User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 2 out of 15

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TheaSasseen
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    love it...
  2. KeithW
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    The only down side to the album are the three skit like tracks. The instrumentation is excellent and the vocals are suppurb.
  3. KalebA.
    Aug 24, 2002
    9
    this album totally captivates the pure form that is mike patton. jennifer charles' vocals along with nakamura and patton's musical int. makes this album a must......
  4. JamesM.
    Sep 19, 2002
    10
    just perfect, no other word can describe mike patton and jennifer charles' music together
  5. LilithS
    Jan 17, 2004
    10
    Excellent...orgasmic...what else!
  6. TurkRocks
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Well HELLO THERE! This is an album I have not heard of until tonight. Wow! Nice work again! Never seem to stop astounding me! Gorillaz - Original, beautiful, wonderful
  7. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    A lot of cool smooth sampling from the 60's 70's that transform good songs into a great classic album. I give 10 for less than 1 out of 100 records that I own. Nothing else from Nakamura or Patton come close to this IMO.

    The only other "sampling" album that I give at 10 is The Avalanches "Since I left You"
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. While Nakamura is quite possibly one of the most accomplished beat processors in the realm of art hip-hop/electronica, his strict-composer approach on this project is occasionally inaccessible and at times unlistenable.
  2. Spin
    70
    Lovage's schtick wears pretty thin by album's end--but if it works like it's supposed to, you won't need to play it that long. [Feb 2002, p.108]
  3. The Wire
    80
    Superficially, Lovage is a continuation of the Handsome Boy Modeling School aesthetic that collides HipHop, rock and electronica into an ironic hipster epic. [#213, p. 59]