Morph The Cat - Donald Fagen
Morph The Cat Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the Steely Dan vocalist's first solo disc in over a dozen years.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    Morph... sounds utterly of a piece with Aja. [Apr 2006, p.104]
  2. Fagen's triumph of rendering post–9-11 New York most recalls how perfectly Steely Dan caught LA on 1980's 'Gaucho.'
  3. More so than on Kamakiriad, or on the tight Everything Must Go, there is a sense of genuine band interplay on this record, which helps give it both consistency and heart -- something appropriate for an album that is Fagen's most personal song cycle since The Nightfly, and quite possibly his best album since then.
  4. Despite the craft in this music--no, because of the craft in this music--most younger fans will run from Morph like it carried the very plague. No question, this album sounds uniform and rather overpleasant--engineered to a sheen of perfection.
  5. 70
    The unhurried, full-retail rock arrangements are splashed with lite-R&B syncopations and snazzy-jazz harmonies. [Apr 2006, p.111]
  6. Contains his catchiest, most immediate compositions in decades.
  7. Morph the Cat is too complacent, too enamored with its own lacquered contours.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    We all should understand that music is a totally subjective experience as is a "good wine" or a great movie. That being said, I am a bitWe all should understand that music is a totally subjective experience as is a "good wine" or a great movie. That being said, I am a bit perplexed that Mack would make such bold statements and references. Steely Dan/Donald **** and Walter Becker have truly evolved. Listen to the sound changes over the years and the past three decades have been more of a polishing of a sound that is proven, secure and dynamic. I may be a huge fan but I also appreciate the depth and soul of what I consider to be one of the most important musical influences since James Brown - "on the one beat - smile! One should comment on what they understand rather than be critical of that which they do not! Expand
  2. MarkJ
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    Donaold Fagen has talent oozing out of every pore of his body, and that clearly shows through on this album. They guy who gave it a 2 rating Donaold Fagen has talent oozing out of every pore of his body, and that clearly shows through on this album. They guy who gave it a 2 rating is obviously from the "Trance Music for the Underdeveloped Mind" generation that has polluted the airwaves with the tripe that is out there these days. Like many Fagen/Steely Dan albums this one requires many listenings to truly absorb the complexity, richness and sophistication of the sound. Most young people don't have that patience. Expand
  3. S
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    A Groove Supreme.
  4. JeffH
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    I read all of the reviews and found no mention of the DTS 5.1 version of this album. I will say that this is an audiofiles dream. The sound I read all of the reviews and found no mention of the DTS 5.1 version of this album. I will say that this is an audiofiles dream. The sound alone is EAR CANDY and the music grows on you fast and steady. The people giving this a 2 rating are without a real understanding of music. Collapse
  5. EricS
    Apr 15, 2006
    9
    At a first listening you think: nice, 2nd listening: ok! Further listening: It's in your soul feorever and won't leave you anymore. At a first listening you think: nice, 2nd listening: ok! Further listening: It's in your soul feorever and won't leave you anymore. Like any Steely Dan album since Aya, it has to grow steadily while listening. This is Donald Fagen's best solo album. Great album. Eric / The Netherlands Expand
  6. PaulEReeser
    Jun 25, 2006
    9
    The sign of a truly great album is when you listen to it all day long driving in your Camaro Z28, getting TOTALLY into its grooves, lyrics, & The sign of a truly great album is when you listen to it all day long driving in your Camaro Z28, getting TOTALLY into its grooves, lyrics, & harmonies; then when you are laying in bed at night, you have this sudden, uncontrollable urge to run out to the Camaro Z28, pop in the CD again, and drive around in the night, just to listen to it again. Am I strange? No, just a dude that understands something great when he hears it. - speaking of hearing greatness, is anyone else constantly hearing the EXCELLENT & FUN vocal chorus to "What I Do" over and over in their head and LOVING it?!!! Mahalo Donald! -An admirer on Maui [just a couple islands away from where you recorded it]. Expand
  7. RH
    Mar 17, 2006
    0
    Most of these reviews are from runofthemill publications.......hence why the rating is so high. Maybe if you are only listening to mainstream Most of these reviews are from runofthemill publications.......hence why the rating is so high. Maybe if you are only listening to mainstream filth, you'll find this refreshing. Otherwise, ignore it like you would Steely Dan. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews