Musicology

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 7 out of 30

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StephenS
    May 7, 2004
    7
    I cut my musical teeth on "Dirty Mind" "Controversy", and "1999". Prince taught me to expect the perfectly timed hook in a song and to listen for ornamental flourishes in even the silliest of circumstances. I still consider him a musical genius. "Musicology" is a refreshing treat, a funked-up throwback to his early sounds. However, none of these songs have me hooked the way "Head" did, or I cut my musical teeth on "Dirty Mind" "Controversy", and "1999". Prince taught me to expect the perfectly timed hook in a song and to listen for ornamental flourishes in even the silliest of circumstances. I still consider him a musical genius. "Musicology" is a refreshing treat, a funked-up throwback to his early sounds. However, none of these songs have me hooked the way "Head" did, or "Uptown", or even "International Lover". The production is spare, the grooves are tight, but I probably won't be listening to this one six months from now. Collapse
  2. Dayaw
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    its just great and more you listen more great it sounds or should I say greater,whatever its just great.
  3. AndrewM
    Oct 6, 2005
    8
    Musicology is pure funk from the soul. I can listen to this CD over and over again, and it still rates up there with anything I listen to. And I listen to a wide variety. True though, its highest point is by far the title track. Now can make songs this immortal anymore, for me its one of the greatest songs there is. True!! Nuff Said!!
  4. Mak16Mak
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Icreadibel! Prince Is Back! lwts celabrate!
  5. JasonC
    Apr 9, 2005
    6
    Doesn't live up to the hype, but it's not bad. A decent Prince album, like "Diamonds & Pearls" or "Controversy," but not a great one. There are a few boring tracks, and even though most of the tracks are good, they feel a bit too safe, like Prince is going back to old, proven formulas - he does them well, though. The title track, "Illusion, Coma...," "Life 'O' The Doesn't live up to the hype, but it's not bad. A decent Prince album, like "Diamonds & Pearls" or "Controversy," but not a great one. There are a few boring tracks, and even though most of the tracks are good, they feel a bit too safe, like Prince is going back to old, proven formulas - he does them well, though. The title track, "Illusion, Coma...," "Life 'O' The Party," "Cinnamon Girl," "On The Couch," and "Reflection" are solid, the best tracks. Worth getting if you're Prince fan, but still over-hyped. Expand
  6. RichardJ
    Apr 23, 2004
    8
    This album is a return for Prince that brings the musician almost full circle. The album has, on first listen, quite a few memorable songs and a bit of fluff. Spaning funk, rock, soul and jazz in one album is nothing new for the artist. What is impressive is the album's ability to grow on you with subsequent listens. Prince is truly a musical genius, and I for one have truly missed This album is a return for Prince that brings the musician almost full circle. The album has, on first listen, quite a few memorable songs and a bit of fluff. Spaning funk, rock, soul and jazz in one album is nothing new for the artist. What is impressive is the album's ability to grow on you with subsequent listens. Prince is truly a musical genius, and I for one have truly missed this type of solidity from a Prince album. Song ratings are as follows (scale of 1-10). Musicology - 8 Illusion, Coma, Pimp & Circumstance - 8 A Million Days - 9 Life of the Party - 4 Call My Name - 8 Cinnamon Girl - 5 What Do You Want Me to Do - 6 The Marrying Kind - 6 If Eye Was The Man In Your Life - 9 On The Couch - 8 Dear Mr. Man - 10 Reflection - 9 Overall - 7 Expand
  7. SethB
    Apr 24, 2004
    10
    Great Stuff! (Ignore the first two songs) Highlights are "Call MyName", "Man in UR Life" and "Reflection" Go get this one!!
