User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 1217 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    What the hell is this? This music is just swearing mixed with **** at his fans with a few good songs inside. Also, based on the 16 reviews it has, it should be at a 94, not 100, although that is still much too high for this stupid album. I really cannot stand this, and I hold nothing against Kanye West. Dark Fantast, Power and All Of The Lights are very good, and most of the other songs are annoyingly repetitive, especially So Appalled and Monster. Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    I have a tendency to approach any wildly praised album with a degree of skepticism...admittedly, I approached this album looking to be as critical as possible. A part of me was trying to dislike it. That part of me failed miserably, and the rest of me told the contrarian part to shut up and just listen to the awesomeness. It's the best-reviewed new release of 2010 for a reason. You owe it to yourself to own this. I could sit here and analyze the music to try and convince you, but seriously...just get it and listen for yourself. That is all. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    A truly remarkable album that in the long run will change the game as Dr. Dre's Chronic and as Marshall's LP. The album has an insanely catchy intro and finishes off with raw power and soul. Kanye's latest may have some ****ing ridiculous; ****ing ridiculous repetitions, but even with Fantasy's few flaws, it remains the best new album of 2010.
  4. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This Album is the best album in the past ten years. He has discovered the fact that people don't buy music anymore and buy releasing tracks online every friday makes him a true legend. He has also included 5 covers and a movie for $3 more on the album. I mean what artist has ever done that. The production is amazing as well, he switches up the vocals on blame game so the listener can recognize that there is two people talking to each other. All of the Lights has to be my personal best. I mean what rap artist has transformed a song by putting Rihanna, Fergie, Elton John, Kid Cudi, La-Roux's Lead Singer, The Dream, John Legend, and Ryan Leslie all on one track. People have criticized this man long enough for his "stealing of moments" ...give me a break. I haven't heard a hip hop album this moving since about the time Nas released Illmatic. This man deserves true respect and loves his job. The least you can do is check out some of the previews then buy it because a true hip hop fan would know that is a good choice. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Excellently edgy lyrics and a simultaneously raw, yet polished sound. It's one of the best hip hop albums of 2010, along with Big Boi's and Gorillaz' efforts, Sir Lucious Left Foot and Plastic Beach, respectively. And maybe even Janelle Monáe's record, too, if you overlook the heavy soul influences.
  6. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    I'm wondering why those Kanye "fans" rated this album poorly claiming it doesn't live up to their expectations or it's not what they expected. If they were fans, they would have known what to expect with G.O.O.D. Fridays posting almost half the album. Anyway, this is a great album. Fantastically produced, and the lyrics are on par with what he did in his first two albums. Just plain good music.
  7. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  8. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    Is he the best rapper alive? Maybe. Is he the best producer right now? You bet. (sorry Dre, you gotta put out more stuff) But the question is... Is he really and truly the voice of this generation? Well.... no.
    Kanye is somewhat outlandish to be a representative of a generation. Sure, he spits some truth but musically he is on a different level. He is on level infinity (aka the Kanye
    level). But the fact that he isn't a voice of a generation does not diminish the significance of his role in pop music today. He is the freshest, most innovative, and most daring of all pop stars. And MBDTF is yet another testament to his genius.

    While it does seem like a culmination of his first four albums in terms of sound, lyrically it is a pumped up Kanye taking on various victims like the government, South Park, and SNL. But MBDTF also features the more vulnerable side of Kanye while also promoting the man through brilliant braggadocio. The thumping POWER features Kanye spitting "I guess every superhero needs his theme music" at the same time saying "No one man should have all that power" as if he is aware of both sides to the argument.

    The production is Kanye at his killer best. A song that could be another multiple guest bloated collabo turns out to be a truly majestic track (All Of the Lights) that retains ambition while also feeling fit without any corny elements. There is the buzzy Hell Of A Life featuring Kanye proudly saying, "I think I just fell in love with a porn star". But the real apex of Kanye's career is Runaway. It is a simple piano plinkering beat accompanied by bass and later some violins, all supporting a chorus that gives toast to the **** douchebags, scumbags, and jerk-offs in the world. The song gets even weirder when an auto-tuned Kanye sings unintelligible lines as the song's coda. Yet it all magically works.

    If you are one of those Kanye fans who simply loved College Dropout so much that they could not feel the same for his other albums, then you are not a Kanye fan and chances are you won't appreciate this album like the crackheads at Dot Music and Guardian (though the website surprisingly also gave a 80 to this same album). MBDTF is definitely the album of the year (even if it didn't make it into 2010 Grammy season). It's a dark fantasy. It's a twisted fantasy. It's a beautiful fantasy. But best of all, it's Kanye's beautiful dark twisted fantasy.
    Expand
  9. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    One of the best albums of all time. Of all time!

