My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2010
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 1413 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 13, 2015
    5
    Has a few good songs, but the style is repetetive and gets annoying very quickly.

    This album has a group confirmation-bias cult following, but in reality it's not that great.
    Production was very good, deserving of a 9-10, but the lyrical content and performance of Kanye were Good at best.
  2. Dec 10, 2010
    6
    Can't say I believe the hype. I can't help but note that reviews don't focus on the quality of the music so much as the fascinating aspects of West's character. It's not that fascinating - he has a massive ego and he likes to whinge about any criticism thereof. His rhymes are passable, his ear for sampling pretty good, but aside from that? The attempts at 'experimentation' on TwistedCan't say I believe the hype. I can't help but note that reviews don't focus on the quality of the music so much as the fascinating aspects of West's character. It's not that fascinating - he has a massive ego and he likes to whinge about any criticism thereof. His rhymes are passable, his ear for sampling pretty good, but aside from that? The attempts at 'experimentation' on Twisted Fantasy amount to little more than derivative stupidity - see Runaway's incomprehensible cello-vocoder final few minutes and those multiple climaxes on Power that just don't make any structural sense. It doesn't matter how many guests he pulls in to help him out, these cuts rarely rise above self-indulgent mediocre. And sampling Aphex Twin? On a song with such a horribly annoying hook? Pure sacrilege. I will say that the album is listenable and at moments entertaining, but really, it isn't what everyone claims. Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    6
    The song 'Stronger' I don't know what the heck he was thinking when he added the other verse that was previously unheard before the album released. I like the extension and all, but the lyrics and the delivery of the line: "...lost in translation, with a whole **** nation, they say I was the abomination of Obama's nation..." I was actually embarrassed for him. Please if you don't know whatThe song 'Stronger' I don't know what the heck he was thinking when he added the other verse that was previously unheard before the album released. I like the extension and all, but the lyrics and the delivery of the line: "...lost in translation, with a whole **** nation, they say I was the abomination of Obama's nation..." I was actually embarrassed for him. Please if you don't know what I'm talking about, you got to go listen to this part of the song right now. You know Kanye, with Pro-tools there is a 'undo' button just press ctrl+z and re-do it. I heard too many takes on this album that could have been recorded better, it automatically loses a point and soils the whole song. It's laziness and unacceptable. However, Mr. West, does improve in one area with each album, his overall music behind the words is nothing short of amazing. Seems weird when I look back thinking Kanye's College Dropout was the best album of 03-04. which I gave a 10 (including lyrics and delivery, one of the only albums I ever gave a perfect score) Since though it's always been his lyrics and delivery holding him back in my opinion. His downfall is in his aim to please certain people, whether it be his idea of what is expected from the street, or the label, whatever it is it's obvious it's not all the way him. You can tell by his swag, certain songs his delivery is on point, others it's just eh...Take the song 'So Appalled' for example, by far in my opinion the least favorite on the album. If it wasn't for Jay's verse I wouldn't even listen to it. You can tell in this song as well as 'Monster' whenever Jay spits, he is in the moment and his emotion is captured perfectly. Kanye on the other hand seems to rely on vocal effects when his emotion isn't all the way with the music to help it blend. I also don't know if Kanye knows what a bridge is, after all these years I have yet to hear a real bridge, closest one I can think of off top is from 'Drunk and Hot Girls, (and it's not even his voice and it's fading into the end of the song). He seems to rely on instrumental break-downs and track extensions for his change ups. One last note about his flow, second verse of Gorgeous is very amateur especially going back into the hook. Now, onto his lyrics, honestly nothing was super impressive, still lots of un-necessary cussing. My favorite punch-line was the 'Family Matters' reference, seemed to be one of his most thought out rhymes on the album. Song concepts were good though, I can't say anything about that, even if it's a love letter to Lucifer. The album is truly a complete project tho, and can be listened to from beginning to end. Its just what I expected when I heard the whole album for the first time. I love the music, my only concern is, I love all Kanye's music but it seems way to often I find out that he only ripped off other songs and turned them into his own. I don't show any sympathy for his sampling style. I think its nothing short of plagiarism. If he is getting as much paper as he claims then he should be held responsible to be 100% original. Don't get me wrong I love a good remix and samples, I realize this is a big chunk of his style, but to parade around and say that your a musical genius while your hits used to be somebody else's hits, it doesn't give him much room to throw temper tantrums for not winning awards. I'm sure this project will be different, I expect him to do well. Thanks- Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2011
    5
