• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Aug 29, 2006
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 264 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 264

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GregorioB
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    At first listen I was not as crazy and agreeable with all the hype and build up for this new work from iPod Bob. Having opened the bottle and letting it breath a bit, I would put it right up there with the last two jewels of '97 and '01. After seeing the songs done live, especially 'Nettie Moore', I realized how good this almbum really is, and how much shelf life it At first listen I was not as crazy and agreeable with all the hype and build up for this new work from iPod Bob. Having opened the bottle and letting it breath a bit, I would put it right up there with the last two jewels of '97 and '01. After seeing the songs done live, especially 'Nettie Moore', I realized how good this almbum really is, and how much shelf life it will have for Uncle Bob. His voice has lived a number lives, and he still is able to get it out there and tell us a new story or two! Expand
  2. Brian
    Oct 5, 2006
    9
    I love it when people start off a review with "come on people." I love this CD and recognize this as one of Dylans best. He is a much different Dylan from the "times they are a changing" era which is what I love about Dylan. This is his 3rd straight masterpiece and one of his best in 30+ years.
  3. kevine
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    The follow up to Dylan's "Time out of mind" and "Love & Theft" is nothing short of astonishing. Dylan proves once again that only he and the Beatles would survive the end of time. Modern Times is one of Dylan's greatest albums and definately the best album of this decade. I However do disagree with Dylan's recent statment about how there hasnt been a decent sounding album The follow up to Dylan's "Time out of mind" and "Love & Theft" is nothing short of astonishing. Dylan proves once again that only he and the Beatles would survive the end of time. Modern Times is one of Dylan's greatest albums and definately the best album of this decade. I However do disagree with Dylan's recent statment about how there hasnt been a decent sounding album in 20 years. But I think the point he was maybe trying to get across is that there is far to much crap on our radios. Dylan deserves all the praise he'll get for this timeless piece of art. Expand
  4. oscarm
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    Bob is great! Amazing! Other masterpiece!
  5. williamm
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    Mesmerizing! Light hearted, heavy handed,seriously amusing and dizzyingly profound and often in a few short verses.What a rollercoaster ride!
  6. TheobaldT
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    Often regarded as retro rocker whose heydays were the sixties, Dylan has gone real retro: back to the 20's, 30's, and 40's. Western swing, jazz, blues, and the music of the old pop crooners like Bing Crosby et. al. The sound is very acoustic, crisp, and clear. An album for the island.
  7. cara
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    beautiful but also comical
  8. JamesD
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    Modern Times is another triumph for Bob Dylan and his best since Oh Mercy. There's no use trying to compare this album to his 60s masterpieces, this is a completely different period in Dylan's life/art. Instead of the psychedelic poetry of Blonde on Blonde, he is using the down to earth prose of traditional blues. What he did for pop/rock by combining meaningful lyrics and Modern Times is another triumph for Bob Dylan and his best since Oh Mercy. There's no use trying to compare this album to his 60s masterpieces, this is a completely different period in Dylan's life/art. Instead of the psychedelic poetry of Blonde on Blonde, he is using the down to earth prose of traditional blues. What he did for pop/rock by combining meaningful lyrics and poetry with popular music, he is now doing with blues. The NOW magazine review above is a disgrace. We don't alll have to agree on politics, religion or music, but some people obviously do not understand Dylan or the folk/blues tradition. Yes, Dylan is "borrowing" from traditional blues and folk music, JUST AS HE DID IN THE 60S! Blowin in the Wind and every folk song he wrote borrowed music and lyrics from older folk songs. The same is true of the blues. Blues singers borrow music and lyrics and build upon them and they keep passing the music down from one generation to the next. Dylan is now a major bridge in Blues, bringing what appears to be "old timey" music into a new generation. I know many young people who love Modern Times and because of Dylan they are learning that "old" blues and folk songs are still relevant in these "Modern Time". TAKE THE NOW REVIEW OFF! Before that horrible review was listed, Modern Times had score of 97 making it the highest rated album on Metacritic. It's not right to let one ignorant and obviously off the mark review reduce the score of this great album. At least include more of the hundreds of good reviews to balance it out! Expand
  9. willd
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    when the deal goes down will be covered by many,
  10. FrankD
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    10 great songs. Not a weak song on the whole CD. Dylan in great voice. Band is great. I love the way the CD starts with the intro to Thunder on the Mountain.
