My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2010
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 1748 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    this is kanye west best album so far. One of the best hip hop album i ever heard in a long time. I think kanye is brilliant all songs is amazing. This is the best hip hop album of the year and top five album of the year. this is a classic album .If you are a fan of hip hop you should own this album. A true hip hop fan recognize good hip hop albums. So happy kanye came back with a classicthis is kanye west best album so far. One of the best hip hop album i ever heard in a long time. I think kanye is brilliant all songs is amazing. This is the best hip hop album of the year and top five album of the year. this is a classic album .If you are a fan of hip hop you should own this album. A true hip hop fan recognize good hip hop albums. So happy kanye came back with a classic hip hip album 808 was a good album but it wasn't a classic type of album like this one. Good job kanye west Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    ALBUM OF THE YEAR! this is pure "Ye" brilliance here yo! pure genius! the rhymes are pure and flowing, and funny as hell! all the hype that basically built this album really pulled through and has given us something soo amazing i would like to thank yeezy for this 10/10 album... i love it!
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    When you check the user-reviews, either you find extremely high-ratings or extremely low-rating. That's the way it is with Kanye. It started with the 808's and heartbreak, either you absolutely loved it or you just really thought it was crap. That's what happened between the critics too. But in this album they're unanimously saying that it's a classic and I agree. It's just phenomenal, theWhen you check the user-reviews, either you find extremely high-ratings or extremely low-rating. That's the way it is with Kanye. It started with the 808's and heartbreak, either you absolutely loved it or you just really thought it was crap. That's what happened between the critics too. But in this album they're unanimously saying that it's a classic and I agree. It's just phenomenal, the production and the raps. They might be rude and seem very vulgar but hey, check the album title. It's supposed to be that way, it's just that kanye is one of the very few daring enough to speak his mind and the whole theme of the album was to explore his mind. Either you hate Kanye and therefore hate his music or you just hate him. Or you absolutely love him or hate him and love his music. What sets out kanye from the rest is the emotional reactions he gets everywhere from critics and just plain listeners. All in all, you either hate kanyes album or you love it, just like 808's and Heartbreak. I for one love them both. Just like most music lovers do.

    10/10 for it's brilliant production and possibly one of the very few classic albums of the 2000's so far.
    Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Welcome the new king of pop! A completely different breed from 808. Tracks such as power and lost in the world show that kanye is back in career best jesus walks territory. This really is an artist who is willing to take risks and evolve. hate him or love him but lets be honest the man is a genius.
  5. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    Really really loved this album. Kanye really steps his sampling level up a notch. I loved the sampling on this thing. Also his raps are vary tight and original. And he featured the right people, they all contributed just the right thing to the album. The only reason this album didn't get a perfect score from me is that beginning section of the song All of the lights. It just soundedReally really loved this album. Kanye really steps his sampling level up a notch. I loved the sampling on this thing. Also his raps are vary tight and original. And he featured the right people, they all contributed just the right thing to the album. The only reason this album didn't get a perfect score from me is that beginning section of the song All of the lights. It just sounded generic, but I was very happy when Kanye and Rhianna Started to rap on it. It ended up being a good song. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    why the hell include dot music's (or yahoo music) review they gave take 6that's new album 8/10 and kanye's 6/10 douchebags. speaking of douchebags, let's have a toast.
  7. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. EPIC!!!! BIZARRE!!! INSANE!!! RAW!!!

    This is, without a doubt, the crowning acheivement of this man's career.

    A towering performance of raw emotion. From the sound of his voice, you can't help but wonder if Kanye has lost his sanity. Yes, the lyrics and emotions are THIS intense.

    This is, of course, a rap album. But it certainly shattered all the boundaries of traditional hip-hop. It borders on many diverse musical styles that reminds me of The Clash's London Calling back in 1980. You'll find almost everything here: violins, cellos, guitar solos, piano solos, greek choruses, pop beats, and soul. But despite the diversity, you will find that the album is whole and consistent, because the lyrical themes are the main drive here, and as far as they go, they are universal.

    However, the review doesn't end here. I've only talked about the music, lyrics and emotion. While that seems like all to some, we mustn't forget what this album represents.

    Not since Pink Floyd's The Wall has an album transcended its medium with such genius. A cover art that looks like a Picasso painting, and a music video that reminds us of Michael Jackson's Thriller. The Wall was the last album of the golden age of Rock 'n' Roll. I see history repeating itself here, i don't see how anybody, even Kanye West himself, can top that album in its artistic quality. I feel that a new era for music is upon us; and who is going to be on top, i have no idea. All i know is that everything rap went through, from Run DMC to The NWA to the Chronic all the way to Eminem, Jay-Z and Lil Wayne, has come down to this, a watershed moment in music history that proves once and for all that Rap like its predecessor (Rock) was the voice of this generation.

    Nothing will ever be the same again.

