• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Aug 29, 2006
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 264 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 264

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GregorioB
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    At first listen I was not as crazy and agreeable with all the hype and build up for this new work from iPod Bob. Having opened the bottle and letting it breath a bit, I would put it right up there with the last two jewels of '97 and '01. After seeing the songs done live, especially 'Nettie Moore', I realized how good this almbum really is, and how much shelf life it At first listen I was not as crazy and agreeable with all the hype and build up for this new work from iPod Bob. Having opened the bottle and letting it breath a bit, I would put it right up there with the last two jewels of '97 and '01. After seeing the songs done live, especially 'Nettie Moore', I realized how good this almbum really is, and how much shelf life it will have for Uncle Bob. His voice has lived a number lives, and he still is able to get it out there and tell us a new story or two! Expand
  2. Brian
    Oct 5, 2006
    9
    I love it when people start off a review with "come on people." I love this CD and recognize this as one of Dylans best. He is a much different Dylan from the "times they are a changing" era which is what I love about Dylan. This is his 3rd straight masterpiece and one of his best in 30+ years.
  3. kevine
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    The follow up to Dylan's "Time out of mind" and "Love & Theft" is nothing short of astonishing. Dylan proves once again that only he and the Beatles would survive the end of time. Modern Times is one of Dylan's greatest albums and definately the best album of this decade. I However do disagree with Dylan's recent statment about how there hasnt been a decent sounding album The follow up to Dylan's "Time out of mind" and "Love & Theft" is nothing short of astonishing. Dylan proves once again that only he and the Beatles would survive the end of time. Modern Times is one of Dylan's greatest albums and definately the best album of this decade. I However do disagree with Dylan's recent statment about how there hasnt been a decent sounding album in 20 years. But I think the point he was maybe trying to get across is that there is far to much crap on our radios. Dylan deserves all the praise he'll get for this timeless piece of art. Expand
  4. oscarm
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    Bob is great! Amazing! Other masterpiece!
  5. williamm
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    Mesmerizing! Light hearted, heavy handed,seriously amusing and dizzyingly profound and often in a few short verses.What a rollercoaster ride!
  6. TheobaldT
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    Often regarded as retro rocker whose heydays were the sixties, Dylan has gone real retro: back to the 20's, 30's, and 40's. Western swing, jazz, blues, and the music of the old pop crooners like Bing Crosby et. al. The sound is very acoustic, crisp, and clear. An album for the island.
  7. cara
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    beautiful but also comical
  8. JamesD
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    Modern Times is another triumph for Bob Dylan and his best since Oh Mercy. There's no use trying to compare this album to his 60s masterpieces, this is a completely different period in Dylan's life/art. Instead of the psychedelic poetry of Blonde on Blonde, he is using the down to earth prose of traditional blues. What he did for pop/rock by combining meaningful lyrics and Modern Times is another triumph for Bob Dylan and his best since Oh Mercy. There's no use trying to compare this album to his 60s masterpieces, this is a completely different period in Dylan's life/art. Instead of the psychedelic poetry of Blonde on Blonde, he is using the down to earth prose of traditional blues. What he did for pop/rock by combining meaningful lyrics and poetry with popular music, he is now doing with blues. The NOW magazine review above is a disgrace. We don't alll have to agree on politics, religion or music, but some people obviously do not understand Dylan or the folk/blues tradition. Yes, Dylan is "borrowing" from traditional blues and folk music, JUST AS HE DID IN THE 60S! Blowin in the Wind and every folk song he wrote borrowed music and lyrics from older folk songs. The same is true of the blues. Blues singers borrow music and lyrics and build upon them and they keep passing the music down from one generation to the next. Dylan is now a major bridge in Blues, bringing what appears to be "old timey" music into a new generation. I know many young people who love Modern Times and because of Dylan they are learning that "old" blues and folk songs are still relevant in these "Modern Time". TAKE THE NOW REVIEW OFF! Before that horrible review was listed, Modern Times had score of 97 making it the highest rated album on Metacritic. It's not right to let one ignorant and obviously off the mark review reduce the score of this great album. At least include more of the hundreds of good reviews to balance it out! Expand
  9. willd
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    when the deal goes down will be covered by many,
  10. FrankD
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    10 great songs. Not a weak song on the whole CD. Dylan in great voice. Band is great. I love the way the CD starts with the intro to Thunder on the Mountain.