  11. KentE
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    Let me start first by addressing TBone. Bob Dylan grew up in Hibbing,Minnesota, or the "Iron Range" for those of us who know the area. Very working class area, and he himself worked in the mines up there. So yes "Workingman Blues 2" I would assume comes straight from the heart. And it could be him singing about his towns experiences and not his. Spike Lee grew up rich as hell in suburban Let me start first by addressing TBone. Bob Dylan grew up in Hibbing,Minnesota, or the "Iron Range" for those of us who know the area. Very working class area, and he himself worked in the mines up there. So yes "Workingman Blues 2" I would assume comes straight from the heart. And it could be him singing about his towns experiences and not his. Spike Lee grew up rich as hell in suburban Los Angeles and makes movies about the "ghetto" something he knows nothing about, but is that ok, or how about P. Diddy or whatever his name is now I cant keep up, grew up in rich suburban New York and sings about gangster life, even if Dylan isnt singing about his own experiences, which he is, most singers dont. The album is great, it mixes fast up beat songs with slower songs. Lots of musicians today modeled themselves after Dylan. "Workingmans Blues 2" is one of the best tracks, "Aint Talkin" is a highlight as well as "leeves gonna break". Its to bad in todays world we have no good protest singers, Green Day is a joke and so are the Dixie Chicks and even Pearl Jam who at least made an effort to make a decent protest album. I was a little dissapointed by the albums lack of political uproar or backlash at the Bush Administration as Dylan is the master of that, but all in all a great album from a great individual who I can only hope keeps making albums until he dies. Expand
  12. marcels
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    MT stands alongside Blonde on Blonde and Blood on the Tracks as his complete masterpieces. You've "painted that masterpiece", Bob.
  13. MattD.
    Aug 28, 2006
    9
    Great album! Many times, he shows his folk roots again. The thing preventing a 10 is Dylan's voice, which is too worn out to sustain the length of a couple of these songs.
  14. katiusa
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    ¡¡¡El Mejor!!!
  15. AdM
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    This CD contains 10 songs and all songs are masterpieces. Charming, seducing, very well sung or crooned. Perfect combination and placing of the 10 songs.
  16. JavierM
    Aug 29, 2006
    9
    Bob eres un borde, te has equivocado, pero sigues siendo DIOS, y ante eso anda se puede decir
  17. AndrewW
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    I was fully ready to be disappointed by this album, expecting average at best. But this is brilliant. How does he keep doing it? And it's not just the words- the music itself is awesome. These guys could play the album as an instrumental and it would still be a 4* listen. Best 3 album run since Dylan himself in the 60s, this is awesome. With the stereo turned all the way up, nothing I was fully ready to be disappointed by this album, expecting average at best. But this is brilliant. How does he keep doing it? And it's not just the words- the music itself is awesome. These guys could play the album as an instrumental and it would still be a 4* listen. Best 3 album run since Dylan himself in the 60s, this is awesome. With the stereo turned all the way up, nothing from the past decade can compete with Cold Irons Bound, High Water and Thunder on the Mountain. I'm 22, but this 65 year old has more to say to me than 99% of bands my age. Well done Sir. Expand
  18. MattC
    Aug 31, 2006
    9
    Only listened to it once, but I liked it better than last 2 albums. The lyrics seems to go somewhere, which was my problem with L&Theft. The lyrics seemed jumbled. They sounded good, but they did not build or even seem to be related to other lines in the song. Not here. Best lyrical Dylan album in a long time.
  19. WillG
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    One of Dylan's best. In my opinion, his 5th best album, behind "Highway 61", "Blood on the Tracks", "Blonde on Blonde", and "Bringing it all Back Home." Would be the best for many other groups, hence the 10
  20. AnastasiaK
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Modern Times is so good that if my house was on fire, I'd throw this disc out the window and let myself burn.
