Mumps, Etc. Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth full-length release for the indie quartet was recorded on tape before being mixed by Graham Marsh and Yoni Wolf.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    90
    Wolf is as honest and, in a greater sense, as generous a songwriter as we have, and Mumps, Etc. may be his finest gift yet.
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    80
    Crisper and cleaner than any previous Why? musing, Mumps Etc. is chamber hop for people who buy every remastered reissue of Pet Sounds. [No. 92, p.60]
  3. Mumps takes a little while to sink in in a different way to previous albums.
  4. Oct 9, 2012
    67
    Metaphors are short-lived and abstract, and Wolf spends lots of time philosophizing or generalizing.
  5. Oct 17, 2012
    62
    It's disjointed, but somehow held together by Wolf's honestly and sometimes-brilliant turns of phrases.
  6. Oct 15, 2012
    60
    All the Why? hallmarks are there, but the album just lacks effusive energy or emotional rawness needed to bring it all to life.
  7. Oct 9, 2012
    28
    An often unlistenable album from WHY?, a group whose music is often excellent.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    I have loved WHY? for 5 years and find all of their records equally incredible. The lyrics, the production, and the instrumentation make theI have loved WHY? for 5 years and find all of their records equally incredible. The lyrics, the production, and the instrumentation make the songs sound like nothing else that is being released today. Each record creates its own genre from elements of hip hop, rock, pop, folk, and experimentation that keeps an active listener wanting more. After following the evolution from Oaklandazulasylum to Elephant Eyelash and from Alopecia to Eskimo Snow, this new record sounds like everything an avid WHY? fan could hope for. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    Give this album a chance, the Pitchfork review doesn't do this album justice. This album was what I wanted to hear after "Alopecia". It isn'tGive this album a chance, the Pitchfork review doesn't do this album justice. This album was what I wanted to hear after "Alopecia". It isn't quite as cohesive as the previous two albums, but the organic, multi-layered sound will keep you captivated. Give it a chance. Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    This album kills it. I really kind of expected this album to be the sound we'd hear after Alopecia. Definitely one of the most listenable Why?This album kills it. I really kind of expected this album to be the sound we'd hear after Alopecia. Definitely one of the most listenable Why? albums for me. Everyone is doing their thing so well, and there are so many fun and surprising moments. Nice one. Collapse
  4. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    I don't want to sound like a total pedant, but Ian Cohen has bashed out this sort of "review" before (his hatchet-job of FOTL comes to mind),I don't want to sound like a total pedant, but Ian Cohen has bashed out this sort of "review" before (his hatchet-job of FOTL comes to mind), so just ignore his opinion when it oozes onto this site. Mumps, etc itself though - bloody great. Lyrically engaging, musically accomplished and brilliantly sequenced, I find it to be a more than worthy addition to the Why? catalogue. Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2012
    7
    Wait until the reissue in 10 years time and pitchfork will give it a 10 out of 10.
    You can't take pitchfork seriously.
    Their score for this
    Wait until the reissue in 10 years time and pitchfork will give it a 10 out of 10.
    You can't take pitchfork seriously.
    Their score for this album is just a troll review to get attention.
    Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2012
    6
    The first tracks were more or less forgettable, regrettably, but I did enjoy the bit of spunk in Johnathan's Hope, Strawberries and Sod in theThe first tracks were more or less forgettable, regrettably, but I did enjoy the bit of spunk in Johnathan's Hope, Strawberries and Sod in the Seed, though not enough for more than five or six listens. Most of the choruses, much like many of the songs, on this album sound pretty strained or are simply not that good, especially when they try to sound catchy. Despite all this, I really enjoyed of the second half of the album, except for Thirst which I thought was lyrically bad and, once again, had a bad chorus. Kevin's Cancer and Distance both sound like what the first half of the album could have been and should have been; more refined, sharper instrumentals and overall better production. Finally, I LOVED the closing three tracks on this album Bitter Thoughts, Paper Hearts, and As A Card all sounded like Elephant Eyelash grade hip-hop with that dark touch that I loved in Alopecia. Expand