  11. KentE
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    Let me start first by addressing TBone. Bob Dylan grew up in Hibbing,Minnesota, or the "Iron Range" for those of us who know the area. Very working class area, and he himself worked in the mines up there. So yes "Workingman Blues 2" I would assume comes straight from the heart. And it could be him singing about his towns experiences and not his. Spike Lee grew up rich as hell in suburban Let me start first by addressing TBone. Bob Dylan grew up in Hibbing,Minnesota, or the "Iron Range" for those of us who know the area. Very working class area, and he himself worked in the mines up there. So yes "Workingman Blues 2" I would assume comes straight from the heart. And it could be him singing about his towns experiences and not his. Spike Lee grew up rich as hell in suburban Los Angeles and makes movies about the "ghetto" something he knows nothing about, but is that ok, or how about P. Diddy or whatever his name is now I cant keep up, grew up in rich suburban New York and sings about gangster life, even if Dylan isnt singing about his own experiences, which he is, most singers dont. The album is great, it mixes fast up beat songs with slower songs. Lots of musicians today modeled themselves after Dylan. "Workingmans Blues 2" is one of the best tracks, "Aint Talkin" is a highlight as well as "leeves gonna break". Its to bad in todays world we have no good protest singers, Green Day is a joke and so are the Dixie Chicks and even Pearl Jam who at least made an effort to make a decent protest album. I was a little dissapointed by the albums lack of political uproar or backlash at the Bush Administration as Dylan is the master of that, but all in all a great album from a great individual who I can only hope keeps making albums until he dies. Expand
  12. marcels
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    MT stands alongside Blonde on Blonde and Blood on the Tracks as his complete masterpieces. You've "painted that masterpiece", Bob.
  13. MattD.
    Aug 28, 2006
    9
    Great album! Many times, he shows his folk roots again. The thing preventing a 10 is Dylan's voice, which is too worn out to sustain the length of a couple of these songs.
  14. katiusa
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    ¡¡¡El Mejor!!!
  15. AdM
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    This CD contains 10 songs and all songs are masterpieces. Charming, seducing, very well sung or crooned. Perfect combination and placing of the 10 songs.
  16. JavierM
    Aug 29, 2006
    9
    Bob eres un borde, te has equivocado, pero sigues siendo DIOS, y ante eso anda se puede decir
  17. AndrewW
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    I was fully ready to be disappointed by this album, expecting average at best. But this is brilliant. How does he keep doing it? And it's not just the words- the music itself is awesome. These guys could play the album as an instrumental and it would still be a 4* listen. Best 3 album run since Dylan himself in the 60s, this is awesome. With the stereo turned all the way up, nothing I was fully ready to be disappointed by this album, expecting average at best. But this is brilliant. How does he keep doing it? And it's not just the words- the music itself is awesome. These guys could play the album as an instrumental and it would still be a 4* listen. Best 3 album run since Dylan himself in the 60s, this is awesome. With the stereo turned all the way up, nothing from the past decade can compete with Cold Irons Bound, High Water and Thunder on the Mountain. I'm 22, but this 65 year old has more to say to me than 99% of bands my age. Well done Sir. Expand
  18. MattC
    Aug 31, 2006
    9
    Only listened to it once, but I liked it better than last 2 albums. The lyrics seems to go somewhere, which was my problem with L&Theft. The lyrics seemed jumbled. They sounded good, but they did not build or even seem to be related to other lines in the song. Not here. Best lyrical Dylan album in a long time.
  19. WillG
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    One of Dylan's best. In my opinion, his 5th best album, behind "Highway 61", "Blood on the Tracks", "Blonde on Blonde", and "Bringing it all Back Home." Would be the best for many other groups, hence the 10
  20. AnastasiaK
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Modern Times is so good that if my house was on fire, I'd throw this disc out the window and let myself burn.
