Mojo

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CodyT.
    Jun 17, 2010
    6
    A great return for the Heartbreakers. But far from perfect. This album, while a little too long and bloated, does have redeeming qualities though. Styles range from Zeppelin-esque rock (I Should Have Known It) to honky tonk (Jefferson Jericho Blues) to reggae (Don't Pull Me Over). When Petty and his band DO bring home the bacon and fry it in the pan, its well worth the purchase.
  2. LeoT
    Jun 17, 2010
    10
    WOW! These guys never disappoint. highly recommended.
  3. AndyB
    Jun 16, 2010
    10
    Possibly the most honest blues album i've heard in a very long time. The honesty that presents itself in every track is incredible.
  4. SteveC
    Jun 16, 2010
    10
    Tom Petty! Excellent as usual. I don't think the first track should lead the album, I think a different song would have been a better choice, but the rest of the cd is incredible. So give it a listen and I think you will be very pleased. Running Man's Bible, The Trip To Pirate's Cove, and No Reason To Cry stand out to me as the cream of the crop of the album, but all of the Tom Petty! Excellent as usual. I don't think the first track should lead the album, I think a different song would have been a better choice, but the rest of the cd is incredible. So give it a listen and I think you will be very pleased. Running Man's Bible, The Trip To Pirate's Cove, and No Reason To Cry stand out to me as the cream of the crop of the album, but all of the songs will leave you fullfilled. So go buy it! Expand
  5. NateK
    Jun 16, 2010
    10
    For anyone looking for a definitive sound of the latter-day Heartbreakers, you're not going to get any closer than this. A blues-rock album with plenty of other traditional genres thrown in for good measure, we see a revitalized band working their mojo as if they'd just come awake after at least a 10-year hibernation, and back then, it was Tom Petty who was in hibernation. Now, For anyone looking for a definitive sound of the latter-day Heartbreakers, you're not going to get any closer than this. A blues-rock album with plenty of other traditional genres thrown in for good measure, we see a revitalized band working their mojo as if they'd just come awake after at least a 10-year hibernation, and back then, it was Tom Petty who was in hibernation. Now, they're all at the forefront, all working together, and Tom's writing some of his most creative and memorable songs to bolster what could very well be their best album. Easily Tom Petty's longest album, clocking in at 65 minutes, by the time you're done listening you feel that maybe a half-hour has passed. And although Mojo could be classified as much more "jammy" than anything Tom Petty's ever put on record, the music is so good that if you'd find one of Petty's old 2 and a half minute jangly singles and measure it up against a Mojo track, you'd be surprised at which one would bore you first. Expand
  6. AndyS
    Jun 16, 2010
    10
    Brilliant. He never fails to make a great record. I was hooked on the first full listen.
  7. AnthonyJ
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    this album is lined with perfect melodies that flow together very nicely. the atmosphere of this album is awe inspiring.
  8. JacksonJ
    Jun 15, 2010
    8
    Very solid musicianship. Sounds like the band is having fun and is a more representative of their live shows. To bad the Chicago Tribune rating is incorrect. It is showing a "30" and if you click on the review Greg Kot actually gave it 3 out of 4 stars. Should be a "75". Hopefully this will be corrected.
  9. RobinS
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    Really the best Tom Petty album in years, gotta love this!
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Tuneful and gently flowing, Mojo is endowed with the qualities diehards expect from Tom ''Watch Me Rock Out Without Breaking a Sweat'' Petty. What it lacks is instant classics (didn't he used to be good for a few per album?).
  2. Petty’s classic pop knack, breezy melodies and laid-back drawl take a back seat to Campbell’s meandering, jammy solos and the album’s overwhelmingly old-guy-blues sound.
  3. The record is long on instrumentals and short on singing, with Petty showing up mostly to fill space between guitar solos and extended jams, giving Mojo a higher Heartbreakers-to-Petty ratio than any previous release. But if Mojo is meant to be the band's showcase, it's not an especially successful one.