User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 384 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 384
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 17, 2017
    6
    I can say this is a major jump from Views which was a very disappointing project from Drake. However, this project has a lot of dull moments, especially on tracks like Get it Together and Madibba Riddim, where Drakes attempt at Dancehall and R&B always compromises his lyrical ability and cohesiveness in many projects. On tracks like "Can't Have Everything" and "Free Smoke" is where DrakeI can say this is a major jump from Views which was a very disappointing project from Drake. However, this project has a lot of dull moments, especially on tracks like Get it Together and Madibba Riddim, where Drakes attempt at Dancehall and R&B always compromises his lyrical ability and cohesiveness in many projects. On tracks like "Can't Have Everything" and "Free Smoke" is where Drake is best capable. Sure, "Teenage Fever" had a good result with Drake's seemingly mediocre vocalization, but Drake relies heavily on the superimposed production from his team. Drake is taking a step in the right direction, but only after falling 3 steps back from his last project. It isn't something substantial in comparison to the peak of his music career (If You're Reading This it's Too Late). Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2017
    6
    While Views disappointed me in a major way, Drake pulls off a solid bounce-back with More Life, however, it didn't blow me away. It's easy to get caught up in the hype that surrounds every Drake release, which I admittedly fell victim to, but in a few days following the release, I was able to come up with an accurate opinion unaffected by sensationalism. Drake widens his horizons evenWhile Views disappointed me in a major way, Drake pulls off a solid bounce-back with More Life, however, it didn't blow me away. It's easy to get caught up in the hype that surrounds every Drake release, which I admittedly fell victim to, but in a few days following the release, I was able to come up with an accurate opinion unaffected by sensationalism. Drake widens his horizons even further instrumentally on this project, with clear elements lingering from Views, the only difference being they're executed in a much sharper way. Tracks like Passionfruit and Glow showcased more polished versions of what Drake started with Views. Now of course, clocking in at 22 tracks, there's bound to be filler, and personally, about one-fifth of the tracks feel like that to me. No Long Talk and KMT serve as the most blatant examples, the latter being unbearable due to Giggs' horrendously tacky verses. The Skepta Interlude also counts as filler, but is a tad more tolerable as Skepta provides a decent verse. However, of the many features on this "playlist," the most satisfying come from the latter half. Young Thug, Quavo, 2 Chainz, Kanye and more provide satisfying cuts that serve as the highlights of the project. All in all, apart from the blatant filler that plagues it throughout, More Life is a solid project, and as a fan of Drake's, I hope for a return to the IYRTITL level quality soon. Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2017
    6
    Although this project is a vast improvement on the terrible project that was Views, it still sounds fairly lacking in depth and Drake's pathetic attempt to call it a 'Playlist' fails to hide its lack of cohesiveness. No Drake, its an album. On a positive note, 'Passionfruit' is Drake's best attempt at dance hall as of yet, and songs like 'Teenage Fever' provide pleasant memories of TakeAlthough this project is a vast improvement on the terrible project that was Views, it still sounds fairly lacking in depth and Drake's pathetic attempt to call it a 'Playlist' fails to hide its lack of cohesiveness. No Drake, its an album. On a positive note, 'Passionfruit' is Drake's best attempt at dance hall as of yet, and songs like 'Teenage Fever' provide pleasant memories of Take Care era Drake. The biggest disappointment for me was 'Portland' which features an irritatingly pretentious flute sample and one of Quavo's weaker hooks. Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2017
    6
    If you didn't like Views, you wont like this either. I really tried to enjoy this mixtape... playlist... whatever. But it really just feels like the b sides to an already sub par album, Views.
  5. Mar 21, 2017
    4
    I have been a fan of Drake's music for a lone time, but I have to say, listening to his new playlist was very tedious. It was a huge letdown and an incredible BORE. I only liked a handful of tracks on here and this is definitely his worst project yet.
  6. Mar 20, 2017
    6
    A lot of people love this album but I do not. Drake tries to experiment with European rap and Dancehall themes, but unfortunately they do not blend together at all. He simply assimilates into their culture and gives off a fake, unappreciative vibe throughout the album. The themes in the album are extremely similar to his past albums, in fact if you skipped last three albums you wouldn'tA lot of people love this album but I do not. Drake tries to experiment with European rap and Dancehall themes, but unfortunately they do not blend together at all. He simply assimilates into their culture and gives off a fake, unappreciative vibe throughout the album. The themes in the album are extremely similar to his past albums, in fact if you skipped last three albums you wouldn't miss anything because he regurgitates on More Life. Furthermore, his lyrical talent has gotten much worse, perhaps because of the nature of the music that More Life is comprised of. Overall this is Drake at his most repetitive and predictable. He literally rapes the soundscapes of other cities and brings them to their knees, it didn't sound good either. I could write a lot more on why More Life is bad; on the other hand KMT is a good song (4.2/5). This is not a classic, this is just another album that will soon be taken out of the playlist like every other Drake album. Expand
  7. Mar 21, 2017
    5
    More Life is listenable background music and nothing much more, every track is a lesser version of something Drake has already done before. A one time listen which adds nothing to any "Best of Drake" Collection.
