Multiply

  • Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: Jun 28, 2005
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 58
  2. Negative: 12 out of 58

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. cr
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    Wow. Soul in 2005. From a Brit. It's about time R&B was updated...
  2. nicolasv
    Aug 1, 2005
    10
    supa fresh and mega funky
  3. SebaVanB
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    Truly fantastic feelgood album. This man sings like he's black :) Quality production ... I wished this album was longer :)
  4. LawrenceP
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    He's not black? What the heck? Anyways never mind, this the best LP I've heard this year and the best soul LP since Dangelo's last.
  5. JoséG
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    Album of the year.
  6. JM
    Jul 7, 2005
    9
    Remarkably good album!
  7. TerrenceO
    Aug 24, 2005
    9
    Though I discovered this a little late I am completly in love. The album, while all soul and R&B, does jump around in style quite a bit. Multiply being the highlight of the album sounds like Sly, which is imediately followed by a track that wouldnt be out of place on Thriller. This is really a staggering accomplishment of an album, especially for a guy who used to make boring glitchy Though I discovered this a little late I am completly in love. The album, while all soul and R&B, does jump around in style quite a bit. Multiply being the highlight of the album sounds like Sly, which is imediately followed by a track that wouldnt be out of place on Thriller. This is really a staggering accomplishment of an album, especially for a guy who used to make boring glitchy IDM... oh and who happens to be white... we have our new Eric Bourdon! Expand
  8. fortehwin
    Aug 30, 2005
    9
    Grew on my quicker than I could find the loop button on my CD player, and I'm still not sick of it after about 3 months of constant enjoyment. Feels very much like the music of one man made enormous but still sounding like it's in the room 'with you'.
  9. BlairS
    May 29, 2006
    9
    Very solid album. The single, Multiply, is definitely a highlight. One of the best tracks in a long time!
  10. matta
    Jul 11, 2005
    9
    This is the sexiest music of the year. D'angelo meets Aqualung. Great stuff.
  11. BayJay
    Jul 19, 2005
    9
    I have no f'in idea where the negative reviews are coming from. This album works as a pop record, while still managing to be forward thinking and original. This album is too catchy for people to complain that they "don't get it", and it's too original for people to call it "boring".
  12. BenjaminC
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    Great
  13. LeonardoF
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    it's groove o'clock! and he's not black. outstanding album.
  14. aland
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    holy crap, what's wrong with you people? album of m'fckn YEAR.
  15. MichaelJackson
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    love the fusion of oldschool r&b and electronic sparkle
  16. TimJ
    Aug 1, 2005
    10
    I must agree...if you dislike this, you are simply trying too hard to be cool. This is Warp's best release in years.
  17. salomey
    Aug 20, 2005
    9
    i don't really believe in 10 out of 10 and therefore i give it a 9 the song material is overall strong enough but with this voice and such great production he could make coldplay songs sound interesting
  18. RDSmith
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Great fusion of soul and electronica. I knew this was good way back when I heard the whole album in May.
  19. DrunkenMaster
    Aug 3, 2005
    9
    This CD should come with its own birthcontrol device, it is that funky fresh. Turn it up and dance, suckas.
  20. Piotr
    Aug 6, 2005
    10
    Hey, average note from users who add a comment to this album is 9, so why average user rating for this album is only 6 ?! This music is sooo great, c'mon, give it a try!
  21. willl
    Aug 8, 2005
    9
    does an excellent job paying tribute to the classic motown days, but with that great warp record style
  22. PaulThegiraffe
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    funky as f. Well jackson
  23. SimG
    Nov 1, 2005
    9
    Very creative, great combination on an album, but give it some time. It takes a little bit of time to grow on you.
  24. ChrisC
    Jul 14, 2005
    9
    Great album. 80's soul and R&B with a 00's feel. And great songwriting too. A welcome throwback to an underused genre.
  25. RonaldDumbsfeld
    Aug 18, 2005
    9
    This guy has soul. He is the opposite of all the Franz Ferdinandesque wannabe 80s crap out there today.
  26. MattyM
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    Unreal, Jamie is the white De Angelo, Justin Timberlake and Robin Thick ain't got nothin' on this cat...he's bad..........intelligent too........I'm a fan :)

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Q Magazine
    70
    A blistering song set with the playful spirit of '80s Prince. [Jul 2005, p.115]
  2. A silky, bright, singing-in-the-shower masterstroke of joy and elation.
  3. His is a rare talent, demanding to be heard.