butterfly

  • Record Label: 4AD
  • Release Date: Mar 23, 2004
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ToshiakiA
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    These Critics don't know what they are talking about. This group and this album is a masterpiece. 50 my ***.
  2. John
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    This is a haunting album that stays with you for days. I found myself listening to it over an over again and couldn't put it away. Best Blonde Redhead album yet.
  3. jyotirmayad
    Jan 21, 2006
    9
    yoko ono recommended this cd to me. when i first heard it, it reminded me of some of the goth stuff i used to listen to in the 90s, but it was of better quality. a welcome addition to my cd collection. i love it.
  4. SeanH
    Mar 18, 2004
    9
    perhaps not this underrated band's best but a solid album
  5. fermer
    Apr 9, 2004
    10
    The best 4AD album in years!
  6. MartyS.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    An album of absolute wonder ......... can't get enough!
  7. AnnaR
    Mar 25, 2004
    8
    It's goodtimes.
  8. [Anonymous]
    May 23, 2004
    10
    I love every single song on this album.
  9. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    I discovered The band with this album. I Never heard about them before despite of their big reputation and I think that this helped me to see this work as a masterpiece because, at that time, i had nothing else to compare this work with. What impacted me the most was the production of most of the tracks. A sort of despairing pompous barroque style with so intense arrangements like theI discovered The band with this album. I Never heard about them before despite of their big reputation and I think that this helped me to see this work as a masterpiece because, at that time, i had nothing else to compare this work with. What impacted me the most was the production of most of the tracks. A sort of despairing pompous barroque style with so intense arrangements like the dramatic chords that reminded me of the Gainsbourg "Je t´aime moi non plus" era, clavichords, cheap synths. Heartbreaking most of the times. I remember that i was wondering how they managed to create something so sad and at the same time so beautiful. I still dig this piece of work nowadays although i have to say that after discovering other of their works i think that lp like melody of certain damaged lemons or the in expression of the inepressible are much more powerfull works even if the production is much more focused on this dirty indie sound that was so cool in the 90´s. I really think that Blonde redhead was a feverish young band that wanted to be a matured and confirmed one. Most of the people was expecting the same rage and not this wonderfull melancholy. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Filter
    86
    Misery doesn't step forward so much as expand outward; roughly half of the album... sounds as if it could've been lifted off of Melody. The other half is purely visceral. [#10, p.91]
  2. A bang-up mix of electronic song structure and guitar impressionism.
  3. The album's soft-focus allows Blonde Redhead to explore its relatively newfound romanticism more deeply than before... but with less tension between the fragile and harsh aspects of the band's sound, its soft-focus occasionally drifts into lack of focus.