• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Aug 29, 2006
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 264 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 264

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. dave
    Dec 26, 2006
    5
    Dylan has some amazing albums and for critics to give this anything close to a 10 it degrades his truly remarkabe work
  2. SienaK.
    Oct 10, 2007
    3
    boring, crude toward women
  3. BronachJ
    Feb 26, 2007
    5
    No where near his best. Sounds laike a tribute to (the greast) J.J. and if I want to listen to J.J. Cale I buy his albums ..... Time Out Of Mind is much better
  4. manolissporidis
    Oct 1, 2006
    8
    maybe not a masterpiece, but definitely an album you can listen to again and again. a perfect musical companion for autumn, winter, spring and summer to come, dylan & band enjoy music like noone else and they show it here!!
  5. GregorioB
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    At first listen I was not as crazy and agreeable with all the hype and build up for this new work from iPod Bob. Having opened the bottle and letting it breath a bit, I would put it right up there with the last two jewels of '97 and '01. After seeing the songs done live, especially 'Nettie Moore', I realized how good this almbum really is, and how much shelf life it At first listen I was not as crazy and agreeable with all the hype and build up for this new work from iPod Bob. Having opened the bottle and letting it breath a bit, I would put it right up there with the last two jewels of '97 and '01. After seeing the songs done live, especially 'Nettie Moore', I realized how good this almbum really is, and how much shelf life it will have for Uncle Bob. His voice has lived a number lives, and he still is able to get it out there and tell us a new story or two! Expand
  6. RonaldN
    Oct 25, 2006
    3
    Sorry, I am a great Bob Dylan fan but this did not impress me at all. I would not have purchased it if I had heard it previously. I really love his earlier works.
  7. WadeT
    Oct 3, 2006
    8
    Modern Times like a wise grandfather talking to his grandchildren, at times exciting, at time depressing, but always undeniably impressive while still not cool. Dylan's most impressive quality is his acceptance of his place as a senior statesman in music whose goal seem to be about maintaining quality as opposed to creating a new energy. Therefore this is not his best record, nor is Modern Times like a wise grandfather talking to his grandchildren, at times exciting, at time depressing, but always undeniably impressive while still not cool. Dylan's most impressive quality is his acceptance of his place as a senior statesman in music whose goal seem to be about maintaining quality as opposed to creating a new energy. Therefore this is not his best record, nor is it attempting to be, but the kids none-the-less would be wise to listen. Expand
  8. Brian
    Oct 5, 2006
    9
    I love it when people start off a review with "come on people." I love this CD and recognize this as one of Dylans best. He is a much different Dylan from the "times they are a changing" era which is what I love about Dylan. This is his 3rd straight masterpiece and one of his best in 30+ years.
  9. kevine
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    The follow up to Dylan's "Time out of mind" and "Love & Theft" is nothing short of astonishing. Dylan proves once again that only he and the Beatles would survive the end of time. Modern Times is one of Dylan's greatest albums and definately the best album of this decade. I However do disagree with Dylan's recent statment about how there hasnt been a decent sounding album The follow up to Dylan's "Time out of mind" and "Love & Theft" is nothing short of astonishing. Dylan proves once again that only he and the Beatles would survive the end of time. Modern Times is one of Dylan's greatest albums and definately the best album of this decade. I However do disagree with Dylan's recent statment about how there hasnt been a decent sounding album in 20 years. But I think the point he was maybe trying to get across is that there is far to much crap on our radios. Dylan deserves all the praise he'll get for this timeless piece of art. Expand
  10. oscarm
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    Bob is great! Amazing! Other masterpiece!
