Mole City

Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Magnet
    Oct 18, 2013
    90
    Taken all in one sitting, the dashing Mole City is both way too much and way too little. [No. 103, p.60]
  2. Uncut
    Nov 1, 2013
    80
    It's an LP that gets through more ideas than most indie bands can manage in a lifetime. [Dec 2013, p.71]
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    Once it's clear that anything can happen, the lack of a common sound makes each track an exciting new proposition, allowing the listener to feel a sense of discovery despite the fact that they've been listening to Quasi for as long as two decades now.
  4. 70
    On Mole City, Quasi embrace their scattered thoughts with a wink and a grin, and never let go.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    70
    While the length is an issue, when Quasi do get it right, the results are up there with some of the best work they have produced over the last two decades.
  6. 70
    There's little, if any, regard for structure or convention, meaning that Mole City could be five tracks long or 50 and still happily exist in a brilliantly idiosyncratic bubble all of its own.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    68
    Not the best Quasi introduction for first-time listeners, but there’s plenty for the band’s fans to love.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jan 5, 2014
    4
    Old-fashioned rock music. I would have liked that album if it was released 8 or 9 years ago. I was into that kind of music back then. Maybe inOld-fashioned rock music. I would have liked that album if it was released 8 or 9 years ago. I was into that kind of music back then. Maybe in the future i'll like it more. But now, it's just okay. It didn't catch my attention or imagination in any kind of way. It wasn't exciting enough. Full Review »