  21. ChuckS
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    I don't know how (or why) to compare Modern Times with Blonde on Blonde, Blood On The Tracks, Love & Theft or anything else Dylan has recorded in the past. We all move on. Compare it to Tom Petty's "Highway Companion" (I give that a 6), Ray Davies' "Other People's Lives" (8) or Neil Young's "Prairie Wind" (7 or 8) and you'll easily recognize the superiority I don't know how (or why) to compare Modern Times with Blonde on Blonde, Blood On The Tracks, Love & Theft or anything else Dylan has recorded in the past. We all move on. Compare it to Tom Petty's "Highway Companion" (I give that a 6), Ray Davies' "Other People's Lives" (8) or Neil Young's "Prairie Wind" (7 or 8) and you'll easily recognize the superiority of what he has produced and importance of what he has to say. Modern Times is soothing if you just listen to the tunes and provocative if you listen to the words. I bought the CD in a package that included Dylan's XM Show on Baseball. Nice extra. Expand
  22. Matt
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    A beautifully restrained album. In my opinion, even better than the last two.
  23. VincentS
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Who else could write Workingman's Blues and deliver it in such a powerful way? His voice is getting better. This is how he wished he sounded like in the 60's. Aint Talkin' and Nettie Moore could be masterpieces from his back catalogue. He could have written these songs decades ago, maybe he did! The whole feel of the album is an artist at the top of his game. He is tipping Who else could write Workingman's Blues and deliver it in such a powerful way? His voice is getting better. This is how he wished he sounded like in the 60's. Aint Talkin' and Nettie Moore could be masterpieces from his back catalogue. He could have written these songs decades ago, maybe he did! The whole feel of the album is an artist at the top of his game. He is tipping his hat to so many greats here, guys he listened to over the wireless in Hibbing as a kid. Nobody is making records like this today. It is not nostalgia but mould breaking and will pave the way for many future artists. Expand
  24. T.S.
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    The Album of the Year!
  25. SteinN
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    I loved this album the first time I heard it the 21.st. of August
  26. TylerP
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    This is one of the best albums i've listened to. Gets my foot tappin and my spirits high everytime! You should all buy it!
  27. doug
    Sep 24, 2006
    10
    fucking genius
  28. SrivatsanL
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    This is a brilliant album by Dylan. His best ever? I dont think so. But for a guy whose career spans 40 years, let us be fair and not compare him with his past, but instead compare with him with others of the present. Taken like that this is a 10/10 album indeed!!
  29. ChristianZ
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    Holy . . . This is great music! I just sat back and let it wash over me. Dylan isn't just on a roll; he's like a phoenix. Time Out of Mind ruminated on death, Love and Theft sounded the prophecies, and now Modern Times combines those elements into a brand new sound for modern music. This is an album that ranks with his best. Yes, Blonde on Blonde, Bringing it All Back Home, Holy . . . This is great music! I just sat back and let it wash over me. Dylan isn't just on a roll; he's like a phoenix. Time Out of Mind ruminated on death, Love and Theft sounded the prophecies, and now Modern Times combines those elements into a brand new sound for modern music. This is an album that ranks with his best. Yes, Blonde on Blonde, Bringing it All Back Home, Highway 61, Blood on the Tracks, all of them. Listen to Modern Times back-to-back with any of his best and you will be converted. If it's true like he said that he's in his middle years, then long, long may he live! Expand
  30. aveehMcnelove
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    And once agin, a 100% pure quality. the words and the meanings all togather, creating this one big beatiful pazzel of words who tells about freedom, forgivness and love. Way the go Bobby!
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 100
    Love And Theft was quite unlike any other pop album--apart, that is, from Modern Times, its direct and audacious sequel. [Sep 2006, p.72]
  2. Intriguing, immediate, and quietly epic, Modern Times must rank among Dylan's finest albums.
  3. It's hard to hear Modern Times' music over the inevitable standing ovation and the thuds of middle-aged critics swooning in awe. When you do, you find something not unlike its predecessor, Love and Theft.