  11. lfollows
    Aug 30, 2006
    8
    This is a solid album, indeed continuing from where Love and Theft left off--albeit, a whole five years later. This seems to be Dylan's twilight years style. Who knows what will come next! I give this an eight because an eight is a damn good score. But it's not as good as his greatest. It's just a good follow-up to everything else. The band does sound top notch by the This is a solid album, indeed continuing from where Love and Theft left off--albeit, a whole five years later. This seems to be Dylan's twilight years style. Who knows what will come next! I give this an eight because an eight is a damn good score. But it's not as good as his greatest. It's just a good follow-up to everything else. The band does sound top notch by the way--better than the digital dullness of Time Out of Mind (although the songs are not as intense or moving), and with a little more instrumental variation than Love and Theft .(The songs are the same genres as far as I can tell.) The things I do not like about this fine album (as with Love and Theft and other Dylan releases) is that the band is never allowed to cut loose. Such a fine ensemble of musicians, but are basically relegated to repetative riffing and all too short solos. I know these are "Bob Dylan" songs, but I would just love to hear a one-minute guitar or keyboard solo to complement these songs--or even some taking turns! Actually there is one stretch of that on this CD but I would love to hear more from these guys. The instruments all sound warm and vintage, and really get some good grooves. Allowing a little more freedom from the band would definitely put this release in classic territory. All in all, it is a good effort from the aging master. I hope he has something more eye-opening coming up next--with more soloing and without so much of a wait! Expand
  12. williamm
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    Mesmerizing! Light hearted, heavy handed,seriously amusing and dizzyingly profound and often in a few short verses.What a rollercoaster ride!
  13. TheobaldT
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    Often regarded as retro rocker whose heydays were the sixties, Dylan has gone real retro: back to the 20's, 30's, and 40's. Western swing, jazz, blues, and the music of the old pop crooners like Bing Crosby et. al. The sound is very acoustic, crisp, and clear. An album for the island.
  14. cara
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    beautiful but also comical
  15. JamesD
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    Modern Times is another triumph for Bob Dylan and his best since Oh Mercy. There's no use trying to compare this album to his 60s masterpieces, this is a completely different period in Dylan's life/art. Instead of the psychedelic poetry of Blonde on Blonde, he is using the down to earth prose of traditional blues. What he did for pop/rock by combining meaningful lyrics and Modern Times is another triumph for Bob Dylan and his best since Oh Mercy. There's no use trying to compare this album to his 60s masterpieces, this is a completely different period in Dylan's life/art. Instead of the psychedelic poetry of Blonde on Blonde, he is using the down to earth prose of traditional blues. What he did for pop/rock by combining meaningful lyrics and poetry with popular music, he is now doing with blues. The NOW magazine review above is a disgrace. We don't alll have to agree on politics, religion or music, but some people obviously do not understand Dylan or the folk/blues tradition. Yes, Dylan is "borrowing" from traditional blues and folk music, JUST AS HE DID IN THE 60S! Blowin in the Wind and every folk song he wrote borrowed music and lyrics from older folk songs. The same is true of the blues. Blues singers borrow music and lyrics and build upon them and they keep passing the music down from one generation to the next. Dylan is now a major bridge in Blues, bringing what appears to be "old timey" music into a new generation. I know many young people who love Modern Times and because of Dylan they are learning that "old" blues and folk songs are still relevant in these "Modern Time". TAKE THE NOW REVIEW OFF! Before that horrible review was listed, Modern Times had score of 97 making it the highest rated album on Metacritic. It's not right to let one ignorant and obviously off the mark review reduce the score of this great album. At least include more of the hundreds of good reviews to balance it out! Expand
  16. warsawX
    Sep 2, 2006
    3
    If this album would have appeared under an unknown songwriter
  17. willd
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    when the deal goes down will be covered by many,
  18. sorenh
    Sep 27, 2006
    0
    Present this to someone who does not know who Bob Dylan is, and he will tell you how trivial this piece really is. Dylan has a message, but it is not musical.
