More Adventurous

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. maryc
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    extremely well written, well put together, and just swell all around. i've been a fan for a long time, and rilo kiley keeps growing on every record, and this one blew me away. granted, it WAS a bit more polished but jenny lewis sounds amazing and the songs are addictive and i havent been able to take it out of my cd player. it's a gorgeous album, that everyone could enjoy.
  2. Jimmy
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    I've got More Adventurous and Franz Ferdinand on constant play. Why? I Like 'em !
  3. Alexa
    Aug 18, 2004
    9
    Beautiful...
  4. spencerf
    Aug 20, 2004
    10
    spot on, simply amazing... only sad thing is that its on a major, sad sad indeed
  5. SlipperyIndian
    Sep 4, 2004
    8
    I know which song you should skip. Track 9. The cd is pretty sweet though. It makes me wanna wax some tail.
  6. AndrewW
    Jan 30, 2006
    10
    This Album has been wonderful me. "Does He Love You?" always hits me so hard. Such emotion is provocative throughout the whole ablum. Overall it is so intelligent and put together. Just tasty.
  7. blairs
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    definitely one of my most favourite albums of all time! incredible songs from beginnning to end... 'a man/me/then jim' is lyrically gorgeous, 'it just is' is just great 'i never' is vocally flawless 'does he love you?' is stunning 'the absence of god' is amazing Just a GREAT album! I love it!
  8. andrea
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    love it! portions for foxs and does he love you? are on constant repeat. jenny's voice is so fresh and beautiful.
  9. seanc
    Aug 24, 2004
    9
    I can't think of a song on the album you should skip.
  10. Jay609
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    Im saying best release of 2004, cant stop listening to it. Only CD I bought this year.
  11. StuartY
    Jun 26, 2005
    9
    Their blend of indie, country and intelli-pop gets better everytime. I was expecting this to be a bit rockier, and it's worth pointing out that the odd arrangement of tracks starts with (arguably) the three best, and certainly the three most "singely" songs, so the rest feels a bit introspective and restrained. Aside from the singles, other highlights come in the form of the Their blend of indie, country and intelli-pop gets better everytime. I was expecting this to be a bit rockier, and it's worth pointing out that the odd arrangement of tracks starts with (arguably) the three best, and certainly the three most "singely" songs, so the rest feels a bit introspective and restrained. Aside from the singles, other highlights come in the form of the blistering "love and war", the electronic-y "accidntel deth"(sic) and blakes beautiful, acoustic, "ripchord". Like Belle and Sebastian, Rilo Kiley's upbeat pop belies their serious songwriting and fiercely literate lyrics. Top album, lets hear some "harder" tracks in the mix next time, please. Expand
  12. BeauB
    Apr 27, 2007
    9
    Jenny lewis can sell every track on this album with her amazing vocals. Some of the songs were even a bit folkish for my taste, but given the way Jenny and the band present them, I couldn't help but fall in love with the entire thing.
  13. LeahB.
    Dec 29, 2004
    10
    I feel like she narrates fables from her life while singing more intensely and eloquently that I've known anyone else to do.
  14. MS
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    Stunning... hands down the best album of the year. Jenny Lewis's vocals are simply amazing.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Each song on "More Adventurous" sounds rich and well plotted. [16 Aug 2004]
  2. Lewis' crisp alto shines on every track... Unfortunately, the songs (and especially the lyrics) don't give Lewis the support she deserves.
  3. All the broad-shouldered indie pop and big city folk we've come to expect, but so meticulously refined and consistently pleasing that its crossover ploys seem forgivable. [Sep 2004, p.124]