Monsters Of Folk

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KathyF.
    Feb 3, 2010
    9
    Listen to it a lot! Gets deeper with each listen! Cranky critics...boo!
  2. scottw
    Oct 15, 2009
    7
    Great, but Conor Oberst and M. Ward really overshadow everyone and drag it down to murky, mid tempo rock, like the new Son Volt album. Needed more Jim James and certainly more of the magnificent guitar work Mike Mogis is known for.
  3. jb
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    The music on this collaboration breathes. It is not a sterile sounding studio album. It is not polished and it is not perfect. And that is why it shines. Sometimes you can hear four individuals and often you hear one ,beautifully crafted, harmonic voice.
  4. KayleighB
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    You know those songs you like to listen to twice in a row? Well thats how this whole album is whole way through. The four of them together wrote some sick ass songs, and they are songs that will lift your spirits, and have you smiling by yourself. Not in a weird creepy way....or mayby =/....anyways the lyrics are sweet, and those men got some nice vocals, even though everyone is use to You know those songs you like to listen to twice in a row? Well thats how this whole album is whole way through. The four of them together wrote some sick ass songs, and they are songs that will lift your spirits, and have you smiling by yourself. Not in a weird creepy way....or mayby =/....anyways the lyrics are sweet, and those men got some nice vocals, even though everyone is use to Conor Oberst have the shaky,nervous, voice, that made every girl fall in love with him, his voice is a little happier, like bowls of oranges and shit!! Buy it, enjoy it, i have been! Expand
  5. AshB
    Nov 5, 2009
    8
    There really are some stand out tracks on this record. Tezmecal and Dear God are the best two tracks. The only thing letting this album down is that it is possibly too long. I mean, 15 tracks?
  6. DerrickH
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Amazing album.
  7. DanielB
    Oct 23, 2009
    8
    Amazing album by some of folk and indie rock's finest musicians. "Say Please" and "Ahead of the Curve" are well worth getting but I recommend just buying the whole album. 85
  8. KeithW
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    Interesting lyrics, wispy sound track.
  9. BradP
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    This album works for me. Beautifully produced, it really allows each artist to do what they do in a different way. It sounds like they really enjoyed what they each heard. It has a slower middle section, and that is a plus in my book - I am not a fan of Pitchfork reviews!
  10. JasonR
    Sep 23, 2009
    8
    The Jim James and M. Ward songs are better than Conor's but the best songs are the ones where they split up the vocal duties more evenly such as the album's opener, Dear God.
  11. DavidS
    Sep 24, 2009
    9
    Nice album... You hear the individual members sounds in the songs yet it somehow takes on a different feel, as it should.
  12. DanielH
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    This release by indie rock royalty connor oberst, Yim Yames, M.Ward, and mike mogis ended up as great release. I felt in some respect that it was a little reserved and that no one stepped out of their comfort zone in their genre. Each song has the old fingerprint of its respected singer, especially M.Ward whose songs sound like they could of been taken from a unreleased cd. They brought This release by indie rock royalty connor oberst, Yim Yames, M.Ward, and mike mogis ended up as great release. I felt in some respect that it was a little reserved and that no one stepped out of their comfort zone in their genre. Each song has the old fingerprint of its respected singer, especially M.Ward whose songs sound like they could of been taken from a unreleased cd. They brought the right ingrediants but forgot to mix them to make them sound like a new band and not a mixed tape of four great artists. Still a great cd and a must buy for anyone who loves at least one of these guy's music. Expand
  13. KurtC
    Sep 28, 2009
    9
    Refreshingly great album. Lots of nice hooks and melodies that linger and bring you back. A must for any fan of MMJ, Bright Eyes, or M. Ward. They all do a superb job of working together to craft some really excellent songs based on everyone's strengths. This has entered very near the top of the list for my favorite album of the year so far.
  14. marks
    Nov 19, 2009
    9
    Even though it could use a little more monster at times - maybe volume two will be Rock Monster - this one will stand the test of time.
  15. G.T
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Great album, great harmonies, great songwriting.
  16. AH
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    I've listened through it almost everyday for the past two weeks...i think it is a great mix of melancholy and upbeat tunes. I picked it up because I'm a MMJ fan, so my biased opinion would want to hear more Jim James. Great album though, listen to the whole thing.
  17. johnh
    Oct 24, 2009
    8
    Too many songs, and some of them belong on solo albums but when you throw out the chaff you have a beautiful and inspiring body of work. When they harmonize (not just in singing but in writing for the group) they just soar...Listen to 'Say Please'...just beautiful.
  18. ZachM.
    Dec 6, 2009
    9
    Almost every song sounds like a piece of pure beautiful music. The message of the album is also genius, the only problem is there is a couple of songs that are not that great but it's definitely an album to own.
  19. mihaelv
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    One of the best albums of the year so far.
  20. DesB.
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    I love this album. It's the first that has truly captivated my heart and mind in quite some time. I am grateful for that.
  21. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    Such a great album that dawns on you with each more listen. Monsters Of Folk debut has very catchy songs and the lyrics are golden. This folk supergroup is utterly amazing and it's the perfect four artists to collaborate. The Opener "Dear God" is a strange, soulful jam that stays in your head. This album is filled with great tracks. All In All, Monsters Of Folk are a great collaborationSuch a great album that dawns on you with each more listen. Monsters Of Folk debut has very catchy songs and the lyrics are golden. This folk supergroup is utterly amazing and it's the perfect four artists to collaborate. The Opener "Dear God" is a strange, soulful jam that stays in your head. This album is filled with great tracks. All In All, Monsters Of Folk are a great collaboration and it really shows in this album. A- Expand
  22. Aug 6, 2011
    7
    I wouldn't say its each songwriter's best material, but its a wonderful contribution. I'd say Conor Oberst makes the biggest splashes here. "Map of the World" ranks among his best with Bright Eyes and solo.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Spread over 15 tracks, the combination wears thin at several points, and several songs feel more like their creator's solo work than a composite product. Monsters of Folk has moments on undeniable beauty, though, and when the musicians pitch their voices atop one another--as they do to notable effect on the gorgeous "Slow Down Jo"-the benefits of teamwork are more than clear.
  2. It's more jaunty nouveau Traveling Wilburys than folk rock summit as Bright Eyes' Conor Oberst, My Morning Jacket's Jim James and M Ward join forces.
  3. With all four players clearly bringing out the best in each other, one hopes that Monsters of Folk makes for more than just a one-off side project.