• Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: May 14, 2013
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 303 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 303

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 14, 2013
    6
    After the masterpiece, "Contra", Vampire Weekend has stopped innovating on "Modern Vampires of the City". Instead, they mostly just rehash their previous songs or other people's styles/songs. "Diane Young" sounds like an Elvis song that has a punk edge, and it's first chorus is annoying with the voice affects. "Everlasting Arms" sounds like the song "Giving Up The Gun" from "Contra".After the masterpiece, "Contra", Vampire Weekend has stopped innovating on "Modern Vampires of the City". Instead, they mostly just rehash their previous songs or other people's styles/songs. "Diane Young" sounds like an Elvis song that has a punk edge, and it's first chorus is annoying with the voice affects. "Everlasting Arms" sounds like the song "Giving Up The Gun" from "Contra". "Worship You" sounds like an Irish jig. "Step" uses the same song as a common wedding song. "Unbelievers" reminds me of the song "Gimme Some Lovin'" by the Spencer Davis Group.

    Now there are some good songs here: "Don't Lie", "Hanna Hunt", and "Ya Hey". The latter one though suffers from some annoying squeaky sounds in the chorus, but the emotions in the song are top notch.

    "Obvious Bicycle", "Hudson", and "Young Lion" are all just slow, boring songs in my opinion.
    Expand
  2. BKM
    May 14, 2013
    6
    Vampire Weekend's third album finds the indie-rockers making a deliberate effort to push their music in new directions. After two hugely entertaining gems full of irresistible ear candy, Modern Vampires of the City puts the catchy hooks on the back burner in favor of dense arrangements, sonic experimentation, electronic elements and a darker vibe overall. The result is an album that isVampire Weekend's third album finds the indie-rockers making a deliberate effort to push their music in new directions. After two hugely entertaining gems full of irresistible ear candy, Modern Vampires of the City puts the catchy hooks on the back burner in favor of dense arrangements, sonic experimentation, electronic elements and a darker vibe overall. The result is an album that is ambitious but a little bit boring. VW clearly don't want to stay in the comfort zone they carved out on their first two outings, but album number three is the sound of a group in transition and not quite the masterwork that they are capable of. Hopefully they will pull everything together next time out. Expand
  3. May 20, 2013
    6
    The production is top notch, that's for sure. Yet, their sound doesn't really go anywhere. By all accounts, it's another Vampire Weekend album, which are generally good, but leave something more substantial to be desired.
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    6
    After falling in love with Contra and Vampire Weekend and the up-beat sound and style that was so unique and characteristic of Vampire Weekend, I find myself quite disappointed as to where Modern Vampires of the City has gone. I commend Vampire Weekend for not entirely selling out and still maintaing some style while going into a genre too often explored and found wanting. The originalityAfter falling in love with Contra and Vampire Weekend and the up-beat sound and style that was so unique and characteristic of Vampire Weekend, I find myself quite disappointed as to where Modern Vampires of the City has gone. I commend Vampire Weekend for not entirely selling out and still maintaing some style while going into a genre too often explored and found wanting. The originality seems to have taken a hit in this album for a more mainstream friendly sound. Not a big fan, and I'm quite disappointed. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    I loved this band's first two albums, too bad they changed up their style here and ditched the funky afrobeats and synths. Some good tracks on here, but overall this album just isn't as fun as I'd hoped after hearing two pretty strong singles in Diane Young and Step. Maybe it'll grow on me!
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    67
    If Modern Vampires of the City makes one thing clear, it's that Vampire Weekend's just getting started here.
  2. 80
    Overall, Modern Vampires of The City sounds fantastic, but not overproduced.
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    60
    While MVOTC doesn’t represent a seismic leap from their earlier material, the general feeling is of a much more considered collection, with greater emphasis on song craft.