    Seriously though. Can't believe how good he is. His 4th masterpiece. The beat on 'All of the Lights' is insane.
  10. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    Kanye returns with a very strong actual rap album. This is the album that has stirred inside his head for 20 years. Despite the fame, money, and women, he truly is a psychologically troubled individual who straddles the line between unbridled ego and unbearable agony. He is a black William Burroughs - the "American Rapper."
  11. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    This album is dope- Sooooo good. Lush with sound. Beats that shake your chest. Turns of verse that make you laugh and shed a tear at the same time. It's all here if you like like the enormous sound to go along with the enormous ego/star power Kanye possesses. He's the next MJ- don't deny it haters. Yeah I'm talking to you clowns that scored this album a zero just because you don't like Kanye and/or his type of music. Then why are you going out of your way to push your negativity on people? Silly hatin' clowns. Expand
  12. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kanye has been changing his sound with every album but this time its the biggest and best change to date, Every song is a lot different from the last and with guest spots from Jigga, Kid Cudi and Bon Iver it is truly his best piece of work yet Expand
  13. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    I can't believe this.This is the definition of music.This isn't just an awesome hip hop artist that can flow like no other,this is the best music I have ever heard in my life!I can see why it's one of the best rated albums ever.It's mind blowing,artistic,deep,intelligent,just The best hip hop album ever created and probably the best one that will ever be made unless he makes a better album which he probably will.Forget how eminem can flow some artists have great dance music,Kanye west has it all and he is the best lyrical genius ever.Most rap artists are just good on the surface but Kanye West has a deep lyrical nature to him that can't be touched by anyone.10, 10 ,10.If there was an 11 rating he would deserve it for this album! Expand
  14. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the best album in 2010, (for a little better than Eminem's Recovery). All of the songs are just great. I was expecting this for a long time, and I couldn't imagine so good album. everything less than 10 would be stupid.
  15. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    Kanye shows the deepest side of him in My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. He tried to exploit it on 808's And Heartbreak, but really succeeded on his fifth album. I personally bought the Deluxe edition with the Runaway movie, and I have to admit that I had to listen to the movie to really love My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. I'll say that the movie and the album really complete this masterpiece. The original art-cover is simply amazing, but sadly banished. For a radio success, I really can't find a single song that could be a success on Billboard's Hot 100, and that's perfect for people like me who prefers albums to singles. As a whole artistic entity, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is awesome, not as much to my eyes than 808's and Heartbreak (even if 808's And Heartbreak sounded more for the radio). The use of auto-tune is clearly reduced on this new opus. I recommend this album to any Kanye fan, any quality rap fan (this means no 50 Cents fans). Good job Mr. West, keep up the good work. Expand
  16. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Kanye West's best album. His flow, lyrics, the beats, samples - all top notch. Every song is memorable. This album proves that Kanye's not just a rapper or a producer, but an artist. MBDTF is art. Anyone who calls him untalented, even before this album, but certainly now, is straight up WRONG.
  17. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    If there was ever a definition of a "modern day classic" this would be it. If you don't own this album then you must buy it now. Kanye West bares his soul in an album so bold it will never get old. I come from a guitar based background but this album is extraordinary.
  18. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This is a GREAT album. A sure contender for the album of 2010. People that are hating on the album are basically complaining because of some of the words he says. Lets be serious now, if you are a fan of rap music then this is nothing and if you don't like it then you can go and pick up the clean version and then listen to it and you can appreciate the ammount of effort that he puts into every song. Add GOOD Fridays and that just adds up to the appreciation of effort.
    I don't care what anybody says because All Of The Lights owns all. It has to be played with the interlude. Its just not the same otherwise!
    Expand
  19. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    Well, Kanye came back pretty strong. This album is a huge step up from 808s & Heartbreak, but he still maintains a good sense of experimentation with his music. Whether it be him dabbling in an outside genre or even features like Bon Ivers or sampling world music tunes, that essence of Kanye looks like it isnt going anywhere. He remains to be lyrically solid and growing, despite whomever may despise his "arrogant" personality. He isn't lyrically clever just for cheap entertainment, he's also got something behind most of those punches, none of which he pulls for most of the album. What weakened this album were merely the performance of some of Kanye's cameos. Its ok to have features, but not if they are going to water down your performance. Overall, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy will prove to be one of the biggest new albums of this time, completely shunning the hopes those that (after the Taylor Swift incident) wished "he [Kanye] never sold another record ever again" Expand
  20. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    I wrote my initial review the day this album came out... i did not give it enough time to sink in... now that i have listened to the entire album 20 or more times i can comfortably say this... This is one of the best rap albums to ever come out and one of the best albums ever in popular culture. Kanye from beginning to finish delivers song after song of unique, deep and emotion. The beats are unique and rivaled by few, The direction of the songs themselves, filled with tangents of audio awe and the crisp, clean, and much of the time dirty lyrics make this album a sensation. We have never seen this side of Kanye West before. Sure in the past he has slowed down and made heartfelt and emotional songs but never like this. Because this album is focused on one thing, not his dead mother (rip) not his love that left him and not about child slaves who harvest diamonds. This album is 68 minutes and 42 seconds spent on Kayne, specifically his Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasies of his mind. What is in the mind of this self absorbed notoriously inconsiderate a**hole of a man? Well it is in the title. A Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Expand
  21. Dec 10, 2010
    9
    I'm not the biggest Kanye West fan but this album is the best thing I've heard in ages. It's very complex and creative with the lyrics and the music and it kept me fully engrossed from start to finish on a long train journey. Sometimes artists are just on fire and ooze creativity and for some reason this has happened to Kanye West when he made this album. There are no club bangers or breakfast radio tunes on here, its deeper than that and I commend him for not taking the lazy route. Expand
  22. May 5, 2013
    10
    It's hard to know where to start talking about a record like this in all honesty. Never before have I heard an album that combines so much ambition, creativity, genius, hubris and darkness with so much skill, restraint and care to prevent it from collapsing under its own weight. Albums like this should implode, become disasters, and exist as nothing but unfinished, shelved projects that live among public myths as rubble, wreckage and hopes of what might have been. But this is Kanye West, and this is My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.

    Kanye never loses control of the ambition, or the creation or the experimentation. He creates a level all of his own in this respect despite having so many guest producers, collaborators, range of song styles and song writers. To putt it simply, Kanye’s ability to be so incredibly introspective and self-aware keeps his 2010 release interesting right up until the last note. In this case, Kanye is the man stood on the side of the street juggling knives, bowling balls and pieces of fruit while others stand and wait for him to drop everything. But his character, ego and personality shine through and manifest themselves through sampling artistry, a grasp of a range of atmosphere that hasn't been mirrored since its 2010 release and an effective ear for pop and hip-hop's most positive traits.

