• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Feb 25, 2014
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 129

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 3, 2014
    6
    Gotta admire Beck's adventurous musical catalog. As an immediate addict of Odelay, I found it hard to appreciate Sea Change until I went through a painful breakup. I think Morning Phase is similar in that regard. It's not an "every mood any mood" kind of album that will keep the average listener engaged for an entire album. And that's my biggest problem here. There are a few songsGotta admire Beck's adventurous musical catalog. As an immediate addict of Odelay, I found it hard to appreciate Sea Change until I went through a painful breakup. I think Morning Phase is similar in that regard. It's not an "every mood any mood" kind of album that will keep the average listener engaged for an entire album. And that's my biggest problem here. There are a few songs that MIGHT end up as favorites in the distant future IF they have a chance to grow on me. But will I have the patience to allow that process to happen if I'm not depressed for more than a few days at a time where an album like this might suit constant rotation? Even if.... I'd sooner put on something else. There are "moments" that are hooky on this album, but you have to wait for them and pan for gold amidst a very blended and neutral sonic landscape that gets stale rather quickly. Two turn tables and a microphone this is not. More like two downers and a large bag of plain potatoes chips. Expand
  2. Mar 3, 2014
    5
    I cannot believe all the positive reviews this album is getting. I have been a long time Beck fan and have accepted the fact that there will never be another "One Foot In the Grave" album. Still, I find this record boring at its worst and a Neil Young rip off at its best. Although some Beck albums take a while to grow on you, I don't think I will play it enough for that to happen. To beI cannot believe all the positive reviews this album is getting. I have been a long time Beck fan and have accepted the fact that there will never be another "One Foot In the Grave" album. Still, I find this record boring at its worst and a Neil Young rip off at its best. Although some Beck albums take a while to grow on you, I don't think I will play it enough for that to happen. To be fair I think "Sea Change" is the second worst Beck album. PS. I must have missed all those "early 70's California harmonies" that the record magazines keep talking about. WTF? Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2014
    4
    For the first time listening to Beck, this album was underwhelming. I've only heard good things, but there was only 2 or 3 songs that I liked, and the rest was meh at best. I hope that by listening to it more intently, and more frequently, he will grow on me. But for now, I feel like Beck will be a pass...
  4. Sep 6, 2014
    6
    A mediocre collection of songs that appear more bland than powerful. It lacks the personal meaning and emotion that made Sea Change Beck's undeniable #1 album (and one of my all-time favourites). I'd place Morning Phase at spot 5 or 6 on Beck's album list. Good, not great.
  5. Apr 24, 2014
    5
    Morning Phase shows Beck returning to the stylistics shifts of albums like Mutations and Sea Change, but with instrumentation and tunes that are far more uninteresting and bland. It sounds more like Sea Change than Mutations, it's even been regarded as its sister album. The same acoustic guitars, warm strings, pianos and vocal deliveries. This is way more optimistic of an album though.Morning Phase shows Beck returning to the stylistics shifts of albums like Mutations and Sea Change, but with instrumentation and tunes that are far more uninteresting and bland. It sounds more like Sea Change than Mutations, it's even been regarded as its sister album. The same acoustic guitars, warm strings, pianos and vocal deliveries. This is way more optimistic of an album though. Some people might like the slow and syrupy instrumentation of these records in his discography, i do not. Expand
  6. Aug 27, 2014
    6
    I don't want to be harsh on an artist for doing something different. We don't want repeat albums that sound the same. This album just didn't resonate with me as much, but that's not to say that I don't like it either. I think I just like Sir Beck a little more when he is rocking a little, or just being bizarre. Musically it's still quite nice, but for me it will likely be one of theI don't want to be harsh on an artist for doing something different. We don't want repeat albums that sound the same. This album just didn't resonate with me as much, but that's not to say that I don't like it either. I think I just like Sir Beck a little more when he is rocking a little, or just being bizarre. Musically it's still quite nice, but for me it will likely be one of the albums I return to less often. Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2015
    6
    Let's make clear one thing: this album didn't deserved the Grammy for Best Album (neither any of the other records nominated). It is anyway a good album, full of nice melodies and with some great moments. Nothing special anyway, it deserves just a sufficiency and its main problem is that it's overproduced and still meant to be an intimate and folk record.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    75
    Morning Phase is ultimately a mood piece: a quiet triumph of feeling over form. [No. 107, p.51]
  2. Mar 6, 2014
    80
    There’s an eerie blandness to the mood that is initially off-putting but turns into a surprisingly compelling, subtly evocative combination of sadness and contentedness.
  3. Mar 3, 2014
    70
    I was hoping for a leap forward, but Morning Phase just feels like a very pretty place to sit and wait for one.