    Thank you, Kanye West, for this album of biblical proportions. Like Pink Floyd, you took this music genre to the height of its power. I hope, unlike Pink Floyd, you don't break down like them. However, i think you will.
    Expand
  8. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    This album is phenomenal from start to finish. Most of the negative reviews are probably only negative because they feel the album has been over hyped for being so good. From the well flowing Dark Fantasy to the explosive finale of Lost in the World and Who Will Survive in America (I consider them one song to give the album the proper finale), It's hit after hit. The lyrics are so personalThis album is phenomenal from start to finish. Most of the negative reviews are probably only negative because they feel the album has been over hyped for being so good. From the well flowing Dark Fantasy to the explosive finale of Lost in the World and Who Will Survive in America (I consider them one song to give the album the proper finale), It's hit after hit. The lyrics are so personal and catchy, and even if Kanye isn't the best Rapper on earth, he's one of the best musicians in general, especially with the phenomenal production throughout the album. All the guest acts bring their A-game (Hey, I didn't entirely hate Fergie in All of the Lights), and not a single song on the album is forgettable. The only thing I have a complaint about is Chirs Rocks' inclusion on "Blame Game". While I get why it's there and what it means to the whole song, It runs a little too long, and doesn't exactly fit in with simple listening sessions. Expand
  9. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing. KanYes 5th studio album is near perfection. Once again he has evolved as an artist, keeping his songs fresh and new compared to his previous work. This is a classic, and definitely one of the greatest rap albums created.
  10. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Heat for the street! This cd has the arrogance of LL's Bigger and Deffer, the with of Slick Ricks Adventure of....,the boldness of Ice Cubes Amerikkka's most and the conscienceness of PE's It takes of million..
    Definitely a masterpiece!!!!!!!!!!
  11. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Didn't expect anything less from Kanye. He just doesn't know how to put out a wack album. No other Hip-Hop Artist can do what he does. it's a definate 10/10 for me...20/10 if possible.
  12. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    I can't get over how great this album is. I've been playing it nonstop since I bought it and I still have the same feeling of amazement each and every time I listen to it. Never have I heard a song that brought on so many different emotions as Blame Game did. It's a sad song, but the addition of the Chris Rock spoken word at the end adds some humor. After a while I realized that the ChrisI can't get over how great this album is. I've been playing it nonstop since I bought it and I still have the same feeling of amazement each and every time I listen to it. Never have I heard a song that brought on so many different emotions as Blame Game did. It's a sad song, but the addition of the Chris Rock spoken word at the end adds some humor. After a while I realized that the Chris Rock bit was what Kanye was hearing on the phone and that made it even more sad, but strangely it was still funny. Too many great points in this album to go into detail. I just suggest you give it a try and decide for yourself. Expand
  13. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Hey "Better Music," if you say you give this album a 1/10, why did you give it a 0/10? Also, if you like Eminem so much, wouldn't you know that he just released a crappy album this year? (which, by the way got a 63 on MC, as opposed to Kanye's 93.) And as far as Dre goes, his partner Big Boi released an amazing disc this year, so shouldn't you be a little satisfied? "You can try and readHey "Better Music," if you say you give this album a 1/10, why did you give it a 0/10? Also, if you like Eminem so much, wouldn't you know that he just released a crappy album this year? (which, by the way got a 63 on MC, as opposed to Kanye's 93.) And as far as Dre goes, his partner Big Boi released an amazing disc this year, so shouldn't you be a little satisfied? "You can try and read these lyrics off this paper before I lay them, but you can't take the sting out these words before I say them." You think those are good lyrics? Those are lyrics about lyrics: they're empty. Kanye's lyrics are about heartbreak, loss of a lover, loss of a mother, an evolved perspective about his image in the public eye and the responsibility he has as a result. Not only are his lyrics more mature than ever before, his music is genre-expanding, having evolved far beyond the typical constraints of hip-hop and pop music in general. This album flows from spoken-word poetry, to improvisational instrumentals, to ballads, to hardcore ciphers, not to mention that ALL of the production is immaculate, not by some amateur (which is a laughable criticism.) I honestly don't understand how you could say that. The sound is complex, crisp, quiet, then loud, then quiet again, not compressed, and perfectly balanced. There are no cheezy synths; auto-tune is used artfully (Runaway, Lost in the World); samples aren't just jacked, but truly made a part of the music (especially with bon iver). And to say that he copped Moby's style is just wrong. He didn't. This doesn't sound like Play at all. But even if he was influenced by it, that's not a bad thing, for all music has some influence. And for those who criticize the language just don't get art. Good art is often evocative (like his cover) and as long as it's done tastefully (which this is), profanity and the like is an essential part of the music and the art (take Cee-Lo's **** You" - who even cares about the radio edit "Forget You"?)