    Thanks, Kanye. I'll let you finish.
    Expand
  23. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    One of the best albums of the year and a modern classic in this decade. Kanye has officially become the king of rap as his hero MJ became the king of pop. Amazing.
  24. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This is an album that deserves the acclaim it is getting through the press. It has some pretty awesome transitions between tracks and some pretty cutting edge stuff for a "mainstream" rap album. I actually think a lot of "mainstream" fans are going to resist this album, and for that, and the risk-taking that Kanye is taking, I give this CD a 10.
  25. Dec 5, 2010
    9
    Even though I hate Kanye as a person and dislike rap in general, I can't give this album any worse a score just because it's such interesting, well-made and compelling music. Contrasting the most breathtaking highs with the most crushing lows, exploring the limits of his mind and soul, with My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Kanye shows how powerful and thoughtful music can be - and it's very difficult to not love him for it. Expand
  26. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    I generally have no feelings towards Kanye (and don't own any of his music), I usually listen to Radiohead as my staple music listening diet. This CD so far is AWESOME... it actually has interesting things to say and is decent to listen to.. I think this music really is inspiring and perfect for so many different moods.. I think i've heard about 80% of it on the radio and youtube. Going to buy it tomorrow. The Bon Iver track is GOLD! Bon Iver rocks. Glad it's not just ripping it up and he actually dragged the guy in to lay down some vocals. Expand
  27. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Imma let you finish, but this is an awesome album. Every track is boldly produced and perfectly. And it has a certain flame within each song.
  28. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    Probably Kanye's best album since The College Dropout. Superb production quality, varying and eclectic styles of music mixed with self loathing, searching for the answer lyrical themes. In this album, he is more regretful but realistic about his egomaniac attitude. He doesn't really celebrate his ego but rather saying that this is how he works but is trying hard to understand why. Kudos to West, RZA and others for putting together a collection of near flawlessly produced songs and I commend this album for being a completely different hip-hop album itself. Expand
  29. May 24, 2011
    9
    Whilst some of it (power and gorgeous) becomes completely disengaging the other songs like all of the lights, lost in the world and dark fantasy create one of the best dark albums in years.
  30. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Kanye West My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the best hip hop album in years. It is the best so far this new decade of the 10's. My opinion of Kanye is he is the most talented rapper alive. This album sh***** on the haters. Kanye crafted a masterpiece and it needs to be bought this holiday season!!! From the RZA crafted Dark Fantasy to the mind blowing Lost In The World, this album is pure fire, chaos, love and redemption. A beautiful dark twisted fantasy Kanye, you did hip hop proud!!! Expand
  31. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It took me a while to truly appreciate this album but it was well worth my money. This album's got great producing and the guests in this album are top notch. Power is the bomb!! So are the rest of the album but to me, the best song here is gotta be Lost In the World. The way he fuses the beats, the raps and the Auto-Tune (not to mention the number of guest artist) in this song is phenomenal. If I were to relate this album with a movie, it would be Inception. I'mma let you finish but My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the best album of 2010! Expand
  32. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    All great artists need inspiration. And there isn't much stronger inspiration like becoming a social pariah and consistently being deemed a problem, even if your intentions are good. The positive side of such drama is it makes for fuel to an artist's fire. Being one of the most talented hip-hop icons of the last decade, Kanye allowed that fuel to generate an inferno in his new CD, My Beautiful, Dark, Twisted Fantasy. Unlike 808s and Heartbreaks where his inspiration was more of a personal loss, Kanye's new inspiration is anger, hurt, embarrassment and redemption, if not socially, then at least personally. The production is grand, just like Kanye's ego, but also representative of the message he wants to send. Anyone who is in tune with Kanye's work could always separate his public **** from his artistic genius. It's impossible to be able hate this work without allowing personal feelings about Kanye or hip-hop to make its way into your criticism. Empirically, hip-hop very rarely gets this good. Kanye has done the best job anyone could ever hope to do when conveying intense feelings via their chosen artistic conduit. Lyrically, of course there are elements of the hip-hop culture that those who are not fans of choose to point to and hate, such as cursing and the dreaded N word. This is unique music, though. From the sampling, layers of music, themes, singing and, yes, rapping, Kanye has the right ingredients to cook the tastiest stew. Expand
  33. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    WOW, MASTERPIECE, that's the only accurate way of defining this album, it is sick twisted and on that next level, Kanye West is a mad genius, who leads us into the realm of this inner most thoughts on an album, and has an album that you can simply enjoy, if you have 12$ you want to spend on music, spend it on this album!
  34. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Holy **** And I mean holy **** Every track from Dark Fantasy to Who Will Survive In America is **** genius. Especially the song Runaway. Holy **** **** I think I shat my pants around the 5 minute part and then almost came when the song was over. This album sure is dark, twisted but unbelievably beautiful. LISTEN
  35. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Only time will tell if this surpasses The College Dropout as Kanye's best album. Taken in total with the G.O.O.D. Fridays 'Ye has been releasing since August, Fall 2010 has proven that Mr. West is undoubtably one of the most ambitious and talented artists of our time. If only his personality would match the strength of his records... 10/10.
  36. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This may well be one of hip-hop's greatest triumphs. With the gifted Kanye West, who remains one of the most of the 21st century, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy begins with "Dark Fantasy", with a narration & introduction by Nicki Minaj. The album is very creative & diverse, with strings as interludes & powerful speeches. Not to mention the Auto-Tune breakdown in the full-length nine-minute-epic "Runaway". Now that's how you use Auto-Tune. The album goes from old-school rap to soaring ballads with tribal drums & sing-along choruses. This sounds nothing like any other music out today. This is the Graceland of 2010. Expand
  37. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great album, close to perfection. Every song is a masterpiece and a milestone in hip hop music. nas wasnt right mourning -hip hop is dead-, kanye flipped over the genre. Expand
  38. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    Great songs, I enjoy nearly every single one and have four special ones already. This album is different in a way, feeling even more creative, out there and original. I'm not a huge Kanye supporter but I did want to check out this album, the lyrics are great and strike straight to their points while flowing incredibly well. the beats on quite a few of the songs are heavy and intense, great stuff. Expand
