Misery Is A Butterfly - Blonde Redhead
Misery Is A Butterfly Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Misery' is the first 4AD release for the noisy, experimental indie rockers, who have mellowed/refined their sound a bit to fit their new label.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Arguably the best album in their career.
  2. 80
    They've carved a bleak and beautiful album; their best, in fact. [May 2004, p.106]
  3. The album is something of a wash, packing a less potent dose of Makino but an extra kick of Pace.
  4. Despite the increased emphasis on production, like Blonde Redhead's entire catalogue, the chirping, child-like cords of lead vocalists Amedeo Pace and Kazu Makino act as the essential ingredient to the bands avant-garde concoction.
  5. 75
    [Has a] swirling spy-movie ambience. [Jun 2004, p.108]
  6. 70
    It works, mainly: though one or two songs could benefit from the old viciousness, these are seductive confections. [Apr 2004, p.104]
  7. Blonde Redhead haven't run out of ideas, but Misery strips them of their eccentricities so thoroughly that the few that remain sound out of place.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. ToshiakiA
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    These Critics don't know what they are talking about. This group and this album is a masterpiece. 50 my ***.
  2. MartyS.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    An album of absolute wonder ......... can't get enough!
  3. fermer
    Apr 9, 2004
    10
    The best 4AD album in years!
  4. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    I discovered The band with this album. I Never heard about them before despite of their big reputation and I think that this helped me to seeI discovered The band with this album. I Never heard about them before despite of their big reputation and I think that this helped me to see this work as a masterpiece because, at that time, i had nothing else to compare this work with. What impacted me the most was the production of most of the tracks. A sort of despairing pompous barroque style with so intense arrangements like the dramatic chords that reminded me of the Gainsbourg "Je t´aime moi non plus" era, clavichords, cheap synths. Heartbreaking most of the times. I remember that i was wondering how they managed to create something so sad and at the same time so beautiful. I still dig this piece of work nowadays although i have to say that after discovering other of their works i think that lp like melody of certain damaged lemons or the in expression of the inepressible are much more powerfull works even if the production is much more focused on this dirty indie sound that was so cool in the 90´s. I really think that Blonde redhead was a feverish young band that wanted to be a matured and confirmed one. Most of the people was expecting the same rage and not this wonderfull melancholy. Expand
  5. SeanH
    Mar 18, 2004
    9
    perhaps not this underrated band's best but a solid album
  6. jyotirmayad
    Jan 21, 2006
    9
    yoko ono recommended this cd to me. when i first heard it, it reminded me of some of the goth stuff i used to listen to in the 90s, but it yoko ono recommended this cd to me. when i first heard it, it reminded me of some of the goth stuff i used to listen to in the 90s, but it was of better quality. a welcome addition to my cd collection. i love it. Expand
  7. kellyw
    Oct 20, 2005
    2
    this record reminds me of the memory of the taste of this giant feast in a reoccuring dream; the savory liquids of the turkeys and hams this record reminds me of the memory of the taste of this giant feast in a reoccuring dream; the savory liquids of the turkeys and hams turned out to be saliva cakes on my pillow. I used to love this band but thier preciousness is wearing thin; warm production and some strings can't save this lackluster record that is harmonically placid. Like the Catherine Wheel they started on fire though not knowing what they were doing or where they were going; the more they figure it out the less i want to hear thier music. Collapse

See all 11 User Reviews