Monster

Monster Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 20th studio release for the rock band led by Gene Simmons and Paul Stanley was recorded on analog equipment.
Buy On

Top Track

Hell or Hallelujah
I rode the highway to heartache I took a trip on the ship of fools, woah yeah! And I paid the price to have my way Cause money makes the rules,... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Kerrang!
    Nov 7, 2012
    80
    It's not quite Destroyer good, but then again, it's not quite Animalize bad either. [13 Oct 2012, p.53]
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    75
    KISS' new album, Monster, is a fantastic dog: Protective, loyal, fun to be around but ferocious when it needs to be.
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    67
    That Simmons and Stanley put this much passion and knuckle-dragging fun into Monster makes the disc's sporadic warts just part of the appeal.
  4. Oct 16, 2012
    60
    With Monster, Kiss hit the mark best when rewriting the sound they developed as youngsters and when they keep it simple, predictable, and fun.
  5. Oct 19, 2012
    60
    Kiss' 20th LP draws from their bottomlessly shallow cesspool of comfortably dumb cowbell-glam wham-bam – with stewardess sex, married groupies and "The Devil Is Me," where Gene Simmons lowtalks like the smoothest used-car salesman in hell.
  6. Oct 16, 2012
    60
    Kiss's 20th studio album is a steady if unremarkable outing.
  7. Oct 25, 2012
    40
    Although the album barely brings its head above the water-line marked "passable", it's still too slick, too unified and too perfectly structured to convince you that apart from the vocals of Stanley and Simmons, the rest of the album is nothing more than a hodge-podge of contributions from various pony-tailed musos from somewhere sunny.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    i love this album its very good very msm porque ele otimo muito bom mesmo ele o melhor do kiss monster muito boom kiss army argentina brasil eua ee
  2. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    O melhor disco de rock de 2012, com riffs matadores, ótimos refrões e solos impecáveis de Tommy Thayer, que deixa a sombra de Ace Frehley e seO melhor disco de rock de 2012, com riffs matadores, ótimos refrões e solos impecáveis de Tommy Thayer, que deixa a sombra de Ace Frehley e se mostra um grande guitarrista. Monster simplesmente consegue mostrar que o Kiss ainda tem Rock N' Roll de sobra para oferecer. Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    An amazing album from start to finish. A mix of Rock N Roll Over and Revenge. My only concern is Paul Stanley's voice. He struggles toAn amazing album from start to finish. A mix of Rock N Roll Over and Revenge. My only concern is Paul Stanley's voice. He struggles to reach the high notes on some of the songs, but there again, he is 60 years old. Best songs on the album:
    Hell or Hallejeah
    Freak
    Long Way Down
    Last Chance
    Collapse
  4. Jul 13, 2015
    8
    4 votos negativos???????????????????????????????????????????.... só não dou 10 por causa da porcaria The Devil Is Me e a chata Wall Of4 votos negativos???????????????????????????????????????????.... só não dou 10 por causa da porcaria The Devil Is Me e a chata Wall Of Sound,,o resto é foda é 1000 portanto 4 votos negativos para Monster (2012) é inaceitável Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2015
    8
    67% For critics with only 3 positive reviews and the rest mixed... Really??? Monster (2012) is amazing album which shows that Kiss not67% For critics with only 3 positive reviews and the rest mixed... Really??? Monster (2012) is amazing album which shows that Kiss not suffering from midlife crisis... Deserves an 70% to 75% percents Expand
  6. Jul 20, 2015
    8
    The Devil is me é a merda que gene simmons sempre insiste em fazer na discografia do Kiss Wall Of Sound é fraca também
    Top 5 Monster 2012
    The Devil is me é a merda que gene simmons sempre insiste em fazer na discografia do Kiss Wall Of Sound é fraca também
    Top 5 Monster 2012
    1-Long Way Down
    2-Freak
    3-Eat Your Heart Out
    4-Hell Or Hallelujah
    5-All For The Love Of Rock & Roll
    Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2013
    1
    Really awful. I love KISS, but this is just plain terrible, sorry to say. When did they forget how to write songs? No melodies, justReally awful. I love KISS, but this is just plain terrible, sorry to say. When did they forget how to write songs? No melodies, just headache-inducing noise. They should take a listen to their old stuff, try to find some fresh inspiration. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews