• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Morning Phase Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 12th studio release for the singer-songwriter includes contributions from Jason Falkner, Smokey Hormel, Roger Joseph Manning Jr., Justin Meldal-Johnsen, and Joey Waronker.
  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Lo-Fi
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Feb 12, 2014
    100
    It's reassuring that Beck Hansen can still pull an original record as substantive and absorbing as this one out of the hat. [Mar 2014, p.86]
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    90
    Beck proves once again here that he’s a tremendously versatile artist, capable of excelling throughout the musical spectrum.
  3. Feb 12, 2014
    80
    Morning Phase is a terrific mood piece and a worthy follow-up, even if in spirit only, to Sea Change; it lacks the gripping unease of that album, but replaces it capably with genuine warmth and a sunnier outlook.
  4. Feb 19, 2014
    80
    It might share some sonic similarities [to Sea Change], but it's an altogether brighter beast, built by an older, wiser soul who seems to have been taking a few years to work out exactly where he wants to be as an artist.
  5. Mar 6, 2014
    80
    There’s an eerie blandness to the mood that is initially off-putting but turns into a surprisingly compelling, subtly evocative combination of sadness and contentedness.
  6. Feb 25, 2014
    75
    True to his transformer's nature, the sequel is better than the original.
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    30
    So, largely unimaginative arrangements, flat delivery, a surfeit of vague ecological metaphors that wash like spray on the rocks (you can have that one for free, Mr. Hansen), and a lack of any sense of connection, of need, of reality.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    This album really grew on me over the course of a few listens. So much so, that I find that it has become my favorite beck album since seaThis album really grew on me over the course of a few listens. So much so, that I find that it has become my favorite beck album since sea change. I found it more interesting than sea change as well. Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2014
    10
    One could be excused on first listen for finding this album somewhat bland. However, subsequent listens reveal more and more nuanced variety.One could be excused on first listen for finding this album somewhat bland. However, subsequent listens reveal more and more nuanced variety. Each track does stand on its own, but as a whole is something far more. This has become a compulsory part of our Sunday morning lie-in... and I suspect this was the intention all along. Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2014
    9
    By "companion piece" I think we understand something that is equal, that stands for the same thing, I don't see this album as a "sequel" orBy "companion piece" I think we understand something that is equal, that stands for the same thing, I don't see this album as a "sequel" or the second part of 2002's Sea Change, Morning Phase has it's own approach and mood. How is it?

    Excellent. Beck is multi-genre craftsman, and you can like Midnite Vultures as equally as you can like this one. The album transmits and really comforts in a special way, the songs are produced consitently and beautifully. Beck knows when to do things, when to add, when to take off, and the result is a perfect combination of blandness and evocative lyrics that it's highly recommended.
    Expand
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    8
    I greatly enjoyed this album. I especially appreciated the dreamy feeling in beautiful tracks like Morning, Blue Moon, Unforgiven, Wave, andI greatly enjoyed this album. I especially appreciated the dreamy feeling in beautiful tracks like Morning, Blue Moon, Unforgiven, Wave, and Waking Light.

    I wish the rest of the album had the same atmosphere, though. Not that they were bad, just a bit inconsistent with the mesmerizing tracks mentioned above.
    Collapse
  5. Mar 2, 2015
    8
    A Collection of music that in the right moment could take you out of this world. The sound of the music and the voice of the singer areA Collection of music that in the right moment could take you out of this world. The sound of the music and the voice of the singer are somehow liberating. It's a wonderful journey through some kind of dream where beck is the pilot. Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2014
    6
    Gotta admire Beck's adventurous musical catalog. As an immediate addict of Odelay, I found it hard to appreciate Sea Change until I wentGotta admire Beck's adventurous musical catalog. As an immediate addict of Odelay, I found it hard to appreciate Sea Change until I went through a painful breakup. I think Morning Phase is similar in that regard. It's not an "every mood any mood" kind of album that will keep the average listener engaged for an entire album. And that's my biggest problem here. There are a few songs that MIGHT end up as favorites in the distant future IF they have a chance to grow on me. But will I have the patience to allow that process to happen if I'm not depressed for more than a few days at a time where an album like this might suit constant rotation? Even if.... I'd sooner put on something else. There are "moments" that are hooky on this album, but you have to wait for them and pan for gold amidst a very blended and neutral sonic landscape that gets stale rather quickly. Two turn tables and a microphone this is not. More like two downers and a large bag of plain potatoes chips. Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2014
    1
    Ho-Hum. Rock and Roll it isn't. The darling of professional music critics and fans of wimpy music. LOSER was the only song he ever did thatHo-Hum. Rock and Roll it isn't. The darling of professional music critics and fans of wimpy music. LOSER was the only song he ever did that I enjoyed. When I listened to his later stuff, it was like taking a sleeping pill. I'm a fan of rock and roll. I don't know what Beck is, but he's definitely not a rocker. If he puts out a good metal album, I'll be impressed. Until then, he's just such a bore. A likable little artsy guy, but for people who love to lie around looking at clouds and falling asleep. I would be willing to bet that heroin addicts love his music. Because they love being put to sleep. But I'll give him credit. He made the sales to allow him to indulge himself in whatever he wants. Which will probably be making boring music for the rest of his life. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best of 2014: Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 2, 2014
    Over the next month, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from over 130 music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.