  8. Mar 21, 2017
    4
    I love Drizzy, but this album is just too much for me. So far there are three songs I like on the album. Everything else to me sounds like a Weekend rip off. I don't see all the praise this is getting when every song songs practically the same. Do Not Disturb is such a great song though. Free Smoke and Passionfruit are the only other songs I've actually been listening to.
  9. Mar 22, 2017
    5
    Another swing and a miss from Drake... it might only be me, but when i'm listening to an album it's fine if they have 1 or 2 different styles to it, this album is 60-40 which is really annoying, because free smoke starts with a nice flow then no long talk isn't much to listen to, but also a great flow to it, but then come the songs that make me think he just wants to me one dance 2.0 orAnother swing and a miss from Drake... it might only be me, but when i'm listening to an album it's fine if they have 1 or 2 different styles to it, this album is 60-40 which is really annoying, because free smoke starts with a nice flow then no long talk isn't much to listen to, but also a great flow to it, but then come the songs that make me think he just wants to me one dance 2.0 or controlla 2.0, and it really kills the flow and rhythm of the mixtape/playlist or whatever he is calling it It might go platinum or whatever, but at this point when Drake is concerned that doesn't matter exactly, because his fans will buy/stream anything from him... Free Smoke and Lose you are standouts for me, while the rest are just other slow disco songs that are alright and some raps songs that are also not really that good Expand
  10. Mar 25, 2017
    6
    This sounds like B-side songs of his last album Views. It's meh. And his guests Sampha, Skepta, Giggs (ok maybe JLo as well) actually steal the show and overshadow Drake's performances. I like that he incorporates some Jamaican dancehall styles into his songs but (1) the instrumental should sound more refreshing otherwise it's just bland and so 2000s; (2) Drake's lyrics are uh..... not soThis sounds like B-side songs of his last album Views. It's meh. And his guests Sampha, Skepta, Giggs (ok maybe JLo as well) actually steal the show and overshadow Drake's performances. I like that he incorporates some Jamaican dancehall styles into his songs but (1) the instrumental should sound more refreshing otherwise it's just bland and so 2000s; (2) Drake's lyrics are uh..... not so good... Drake needs to rethink is he going to release a bunch of okay songs every year just to break streaming and selling records, cause that's somehow getting more tired and tired. Light 6. Expand
  11. Jul 8, 2017
    4
    The more time you spend with this "project" the less impressive and more middling it becomes. It's much too bloated. Drake needs to learn to edit -- both songs and "albums."
  12. May 16, 2017
    5
    This “playlist” is full of emptiness and troubling normalcy, with annoying and unsupportive backing textures overshadowing Drake’s talent on the microphone to result in a confusing, un-artistic work. My Score: 100/180 (Okay) = 5.5/10
  13. Mar 28, 2017
    4
    Aside from the generic production and the fact that his vocals are still not good, the lyrics on this are so cringy and weak! I can't bear hearing him saying "things" one more time.
    Only achievement here: Still riding his same old style while stealing the waves other cultures...
  14. Apr 24, 2017
    6
    Coming off the heels of his most disappointing project to date, I think Drake seemed to have bounced back on this project. Though I would not consider myself a Drake fan, I found there to be some enjoyable tracks on this project. However, Drake still seems to be chasing a great followup to his 2011's Take Care.
  15. Jun 23, 2017
    6
    This project by Drake is by far the best, he put into the world since "Take Care" and a great improvement on his last terrible album "Views". But it is still far from being a good album. To many filler songs and unilateral uninspired songs that just seem to be background noise.
    I can see good Ideas which arent perfected yet, but gave me hope for a better next, as it is right now it's just
    This project by Drake is by far the best, he put into the world since "Take Care" and a great improvement on his last terrible album "Views". But it is still far from being a good album. To many filler songs and unilateral uninspired songs that just seem to be background noise.
    I can see good Ideas which arent perfected yet, but gave me hope for a better next, as it is right now it's just a mediocre Hip Hop/R&B Album with some good concepts.
    Best Songs: Passionfruit, Portland
    Worst Songs: Sacrifices, Fake Love
    Recommendations: For Drake Fans a must listen, also good for fans of R&B-heavy Hip Hop or people who want some Vibe Background music.
    Expand
  16. Nov 9, 2017
    5
    Непонятный набор треков от всеми любимого Дрейка,непонятно зачем выпущенный сделанный на коленке.На самом деле даже нечего говорить про эту пластинку,очень скудный альбом сделанный просто для галочки.
  17. Jan 9, 2018
    6
    Drake can be excused for providing his weakest project along with its several flaws due to this project being classified merely as a "playlist". Some lyrics, flows and accents are very borderline shameful. The strongest points of the album are the guest features, rather than Drake's own performances. Credit is due to Drake for allowing other artists to shine and gain mainstream exposure, however.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Apr 28, 2017
    50
    More Life is another overly serious, musically uninteresting effort.
  2. Apr 5, 2017
    70
    The variety makes for a better listen, to say nothing of the care taken into sequencing the playlist. ... The filler is merely soporific.
  3. Mar 29, 2017
    80
    Thankfully, More Life is Drizzy’s homecoming, a vocalization of the heart in his heartless world, and a veritable return to form for it. Welcome back to the Firm.