  19. JBN
    Sep 2, 2006
    6
    Everybody, please... GET A GRIP. Look, I love Bob Dylan's work as much as, maybe more than the next guy. A lot of the best songs ever written came from him... unfortunately, none of them are on this album. Sonically, it's basically 'nice'. The playing is smooth, his band is as good as ever, but frankly it's all quite predictable. He's made a career out of Everybody, please... GET A GRIP. Look, I love Bob Dylan's work as much as, maybe more than the next guy. A lot of the best songs ever written came from him... unfortunately, none of them are on this album. Sonically, it's basically 'nice'. The playing is smooth, his band is as good as ever, but frankly it's all quite predictable. He's made a career out of using references to old folk and blues music, and he's not about to change that. The difference is that in the past, he used to use those references to SAY something - be it something social, personal, poetic or otherwise. He's always surrounded himself with excellent musicians, but in the past they were there to back him up, to help him make the biggest impact - for me, the lyrics have always been the main attraction. That's exactly the problem. On Time Out Of Mind, he had something to say - he was reflecting on mortality, on love, on the world at large, and doing what he does best: giving new insights into these things, telling you something you didn't know, or making you think about things in a different way. Love & Theft had some nice songs on it too, but little in the way of genuine masterpieces. He sounded like he was having fun, and that was enough for the album to be a classic of sorts. Not so Modern Times. This is simply LAZY - there isn't a single song that seems to be really *about* anything - mainly he uses tired, cliched, recycled blues lyrics and idioms to basically say either "babe, I love you" or "my woman done me wrong", OVER and OVER again. Sure, Nettie Moore is quite enchanting, mostly due to an understated, moody backing by the band - but one can't help but think that songs like "Someday Baby" could have been real classics on a par with "Leopardskin Pillbox Hat" or "Outlaw Blues", in the hands of the Dylan of the past - the one who was vital, energetic, angry, vulgar, eloquent and beautiful. The Dylan we have now seems lazy, complacent and content to tread out the same old lines we've heard done - and done *better* - by a million old blues and folk singers. Still, it's a decent relaxed, foot-tapping front porch album... but let's face it, we expect more from the man who once revolutionised popular music and the art of songwriting. This is NOT a masterpiece, and NOT one of his best albums by a LONG shot - in fact it's not even one of the best blues albums released in recent years - check out Watermelon Slim for some old-timey blues with genuine vitality. Must try harder. Expand
  20. FrankD
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    10 great songs. Not a weak song on the whole CD. Dylan in great voice. Band is great. I love the way the CD starts with the intro to Thunder on the Mountain.
  21. TBone
    Oct 2, 2006
    5
    Come on people. This is not a 10 in 2006. Times they are a changin and this don;t cut it. Clearly he's getting a big pass by the critics for being Bob Dylan. Working man blues? Has he ever really worked?
  22. kamil
    Dec 3, 2006
    8
    Old king with third very good album. Modern Times is not so vital and funny like masterpiece from 2001 Love And Theft, but form, craft and feeling is in right place.
  23. GDiaz
    Oct 28, 2006
    8
    This is one of Bob's best albums, but I disagree with both 10 and 2 reviews. It is not a masterpiece, but you really cannot dismiss it as "forgettable". I have seen that people single out certain tracks, and my pick as the best are Workingman's Blues #2, Nettie Moore and of course, Ain't Talkin'. That song is wonderful. Some people think this album should be another This is one of Bob's best albums, but I disagree with both 10 and 2 reviews. It is not a masterpiece, but you really cannot dismiss it as "forgettable". I have seen that people single out certain tracks, and my pick as the best are Workingman's Blues #2, Nettie Moore and of course, Ain't Talkin'. That song is wonderful. Some people think this album should be another Blood on the Tracks, but no t even Dylan could top his masterpieces. The lyrics are direct and great, the musicians are top notch, and Bob uses his strained voice to good effect. He may not have a beautiful voice, but he knows how to use it, and that is what makes a good singer, and what made Blonde On Blonde such a thrill in its times. Expand
  24. KentE
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    Let me start first by addressing TBone. Bob Dylan grew up in Hibbing,Minnesota, or the "Iron Range" for those of us who know the area. Very working class area, and he himself worked in the mines up there. So yes "Workingman Blues 2" I would assume comes straight from the heart. And it could be him singing about his towns experiences and not his. Spike Lee grew up rich as hell in suburban Let me start first by addressing TBone. Bob Dylan grew up in Hibbing,Minnesota, or the "Iron Range" for those of us who know the area. Very working class area, and he himself worked in the mines up there. So yes "Workingman Blues 2" I would assume comes straight from the heart. And it could be him singing about his towns experiences and not his. Spike Lee grew up rich as hell in suburban Los Angeles and makes movies about the "ghetto" something he knows nothing about, but is that ok, or how about P. Diddy or whatever his name is now I cant keep up, grew up in rich suburban New York and sings about gangster life, even if Dylan isnt singing about his own experiences, which he is, most singers dont. The album is great, it mixes fast up beat songs with slower songs. Lots of musicians today modeled themselves after Dylan. "Workingmans Blues 2" is one of the best tracks, "Aint Talkin" is a highlight as well as "leeves gonna break". Its to bad in todays world we have no good protest singers, Green Day is a joke and so are the Dixie Chicks and even Pearl Jam who at least made an effort to make a decent protest album. I was a little dissapointed by the albums lack of political uproar or backlash at the Bush Administration as Dylan is the master of that, but all in all a great album from a great individual who I can only hope keeps making albums until he dies. Expand
  25. marcels
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    MT stands alongside Blonde on Blonde and Blood on the Tracks as his complete masterpieces. You've "painted that masterpiece", Bob.