  39. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    Yup, K did it again. Another superb record full of original, stand-out numbers. Say what you want about his character, but he seems to be growing and growing as a musician, which is nice to see as most start off good and then get worse and worse. Also good to seem him return toi rap after after his last album, which although good, wasn't what I wanted to hear from him personally.
  40. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    I'm still kind of new to Metacritic so if you've noticed some of my other reviews, it appears that I like to hand out great reviews. Eventually I will get around to trashing some stuff, but not before I uplift this album as the best album of 2010. This is such a great album that I wish I could afford to buy 10 copies of it. I've always thought Kanye has made great albums in my opinion, but this has to be his best one yet. He definitely sets the bar for the next decade of music. If you ignore this because of the Taylor Swift/VMA incident, then you are stupid and it will be your loss. This is the work of a true artist. Expand
  41. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Kanye West is officially back. One of his best pieces of work ever. No one is currently in his league. The album is well crafted and it is ART. Art, like only Kanye can do it. The production is superb and on point. The masterpiece, classic and Kanye's Thriller!!!! Well done!
  42. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    Many people that reviewed this album seemed to have bias opinions when honestly this album was amazing. there's a reason why critics gave it such good reviews. THE SOUND!! putting the lyrics aside as they were good, but nothing to special. the sound and production of this album was perfect. he absolutely perfected the production, and the sampling was awesome. Pretty much every song had an amazing hook and chorus that draws the listener in to listen to more. The album also had some elements of his last album "808's and Heartbreak" which i thought was awesome. The lyrics were really good too, but the production is what sent this album to amazing status. easily the best album of that year. Kanye once again did not disappoint. He may have a huge ego, but he makes up for it with his musical talent. Can't wait to hear more from him. Expand
  43. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    This is an excellent album. I would hesitate to call this Kanye's best album, but I do believe it is the realization of all his talents and many persona's. The album begins and ends brilliantly. Many of the songs on this album were released on his website far before the release and this has in a weird way made me skip the middle portion. "Gorgeous" is one of my favorites and features Kanye at his rapping best alongside Kid Cudi who has a knack for hooks and working well with West. Who is doing this better right now? Nobody comes close and Kanye knows it. Expand
  44. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This album is unadulterated perfection. I thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish. This is definitely his best album, and it may be the best album of the year, it's just that good. After the VMA incident, he really buckled down to create a masterpiece, it was damaging to his reputation, but it was the best thing that could have happened to improve his art. He produced a true testament to his skill and creativity. This is one of the first albums that I can listen to from the first track to the last track multiple times in a row. If this album doesn't debut #1 on Billboard 200, that would be a real tragedy, because this album trumps Taylor Swift's and Rihanna's latest offerings convincingly. Expand
  45. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This is probably the best album Kanye West has ever put out. Rather than trying to put out another crappy, Autotune infested album like 808s and Heartbreak, he uses classical instrumental and & covers and creates tracks that turns this album into a superb work of art.
    This album is also one of the most hilarious he's ever done. In some tracks, particularly Runaway, Kanye West starts
    dissing himself, toasting to "douche bags, **** scumbags, and jerk-offs". Even in the Bonus track, See Me Now, he mocks his VMA's interrupting of Taylor Swift, even featuring Beyonce.
    All in all, this is probably the best album of the year.
    Expand
  46. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Mr. West has proved himself to be a great musician since the beginning. But my his latest installment will have fans anticipating if he has anything more genius-like up his sleeve. The lyrics on each song are intelligent, but it's also the beats that hold the songs together. 'Runaway" is my favorite off this album. This is just amazing perfection.
  47. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This is album is simply on fire...Kanye has reinvented the whole hip-hop/rap scene with this record. He takes on different styles of production, and raps on a whole different level and topic. Also people please stop hating artists do change so don't hate because of it.
  48. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This is beyond Hip Hop, this is something more. Kanye West just raised the bar for an entire genre and proved he has a magnificent capacity and knowledge of crafting music that has been unseen by anyone who calls themselves a rapper. I feel sorry for anyone who had a rap album this year, because everything, absolutely everything pales in comparison to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.
  49. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    this album is arguably the best album of all-time. no doubt that it is his best yet. its written well as a lyricist and a songwriter and maniacally produced. its the most weird and beautiful music I've ever heard. I wish the album had more songs to amaze us. and one more thing...Christian Dior Denim Flow should have made the album!...
  50. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Let me start by saying, there is not a single weak track on the album, and despite all guest appearances, Kanye is the maestro. The "best" tracks would be the soulful and grand orchestral opening of "Dark Fantasy" leading to the RZA's classic beast that creeps into your head... "Power" just has an epic feel, epic soul/rock-infused beat, and never had a redundant chorus sounded so brilliant... The interlude is instrumentally genius and the song itself: "All of the Lights" is a fusion of arena rock and hip-hop, with ridiculously layered vocals may just be the high point for the album... "Hell of a life" has the hardest beat on the album along with RZA's stint on "Dark Fantasy", a tribute to Black Sabbath's "Ironman" I think, and the auto-tune is used perfectly on the chorus with this crescendo at the end of the chorus that completely stone-worthy... "Lost In The World" is a very appropriate ending, and GSH's "Comment #1" is so Kanye-like, yet thought-provoking. And the best track on the album is not actually on the album. "See Me Now" is the best Kanye track on this album, because it ends on a high note, the soulful beat and vocals by Beyonce and Charlie are excellent, and the lyrically this is his best song ever. His productions throughout is quality, he put sonic from Grad, techno-electro from 808, and the soul from the debut and sophomore albums. He adds exceptional style and deep thought his materialism, something he did before, but not often enough. One of the best introspective albums ever created.
    AND FINALLY KANYE MAKES AND ALBUM WITH SOME RELEVANT AND GRAND INTERLUDES AND SKITS.