  21. ChuckS
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    I don't know how (or why) to compare Modern Times with Blonde on Blonde, Blood On The Tracks, Love & Theft or anything else Dylan has recorded in the past. We all move on. Compare it to Tom Petty's "Highway Companion" (I give that a 6), Ray Davies' "Other People's Lives" (8) or Neil Young's "Prairie Wind" (7 or 8) and you'll easily recognize the superiority I don't know how (or why) to compare Modern Times with Blonde on Blonde, Blood On The Tracks, Love & Theft or anything else Dylan has recorded in the past. We all move on. Compare it to Tom Petty's "Highway Companion" (I give that a 6), Ray Davies' "Other People's Lives" (8) or Neil Young's "Prairie Wind" (7 or 8) and you'll easily recognize the superiority of what he has produced and importance of what he has to say. Modern Times is soothing if you just listen to the tunes and provocative if you listen to the words. I bought the CD in a package that included Dylan's XM Show on Baseball. Nice extra. Expand
  22. Matt
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    A beautifully restrained album. In my opinion, even better than the last two.
  23. VincentS
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Who else could write Workingman's Blues and deliver it in such a powerful way? His voice is getting better. This is how he wished he sounded like in the 60's. Aint Talkin' and Nettie Moore could be masterpieces from his back catalogue. He could have written these songs decades ago, maybe he did! The whole feel of the album is an artist at the top of his game. He is tipping Who else could write Workingman's Blues and deliver it in such a powerful way? His voice is getting better. This is how he wished he sounded like in the 60's. Aint Talkin' and Nettie Moore could be masterpieces from his back catalogue. He could have written these songs decades ago, maybe he did! The whole feel of the album is an artist at the top of his game. He is tipping his hat to so many greats here, guys he listened to over the wireless in Hibbing as a kid. Nobody is making records like this today. It is not nostalgia but mould breaking and will pave the way for many future artists. Expand
  24. T.S.
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    The Album of the Year!
  25. SteinN
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    I loved this album the first time I heard it the 21.st. of August
  26. TylerP
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    This is one of the best albums i've listened to. Gets my foot tappin and my spirits high everytime! You should all buy it!
  27. doug
    Sep 24, 2006
    10
    fucking genius
  28. SrivatsanL
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    This is a brilliant album by Dylan. His best ever? I dont think so. But for a guy whose career spans 40 years, let us be fair and not compare him with his past, but instead compare with him with others of the present. Taken like that this is a 10/10 album indeed!!
  29. ChristianZ
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    Holy . . . This is great music! I just sat back and let it wash over me. Dylan isn't just on a roll; he's like a phoenix. Time Out of Mind ruminated on death, Love and Theft sounded the prophecies, and now Modern Times combines those elements into a brand new sound for modern music. This is an album that ranks with his best. Yes, Blonde on Blonde, Bringing it All Back Home, Holy . . . This is great music! I just sat back and let it wash over me. Dylan isn't just on a roll; he's like a phoenix. Time Out of Mind ruminated on death, Love and Theft sounded the prophecies, and now Modern Times combines those elements into a brand new sound for modern music. This is an album that ranks with his best. Yes, Blonde on Blonde, Bringing it All Back Home, Highway 61, Blood on the Tracks, all of them. Listen to Modern Times back-to-back with any of his best and you will be converted. If it's true like he said that he's in his middle years, then long, long may he live! Expand
  30. aveehMcnelove
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    And once agin, a 100% pure quality. the words and the meanings all togather, creating this one big beatiful pazzel of words who tells about freedom, forgivness and love. Way the go Bobby!
  31. KevinC
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    Look at the list of all-time high scores and tell me straight up that Dylan isn't being robbed. I'm not disputing the genius of those records, just baffled that this disc is getting less than 5-star reviews all-around. Come on, if Stankonia is a 97 no way in hell is this album less than a 97 as well. Just an awesome record of fans of good music regardless of genres or labels.
  32. Mars88
    Sep 6, 2006
    9
    his voice is wonderfully worn, and fit very well with the songs. great great great great.
  33. PaulM
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    Excellent !!! Just Excellent !!!
  34. LawrenceP
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    An instant classic. Dylan just gets better and better. There is more wisdom in Modern Times than in other artists' entire careers.
  35. ErlingO
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    He still does it. It becomes better with each playing. B.D. rules.
  36. PhillipB.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Dylan is still great.
  37. EloyG.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    This is a very very good disc. it's a classic rock and roll and folk album. Simply Great.
  38. SteveJ
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    this album has an eternal feel, it does not get old. very in the moment, a great artist with timeless skills.
  39. TomB
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    Always full of meaning..Bob's the greatest...
  40. ArtS.
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    Great
  41. LH
    Sep 14, 2007
    9
    I like Dylan hes a lyrical genius!!!!!
