Morning View

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Oct 23, 2001
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 78
  2. Negative: 4 out of 78

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeffM.
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    This CD comprises a little bit of every facet of rock from the hard rocking Under my Umbrella and Nice to Know You to the chill 11 am and Are You In. Every song is good and this is by far their best overall album.
  2. MaxN.
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    This is truly the peak of creativity for Incubus. It showcases the ability of each band member and the cohesive ability of the band as a whole. From beginning to end this album is orchestrated flawlessly in a perfect crescendo of energy and thought. It finishes nicely with "Aqueous Transmission," bringing the overall energy of the album to a calm. This album follows the normal curve of This is truly the peak of creativity for Incubus. It showcases the ability of each band member and the cohesive ability of the band as a whole. From beginning to end this album is orchestrated flawlessly in a perfect crescendo of energy and thought. It finishes nicely with "Aqueous Transmission," bringing the overall energy of the album to a calm. This album follows the normal curve of listenability and sophistication. Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    definitely the best Incubus album to date, it has something for everyone every song on the album is a good one but Just a Phase is My favorite song they've ever done
  4. MichaelE.
    Aug 17, 2002
    2
    I used to love Incubus. Then they got popular, cut their hair, and began making albums like this. And so I was forced to sell all their records and cut off another link to my youth. Bastards.
  5. Æ.
    Nov 20, 2001
    2
    music made for MTV and modern rock radio. Lifeless and dull drivel. 14 year-old teeny-boppers would realy like this.
  6. trise
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    Quality Just a phase is the best song i have ever heard. It i sthere along with a selection of amazing songs in NTNY Circles 11AM BOTG Mexico Echo UMU and AT and the rest are all quality
  7. MaraO
    Sep 27, 2003
    10
    This guys rock, and this album its amazing, i like the way they blend all that sounds and all the styles without being repetitive or boring
  8. SamH
    Jan 17, 2005
    10
    This album gives you a taste of the bands louder notes, and also gives you amazing, slow sung, relaxing songs. What makes me the happiest is that this band is a lyrical genious, and thats evident in eveery song.
  9. MBailey
    Jan 2, 2002
    9
    Excellent album. What made it bad was the odd hard rock track and the mix of beats.
  10. AndréC
    Apr 16, 2003
    10
    This cd shows all that incubus stand for it has spectacular musics and it´s worth buying it and listen to it all day long
  11. tyler-
    Feb 25, 2004
    7
    the undefined credibility of mark's guitaring-is fucking great
  12. NickY
    Dec 17, 2001
    10
    This is a great album. Varied and interesting with great melodies. Its also nice to hear a rock album without the tedious rapping that afflicts too many bands these days.
  13. anonymous
    Feb 12, 2002
    10
    i'd rather crap my pants and listen to morning view than read the paper on the toilet
  14. AndrewF.
    Feb 17, 2002
    10
    A great blend of both really good rock songs, right down to a mellow ballad, this CD rocks, go out and buy it!
  15. FabioC.
    Aug 26, 2002
    8
    great music from a band that has turned into a great band. forget those distorsion and screaming voice-added. this is music
  16. BenK
    Nov 5, 2003
    9
    Songs like 11am have unbelieveable melodies. production quality is awsome throughout. Their sound has really changed as they've matured. Although the performances are less technicle than in their previous albums they make great easy to listen to rock. two thumbs up
  17. Ben
    Apr 21, 2004
    7
    Come on guys, don't downrate so much. It's nowhere near as good as their older stuff (S.C.I.E.N.C.E., Make Yourself), but it's still Inubus and it's still good. It's a lot mellower (on the whole), but if you're into that, than it's a really good album.
  18. jeremyh
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    good album very mellow good mix of heavy and light rock
  19. KylefromUNC
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    One of my favorite albums. Critics may not appreciate it, but through this album you get to know Incubus, you can feel the bonds of the band. It's a mix, but mostly soft and natural. Play it on a cool summer evening and watch the magic.
  20. Steve
    Apr 21, 2005
    10
    An awesome album from an awesome band!! Incubus are amazing. Everytime i hear a song from this band i feel inspired. They are deffinatly one of my favourite bands!! Their lyrics are so clever and thoughtful. These guys are amazing. Buy this album...along with all the others, its worth every penny!!
