Modern Vampires of the City Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 273 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Co-produced by Ariel Rechtshaid and band member Rostam Batmanglij, the third full-length release from the indie rock quartet was inspired by New York City.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. 100
    Each verse/chorus/bridge/​intro melody, each lyric straight or knotty, each sound effect playful or perverse (or both)‑-each is pleasurable in itself and aptly situated in the sturdy songs and tracks, so that the whole signifies without a hint of concept.
  2. 91
    When everything here lines up the right way--and it more often than not, it does--Modern Vampires is the perfect album for the coming Atlantic summer. Think of it like saltwater taffy: bright and sweet, with plenty to chew on.
  3. May 9, 2013
    90
    The new record by Vampire Weekend is the best alternative pop album you will hear this year. Unselfconscious, technically brilliant in a way that crucially you will never actually notice, shimmering with beautiful, strange melodies and just a small smidge of actual bonkers.
  4. 80
    It’s time to start thinking of Vampire Weekend not as upstarts but as one of the world’s best bands, because they’ve delivered a trio of great albums in an era when diminished expectations leave most listeners grateful for one.
  5. May 17, 2013
    80
    Modern Vampires quite often touches brilliance, and does so without audibly straining for 'maturity' or pushing hard to be some po-faced Great American Album.
  6. May 13, 2013
    80
    Like art, Vampires is dense; like pop, it seems to float in effortlessly from some place you're sure you've been, but by some trick of déjà vu eludes your conscious brain.
  7. 20
    In the end, Modern Vampires just seems to fade into a dull glow that will still be overshadowed by the band's explosive self-titled debut. [Jun 2013, p.102]

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 54
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 54
  3. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. May 14, 2013
    10
    Haters beware. This is the album that change your entire outlook on Vampire Weekend. Gone are the peppy, Afrobeats and Synths that dominated the first two records. Gone (for the most part) are the ivy-leaguer lyrical references. Instead Vampire Weekend gives us their most concise, beautiful, and varied album. Difficult without actually challenging the listener, because the pop hooks are so good. Through and Through it's still a Vampire Weekend album; you can hear it in the "M79" strings of "Don't Lie" or the up-tempo "a-Punk" beat of "Unbelievers," but this album takes those ideas found in previous albums and takes them in interesting directions. There is never a dull moment on the record; the songs continually shift and distort until their conclusion. I can't think of a better album or direction Vampire Weekend could have taken. Easily their best work yet, and quite possibly the album of the year already for 2013. Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    The best release in a summer that was packed with quality music and hype. Vampire Weekend gets better with each effort, and the drastic change in musical style while still maintaining an incredibly unique identity and sound and continuing to produce masterfully impresses. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    There are just so many things I can say about this album. But for the life of me I just cant figure out how to say them. All I can really express is how this album may be the most important piece of music I have ever listened to. There is so much beauty in the minds of Ezra, Rostam, CT, and Baio. The four of them plus additional producer Ariel Rechtscaid have created a spectacular record that I believe will never be forgot. Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Stunningly beautiful, delightfully unique, and deceivingly simple, this album may go down as Vampire Weekend's best. The songs transition so beautifully that the album is over before you know it and you aren't even sure which song was your favorite. The songs' seeming simplicity belie masterful song-craft on the part of Ezra Koenig and Co. What really brings this album together, however, is the lyrics. The musicianship is so impressive that you can, and most likely will, go several listens without even paying attention to the words the songs are that beautiful but when you do take the time to listen to what is being sung, you will discover the most mature lyrical themes of this band's entire catalog.

    Perfect chamber pop. 9/10
    Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    Three albums in, Vampire Weekend still haven't lost their edge. While their last album had a concept about a breakup that sends Ezra's brain on all sorts of crazy tangents, this one is a more controlled statement that mainly deals with Ezra's religious beliefs. It doesn't have any irrelevant mini-concepts like The Clash, or the Contra video game, or Nicaraguan revolutionaries, although it does have the random Vampire Weekend weirdness that always shows up in their lyrics. Like the music ones first Lil Jon, then Kanye West, and now Modest Mouse and DragonForce. What do these things all have in common? Everybody knows I'm a moster! (But seriously, the thing is that none of those artist references have anything to do with the rest of the song, not that they really have to).

    Since the album has religious themes, sometimes also atheistic or agnostic, you'd expect church instrumentation a la Arcade Fire's "Neon Bible", and you would be right. But the difference is that none of the tracks are overloaded with organs, and surprisingly not baroque instruments either, like you would expect from Rostam Batmanglij. Instead, the preferred sound is that of choirs, in my opinion the perfect choice. Ezra and Rostam must be geniuses, this band has had some of the coolest evolution I've ever gotten to experience with my ears. They know how to evolve.

    I observed that the album Vampire Weekend was rather quiet, and Contra was much more willing to raise its voice. Modern Vampires is a little bit in the middle of the road, as its concept is as well. Some of these tracks are bangers, some are chillers, and some are quiet and put you right on the edge of your seat. All of these varieties work. That really pleases me because the result is a record that, somehow, impossibly, I end up liking BETTER than Contra. Yeah, I can't believe I said it, but it's actually true. This is my favorite Vampire Weekend album to date.

    I give this a 9 out of 10. This band's fourth LP has found itself at the very top of my list of most anticipated upcoming albums. But is probably won't arrive until 2016. Meaning I'll have something missing from my life until then.

    STANDOUT TRACKS: OBVIOUS BICYCLE, UNBELIEVERS, DIANE YOUNG, HANNAH HUNT, EVERLASTING ARMS, WORSHIP YOU, YA HEY, HUDSON, YOUNG LION

    (Yes, I realize only three tracks remain. That's how good this is. Almost every track on here can be considered one of my favorites.)
    Expand
  6. May 14, 2013
    8
    A brilliantly thought out and meticulously detailed and executed album. From beginning to end, Vampire Weekend never cease to impress with perfectly crafted songs, taking you through a calming yet exhilarating album; definitely their best effort. Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2013
    0
    I love the first 2 albums of Vampire Weekend. They are energetic and spontaneously played! Almost every song makes me move and believe me I am not a dancer. I was looking forward for their 3rd album, the critics were positive... To be honest: it was a great disappointment the first time. I tried a 2nd time; let it rest for 2 weeks and tried a 3rd time. No improvement in my experience. Probably the album has been over produced/thought and the music does not embrace me as the first 2 albums.
    I will continue listening the first 2 albums and try to forget this bad experience. It was such a disappointment that I created a account on this fantastic site to share the thoughts of Vampire Weekend lover with you.
    Expand

See all 54 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.
  2. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.
  3. Summer Music Preview: 30 Notable Upcoming Albums

    Summer Music Preview: 30 Notable Upcoming Albums Image
    Published: May 9, 2013
    The coming months will see new albums from Daft Punk, Vampire Weekend, Boards of Canada, The National, Queens of the Stone Age, and (maybe) Kanye West. Get all the details on these and other major summer releases, and listen to tracks from each one.