  42. DaveyJ
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    I didn't know what to make of this album and I sort of shelved it for a while. When I saw Dylan on Nov.2nd I got an instant understanding of the things that I'll never know and only feel. this is what Dylan has been trying to get to with his never ending tour. the record sums up where its at. This tour will stand as on of the best of his career and the album as one of the greats I didn't know what to make of this album and I sort of shelved it for a while. When I saw Dylan on Nov.2nd I got an instant understanding of the things that I'll never know and only feel. this is what Dylan has been trying to get to with his never ending tour. the record sums up where its at. This tour will stand as on of the best of his career and the album as one of the greats of all time!!! of any "artist". The people who don't like it are frankly stupid. Expand
  43. CJS.
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Best album in a long time. This really rocks.
  44. RogerT
    Nov 3, 2006
    10
    outstanding he just gets better can not take it off the player in car and at home
  45. edf
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    wonderful!
  46. AzorC
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    Another masterpiece.
  47. ositoakaBongo
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    Well, his Bobness aclaimed the peak of the holy Mountain of the sound from the dusty Roads and the bleeding workers.
  48. HalleyP
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    Great, Amazing, Astonishing, Vibrant, Perfect, Flawless, Honest, and Terrific. You can use witch ever word you prefer when discribing this album
  49. CarisaR
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    Less acidic (in sound and style) than "Time Out of Mind," and less rambling and all-over-the-place than "Love & Theft," this masterpiece is at least slightly better than either. The epic "Ain't Talkin'" is Bob's best song since "Jokerman."
  50. brotheroftomjones
    Aug 28, 2006
    9
    Very solid album. Lame! Ha ha! I could 6 great albums since Desire.
  51. Miguel
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    Hey, person who gave it a 3, you haven't even heard it! Why even vote?
  52. JamesC
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    And so continues Bob Dylan's golden renaissance that began with Time Out of Mind and Love and Theft. A beautiful, moving, compelling and deeply human work. Nettie Moore and Ain't Talkin' are amongst his finest songs.
  53. BrianP
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    This brilliant album combines some of the elements of "Love and Theft" with well-written lyrics and catchy tunes. My favorite album to date.
  54. BrandonS
    Aug 29, 2006
    9
    This makes 3 classics in a row. I love Dylan's c crusty old guy style. It's as good as the swooning critics said it would be.
  55. JefferyG
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Fabulous album. Slow, steady, well crafted, brilliant lyrics (again). A breath of fresh air. It grows on me each time I listen to it.
  56. Nathan
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    a grand achievement in the great tradition of american arts.
  57. Jules
    Aug 30, 2006
    9
    First, I am no Bob Dylan worshipper. Blonde on blonde has many angular witty moments of genius and blood on the tracks has many angular sad moments of genius. Who cares what changed music - does it grab your soul and twist your mind right here, right now? Most of what Sir Bob has done has not done this all at the same time for me. Usually truly great lyrics, often great songsmithery, only First, I am no Bob Dylan worshipper. Blonde on blonde has many angular witty moments of genius and blood on the tracks has many angular sad moments of genius. Who cares what changed music - does it grab your soul and twist your mind right here, right now? Most of what Sir Bob has done has not done this all at the same time for me. Usually truly great lyrics, often great songsmithery, only occasionally truly great spiritedness and soulfulness. Still, each to their own. But, but, and this is a big but, this last trio of albums laughing and rutting in the face of death by Bob have been an intellectual and soulful joy from start and especially to the finish. What a rich album this is! Perhaps Bob was always reaching for that role of old crankyhotpants bluespreacherman - when he was young this seemed contrived if well meant - now he simply has become this gloriously twisted preacherman. Expand
  58. howellg
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    picks up where Love and Theft leaves off.
  59. DaveO
    Aug 30, 2006
    9
    good music to cook to.
