Mosquito

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 61
  2. Negative: 4 out of 61
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 18, 2013
    6
    Yeah Yeah Yeahs really tried to get everyone excited for this new album. I was very excited. After seeing that strange and somewhat disturbing album cover, I knew the album would be quite interesting. It wasn't quite what I had expected. It was much more boring than I thought. Even with the collaborations in production with James Murphy and the guy from TV on the Radio, the album fallsYeah Yeah Yeahs really tried to get everyone excited for this new album. I was very excited. After seeing that strange and somewhat disturbing album cover, I knew the album would be quite interesting. It wasn't quite what I had expected. It was much more boring than I thought. Even with the collaborations in production with James Murphy and the guy from TV on the Radio, the album falls short for me. Not to say that the album sucks, but I just wanted a little bit more. The highlights are: "Sacrilege". Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2013
    4
    Pretty boring. The magic contained in their previous 3 masterpieces is gone. I like bands who change their sound with every new release, just like they did on their previous releases, but this one, was a pretty boring change. I almost fall sleep while listening to this.
  3. Apr 20, 2013
    5
    This album should be entitled, Yeah Yeah Yeahs lose their edge Slightly boring,well a lot boring .

    The Yeah Yeah Yeahs have a lot of talent but this album sounds like a sell out.
  4. Apr 24, 2013
    6
    After hearing their amazing lead single, Sacrilege, with its rousing chorus and gospel choir, this album would be onto a winner. Unfortunately, it seems to go a bit downhill after the great opening. Tracks like Subway and Always are too boring and These Paths consisted of silly background effects that ruined the song. But songs like Mosquito, Slave, Area 52 and Buried Alive make up forAfter hearing their amazing lead single, Sacrilege, with its rousing chorus and gospel choir, this album would be onto a winner. Unfortunately, it seems to go a bit downhill after the great opening. Tracks like Subway and Always are too boring and These Paths consisted of silly background effects that ruined the song. But songs like Mosquito, Slave, Area 52 and Buried Alive make up for that with their punchy tunes and dark tones. I have to say, I expected something a bit more uptemp and anthemic considering the title, cover art and lead single. Expand
  5. May 15, 2013
    4
    I’ve already mentioned that what I like about the Yeah Yeah Yeahs is their singles, and their way to build and deflate energy with the greatest of ease. That didn’t click in this album for me so much, there are a few songs that show it more than others, but it’s not consistent.
    Read the rest at http://www.mcmaymie.com
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    Ultimately, Mosquito sees the band reenergised, trying new things and, generally, succeeding.
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    60
    Maybe it’s a struggle to really get your teeth into Mosquito because of the track listing; the three song dry patch after Mosquito is a huge problem considering the ease these days of being able to find something more interesting to listen to.
  3. Apr 23, 2013
    75
    For all their consistency, it's good to know Yeah Yeah Yeahs remain capable of pulling off the unexpected.