    One of the best (2nd best) produced hip-hop album EVER.
    Expand
  51. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This album is so much different then Kanye's previous albums. His lyrics an punch lines sound more edgier and have more raw flow. Kanye is a genius and brings creativity to the for front with this album. The only downfall is that its only 13 songs long, it keeps me wanting more
  52. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    What a great Album. Comes from Kanye's heart. This album is to everyone who has questioned Kanye West's artistic abilities. Very deep, and a new approach to hip-hop.

    Is this album going to change Hip Hop for good?
  53. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Easily the best realization of all of Kanye's talents. He has improved greatly as an emcee. The music is extremely ambitious, and he still hasn't compromised what drew so many people towards his music in the first place -- his honesty. This is a tremendous piece of art (probably his best overall album), that truly secures Kanye West's place as an American icon and one of the greatest musicians of the 21st century. Expand
  54. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This album brought us fans exactly what we have come to expect from Kanye, a complete departure from his previous sound. Luckily for us this new zone Kanye is in consists of some of the richest production hip hop has seen, the great lyricism, and well placed features that don't outshine Kanye. And to anyone complaining about number of tracks on the album, G.O.O.D Fridays!
  55. 7UP
    Nov 22, 2010
    10
    It's been a while since I've heard music this good. Took me quite a few hours to listen to the whole thing because I kept replaying the tracks. I love it! Each and every song. Lost In The World is a really cool way to end the album with the spoken word.
  56. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This album is exceptional. It is undoubtedly a classic that will appeal to those who like all genres of music, not just hip hop. Those giving this album negative reviews are clearly just concerned with the media's perception of Kanye rather than his exceptional musical talent and creativity.
  57. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This album is the best of the year. The music is more polished, yet raw. The guests are varied and at their best. The message is complicated and rewarding. And overall, Kanye's verses are on the top, looking down on everyone else. I would hate him if he wasn't right, he is the best.
  58. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Kanye is niet altijd leuk om naar te luisteren, omdat hij altijd zegt wat hij vindt en niet wat er van hem wordt verwacht. Maar de zojuist genoemde eigenschap zorgt er voor dat dit misschien wel zijn beste album tot nu toe is. Na het incident op de VMA's vorig jaar heeft hij zich afgesloten van de wereld en de keuze gemaakt zich te richten op het enige wat nog niet van hem is afgenomen. Muziek.

    Op Hawaï heeft hij samen met een hechte groep vrienden, zangers en producers een album gemaakt dat weer echt rap en hiphop moest worden. Daarbij heeft die de ervaring van 808's and heartbreak niet naast zich neer gelegd maar gebruikt om een unieke sfeer met melodiën en beats te creëeren. Maar rap is het zeker geworden. Van "Power", met de bombastische beat waarmee hij zijn rentree maakte tot "Dark Fantasy", de pure hiphop beats van "Monster", "So Appalled" en "Hell of a Life", Kanye is weer terug met scherpe teksten en zelfreflectie. Dat laatste komt het beste naar boven in "Runaway" en "Blame Game" waarin de meest gevoelige onderwerpen zitten. De verschillende stijlen op dit album liggen zo ver uit elkaar en toch passen ze heel goed bij elkaar. Net zoals "All of the lights", waar maar liefst 11 artiesten op mee doen. Ondanks dit grote aantal zorgt Kanye er voor dat het allemaal vloeiend in elkaar over gaat en nooit het gevoel geeft dat het "te druk" is. Het is samen met "Los in the World" (1 van de beste album afsluiters ooit) de 2 twee nummers die een episch stadion gevoel met zich meebrengen. Het werd als Kanye fan de laatste tijd steeds moeilijker om uit te leggen waarom, waarom blijven geloven in een persoon die altijd alles eruit gooit wanneer hem iets niet zint. Fans vergeven hun artiest de fouten die ze maken buiten de muziek om en beoordelen hem/haar door middel van de muziek die ze uit brengen. Michael Jackson en Amy Winehouse hebben ook zo hun fouten en moeilijke tijden doorgemaakt maar de muziek die door hun is gemaakt blijft fantastisch.

    Met dit album laat Kanye West zien dat hij de lat voor zichzelf zo hoog legt dat elk nummer weer iets nieuws brengt van ongekende klasse. Koop dit album, volume op 10 en ga mee in Kanye's Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.
    Expand
  59. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    haha its funny how Ye Haters are writing the same thing about being a former fan and not liking it now. If you do not like this album you are either not a fan of music or you are not a fan of music. Period!! this is music for the soul, for the club, for the heartbroken, for the arrogant, this is music for LIFE I was skeptical before because I did not really like 808s but I have to admit Yeezy did G.O.OD Expand
  60. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Wow. I've never been into rap, nor do I think I ever will be, but this album is an absolute masterpiece and is one for the ages. Deserves to be in the hall of fame of greatest albums of all time right next to kid a, funeral, abbey road, dark side of the moon etc.
  61. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Wauw. That is the first word that comes to mind, when I listen to this album. Before this album (and the tracks released in the period before the release) I wasn't exactly a fan of Kanye West. I despised 808s & Heartbreak.
    However, this album... Wauw. Brilliant all the way through.
    I knew something good was going to happen, when Kanye West released "Lord Lord Lord", but this is
    absolutely mind-blowing...
    Excellent production, amazing texts, wonderful cast of featured artists... and just the definition of music as an art. Definitely the album of 2010, and maybe even one of the best ever. It's definitely up there with the all time greats. A must have for everyone who enjoys music.
    Expand
  62. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    I haven't been a Kanye Fan since his first album; but album has revitalized my interest in him. This album is almost a masterpiece; the only track I somewhat dislike is All the Lights ( I find Rihanna's Voice Annoying....but the track as a whole isn't that bad). 9.5/10 ... so I round up
  63. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This album appropriates, encompasses, surpasses and even undermines the very notion of popular music. Fantasy reflects the deepest shortcomings of its author while also focusing an analytical lens on society as a whole to challenge the listener to find the same weaknesses in him/herself and his/her community. This album has some of the finest production ever conceived, brilliant guest appearances and some of the most interesting/challenging sampling possible.

