Morning Phase

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Morning Phase Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 12th studio release for the singer-songwriter includes contributions from Jason Falkner, Smokey Hormel, Roger Joseph Manning Jr., Justin Meldal-Johnsen, and Joey Waronker.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Lo-Fi
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Morning
Woke up this morning, found a love light in the storm Looked up this morning, saw the roses full of thorns Guns are falling, they don't have nowhere... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Mojo
    Feb 12, 2014
    100
    It's reassuring that Beck Hansen can still pull an original record as substantive and absorbing as this one out of the hat. [Mar 2014, p.86]
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    90
    Beck proves once again here that he’s a tremendously versatile artist, capable of excelling throughout the musical spectrum.
  3. Feb 12, 2014
    80
    Morning Phase is a terrific mood piece and a worthy follow-up, even if in spirit only, to Sea Change; it lacks the gripping unease of that album, but replaces it capably with genuine warmth and a sunnier outlook.
  4. Feb 19, 2014
    80
    It might share some sonic similarities [to Sea Change], but it's an altogether brighter beast, built by an older, wiser soul who seems to have been taking a few years to work out exactly where he wants to be as an artist.
  5. Mar 6, 2014
    80
    There’s an eerie blandness to the mood that is initially off-putting but turns into a surprisingly compelling, subtly evocative combination of sadness and contentedness.
  6. Feb 25, 2014
    75
    True to his transformer's nature, the sequel is better than the original.
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    30
    So, largely unimaginative arrangements, flat delivery, a surfeit of vague ecological metaphors that wash like spray on the rocks (you can have that one for free, Mr. Hansen), and a lack of any sense of connection, of need, of reality.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    This album really grew on me over the course of a few listens. So much so, that I find that it has become my favorite beck album since seaThis album really grew on me over the course of a few listens. So much so, that I find that it has become my favorite beck album since sea change. I found it more interesting than sea change as well. Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2014
    9
    By "companion piece" I think we understand something that is equal, that stands for the same thing, I don't see this album as a "sequel" orBy "companion piece" I think we understand something that is equal, that stands for the same thing, I don't see this album as a "sequel" or the second part of 2002's Sea Change, Morning Phase has it's own approach and mood. How is it?

    Excellent. Beck is multi-genre craftsman, and you can like Midnite Vultures as equally as you can like this one. The album transmits and really comforts in a special way, the songs are produced consitently and beautifully. Beck knows when to do things, when to add, when to take off, and the result is a perfect combination of blandness and evocative lyrics that it's highly recommended.
    Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    Derivative, but so what? Beck's already told us this is a "companion piece" to Sea Change, and hipster outposts like Pitchfork are wonderingDerivative, but so what? Beck's already told us this is a "companion piece" to Sea Change, and hipster outposts like Pitchfork are wondering why this isn't genre-bending or outside-of-the-box (read: okay to name-drop yet barely listenable). A lush, timeless album devoid of wise-ass humor and pretense, and a welcome respite from the aural assault of modern life. An album that will start many of my days and wind down my nights this year. Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2015
    8
    A Collection of music that in the right moment could take you out of this world. The sound of the music and the voice of the singer areA Collection of music that in the right moment could take you out of this world. The sound of the music and the voice of the singer are somehow liberating. It's a wonderful journey through some kind of dream where beck is the pilot. Expand
  5. May 28, 2015
    7
    This albums really truly is beautiful. As a work of art this album s extremely commendable. However, this does not save it from being ratherThis albums really truly is beautiful. As a work of art this album s extremely commendable. However, this does not save it from being rather bland and boring, the novelty of Beck moaning whilst strumming guitar chords sort of wears off too quickly. Songs like Blue Moon really save this album from being overly dry and boring. If you wish to truly appreciate this album don't go into it expecting a "becky" album, that's what I did and I was honestly disappointed, yet happily surprised, but still more disappointed than happy you know what I mean. I just wanted a little more "beck" and a little less "eck". This album did grow on me though at first i was like "this is totally horribly boring, I'm gonna hit up some Odelay and Mellow Gold" but then I was like "this is different, but I like it" Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2016
    6
    Whether Beck was trying to make Sea Change Pt. II or whatever, I'm not completely sure, but what I do know is that his music is only competentWhether Beck was trying to make Sea Change Pt. II or whatever, I'm not completely sure, but what I do know is that his music is only competent when he's trying to be hilarious or to define the standards of "freshness" for the youth culture that consumes his music. Beck can be a boring guy and this record just showcases boring emotions. There are a few good cuts here and there: "Morning", "Blue Moon", and the closer, but all of them sound quite alike, and, well, the basic ideas of Morning Phase are repeated throughout the rest of the songs to mildly pleasant results and nothing more. A minor threat in Beck's discography. Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2014
    1
    Ho-Hum. Rock and Roll it isn't. The darling of professional music critics and fans of wimpy music. LOSER was the only song he ever did thatHo-Hum. Rock and Roll it isn't. The darling of professional music critics and fans of wimpy music. LOSER was the only song he ever did that I enjoyed. When I listened to his later stuff, it was like taking a sleeping pill. I'm a fan of rock and roll. I don't know what Beck is, but he's definitely not a rocker. If he puts out a good metal album, I'll be impressed. Until then, he's just such a bore. A likable little artsy guy, but for people who love to lie around looking at clouds and falling asleep. I would be willing to bet that heroin addicts love his music. Because they love being put to sleep. But I'll give him credit. He made the sales to allow him to indulge himself in whatever he wants. Which will probably be making boring music for the rest of his life. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best of 2014: Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 2, 2014
    Over the next month, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from over 130 music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.