  8. Princefanfans
    May 2, 2004
    2
    Ok... the people who rate more than 6 are blind DIE-HARD FAN of Prince. Musicology is the crap of the year is a easy and bored album whitout imagination and please!!! the lyrics are so stupid. Musicology is like a Britney or JC chaze (but the albums of Both have more IMAGINATION than Musicology album) albums but the difference are the credits. Ok Prince play all the instrument (by the way Ok... the people who rate more than 6 are blind DIE-HARD FAN of Prince. Musicology is the crap of the year is a easy and bored album whitout imagination and please!!! the lyrics are so stupid. Musicology is like a Britney or JC chaze (but the albums of Both have more IMAGINATION than Musicology album) albums but the difference are the credits. Ok Prince play all the instrument (by the way he cant play realy relay god... play like a 15 years old amateur) but he loss his small talent, his imagination to do a respectable song. Hey Richard J you loss real musical arguments in your review... this album is NOT a album of funk, rock, soul and jazz is just a Comercial-Pop mainstrean poor album whit just a little touch of the styles that all MTV-preducer use.... he repeat himself. And Prince is NOT a Musical Genius or give me arguments... The Musical genius are people like Fank Zappa, Bob Dylan (melodys), Byrds, Beatles, etc. etc. etc Prince albums (producs) is just like Justin or Ashanti albums. Expand
  9. MichaelS
    May 26, 2004
    10
    Considering he plays just about every instrument and lays nearly every vocal down and mixes and...Prince is a national treasure who never gets the attention he deserves. A great album with memorable songs especially "Call My Name" and "Illusion, Coma, Pimp and Circumstance" and "A Million Days".
  10. [Anonymous]
    Jun 8, 2004
    10
    The best new album I've heard this year. For me the only slight imperfection is Life Of The Party, which lags a bit in its first half. Other than that minor quibble, the whole album is solid, irresistible. Prince hits the sweet spot again and again. Does not disappoint!
  11. scotts
    Nov 14, 2004
    3
    It is insulting to even charge people for a cd like this....Really really horrible.
  12. markf
    Apr 27, 2004
    8
    Well this dates me, but I have nine Prince albums on vinyl (yes my turntable has been getting a workout lately but mostly by the Undertones, Pixies and Vibrators.) Anyway, counting my cassettes, this is the twelfth album of the Purple One that I've bought. I'd probably place it somewhere in the middle. "1999", "Purple Rain" and "Sign o' the Times" are undisputed 10s. Once I Well this dates me, but I have nine Prince albums on vinyl (yes my turntable has been getting a workout lately but mostly by the Undertones, Pixies and Vibrators.) Anyway, counting my cassettes, this is the twelfth album of the Purple One that I've bought. I'd probably place it somewhere in the middle. "1999", "Purple Rain" and "Sign o' the Times" are undisputed 10s. Once I understood that this was a kinder, gentler, older Prince (kinda like me and my wife), I could settle into the solid, if unspectacular groove of these stripped-down funk jams and sincere (in a good way) love songs. If I was younger kid, I might think the guy needs viagra, but hey, I'm my age so I know this album will get played in the bedroom. As a plus, I appreciate Prince's political stances since they're better than our Holy Emperor's... I mean that guy in the White House who has no grip. Expand
  13. KerriM
    Jun 18, 2004
    10
    What an album! It's more than an album. It's an experience. It isn't tied down in sexual over indulgence. It lacks the typical duality of explicit sexuality and deep spirituality. It really gets to the music. And reaffirms the genius of Prince. Prince has written over 500 songs. If this album is any indication of what's to come, I can't wait.
  14. jonellej
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    it is the bomb
  15. BillS
    Jul 25, 2004
    8
    For old fans, it's a new sound for Prince. One that works, albeit less edgy than his earlier recordings. That said, it rocks no less convincingly than anything else he's ever done. True, it's not groundbreaking, but Prince came with an ready made excuse since the title song suggests this is a funky n' soul history lesson. Listen and learn. It's worth your time.
  16. JoeG
    Mar 21, 2006
    5
    Average at best. There are some boring stretches here, some lite jazz noodling, and the songwriting isn't the greatest, but this is probably his best album since 1996. That's not saying much, but at least it's well-produced, usually well-played (there may be noodling, but there's some great guitar here and there), well-sung...some of this feels pretty conventional, Average at best. There are some boring stretches here, some lite jazz noodling, and the songwriting isn't the greatest, but this is probably his best album since 1996. That's not saying much, but at least it's well-produced, usually well-played (there may be noodling, but there's some great guitar here and there), well-sung...some of this feels pretty conventional, almost meat & potatoes, but it still has its charm, and Prince's sense of humor shines through a couple of songs. Expand
  17. maxd
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    the best!!!!!!!!
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Blender
    40
    Less of the recent Jesus-jazz, more funk minimalism--so far so good.... But the once-and-future Prince doesn't seem to be rooting around in the rich melodies of "Raspberry Beret" or the frenetic nu-wave soul of "Uptown." [#27, p.144]
  2. As a whole, it’s a 3 [out of 5], but the first two tracks are worth the extra point.
  3. With Musicology, the doctor of sexual funk puts the self-indulgence on hold and digs back into the enticing grooves and towering melodies of his glory years.