• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Morning View Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Los Angeles-based funk-metal band returns with a follow-up to 1999's 'Make Yourself.' Scott Litt (R.E.M.) returns as producer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Even at their most acerbic or delicately downplayed extremes, Incubus are compelling. [#184, p.137]
  2. At times, these musical meanderings verge on self-indulgence and callowness.
  3. Their movement toward non-nooky maturity continues here with tunes like the melodic and soaring "Wish You Were Here" and the dramatic "Warning"--each showing a more reflective and poetic side than before.
  4. There is very little here that makes any sort of meaningful connection. [Dec 2001, p.85]
  5. 60
    It's not quite as thrillingly risky as the Deftones' White Pony, but it deserves the collegiate adulation it will likely receive. [Oct/Nov 2001, p.107]
  6. Morning View's insurmountable flaw is that Incubus sell themselves as an Intelligent and Sensitive rock band, without actually appearing especially intelligent or sensitive.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    definitely the best Incubus album to date, it has something for everyone every song on the album is a good one but Just a Phase is My favoritedefinitely the best Incubus album to date, it has something for everyone every song on the album is a good one but Just a Phase is My favorite song they've ever done Expand
  2. LeifS
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    my personal favorite album of all time.
  3. anonymous
    Feb 12, 2002
    10
    i'd rather crap my pants and listen to morning view than read the paper on the toilet
  4. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    A seriously good album from a seriously good band. Incubus is currently one of the best rock bands in terms of musical quality and this albumA seriously good album from a seriously good band. Incubus is currently one of the best rock bands in terms of musical quality and this album proves that. Never get sick of Morning View... Expand
  5. KyleF
    Nov 29, 2006
    9
    I have never been high and I think that Incubus is probably the greatest popular band of this era. Critics don't like Incubus because I have never been high and I think that Incubus is probably the greatest popular band of this era. Critics don't like Incubus because they are either too old or too uptight to enjoy music with any link to metal. P.S. If anyone cares what Rolling Stone magazine thinks, they have never played an instrument or mattered (with slight exaggeration attached). Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    Make Yourself is the critical and fan favorite for indicating this band's high point, and understandably so. But there is something to be saidMake Yourself is the critical and fan favorite for indicating this band's high point, and understandably so. But there is something to be said about the follow up, which retains all of the quality of its predecessor-- and one might argue, then some. The diversity of this album is greater than in anything previously, and it'll take you for a ride, culminating in one of my favorite finishing songs of all time-- "Aqueous Transmission"-- which will lull you to sleep in the best way possible. Expand
  7. Æ.
    Nov 20, 2001
    2
    music made for MTV and modern rock radio. Lifeless and dull drivel. 14 year-old teeny-boppers would realy like this.

See all 38 User Reviews