  21. DennisE.
    May 27, 2007
    9
    I really love this album, this is definately their best album so far. There's so much variety, they start with two awesome rock tracks, followed by the super relaxed song wish you were here. You can't open an album better :D But also song like 11am and Mexico are very good. They prove that incubus is also very capable of making ballads. At the same time they have some very I really love this album, this is definately their best album so far. There's so much variety, they start with two awesome rock tracks, followed by the super relaxed song wish you were here. You can't open an album better :D But also song like 11am and Mexico are very good. They prove that incubus is also very capable of making ballads. At the same time they have some very special songs like the jazzy are you in, and the oriental song Aqueus Transmission. Mix the before said with awesome hard rock tracks like blood on the ground, have you ever and under my umbrella and what you get is an almost perfect blend of different songs, that strongly connect as one piece at the same time. The only slight disappointments are just a phase, and echo, but even those songs can be appreciated after a few times listening... Conclusion: stop reading this and start listening Morning View. Expand
  22. ShawnH.
    Nov 1, 2001
    10
    i love this album , i think its close to being their best. If you like every single side of Make yourself , youll love Morning View. It dont have the hardcore funk and rap attacks as the past albums , but the group has grown up alot and really shown some awesome riffs and great lyrics in this new album . you have to get this cd !
  23. CharlieP
    Dec 25, 2004
    8
    This album is beautiful, so mellow. Its a contrast to all there other albums which was suprising but i love it!
  24. LeifS
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    my personal favorite album of all time.
  25. KyleF
    Nov 29, 2006
    9
    I have never been high and I think that Incubus is probably the greatest popular band of this era. Critics don't like Incubus because they are either too old or too uptight to enjoy music with any link to metal. P.S. If anyone cares what Rolling Stone magazine thinks, they have never played an instrument or mattered (with slight exaggeration attached).
  26. DinoM
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    A masterpiece. Must own album. Nothing else can be said. NO ONE makes music like this. 100% original and relevant.
  27. joec
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    i thought it was an awesome albulm. a variety of tunes, instraments and note that came together perfect. i don't know what the hell the critics heard it sure wasn't the morning view.
  28. May 8, 2012
    9
    Incubus always felt different to the other bands , in way that can be compared to the hyped Linking Park ( that somehow changed their genre in a uncomfortable way ) . Morning View is the perfect album that distinguish the bands style and that it makes it proud of the early 2000's era well remembered.
  29. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    7
    I sometimes get some of the songs from this record confused with Make Yourself. Understandably, they have the feeling and tone, making this album more pivotal in their career. I would give Make Yourself a 10 out of 10 because it came first and has some of the best rock songs you'll ever hear. This feels like a rehash of those ideas which doesn't make this a failure, but an above averageI sometimes get some of the songs from this record confused with Make Yourself. Understandably, they have the feeling and tone, making this album more pivotal in their career. I would give Make Yourself a 10 out of 10 because it came first and has some of the best rock songs you'll ever hear. This feels like a rehash of those ideas which doesn't make this a failure, but an above average album. Aquarius Transmission is kind of a departure of their sound and is just a beautiful song. Expand
  30. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    Make Yourself is the critical and fan favorite for indicating this band's high point, and understandably so. But there is something to be said about the follow up, which retains all of the quality of its predecessor-- and one might argue, then some. The diversity of this album is greater than in anything previously, and it'll take you for a ride, culminating in one of my favorite finishingMake Yourself is the critical and fan favorite for indicating this band's high point, and understandably so. But there is something to be said about the follow up, which retains all of the quality of its predecessor-- and one might argue, then some. The diversity of this album is greater than in anything previously, and it'll take you for a ride, culminating in one of my favorite finishing songs of all time-- "Aqueous Transmission"-- which will lull you to sleep in the best way possible. Expand
  31. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    A seriously good album from a seriously good band. Incubus is currently one of the best rock bands in terms of musical quality and this album proves that. Never get sick of Morning View...
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Q Magazine
    80
    Even at their most acerbic or delicately downplayed extremes, Incubus are compelling. [#184, p.137]
  2. Inevitably, all the shifts in tempo, mood and lyrical slant ultimately hurt Morning View more than they help.
  3. Their movement toward non-nooky maturity continues here with tunes like the melodic and soaring "Wish You Were Here" and the dramatic "Warning"--each showing a more reflective and poetic side than before.