Mississauga Goddam - The Hidden Cameras
Mississauga Goddam Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the sophomore LP (third, if you count their debut demo collection) for the Toronto band led by Joel Gibb.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 83
    Only later do you realize the cotton candy you've been enjoying is wrapped around a dildo. [Nov 2004, p.118]
  2. While The Smell of Our Own sounded joyful even when wiping pee out of its eyes, there is a note of anger throughout Mississauga Goddam.
  3. A worthy endeavour from one of the most important bands alive.
  4. Even though Mississauga Goddamn isn't completely without flaw -- some of Gibb's lyrical and compositional choices are pretty obvious, for one thing -- it allows you, for a little while, at least, to escape from the everyday world.
  5. To revise a debut with only a slightly more effective result is nevertheless disappointing for all of their fans awaiting an album as moving as their live show.
  6. There's a newfound sense of poignancy that overrides much of Mississauga's patchwork nihilism.
  7. Gibb's style is frustratingly monotonic. [Sep 2004, p.119]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. RudigerS
    Feb 18, 2005
    It's very good.
  2. JoeH
    Feb 9, 2005
    I'm surprised by the low critic scores. It took me a while to get this album, but after playing a few tracks on my radio show I wanted it. I can't compare it to their debut album, as I have not heard it, but this album is pop bliss. I smile and sing when I play this CD. I would not allow myself to write something so cheesy for any other band that I like right now. I believe in the good of the Hiddren Cameras. Expand
  3. susol
    Oct 4, 2004
    fantástico!! un disco lleno de hits... y de buen rollo!!