• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Aug 29, 2006
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 265 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 265

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SienaK.
    Oct 10, 2007
    3
    boring, crude toward women
  2. RonaldN
    Oct 25, 2006
    3
    Sorry, I am a great Bob Dylan fan but this did not impress me at all. I would not have purchased it if I had heard it previously. I really love his earlier works.
  3. warsawX
    Sep 2, 2006
    3
    If this album would have appeared under an unknown songwriter
  4. sorenh
    Sep 27, 2006
    0
    Present this to someone who does not know who Bob Dylan is, and he will tell you how trivial this piece really is. Dylan has a message, but it is not musical.
  5. SallyH
    Aug 29, 2006
    3
    Generic Starbucks blues, quite uninspiring and dull. Strictly for the old folks.
  6. DavidJ
    Sep 18, 2006
    1
    Only just about OK as background sub-muzak. Utterly undeserving of good reviews. I simply don't care if I never hear this over-praised pastiche again.
  7. ARthurD.
    Jun 1, 2007
    1
    Man, this stuff is tired and lazy. Move along, nothing to see.
  8. tryrtyrtrtyrtyrt
    Nov 27, 2006
    1
    he cant sing
  9. MartinL
    Oct 16, 2006
    1
    This is trivial music
  10. PierreT
    Oct 16, 2006
    1
    I agree, this is not a 10. Too much hype.
  11. [Anonymous]
    Aug 26, 2006
    3
    this album will undoubtedly receive drooling reviews from critics... but just like every other Dylan album since Desire, it will have no staying power and is.. well, lame.
  12. joeb
    Sep 22, 2006
    2
    Boring.
  13. jackL
    Sep 7, 2006
    0
    im bringing down the ratings
  14. BurtJ
    Nov 2, 2006
    1
    Another disappointment from one of the great minds of the 60s. We should have listened to him fifty years ago when his brain was fresh and he said he had no idea why he wrote his songs.
  15. RH
    Aug 28, 2006
    2
    Heh, I agree exactly with the [Anonymous] reviewer. Desire was his last great effort and everything since is a crushing bore. I'll pass on listening to this former great mumble some nonsense over sluggish, generic rock. Another Dylan album receiving praise for no reason.
  16. TomS
    Sep 13, 2006
    2
    Can't see what all the fuss is about, and I LOVED Love & Theft: it had a bold, edgy, full-bodied, rockin' sound and every song is great and memorable. The people who say he hasn't done anything worthwhile since Desire are just plain mentally-defective. This one, however seems totally amorphous and the songs all tend to run into one another like one big blob of tedium. I Can't see what all the fuss is about, and I LOVED Love & Theft: it had a bold, edgy, full-bodied, rockin' sound and every song is great and memorable. The people who say he hasn't done anything worthwhile since Desire are just plain mentally-defective. This one, however seems totally amorphous and the songs all tend to run into one another like one big blob of tedium. I love Bob so I'll continue to give it another chance from time to time but at this point it seems to me the flood of rave reviews is just desperation for something, ANYTHING of substance, which in the current pure drivel-inclined musical climate, is understandable. Expand
  17. AlexS
    Jan 13, 2007
    1
    I dun get y dis bitch is all popular. He sux and he's uglieee!!!
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 100
    Love And Theft was quite unlike any other pop album--apart, that is, from Modern Times, its direct and audacious sequel. [Sep 2006, p.72]
  2. Intriguing, immediate, and quietly epic, Modern Times must rank among Dylan's finest albums.
  3. It's hard to hear Modern Times' music over the inevitable standing ovation and the thuds of middle-aged critics swooning in awe. When you do, you find something not unlike its predecessor, Love and Theft.