  26. MattD.
    Aug 28, 2006
    9
    Great album! Many times, he shows his folk roots again. The thing preventing a 10 is Dylan's voice, which is too worn out to sustain the length of a couple of these songs.
  27. katiusa
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    ¡¡¡El Mejor!!!
  28. AdM
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    This CD contains 10 songs and all songs are masterpieces. Charming, seducing, very well sung or crooned. Perfect combination and placing of the 10 songs.
  29. JavierM
    Aug 29, 2006
    9
    Bob eres un borde, te has equivocado, pero sigues siendo DIOS, y ante eso anda se puede decir
  30. SallyH
    Aug 29, 2006
    3
    Generic Starbucks blues, quite uninspiring and dull. Strictly for the old folks.
  31. samm
    Aug 29, 2006
    4
    This album is one of Dylan's weakest attempts. The production is incredibly sloppy, his vocals aren't as good as on L and T, and he even upsings. The songs ramble, many sound the same, lack of variety... just plain and simple, the songs are weak. Also, there is a lack of flow. It seems he rushed this album. And the band doesn't add much either, no pounding songs, as seen on This album is one of Dylan's weakest attempts. The production is incredibly sloppy, his vocals aren't as good as on L and T, and he even upsings. The songs ramble, many sound the same, lack of variety... just plain and simple, the songs are weak. Also, there is a lack of flow. It seems he rushed this album. And the band doesn't add much either, no pounding songs, as seen on L and T with Larry and Charlie. Nothing ever fully kicks into full gear. A very disapointing album after a 5 years wait. This album will be discarded by most. Expand
  32. AndrewW
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    I was fully ready to be disappointed by this album, expecting average at best. But this is brilliant. How does he keep doing it? And it's not just the words- the music itself is awesome. These guys could play the album as an instrumental and it would still be a 4* listen. Best 3 album run since Dylan himself in the 60s, this is awesome. With the stereo turned all the way up, nothing I was fully ready to be disappointed by this album, expecting average at best. But this is brilliant. How does he keep doing it? And it's not just the words- the music itself is awesome. These guys could play the album as an instrumental and it would still be a 4* listen. Best 3 album run since Dylan himself in the 60s, this is awesome. With the stereo turned all the way up, nothing from the past decade can compete with Cold Irons Bound, High Water and Thunder on the Mountain. I'm 22, but this 65 year old has more to say to me than 99% of bands my age. Well done Sir. Expand
  33. MattC
    Aug 31, 2006
    9
    Only listened to it once, but I liked it better than last 2 albums. The lyrics seems to go somewhere, which was my problem with L&Theft. The lyrics seemed jumbled. They sounded good, but they did not build or even seem to be related to other lines in the song. Not here. Best lyrical Dylan album in a long time.
  34. WillG
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    One of Dylan's best. In my opinion, his 5th best album, behind "Highway 61", "Blood on the Tracks", "Blonde on Blonde", and "Bringing it all Back Home." Would be the best for many other groups, hence the 10
  35. AnastasiaK
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Modern Times is so good that if my house was on fire, I'd throw this disc out the window and let myself burn.
  36. ChuckS
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    I don't know how (or why) to compare Modern Times with Blonde on Blonde, Blood On The Tracks, Love & Theft or anything else Dylan has recorded in the past. We all move on. Compare it to Tom Petty's "Highway Companion" (I give that a 6), Ray Davies' "Other People's Lives" (8) or Neil Young's "Prairie Wind" (7 or 8) and you'll easily recognize the superiority I don't know how (or why) to compare Modern Times with Blonde on Blonde, Blood On The Tracks, Love & Theft or anything else Dylan has recorded in the past. We all move on. Compare it to Tom Petty's "Highway Companion" (I give that a 6), Ray Davies' "Other People's Lives" (8) or Neil Young's "Prairie Wind" (7 or 8) and you'll easily recognize the superiority of what he has produced and importance of what he has to say. Modern Times is soothing if you just listen to the tunes and provocative if you listen to the words. I bought the CD in a package that included Dylan's XM Show on Baseball. Nice extra. Expand
  37. Matt
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    A beautifully restrained album. In my opinion, even better than the last two.