  60. TimW
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    At first listening perhaps not as note-worthy as say High-Way 61 and Blood on The Tracks, largely due to not having a "hit" song or straigth-faced "memorable" Dyan song; Modern Love appeals to your sensibilities over listening, or be it time; and materalises as substantial recording of Dylan, who in his 60s still has was it takes and does not look as rediculous as this year's At first listening perhaps not as note-worthy as say High-Way 61 and Blood on The Tracks, largely due to not having a "hit" song or straigth-faced "memorable" Dyan song; Modern Love appeals to your sensibilities over listening, or be it time; and materalises as substantial recording of Dylan, who in his 60s still has was it takes and does not look as rediculous as this year's Rolling-Stones concert tour. Dylan does have to be sexy--Mic Jagger!--in his 60s. He has but fulfill the promise of a blues siinger and muscian and song -writer. Modern Love gives all that--a graceful overture to blues undertaken by the greatest song-writer of the second half of this century. Gone is Dylan's "absurdism" of the 60s recordings; Dylan delievers straight-forward plays of language and song. Expand
  61. blatzm
    Sep 1, 2006
    9
    Fantastic album, better than "Love and Theft," blah blah blah...I just want add to the other comments here by saying there is something terribly wrong with the CD pressing of this album. When it went through the mastering process, they made it far too loud, making the bass and drums distort. The review copy, which leaked onto the internet before the CD was released, sounds amazing. Fantastic album, better than "Love and Theft," blah blah blah...I just want add to the other comments here by saying there is something terribly wrong with the CD pressing of this album. When it went through the mastering process, they made it far too loud, making the bass and drums distort. The review copy, which leaked onto the internet before the CD was released, sounds amazing. I'd suggest waiting until Sony fixes this problem before purchasing. Expand
  62. R.L.
    Sep 2, 2006
    9
    One of the best albums to come out in the last 20 years! And incredibly, it's only a shade less entertaining than the "Tweedle Dee & Tweedle Dum" record.
  63. JimN
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    surprisingly the hype about this as the end of a trilogy of releases is not completely inplausible. this will be worth its many times I will listen and relisten to it.
  64. jamesnormann
    Sep 23, 2006
    9
    it is amazing that bobby is still good enough & far ahead enough to get bad reviews.
  65. sl
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    Another brilliant album in the bob catalogue.
  66. BenE
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    flows perfectly from start to finish, spellbinding.
  67. BobT
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    This a brilliant album and it exemplifies why Dylan is in a class by himself.
  68. TimR
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    best album I have heard in years, I especially liked the first 6 tracks -- I was expecting something good but not this good...buy it you won't be disappointed regardess of your thoughts on Dylan -- if you are a Dylan fan you will be overwhelmed.
  69. JimG
    Sep 8, 2006
    9
    Dylan matures gracefully. Dylan is doing what he wants and could care less about anybodys opinion of his art. Great CD
  70. BrianM
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    There aren't enough adjectives to describe how good this album is. The Man's in amazing voice, the band is incredible....if you're not listening to this, your life is incomplete.
  71. PaulS
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    When all is said and done this will be recognized as one of the best. He should win the Nobel Prize for Literature.
  72. PhilZ
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    Clearly the best of the recent trilogy along with Love & Theft and Time out of Mind. Perhaps the best work since Infidels. This is one of Dylan's top half dozen albums.
  73. Jamesk
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    C mon guys, ofc if this cd was under the name of an unknown arist he may had a average user rating 2.But c mon he is BOB DYLAN.Whatever he says is like gospel to me.Period._
  74. JanisP
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    Very enjoyable album, with the mystery and quirks of Dylan making blues even so much more interesting.
  75. CB
    Jul 8, 2007
    9
    Great, great album. Like many of his great albums, like New Morning or Slow Train Coming, starts out sounding understated and then gets better with each listening. His best since Blood on the Tracks, Desire, and Slow Train. Don't judge by the first listening; listen again. It's a sleeper. Over the hill? Man's still got the juice.
  76. DanS
    Nov 19, 2006
    9
    An excellent cd......one of my best. If there were more up tempo songs on it, like track No. 1....it'd be a 10.
  77. MatthewB
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    Amazing!
  78. PippoP
    Aug 27, 2006
    9
    A great album from a great artist.
  79. freepilos
    Aug 27, 2006
    9
    Great! Although i doubted i've heard Frank Sinatra.
  80. LindaM
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    Great timeless music!
  81. KikiG
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    Yet another late career masterpiece. An impossible blend of music history, love, lust, fire and brimstone. The songs sould truly timeless. Some could be half a century or a century old yet there is no contrivance or exercise in empty nostalgia. They are as anachranistic as they are fresh.