    In sum: Absolutely worthy of the coming canonization.
    Expand
  64. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Without doubt one of the greatest albums of all time. An absolute must buy for any music fan! Oh and all of the people on hear who are giving it 0, are clearly just trolling.
  65. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Too many rap albums fall into the same trap: too many tracks, too few good ones, lack of variation and originality. This album not only avoids these pitfalls, but hurdles, nay, flies over them. At a cool 13 tracks (one of them being an interlude) that hover around an ambitious five-minute song length, the album is kept concise. Oh, yeah, and every single one of these tracks is pure frigginâ
  66. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    THIS IS AN INCREDIBLE ALBUM POSSIBLY THE GREATEST HIP HOP ALBUM OF ALL TIME. KANYE HAS DEFINITELY EVOLVED AS FAR AS PRODUCTION I RECOMMEND THIS TO ANY FAN OF MUSIC IN GENERAL AND IF YOU'RE ONE OF THE PEOPLE THAT CREATES MULTIPLE ACCOUNTS ON METACRITIC TO BASH THIS ALBUM THEN **** YOU
  67. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    A modern classic, I really think in years to come people will look back on this album as one of the best ever made. Anyone who gives this a bad rating, clearly dont have the first clue about anything when it comes to music. I feel privileged to be alive at the time of this album being released. Kanye West is an absolute genius and a living legend!
  68. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    As a serious Kanye fan, who has all albums and tapes, I can truly say that this album brings out what Kanye does best. Not only do Kanye's lyrics transcend his greatness as an artist, but the beats are unreal. Well worthy of a 10/10.
  69. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Unbelievably catchy and awesome at the same time. Lyrics are awesome, I love that he recognizes his douchebaggery, yet still tells us how awesome he is. Monster and POWER are the two best songs by far.
  70. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    this album has everything, it is honestly just a masterpiece. To say this album sucks because of Kanye's personality is utterly stupid. You're not judging the music, but the person. I call this album a masterpiece because of the collaborations, the deliveries, and also how it was put together. When you listen to this album you just hear how amazing it is, and how much effort it took to put together. Every beat is amazing. Thank god this album came out because I'm tired of hearing the stuff on the radio where it's just the same beat and crap. Kanye is back, and better than ever Expand
  71. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This has the perfect critic rating , still some people here find a way to give it a 0 ! Try and be a smart hater next time !
    I guess the best way to review this album is by telling you the only way you gonna understand its greatness is by listenning to it no matter what type of music youre accustomed to.It goes beyond any genre or stereotype.Its pure artistry.
    This album is a perfect
    combination of his 4 previous LPs :
    -Soul of College dropout
    -Hip-hop and Instrumentalism of Late Registration
    -Futurism of Graduation
    -Melodies of 808's
    Its not rewieable but i still give it a big 10 ! Thank you very much Mr West
    Expand
  72. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    His 5th album blends pop and rap even better than his past attempts. These are some of the best verses we've seen from Kanye. The instrumentation is so futuristic it's hard to call this the best album of the year. It feels as universal as any all-time classic.
  73. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    I approached the album with a great deal of skepticism, but give it a chance. I did, and what can I say the album itself is full of win both lyrically and melodically.
  74. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    I'm gonna let you finish but kanye west just came out with one of the best rap albums of all time. Look I love the fact that their are people on here still dissing Kanye as a Person. (what a joke) Look at Kanye as a musician. The man is a genius, and he just proved his talent AGAIN with this album.
  75. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    Excerpt from http://green--typewriters.blogspot.com/ .........................................................I personally relate the excellence of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy to the fact that this album could, and probably should, have been awful. There was so much pressure stacked against this album and it is jaw dropping that this is what was produced out of all that hate. Kanye is the epitomist of pop culture and the most self-righteous voice that it has created in a while. He reinsures this fact by producing his best piece of work that is not confined by traditional pop culture models placed on mainstream music. He wonderfully attacks and withholds the glorified level that he is, in all rights, living on. Kanye contextualizes his life into a lived fantasy and he accepts that this life is obviously not defined as normal. More importantly, he is self-aware enough to view it from an outside source, thus purposely naming it his Fantasy. It is his masterpiece as far as we're concerned. It is beautiful. It is utterly personal.. sometimes tragic.. but refreshingly honest. Expand
  76. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    I signed up to Metacritic purely to point out the following pattern in the negative reviews of Kanye West's brilliant masterpiece, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.

    At this writing, five of the six "1" and "0" scores that were accompanied by written reviews were written by first time reviewers; they have not entered another review on Metacritic, calling their credibility into question.
    And the one reviewer who wrote more than one review, "Drag," is a fan of -- surprise, surprise -- Taylor Swift's album, as evidenced by the "9" score given to her album, Speak Now.

    Draw your own conclusions and, for the sincere users among you, enjoy listening to the most inventive, creative and downright entertaining album of the year. I know I did.
    Expand
  77. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Whether you love him or hate him, there is no denying that Kanye is a musical genius. If you don't agree, then you have not listened to this album yet, or been keeping up with his G.O.O.D. Fridays' free track releases over the last 3 months. 2010 has been the year of Kanye, and this final album release not only meets all high expectations, but surpasses them. This is quite simply, the best album Kanye has released to this date in his career. And there is no denying the simple fact, that this is clearly the album of the year. Expand
  78. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    I think there's enough reviews out there to cover my thoughts.

    All I'm going to say is this album is just a masterpiece in all sense of the word...

    The album itself is a extension of who he is....its too long....too many guest stars...w/e it is....there is a reason for it...

    Hes always been a over the top guy...it only makes sense songs run long and the guest list is filled.