  38. VincentS
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Who else could write Workingman's Blues and deliver it in such a powerful way? His voice is getting better. This is how he wished he sounded like in the 60's. Aint Talkin' and Nettie Moore could be masterpieces from his back catalogue. He could have written these songs decades ago, maybe he did! The whole feel of the album is an artist at the top of his game. He is tipping Who else could write Workingman's Blues and deliver it in such a powerful way? His voice is getting better. This is how he wished he sounded like in the 60's. Aint Talkin' and Nettie Moore could be masterpieces from his back catalogue. He could have written these songs decades ago, maybe he did! The whole feel of the album is an artist at the top of his game. He is tipping his hat to so many greats here, guys he listened to over the wireless in Hibbing as a kid. Nobody is making records like this today. It is not nostalgia but mould breaking and will pave the way for many future artists. Expand
  39. CP
    Aug 30, 2006
    5
    Sounds particularly uninspired compared to his last two albums. The boring soft-shoe shuffle just doesn't equate with greatness for me. The closing track, "Ain't Talkin'," is possibly the album's finest moment but even that is practically forgettable. I will say this--it's a damn sight better than what any of his former living Wilbury bandmates are capable of Sounds particularly uninspired compared to his last two albums. The boring soft-shoe shuffle just doesn't equate with greatness for me. The closing track, "Ain't Talkin'," is possibly the album's finest moment but even that is practically forgettable. I will say this--it's a damn sight better than what any of his former living Wilbury bandmates are capable of these days (get it? Only two are left? And what dreadful album did they make this year?) Expand
  40. T.S.
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    The Album of the Year!
  41. BruceH
    Sep 1, 2006
    8
    Like a favourite old pair of slippers, bus-pass Bob is something you can slip into of an evening and feel good about the world and yourself. His 21st c. voice is a compelling mixture of frailty and authority. 'When the Deal goes Down' and 'Nettie Moore' are amongst his best songs ever.
  42. SteinN
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    I loved this album the first time I heard it the 21.st. of August
  43. ChadM
    Sep 1, 2006
    8
    Great album. What can you say. It's Dylan and he seems to be hitting his stride again. I think this is a better effort than love and theft, which was solid in it's own right. Great mood music, a must have for any moderate Dylan fan.
  44. DavidJ
    Sep 18, 2006
    1
    Only just about OK as background sub-muzak. Utterly undeserving of good reviews. I simply don't care if I never hear this over-praised pastiche again.
  45. TylerP
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    This is one of the best albums i've listened to. Gets my foot tappin and my spirits high everytime! You should all buy it!
  46. doug
    Sep 24, 2006
    10
    fucking genius
  47. ToddW
    Sep 27, 2006
    8
    Dylan never ceases to amaze. His albums still can make you laugh, cry, think, and try all at once. While I'm not steeped in the musical genres that he samples with aplomb, it's comforting to know that someone still cares enough about his craft to entertain AND educate. There's too little of that in today's "What Have You Done for Me Yesterday?" culture.
  48. SrivatsanL
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    This is a brilliant album by Dylan. His best ever? I dont think so. But for a guy whose career spans 40 years, let us be fair and not compare him with his past, but instead compare with him with others of the present. Taken like that this is a 10/10 album indeed!!
  49. mcnutsmcnuts
    Sep 28, 2006
    6
    Yes, its good but seriously over rated. I don
  50. ChristianZ
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    Holy . . . This is great music! I just sat back and let it wash over me. Dylan isn't just on a roll; he's like a phoenix. Time Out of Mind ruminated on death, Love and Theft sounded the prophecies, and now Modern Times combines those elements into a brand new sound for modern music. This is an album that ranks with his best. Yes, Blonde on Blonde, Bringing it All Back Home, Holy . . . This is great music! I just sat back and let it wash over me. Dylan isn't just on a roll; he's like a phoenix. Time Out of Mind ruminated on death, Love and Theft sounded the prophecies, and now Modern Times combines those elements into a brand new sound for modern music. This is an album that ranks with his best. Yes, Blonde on Blonde, Bringing it All Back Home, Highway 61, Blood on the Tracks, all of them. Listen to Modern Times back-to-back with any of his best and you will be converted. If it's true like he said that he's in his middle years, then long, long may he live! Expand
  51. aveehMcnelove
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    And once agin, a 100% pure quality. the words and the meanings all togather, creating this one big beatiful pazzel of words who tells about freedom, forgivness and love. Way the go Bobby!