    What impresses me most is how he does so many things with just 1 song. They flip and turn and mutate into some other form of the same track from an alternate genre. The sequencing is perfect, making the songs flow seamlessly into one another. In fact, the songs build on each other and pick up from the previous song's momentum. The album is simple and complex all at once, revealing more and more with each listen - Kanye's chef-d'oevre.
    Expand
  14. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    As much as I dislike the man in the spotlight for his arrogance, after a couple listens through this album I couldn't help but dig on some of the beats and relate to some of the descriptive lyrics.
  15. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    All in all this album is great to say the least. Kanye deserves a lot of respect for taking a chance on something so unfamiliar and unique. It seems as though the more I listen to it the more it grows on me and the more I become acclaimed to this new sound. The only concerns I have deal with the overly done music solos and the speaking sections of some songs. Besides those 5 minutes of theAll in all this album is great to say the least. Kanye deserves a lot of respect for taking a chance on something so unfamiliar and unique. It seems as though the more I listen to it the more it grows on me and the more I become acclaimed to this new sound. The only concerns I have deal with the overly done music solos and the speaking sections of some songs. Besides those 5 minutes of the 70 minute long album, Kanye's work is gold. Expand
  16. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    Wow, this album is amazing! This is hands down the best Kanye album since Late Registration. Every track is is great, no skips and the massive amounts of guests do not weigh it down nor drown out West. I didn't expect this album to be as good as I thought, I would gladly buy 2 of them as gifts.
  17. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    This is a Genius What a great Album. Comes from Kanye's heart. This album is to everyone who has questioned Kanye West's artistic abilities. Very deep, and a new approach to hip-hop. Is this album going to change Hip Hop for good?
  18. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Beautiful, the perfect mix of Kanye's rapping and his exquisite taste in music. Absolutely the best album he's made to date, the perfect recovery from 808s and his recent history. Kanye's back, and he's rewritten the rules of rap once again!
  19. Dec 11, 2010
    8
    Some of the songs in here weren't as great, but the whole album overall really satifies fans of Kayne West. Runaway, Power, and a lot others received great ratings and are very rock and roll songs. Kayne is one of the artist of the year, even with the Taylor Swift episode.
  20. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Kanye West even with his high ignorance showed everyone that bad attitude has nothing to do with making good music.
  21. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Makes every album this year feel lightweight
  22. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    Talyor Swift fans out in full force.Kanye Snatches mics and still gets 90+ metacritic scores
  23. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    I'm sure I don't have much to say that hasn't already been said. This album is a fantastic voyage, I love getting lost in it every day on my way to work. Particularly the first 7 tracks. The only thing that urkt me is Jay-Z didn't exactly attempt to bring his A game but hey, he's **** Jay-Z so he doesn't have to. Nikki was incredible on Monster and if you haven't seen the short filmI'm sure I don't have much to say that hasn't already been said. This album is a fantastic voyage, I love getting lost in it every day on my way to work. Particularly the first 7 tracks. The only thing that urkt me is Jay-Z didn't exactly attempt to bring his A game but hey, he's **** Jay-Z so he doesn't have to. Nikki was incredible on Monster and if you haven't seen the short film that accompanies the album, stop what you're doing and go watch it. It's an accomplishment. Congrats Mr. West. Instant Classic. You can do whatever the hell you want now, this is your Sgt. Pepper. Expand
  24. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    I will say right off the bat that I am not a big fan Mr. West. He's arrogant, needlessly **** self-absorbed and the definition of a douche bag. But this album (production wise), is simply amazing. 9/10ths of the album are songs that you are going to rewind and listen to over and over again. Only a few select tracks are less than memorable. Lyrically...almost every track is nothing butI will say right off the bat that I am not a big fan Mr. West. He's arrogant, needlessly **** self-absorbed and the definition of a douche bag. But this album (production wise), is simply amazing. 9/10ths of the album are songs that you are going to rewind and listen to over and over again. Only a few select tracks are less than memorable. Lyrically...almost every track is nothing but nonsense. It's purely expletives and an extreme lack of effort (yes even from Jay-Z). Don't Expect any soul searching, in-depth knowledge/insight or even catchy punchlines. It's is literally just an album that sounds good but doesn't say anything. If your looking for something that literally just sounds good to listen to on the ride home from work, or if you need to just veg out on a Sunday afternoon, this album should be at the top of your list. Expand
  25. Dec 1, 2010
    8
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is one of Kanye Westâ
  26. Dec 1, 2010
    8
    One of the best mainstream hip hop albums of the year.. I personally like the fact that he acknowledge his faults but at the same time gives the middle finger to his haters and critics...
  27. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    Loved this album and I'm glad Kayne west made another rap album. the auto tune just drove me crazy when you know Kayne can come out with something like this and i hope he keeps it coming
  28. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    Simply put, in 2010, no one did pop music better than Kanye West. This record, along with the Gorillaz "Plastic Beach", pushed collaborative and pop music as a whole forward. which is really what you want. Nothing is more boring and off-putting than complacency. Justin Vernon's contributions, while subtle on tracks not named "Lost in the World", are great. Nicki Minaj murders tracks, andSimply put, in 2010, no one did pop music better than Kanye West. This record, along with the Gorillaz "Plastic Beach", pushed collaborative and pop music as a whole forward. which is really what you want. Nothing is more boring and off-putting than complacency. Justin Vernon's contributions, while subtle on tracks not named "Lost in the World", are great. Nicki Minaj murders tracks, and does exactly that on "Monster". The album is fantastic front to back. