Musicology

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 7 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewM
    Oct 6, 2005
    8
    Musicology is pure funk from the soul. I can listen to this CD over and over again, and it still rates up there with anything I listen to. And I listen to a wide variety. True though, its highest point is by far the title track. Now can make songs this immortal anymore, for me its one of the greatest songs there is. True!! Nuff Said!!
  2. Mak16Mak
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Icreadibel! Prince Is Back! lwts celabrate!
  3. maxd
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    the best!!!!!!!!
  4. BillS
    Jul 25, 2004
    8
    For old fans, it's a new sound for Prince. One that works, albeit less edgy than his earlier recordings. That said, it rocks no less convincingly than anything else he's ever done. True, it's not groundbreaking, but Prince came with an ready made excuse since the title song suggests this is a funky n' soul history lesson. Listen and learn. It's worth your time.
  5. Dayaw
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    its just great and more you listen more great it sounds or should I say greater,whatever its just great.
  6. jonellej
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    it is the bomb
  7. KerriM
    Jun 18, 2004
    10
    What an album! It's more than an album. It's an experience. It isn't tied down in sexual over indulgence. It lacks the typical duality of explicit sexuality and deep spirituality. It really gets to the music. And reaffirms the genius of Prince. Prince has written over 500 songs. If this album is any indication of what's to come, I can't wait.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Jun 8, 2004
    10
    The best new album I've heard this year. For me the only slight imperfection is Life Of The Party, which lags a bit in its first half. Other than that minor quibble, the whole album is solid, irresistible. Prince hits the sweet spot again and again. Does not disappoint!
  9. MichaelS
    May 26, 2004
    10
    Considering he plays just about every instrument and lays nearly every vocal down and mixes and...Prince is a national treasure who never gets the attention he deserves. A great album with memorable songs especially "Call My Name" and "Illusion, Coma, Pimp and Circumstance" and "A Million Days".
  10. StephenS
    May 7, 2004
    7
    I cut my musical teeth on "Dirty Mind" "Controversy", and "1999". Prince taught me to expect the perfectly timed hook in a song and to listen for ornamental flourishes in even the silliest of circumstances. I still consider him a musical genius. "Musicology" is a refreshing treat, a funked-up throwback to his early sounds. However, none of these songs have me hooked the way "Head" did, or I cut my musical teeth on "Dirty Mind" "Controversy", and "1999". Prince taught me to expect the perfectly timed hook in a song and to listen for ornamental flourishes in even the silliest of circumstances. I still consider him a musical genius. "Musicology" is a refreshing treat, a funked-up throwback to his early sounds. However, none of these songs have me hooked the way "Head" did, or "Uptown", or even "International Lover". The production is spare, the grooves are tight, but I probably won't be listening to this one six months from now. Expand
  11. markf
    Apr 27, 2004
    8
    Well this dates me, but I have nine Prince albums on vinyl (yes my turntable has been getting a workout lately but mostly by the Undertones, Pixies and Vibrators.) Anyway, counting my cassettes, this is the twelfth album of the Purple One that I've bought. I'd probably place it somewhere in the middle. "1999", "Purple Rain" and "Sign o' the Times" are undisputed 10s. Once I Well this dates me, but I have nine Prince albums on vinyl (yes my turntable has been getting a workout lately but mostly by the Undertones, Pixies and Vibrators.) Anyway, counting my cassettes, this is the twelfth album of the Purple One that I've bought. I'd probably place it somewhere in the middle. "1999", "Purple Rain" and "Sign o' the Times" are undisputed 10s. Once I understood that this was a kinder, gentler, older Prince (kinda like me and my wife), I could settle into the solid, if unspectacular groove of these stripped-down funk jams and sincere (in a good way) love songs. If I was younger kid, I might think the guy needs viagra, but hey, I'm my age so I know this album will get played in the bedroom. As a plus, I appreciate Prince's political stances since they're better than our Holy Emperor's... I mean that guy in the White House who has no grip. Expand
  12. SethB
    Apr 24, 2004
    10
    Great Stuff! (Ignore the first two songs) Highlights are "Call MyName", "Man in UR Life" and "Reflection" Go get this one!!
  13. RichardJ
    Apr 23, 2004
    8
    This album is a return for Prince that brings the musician almost full circle. The album has, on first listen, quite a few memorable songs and a bit of fluff. Spaning funk, rock, soul and jazz in one album is nothing new for the artist. What is impressive is the album's ability to grow on you with subsequent listens. Prince is truly a musical genius, and I for one have truly missed This album is a return for Prince that brings the musician almost full circle. The album has, on first listen, quite a few memorable songs and a bit of fluff. Spaning funk, rock, soul and jazz in one album is nothing new for the artist. What is impressive is the album's ability to grow on you with subsequent listens. Prince is truly a musical genius, and I for one have truly missed this type of solidity from a Prince album. Song ratings are as follows (scale of 1-10). Musicology - 8 Illusion, Coma, Pimp & Circumstance - 8 A Million Days - 9 Life of the Party - 4 Call My Name - 8 Cinnamon Girl - 5 What Do You Want Me to Do - 6 The Marrying Kind - 6 If Eye Was The Man In Your Life - 9 On The Couch - 8 Dear Mr. Man - 10 Reflection - 9 Overall - 7 Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Blender
    40
    Less of the recent Jesus-jazz, more funk minimalism--so far so good.... But the once-and-future Prince doesn't seem to be rooting around in the rich melodies of "Raspberry Beret" or the frenetic nu-wave soul of "Uptown." [#27, p.144]
  2. As a whole, it’s a 3 [out of 5], but the first two tracks are worth the extra point.
  3. With Musicology, the doctor of sexual funk puts the self-indulgence on hold and digs back into the enticing grooves and towering melodies of his glory years.