  52. KevinC
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    Look at the list of all-time high scores and tell me straight up that Dylan isn't being robbed. I'm not disputing the genius of those records, just baffled that this disc is getting less than 5-star reviews all-around. Come on, if Stankonia is a 97 no way in hell is this album less than a 97 as well. Just an awesome record of fans of good music regardless of genres or labels.
  53. Mars88
    Sep 6, 2006
    9
    his voice is wonderfully worn, and fit very well with the songs. great great great great.
  54. PaulM
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    Excellent !!! Just Excellent !!!
  55. LawrenceP
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    An instant classic. Dylan just gets better and better. There is more wisdom in Modern Times than in other artists' entire careers.
  56. ErlingO
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    He still does it. It becomes better with each playing. B.D. rules.
  57. PhillipB.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Dylan is still great.
  58. EloyG.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    This is a very very good disc. it's a classic rock and roll and folk album. Simply Great.
  59. SteveJ
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    this album has an eternal feel, it does not get old. very in the moment, a great artist with timeless skills.
  60. TomB
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    Always full of meaning..Bob's the greatest...
  61. ARthurD.
    Jun 1, 2007
    1
    Man, this stuff is tired and lazy. Move along, nothing to see.
  62. ArtS.
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    Great
  63. LH
    Sep 14, 2007
    9
    I like Dylan hes a lyrical genius!!!!!
  64. DaveyJ
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    I didn't know what to make of this album and I sort of shelved it for a while. When I saw Dylan on Nov.2nd I got an instant understanding of the things that I'll never know and only feel. this is what Dylan has been trying to get to with his never ending tour. the record sums up where its at. This tour will stand as on of the best of his career and the album as one of the greats I didn't know what to make of this album and I sort of shelved it for a while. When I saw Dylan on Nov.2nd I got an instant understanding of the things that I'll never know and only feel. this is what Dylan has been trying to get to with his never ending tour. the record sums up where its at. This tour will stand as on of the best of his career and the album as one of the greats of all time!!! of any "artist". The people who don't like it are frankly stupid. Expand
  65. CJS.
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Best album in a long time. This really rocks.
  66. tryrtyrtrtyrtyrt
    Nov 27, 2006
    1
    he cant sing
  67. RogerT
    Nov 3, 2006
    10
    outstanding he just gets better can not take it off the player in car and at home
  68. jw
    Oct 13, 2006
    8
    (8.5) Really good. Not "Love and Theft" good, but good. But a note on protest songs: Our political climate is such that the center has completely dropped out. And, given that Dylan is known for going out of his way to avoid categorization, it shouldn't be a shock that he includes only the most opaque references to current events. It's a non-move that can be seen as political, (8.5) Really good. Not "Love and Theft" good, but good. But a note on protest songs: Our political climate is such that the center has completely dropped out. And, given that Dylan is known for going out of his way to avoid categorization, it shouldn't be a shock that he includes only the most opaque references to current events. It's a non-move that can be seen as political, commercial, and musical savvy. (The music DOES matter, after all). However, no honest assessment of this album will yield the word "brave." At present there is a 9,000 pound, bazooka wielding elephant in the room, and Hendrix, Ochs, Joplin, and Lennon are all gone. This is a bad time for our last best voice to be M.I.A. ...Of course I'm 24 and have not yet reached that shade of jade. Expand
  69. MartinL
    Oct 16, 2006
    1
    This is trivial music
  70. PierreT
    Oct 16, 2006
    1
    I agree, this is not a 10. Too much hype.
  71. edf
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    wonderful!
  72. RichieD
    Dec 15, 2006
    6
    Not bad for a man in his eighties. Still better than anything his son has ever released. My third favorite Dylan record behind New Morning and Saved.