  82. geofr
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    after a couple of listens 'modern times' certainly feels like a 'major' work, residing quite comfortably within the americana 'canon' (i.e. jl hooker, h williams, m waters, s foster etc & all the other usual suspects) rather than merely reflecting it like most everyone else (including modern day 'giants' such as lucinda, g welch etc). it's art, after a couple of listens 'modern times' certainly feels like a 'major' work, residing quite comfortably within the americana 'canon' (i.e. jl hooker, h williams, m waters, s foster etc & all the other usual suspects) rather than merely reflecting it like most everyone else (including modern day 'giants' such as lucinda, g welch etc). it's art, i suppose - kinda the musical equivalent of the prose in his chronicles, vol 1. and it's simultaneously witty and profound, rocking and reflective, sensitive and cynical. his band is awesome through most of it too &, surprisingly, he's actually taken considerable care with the vocals. as important, these songs have been written with performance in mind - further adding to the repertoire for the 'never-ending tour'. Expand
  83. DerrickC
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    BEST ALBUM EVER in the history of music!!!
  84. LaurenC
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    As a whole this album is more complete than Love and Theft. Some of Bob Dylan's best singing and most personal introspection since Blood on the Tracks. Great album to get lost in....
  85. JimM
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    Dyan's last Three albums have received universal acclaim for a reason. Dylan is on a roll. Time Out of Mind was his best album since Blood on the Tracks, Love and Theft kicked him into higher gear with rocking blues, and Modern Times tops them all. The best album of his "later years" and will stand up to many of his early classics (inlcuding the very uneven Desire RH!). Modern Times Dyan's last Three albums have received universal acclaim for a reason. Dylan is on a roll. Time Out of Mind was his best album since Blood on the Tracks, Love and Theft kicked him into higher gear with rocking blues, and Modern Times tops them all. The best album of his "later years" and will stand up to many of his early classics (inlcuding the very uneven Desire RH!). Modern Times has it all: folk, blues, jazz, rockabilly, and Dylan's voice sounds great, expressing the character of an old blues singer. Only Dylan could sing these kind of songs so well. The band is great, the sound is much better than TOOM and Love & Theft. This album is getting great reviews for a reason.. it is that good. There's no throwaway songs on here (I didn't care much for Tweedle Dee Tweedle Dum on Love & Theft,, or Dirt Road Blues on TOOM, I wouldn't throw out any of the songs on Modern Times they are all great, but the opening Thunder on the Mountain, Rollin and Tumblin, Levee's gonna Break are some of the best rockin' blues you'll hear (no one else is doing this stuff!), and then there are the jazz/ballads showing his worn out voice can still deliver (When the Deal Goes Down and Not Talkin' are two more masterpieces to add to his long list) and Workingman Blues #2 is stunning. I Expand
  86. KurtA
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    Dylan is the GREATEST artist ever. If PAul McCartney puts out an album this good in the next 5 years, I'l eat my words. But this tops everything since Blood on the Tracks. It remind's you of why you listen to music, why you love Dylan so much. And, YES, oh yes, he rambles.
  87. SamuelG
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    Bob Dylan returns, the king is here again with a perfect album. I love it!
  88. MitchP
    Aug 31, 2006
    9
    The streak continues. Although I don't consider it the last part of a trilogy because Time Out of Mind has a different sound to it. Modern Times is more like a companion piece fo Love and Theft. I agree with one user in that it's not quite up to par with The great Trilogy of albums from the 60s. I think it's lazy criticism to compare the two "trilogies" and put them on The streak continues. Although I don't consider it the last part of a trilogy because Time Out of Mind has a different sound to it. Modern Times is more like a companion piece fo Love and Theft. I agree with one user in that it's not quite up to par with The great Trilogy of albums from the 60s. I think it's lazy criticism to compare the two "trilogies" and put them on equal level. That being said, it's a great album Expand
  89. BradP
    Aug 31, 2006
    9
    Another Dylan album - OK, it's not going to shatter us like Highway 61 or Blonde on Blonde, but this is terrific work. Dylan retreats into melodies and structures taken from the iconic folk music he loves and adds poetry as only he can. The voice is creaky, the band is as comfortable as old jeans, and references from 150 years of American songcraft echo like distant voices in deep Another Dylan album - OK, it's not going to shatter us like Highway 61 or Blonde on Blonde, but this is terrific work. Dylan retreats into melodies and structures taken from the iconic folk music he loves and adds poetry as only he can. The voice is creaky, the band is as comfortable as old jeans, and references from 150 years of American songcraft echo like distant voices in deep caverns. Since virtually no other artist manages this, it is difficult to compare except to more Dylan. He embraces the old and traditional songs as they once were - malleable scaffolds from which to project your own version of the truth as you see it, instead of stuffy museum pieces or inscrutable '78s. Interesting that more than ever, Dylan's work reflects his early influences - especially Harry Smith's 1952 Anthology of American Folk Music. Those 84 tracks loom like gargoyles on the Cathedral of Bob. Clearly an extension of the path blazed by Time Out of Mind and Love and Theft, Modern Times contains no surprises, only revelations slowly turning in your mind. No one under 50 could possibly create this stuff, and we should be grateful. Expand