    Over-hyped is definitely the word I'd use for this album. Admittedly, I've never been a fan of Kanye's music (or hip hop in general) and more so never been a fan of him but I decided I'd give his newest album a go. I was very disappointed, especially based on the extremely good reviews. The vast majority of songs are distinctly lack lustre and have only a few good parts to them. TheOver-hyped is definitely the word I'd use for this album. Admittedly, I've never been a fan of Kanye's music (or hip hop in general) and more so never been a fan of him but I decided I'd give his newest album a go. I was very disappointed, especially based on the extremely good reviews. The vast majority of songs are distinctly lack lustre and have only a few good parts to them. The sampling of songs like 21st Century Schizoid Man by King Crimson seems a desperate a gimmicky way to attract new fans. In spite of this there are some high points to the album - for example All Of The Lights - but in general I found the album distinctly average. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    5
    This has good backbeat rhythms so I can't play it down completely, but perfect 10? Really? Critics giving this 100? Really? LIke the cover, the lyrics are not really anything new - mostly pornographic, ghetto rap - parents beware. Fbombs, Nbombs, etc. etc. -which are repeated hundreds of times throughout (for shock value!?!?, to show their real grittiness?. Not really shocking, not reallyThis has good backbeat rhythms so I can't play it down completely, but perfect 10? Really? Critics giving this 100? Really? LIke the cover, the lyrics are not really anything new - mostly pornographic, ghetto rap - parents beware. Fbombs, Nbombs, etc. etc. -which are repeated hundreds of times throughout (for shock value!?!?, to show their real grittiness?. Not really shocking, not really cool either. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2011
    6
    First, this album was so over-hyped and it was not as groundbreaking as critics make it out to be. I honestly am happy for Kanye but the beats are overlong and the album begs for a closer after runaway. After 9 minutes of almost uninspiring lyrics it finally closes (thank God). I just wish Kanye would bring something worth speaking highly of. I like him as a person but until he stopsFirst, this album was so over-hyped and it was not as groundbreaking as critics make it out to be. I honestly am happy for Kanye but the beats are overlong and the album begs for a closer after runaway. After 9 minutes of almost uninspiring lyrics it finally closes (thank God). I just wish Kanye would bring something worth speaking highly of. I like him as a person but until he stops being rapping so selfish and material obsessively I will avoid his music forever. Expand
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    6
    So Kanye is good, I understand. College Dropout.....blew my mind. I couldnt understand how he did it or where it came from. Late Registration, good memories to a great album though not perfect like his first outing. Then comes Graduation, cant say I really listened to it much, there was a song with TPain! Next was 808 and Heartbreak, ppllllllhhhpppp sucked. Now we have Kanyes Dark TwistedSo Kanye is good, I understand. College Dropout.....blew my mind. I couldnt understand how he did it or where it came from. Late Registration, good memories to a great album though not perfect like his first outing. Then comes Graduation, cant say I really listened to it much, there was a song with TPain! Next was 808 and Heartbreak, ppllllllhhhpppp sucked. Now we have Kanyes Dark Twisted Fantasy and I must say, its alright. Damn if some of his songs are not catchy as hell. The end of Power is Dr Dre quality production. Runaway is my favorite song because of the ending, more emotion there than any other album this year completely. But it ends about there, cool beats and Kanye talkin sh*t. Im over it I must say. Expand
  8. Dec 2, 2010
    6
    This album is definitely one of the highlights of the past year as far as mainstream rap releases go, but it is by no means the masterpiece that critics are making it out to be. Kanye does gives us greater insight into his fragile, yet slightly twisted psyche in a much more earnest way than on previous records, and there is certainly some of his trademark wordplay at work here, but thereThis album is definitely one of the highlights of the past year as far as mainstream rap releases go, but it is by no means the masterpiece that critics are making it out to be. Kanye does gives us greater insight into his fragile, yet slightly twisted psyche in a much more earnest way than on previous records, and there is certainly some of his trademark wordplay at work here, but there is still nothing so unabashedly personal that makes certain classic records so great. The music, arrangement, and songwriting, although catchy and fitting to most of the lyrics, is let down by a production that is saturated by current mainstream pop cliches, and that is the biggest letdown on this record. I really was expecting something more revolutionary, something that you have not yet hear on any rap, or pop recordings in recent years, but for the most part, this record sticks to the familiars. The strength of this record lies in its hooks and amusing wordplay. Standout tracks include the seismic Monster, with its barrage of guest stars and its ambition. Hell of a Life and POWER are on par with anything else in the mainstream today, but the rest. . . well it isn't bad, but it definitely is nowhere near classic status. Expand
  9. Nov 29, 2010
    5
    Until Kanye West returns to his roots and puts out an album close to the lyrical skill and production of The College Dropout, I will continue to be disappointed. That said, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy can be praised for its uniqueness and sound. But some songs last way too long and for the amount this CD cost to make and the time it took, it should have more than 12.5 tracks.