  73. BiffD
    Oct 26, 2006
    7
    Sounds a little bit too much like Leon Redbone on the slow ones
  74. PeterP
    Dec 6, 2006
    6
    As hard for me as it is to give Dylan anything less than a 10/10, i just really couldnt get into this album. It's just not the same Dylan I grew to love.
  75. [Anonymous]
    Aug 26, 2006
    3
    this album will undoubtedly receive drooling reviews from critics... but just like every other Dylan album since Desire, it will have no staying power and is.. well, lame.
  76. AzorC
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    Another masterpiece.
  77. ositoakaBongo
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    Well, his Bobness aclaimed the peak of the holy Mountain of the sound from the dusty Roads and the bleeding workers.
  78. Dave
    Aug 28, 2006
    8
    Dylan is clearly an extremely talented guy. I'm not sure how someone hears stuff like this and describes it as "lame." Anyone who appreciates great poetry and great, timeless music will appreciate this record.
  79. HalleyP
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    Great, Amazing, Astonishing, Vibrant, Perfect, Flawless, Honest, and Terrific. You can use witch ever word you prefer when discribing this album
  80. CarisaR
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    Less acidic (in sound and style) than "Time Out of Mind," and less rambling and all-over-the-place than "Love & Theft," this masterpiece is at least slightly better than either. The epic "Ain't Talkin'" is Bob's best song since "Jokerman."
  81. brotheroftomjones
    Aug 28, 2006
    9
    Very solid album. Lame! Ha ha! I could 6 great albums since Desire.
  82. Miguel
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    Hey, person who gave it a 3, you haven't even heard it! Why even vote?
  83. JamesC
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    And so continues Bob Dylan's golden renaissance that began with Time Out of Mind and Love and Theft. A beautiful, moving, compelling and deeply human work. Nettie Moore and Ain't Talkin' are amongst his finest songs.
  84. BrianP
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    This brilliant album combines some of the elements of "Love and Theft" with well-written lyrics and catchy tunes. My favorite album to date.
  85. ImanL
    Aug 29, 2006
    8
    Not bad but not "Love And Theft" -doesnt peak high enough and the last song isnt epic high enough. Even "Knocked Out Loaded" had "Brownsville Girl"...
  86. BrandonS
    Aug 29, 2006
    9
    This makes 3 classics in a row. I love Dylan's c crusty old guy style. It's as good as the swooning critics said it would be.
  87. JefferyG
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Fabulous album. Slow, steady, well crafted, brilliant lyrics (again). A breath of fresh air. It grows on me each time I listen to it.
  88. Nathan
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    a grand achievement in the great tradition of american arts.
  89. JoeG
    Aug 30, 2006
    8
    Man, it's good, but it ain't THAT good. It's ridiculous to even say that because this album is so far one of the year's best, but some of these reviews are going overboard with their praise. I'm sorry, but any album with a sappy, excruciating ballad like "Beyond the Horizon" can NOT be a masterwork. "When the Deal Goes Down" is a bit too syrupy, and the album as a Man, it's good, but it ain't THAT good. It's ridiculous to even say that because this album is so far one of the year's best, but some of these reviews are going overboard with their praise. I'm sorry, but any album with a sappy, excruciating ballad like "Beyond the Horizon" can NOT be a masterwork. "When the Deal Goes Down" is a bit too syrupy, and the album as a whole sounds a bit too tentative. Having said that, Dylan's crooning ain't bad, and the lyrics are often good, even great. Dylan shows plenty of humor as well as some occasional pain, occasional longing...and he gets pretty spooky on that last song, "Ain't Talkin'." And while the band could show a little more confidence, maybe a little more boldness in their playing, the arrangements are fairly pleasant and enjoyable. A fairly good album, it can be an excellent album IF you're in the right mood...but beware of the hype. Expand
  90. Jules
    Aug 30, 2006
    9
    First, I am no Bob Dylan worshipper. Blonde on blonde has many angular witty moments of genius and blood on the tracks has many angular sad moments of genius. Who cares what changed music - does it grab your soul and twist your mind right here, right now? Most of what Sir Bob has done has not done this all at the same time for me. Usually truly great lyrics, often great songsmithery, only First, I am no Bob Dylan worshipper. Blonde on blonde has many angular witty moments of genius and blood on the tracks has many angular sad moments of genius. Who cares what changed music - does it grab your soul and twist your mind right here, right now? Most of what Sir Bob has done has not done this all at the same time for me. Usually truly great lyrics, often great songsmithery, only occasionally truly great spiritedness and soulfulness. Still, each to their own. But, but, and this is a big but, this last trio of albums laughing and rutting in the face of death by Bob have been an intellectual and soulful joy from start and especially to the finish. What a rich album this is! Perhaps Bob was always reaching for that role of old crankyhotpants bluespreacherman - when he was young this seemed contrived if well meant - now he simply has become this gloriously twisted preacherman. Expand
  91. howellg
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    picks up where Love and Theft leaves off.