    Brilliant album.
  79. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    The mixing and production are great. It's what he cut his teeth doing. The guest list is star-studded and generally does not disappoint, but all rap guests far outshine Kanye when they're at the mic (save for Jay-Z's lazy verse in "Monster"). Kanye's delivery is generally flat and saps the power of lyrics when he does have his moments (see "Blame Game"). When he doesn't have his lyrical moments, he's doing the standard disses, recitation of haute-couture brands and freeze-frames of lady trouble. The samples are great and so are the aforementioned extra hands, but they really can't prop this album up much. I almost feel like people are desperate to make a pop star a new godhead in the wake of Michael Jackson's death. So Kanye has willingly donned that mantle with this album. Even Christgau has said as much before. I think this is part of a disturbing trend; as long as stars demonstrate that they have a modicum of self-awareness we give them free passes in criticism. The fact that the reviews focus so much more on the man than the music demonstrates a willing commitment to this attitude. If anyone else made the exact same album, it would have been as passed-by as N.A.S.A.'s album. Expand
  80. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    His best album!! loving it. Album of the year in my opinion. Truly amazing. I just might listen to hip hop some more. I though i would quit listening to rap music.
  81. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is an instant classic, for the second i put my headphones on and started to listen to the 1st track on the album, i was assured that this album will be Kanyes best album to date.
    The guy is a genius, a living legend. And he was able to accept the events that happened at the VMAs and the backlash he had after it, and put out one of the best albums OF ALL
    TIME.....OF ALL TIME! Expand
  82. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Few artists could get away with this level of genre-bending, norm-shattering composition and hip-hop artistry. West does it completely, convincing audiences to listen closely to his stories and their deep atmospheres. If you are looking for any other Kanye album to compare, you're mistaken. This is a reborn rapper, and with him comes a new era of Kanye-ness. He's smooth-talking, nasty, and the flows comes much more naturally on this album. He's stopped thinking so much about his listeners, and the result is raw, good raw. Forget cutesy, this album is mean; the kind of beats that make you grimace they're so hard. True hip hop fans finally get something to chew on here, and while I don't know where it stands in the holy 10 of hip hop classics, I can truly say that it is the best hip hop album of this year and perhaps the past 5. It's ambitious, deliberate, and complete. November 22nd is Kanye Day forever. Expand
  83. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Since his debut album, Kanye West has strived to bring the soul and music side back to the forefront of mainstream hip-hop, and with every release Mr. West has claimed that he's going to evolve the music by himself whether the genre likes it or not.The real brilliance of this album comes from how well it truly improves upon his previous work. With every album that has come out his celebrity has encompased his artistry a little more and a little more. The boiling point being 808's where the artist finally had enough and created what could've been career suicide had any other hip-hop artist tried it. With this album the artist and the celebrity have come to a beautiful compromise. The celebrity is more self-consious and critical of himself and the world around him (the "Kanye-isms" are humbled), and the artist is more determined and inspired (The production challenges all pop music to be better than it is in epic fashion). Colledge Dropout USED to be his most honest album. Late Registration USED to be his most well rounded. Graduation USED to be his most celebratorial. 808's USED to be his most vulnerable. They all play like peices to a puzzle now. Fantasy compliments the strength of the previous albums so well, and mixes what he's learned from each album so well, that it could act as a direct follow up to any one of them. The guests and samples he brings in show Kanye's reach knows no boundaries. This album plays like an art showing of a tormented artist and as you walk through the gallery you run into the likes of Bon Iver, Kid Cudi, King Crimson, Nicki Minaj, Elton John, Rick Ross, Chris Rock, Smokey Robinson, Rhianna, and the Backyard Heavies. With this album Kanye has grown beyond just a hip-hop artist he's officially achieved the legend status he's been bragging about for the past 4 albums. Simply put, the music invades your mind. When I finally took the CD out of my laptop, the album had already played through 5 times. Expand
  84. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    An absolutely triumphant album. In many ways, this is his Exile On Main Street. These are albums where everything musically, from the artists past, comes together in a darker, louder, more decadent sound. Add in the fact that like EoTM, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy contains lyrics of regret, excess, ego, drugs, religion and hints at psychological despair. And simply put they both rock. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, while probably not the better record, is definitely more personal than EoMS though. Furthermore, when has any rapper, of Kanye's magnitude, been as personal as this on record; putting everything out there on the line for both his many fans and critics to observe? It's a special record, one that will be enjoyed more and more upon repeated listens. The best album of the year, and an immediate early candidate for album of the decade. Expand
  85. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    An instant classic. Kanye has always delivered very solid albums, (excluding 808's and heartbreaks, IMO), but My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy takes genius to the next level. Every track is unique and stays fresh for what seems like thousands of listens. The featured artists are numerous and among the most talented in hip-hop. For a while, it seemed like Kanye's career was in a slow descent, but MBDTF along with his spectacular "G.O.O.D Friday" releases will no doubt rejuvenate and reinstate Yeezy as a king of the music industry. Favorite tracks: "Monster", "Dark Fantasy", "Hell of a life", "Gorgeous", "Blame Game". Expand
  86. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This album has to be the greatest thing I've ever listened to. Every song contains a different story just waiting to be read. Kanye put a lot of work into this album and it shows. It's pretty sad how some people have been reviewing this album based on their personal feelings about Kanye, or about the Taylor Swift incident. If you actually listen to the album you can see the true genius that Mr. West is. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy will be album of the year. Expand
  87. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Kanye West doesn't fail. He hasn't yet and he probably never will. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy shows a different kinda Kanye. No sane man could've written this album. It's flawless to the teeth. Each track is a hip hop masterpiece. The lyrics are raw, the production is exquisite, this album is a landmark in music history. All In All, Twisted Fantasy is flawless in every aspect. A
  88. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Haters gon' hate. I think the ratio of negative to positive user reviews tells the whole story. This album is amazing and it isn't cool that people are attempting to maliciously bring down the average score. Metacritic should review scores of 0 for validity.
  89. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    Kanye's best album to date by far. Im pretty sure that MBDTF is gonna be nominated to album of the year on Grammys of 2012. However, i think that it didn't had to reach #1 on Billboard 200. Nicki deserve that #1. Whatever. Great album.
  90. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    I love this album. Kanye West once again showed us that he's one of the best musicians in music right now. MBDTF has many highlights: Dark fantasy, Blame game, Lost in the world, Runaway, All of the lights etc. I enjoyed the album. It's Kanye's heart served on a plate.
  91. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Beautiful. Dark. Twisted.....and an Amazing Reality. Not many albums like this one come across in one's lifetime. A superb blend of genres along with the deeply personal lyrical content delivered bi-polarly from start to finish. This is the most definitive progressive rap album to hit the mainstream pop world. Kanye continually redefines the rules of the rap/pop genre while making a classic that ranks up there with Illmatic and 36 Chambers. Kanye's ability to express the travels and emotions that have occurred through his Hell Of A Life(the highlight of the album for me) is the reason that combined with extravagant yet sublime production ....that this is one Hell Of An Album. Expand
  92. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Everybody's favorite a--hole is back and better than ever. "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" without a doubt will stand as his masterpiece. I don't want to reveal too much as this album is better to be experienced first hand. His lyricism is masterful and his beats are immaculate. Somehow he is able to carry the theme of his album so effortlessly throughout each song. The album stands alone as a work of art, rather than the usual single driven albums we are all too used to hearing. Maybe now we can see the real Kanye when he finally gets the recognition he's been craving. Even the Kanye haters will find this album hard to ignore. Expand
  93. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Likely the best album of the year, and arguably the best hip hop album since The Blueprint, if not of all time. Not only is this further proof that Kanye is one of the most creative people (not to mention the best producer) working in music today, but he's finally come into his own as an MC, which is just icing on the cake. This is his masterpiece, and only time will tell if he can top it... but at this point, I wouldn't bet against him.

