More Than Just a Dream - Fitz & the Tantrums
More Than Just a Dream Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. May 7, 2013
    80
    The group wisely broadens the musical palette here and goes full-bore pop by adding bigger choruses, alluring sonic textures, and electronic rhythms.
  2. May 7, 2013
    80
    Ultimately, with More Than Just a Dream, Fitz & the Tantrums have made an even more infectious, club-ready album than Pickin' Up the Pieces, while still retaining all of the band's organic soulfulness.
  3. May 7, 2013
    78
    More than Just a Dream is poised for prime time, a diabetic coma of sugar-rush pop.
  4. May 14, 2013
    63
    There's a fine line between evolution and de-evolution, and which process Fitz and the Tantrums is experiencing on its sophomore effort, More Than Just a Dream, depends on what you liked about the L.A. band's breakout debut.
  5. May 28, 2013
    60
    It’s an album that’s hard to love, yet easy to like.
  6. May 7, 2013
    60
    The pleasures of the songcraft don't quite compensate for dopey lyrics, the bland vocals of Fitz and co-lead singer Noelle Scaggs, and the relentless spazzing-out.
  7. 30
    Nearly everything that made Fitz And The Tantrums interesting has been thrown out the window for More Than A Dream. Fitzpatrick has run out of anything interesting to say, instead relying on awful cliches. [Jun 2013, p.96]

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    Awesome song by Fitz and The Tantrums with a kind of 'Men At Work/Pet Shop Boys' -good ol' days, kind of feel to it! Stumbled upon this song on the radio and had to find out the artist right away. Refreshing! Expand
  2. Mar 12, 2014
    8
    An interesting direction to go in for this second album. The first half of the album is filled with undeniably great pop hooks, and the second half brings back the soul vibe. For all the hate this album received, it is certainly worth listening to. Expand
  3. May 13, 2013
    7
    It's pretty good. Fitz and The Tantrums maintain the style they had in their previous album while still staying fresh. A good thing is that they ditched the organ from the last album and stuck to something more electronic; that's fine. The only thing I didn't enjoy from this were the few filler songs it had. Some of it sounded the same. Overall, it's a decent album I recommend for Fitz and The Tantrums fans. Collapse
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    3
    I definitely miss the black suits and saxophone that Fitz and the Tantrums used to be about. It feels like they traded all of their inspired soul and style for pop and synthesized music. I guess I'll have to look forward to their next album, since they've shown that their sound can change drastically, but I'm afraid this album wont be getting much playtime for me. I fell in love with the style of their first album, but this is just too much of a departure for my taste. Expand