  92. DaveO
    Aug 30, 2006
    9
    good music to cook to.
  93. DrewR
    Aug 30, 2006
    8
    Dan W is very right. lets not forget who wrote this album, Bob Freewheelin' Dylan.
  94. TimW
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    At first listening perhaps not as note-worthy as say High-Way 61 and Blood on The Tracks, largely due to not having a "hit" song or straigth-faced "memorable" Dyan song; Modern Love appeals to your sensibilities over listening, or be it time; and materalises as substantial recording of Dylan, who in his 60s still has was it takes and does not look as rediculous as this year's At first listening perhaps not as note-worthy as say High-Way 61 and Blood on The Tracks, largely due to not having a "hit" song or straigth-faced "memorable" Dyan song; Modern Love appeals to your sensibilities over listening, or be it time; and materalises as substantial recording of Dylan, who in his 60s still has was it takes and does not look as rediculous as this year's Rolling-Stones concert tour. Dylan does have to be sexy--Mic Jagger!--in his 60s. He has but fulfill the promise of a blues siinger and muscian and song -writer. Modern Love gives all that--a graceful overture to blues undertaken by the greatest song-writer of the second half of this century. Gone is Dylan's "absurdism" of the 60s recordings; Dylan delievers straight-forward plays of language and song. Expand
  95. blatzm
    Sep 1, 2006
    9
    Fantastic album, better than "Love and Theft," blah blah blah...I just want add to the other comments here by saying there is something terribly wrong with the CD pressing of this album. When it went through the mastering process, they made it far too loud, making the bass and drums distort. The review copy, which leaked onto the internet before the CD was released, sounds amazing. Fantastic album, better than "Love and Theft," blah blah blah...I just want add to the other comments here by saying there is something terribly wrong with the CD pressing of this album. When it went through the mastering process, they made it far too loud, making the bass and drums distort. The review copy, which leaked onto the internet before the CD was released, sounds amazing. I'd suggest waiting until Sony fixes this problem before purchasing. Collapse
  96. AlexF
    Sep 20, 2006
    8
    Yeah, its a good album and I'm happy to see Bob back on the top of the charts; however, at no point will I find myself with one of these tunes infectiously running through my head. At no point will I unconsciously learn all the lyrics to a song, simply by repeated listens. Much of this is like his previous album in terms of tone and style. One of the better albums released in the Yeah, its a good album and I'm happy to see Bob back on the top of the charts; however, at no point will I find myself with one of these tunes infectiously running through my head. At no point will I unconsciously learn all the lyrics to a song, simply by repeated listens. Much of this is like his previous album in terms of tone and style. One of the better albums released in the last few months, but by no means a classic on par with Blood on the Tracks or Blonde on Blonde or even his late-90's surprise, Time Out of Mind. Expand
  97. R.L.
    Sep 2, 2006
    9
    One of the best albums to come out in the last 20 years! And incredibly, it's only a shade less entertaining than the "Tweedle Dee & Tweedle Dum" record.
  98. JimN
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    surprisingly the hype about this as the end of a trilogy of releases is not completely inplausible. this will be worth its many times I will listen and relisten to it.
  99. joeb
    Sep 22, 2006
    2
    Boring.
  100. jamesnormann
    Sep 23, 2006
    9
    it is amazing that bobby is still good enough & far ahead enough to get bad reviews.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 100
    Love And Theft was quite unlike any other pop album--apart, that is, from Modern Times, its direct and audacious sequel. [Sep 2006, p.72]
  2. Intriguing, immediate, and quietly epic, Modern Times must rank among Dylan's finest albums.
  3. It's hard to hear Modern Times' music over the inevitable standing ovation and the thuds of middle-aged critics swooning in awe. When you do, you find something not unlike its predecessor, Love and Theft.