    Also, to those who appear to be giving negative reviews solely based on their dislike for Kanye as a person, consider that whether or not someone is a jerk has no bearing on the quality of his or her work. And to those who appear to be giving negative reviews based solely on the frequency of bad language in the lyrics, consider that you're probably not in any position to be reviewing the quality of a hip hop album.
    Expand
  94. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Flawless. Absolutely flawless. I never thought I could gain such inspiration and feel so drained from any rap album.
    Kanye defies genre and even music in the goal of being an artist, instead of a musician, and he nails it at a level that...there are no words. The flow is incredible and the songs complement each other, feeding off and referencing to make it clear that they're a true
    album...and yet, you can still listen to them as individuals and not know that you're missing anything.
    Every single song would earn a 10/10 from me - Monster was a close call, but Minaj killed her part (of all the people...)
    There is no greater hope for our ears than this remarkable Schizoid Man. We may survive in America after all.
    Thank you, Kanye West.
    Thank you.
    Expand
  95. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    One of the most ambitious and engaging albums I have ever heard. Kanye West puts himself at the top of the game with this one, proving that he can do more than just rap about how much bling and **** he has. The way he can examine himself and has the balls to point out his douchebag ways in songs like "Blame Game" and "Runaway" is unheard of in the hip hop genre today. In addition, the production on the album is about as elegant as it gets. We, as a society, view Kanye as this outspoken, obnoxious guy and the redeeming feature of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the fact that we get an inside look into the psyche of West and ultimately, sympathize with him. Furthermore, the beats and lyrics, two main things I always look for in a hip hop album, are there 100 percent and make most all other rappers stuff look meek. Overall, the way Kanye is able to put his heart and soul into this one while not letting that hold him back from providing 13 amazing hip hop tracks that you could listen to individually and say "Wow!" is something I have never seen before and sets a new standard for the whole genre. Expand
  96. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    this is kanye west best album so far. One of the best hip hop album i ever heard in a long time. I think kanye is brilliant all songs is amazing. This is the best hip hop album of the year and top five album of the year. this is a classic album .If you are a fan of hip hop you should own this album. A true hip hop fan recognize good hip hop albums. So happy kanye came back with a classic hip hip album 808 was a good album but it wasn't a classic type of album like this one. Good job kanye west Expand
  97. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    ALBUM OF THE YEAR! this is pure "Ye" brilliance here yo! pure genius! the rhymes are pure and flowing, and funny as hell! all the hype that basically built this album really pulled through and has given us something soo amazing i would like to thank yeezy for this 10/10 album... i love it!
  98. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    When you check the user-reviews, either you find extremely high-ratings or extremely low-rating. That's the way it is with Kanye. It started with the 808's and heartbreak, either you absolutely loved it or you just really thought it was crap. That's what happened between the critics too. But in this album they're unanimously saying that it's a classic and I agree. It's just phenomenal, the production and the raps. They might be rude and seem very vulgar but hey, check the album title. It's supposed to be that way, it's just that kanye is one of the very few daring enough to speak his mind and the whole theme of the album was to explore his mind. Either you hate Kanye and therefore hate his music or you just hate him. Or you absolutely love him or hate him and love his music. What sets out kanye from the rest is the emotional reactions he gets everywhere from critics and just plain listeners. All in all, you either hate kanyes album or you love it, just like 808's and Heartbreak. I for one love them both. Just like most music lovers do.

    10/10 for it's brilliant production and possibly one of the very few classic albums of the 2000's so far.
    Expand
  99. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Welcome the new king of pop! A completely different breed from 808. Tracks such as power and lost in the world show that kanye is back in career best jesus walks territory. This really is an artist who is willing to take risks and evolve. hate him or love him but lets be honest the man is a genius.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    West is far from rap's deftest lyricist but his neurotic grandstanding is compelling and often pretty funny to boot. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    100
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is genuinely a great record. [Feb. 2011, p. 108]