  10. Dec 6, 2010
    5
    There are some songs that remind me of old Kanye, but many that remind me of 808 Kanye. Most lyrics aren't up to par with Kanye's ability, being over shadowed by good beats that make certain songs better than they should be.
  11. Jan 27, 2011
    6
    yeah yeah, kanye is a nice guy, or whatsoever, and he's even able to do some good stuff on tracks. Accordingly. The only trouble, is that recycling, well, bore us faster, because we've heard the sh*t a dozen times before, this is the same accoutrement that with the latest BEPeas. Anyway, overall, i love the RZA produced song, and the lost in the world 1. And, of course there is nicky inyeah yeah, kanye is a nice guy, or whatsoever, and he's even able to do some good stuff on tracks. Accordingly. The only trouble, is that recycling, well, bore us faster, because we've heard the sh*t a dozen times before, this is the same accoutrement that with the latest BEPeas. Anyway, overall, i love the RZA produced song, and the lost in the world 1. And, of course there is nicky in monster, and that makes the record enough arguments to listen to. Anyway those are the highlights i can remember so far without checking, after 2 months, not listening to it.
    check,
    Expand
  12. Feb 9, 2011
    6
    I remember the first time I listened to Kanye West. The song â
  13. Feb 9, 2011
    5
    The production on this album is fantastic. Truth be told, if this record featured a better lyricist I would enjoy it very much. Kanye should have stuck to being a producer. That is truly what he does best. His vocals are far too **** and ignorant to give him the kind of credit and reviews he has been getting.
  14. Jun 29, 2011
    6
    Having read the glowing reviews and having listened to the singles, the album was disappointing to me. Most tracks are overlong and boring. "Runaway", however, remains one of the best tracks of 2010 and "Power" and "All of the Lights" are good as well.
  15. Mar 31, 2015
    5
    I am not a fan of the genre, but i like to appreciate some of the things it does, sadly this album is not one of them. As a musician i know there were some effort put on it on the production. But there is more effort than talent on the songs, and that's the huge problem. They are followed up by unexceptional (simple) chord progressions which i have nothing against, because some artistsI am not a fan of the genre, but i like to appreciate some of the things it does, sadly this album is not one of them. As a musician i know there were some effort put on it on the production. But there is more effort than talent on the songs, and that's the huge problem. They are followed up by unexceptional (simple) chord progressions which i have nothing against, because some artists have develop it really well. They did on the album, but they didn't went that far so it became repetitive and unispiring. The lyrics are above average but they are not exceptional, maybe If you haven't listen to great songwriters like Peter Gabriel, Serrat, David Bowie, etc., you may think they are great, but in reality, no. So again i see a critically acclaimed album by critics (maybe they were paid) and listeners that makes me doubt again of the credibility of Metacritic. I love music and i am not restricted to a particular genre, but i recognize something and give credit to it when i think it deserves it, and in my opiniĆ³n, it doesn't deserves any. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    West is far from rap's deftest lyricist but his neurotic grandstanding is compelling and often pretty funny to boot. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    100
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is genuinely a great record. [Feb. 2011, p. 108]