• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Nov 5, 2013
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    40
    More mopey ballads and ad-ready pop songs. [Dec 2013, p.92]
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    40
    There's no hint of an artistic left-turn here. [Dec 2013, p.103]
  3. 67
    When he loosens up, you get charmers. [15 Nov 2013, p.79]
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    60
    The biggest flaw of Moon Landing is it’s lack of forward-thinking artistry; it is not an innovative nor flashy affair.
  5. 25
    He does manage to out-Mumford and out-Sheeran his countrymen on the rustic single "Bonfire Heart" (ironically, co-written with super-pop penman Ryan Tedder). Whether you want to hear James Blunt plowing that field is a conversation between you and your god.
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    40
    Most of this is too wan to give Blunt a career boost.
  7. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    By many measures, Blunt's richest and best collection to date.
  8. Nov 1, 2013
    50
    His worst enemy is still his own voice, an agitated whimper that makes even tender lines sound strangely like complaints.
  9. Oct 31, 2013
    60
    His fourth album is unlikely to convert the legions of naysayers, but some sparks of invention penetrate the blanket of aural blandness and vapidly anthemic pop. [Dec 2013, p.66]
  10. Oct 22, 2013
    20
    Single Bonfire Heart is very radio-friendly but, like every other song on Moon Landing, essentially drippy.
  11. Oct 22, 2013
    40
    His fourth album is Blunt at his Bluntest.
  12. Oct 22, 2013
    40
    There’s certainly a market for anodyne, unthreatening, middle of the road pop, and Blunt appeals to that market very successfully. Yet those who look for music to move them, be it through the feet, heart or brain, probably won’t be surprised to find that there won’t be too much to appeal to them here.
  13. 40
    Rothrock does a decent job of pumping life into Blunt's material, building a song such as "Bonfire Heart" from fingerstyle guitar opening to big, exultant conclusion by way of subtle accretions. Not that he has much to play with.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    I agree with the previous user. This latest album from James Blunt is terrific. THe songs and lyrics are just heat warming and touching.I agree with the previous user. This latest album from James Blunt is terrific. THe songs and lyrics are just heat warming and touching. Furthermore it looks like that James has really taken an introspective look and wrote with an honesty difficult to find in today's music. Maybe that is why he is so often criticized by this so called music experts. 10 out of 10 on my book! Full Review »
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    I love this CD. I cannot stop listening to it. I really do not get why the critics are so adverse to Mr. Blunt. My favorite songs in this CDI love this CD. I cannot stop listening to it. I really do not get why the critics are so adverse to Mr. Blunt. My favorite songs in this CD are Face the Sun, Bonfire Heart, Always hate me, Bones. However, I do like all of them. In my humble opinion this is a must buy CD. Full Review »
  3. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    I love this album. I don't get where all the negative reviews come from. Try Sun on Sunday and Face The Sun. Check James Blunt Youtube channelI love this album. I don't get where all the negative reviews come from. Try Sun on Sunday and Face The Sun. Check James Blunt Youtube channel for the unplugged session, , you'll love it. Full Review »