  90. MattR.
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    This really is a fantastic album. There are no weak songs, and a couple are among his best. Personally, I find it more appealing than Love & Theft.
  91. LarryS
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    Tim Perlich of "Now" is an idiot! A voice changes with age and this voice is well suited to the material. He was never a crooner, but that never detracted from the sincerity and immersion in his chosen material in a way shared by a few e.g. Johnny Cash. The only cynical attempt to pass anything off; is Petrich's attempt to pass himself off as a knowledgeable critic.
  92. aurelios
    Sep 14, 2006
    9
    muy bueno , mejora con cada escucha, sin rabia sesentera pero se degusta como un vino de reserva, saboreando cada detalle.no tiene un 10 porque sino que ¿le pondriamos a blonde on blonde?.
  93. SethR
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    awesome. dylan at his finest. 10 GREAT songs!
  94. KenG
    Sep 24, 2006
    10
    The depth and breadth of artistry evident in this disc is astounding. How many more years can he keep this up?
  95. emiliog
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Lo mejor de Dylan en los últimos años. Un placer escuchar el disco
  96. sbsb
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    Not the greatest work of Dylan, but certainly a very good album. Dylan never gets old.
  97. DavidG
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    giving dylan a 10 is only because for at least the last 20 years (more) dylan has been addressing a bible based truth that being he is the spokeman for yahweh concerning his bride and her relation with the marriage of god and his people(us)we being the bride for instance jokerman is humanity not .dylan. the waitess in time out of mind again is the bride. enough said i hope you replay some giving dylan a 10 is only because for at least the last 20 years (more) dylan has been addressing a bible based truth that being he is the spokeman for yahweh concerning his bride and her relation with the marriage of god and his people(us)we being the bride for instance jokerman is humanity not .dylan. the waitess in time out of mind again is the bride. enough said i hope you replay some albums , oh the gar dener in 'not talkin' is Jesus... Expand
  98. Sarah
    Nov 17, 2006
    10
    This is an incredible, incredible album. Workingman's Blues #2 might just be my new favorite song. Anyone who thinks Dylan can't sing should listen to this. I can't believe some people gave it such a bad rating...Dylan is truly incredible. The songwriting is amazing...deals with everything from God to sucking milk out of cows. Amaaaaaaaaaaizingggggggggggggg.
  99. SharonD
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    Another brilliant album from rock's greatest songwriter. I am sick of all these idiots who want to keep Bob frozen in the 1960's. You all need to grow up (and wake up). Older artists can be as relevant and emotionally moving as the younger ones, maybe even more so. It's called experience, which one can only gain with age. People place too much emphasis on youth over Another brilliant album from rock's greatest songwriter. I am sick of all these idiots who want to keep Bob frozen in the 1960's. You all need to grow up (and wake up). Older artists can be as relevant and emotionally moving as the younger ones, maybe even more so. It's called experience, which one can only gain with age. People place too much emphasis on youth over experience in American culture. It's great artists like Dylan who provide an antidote to this stupid notion. Expand
  100. Sep 7, 2010
    9
    Not as great as Love and Theft, but Modern Times is a hell of a record. Dylan continues to let us know that he is back; quite a fun album. The times may be a changing but Bobby manages to stay his brilliant self
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 100
    Love And Theft was quite unlike any other pop album--apart, that is, from Modern Times, its direct and audacious sequel. [Sep 2006, p.72]
  2. Intriguing, immediate, and quietly epic, Modern Times must rank among Dylan's finest albums.
  3. It's hard to hear Modern Times' music over the inevitable standing ovation and the thuds of middle-aged critics swooning in awe. When you do, you find something not unlike its predecessor, Love and Theft.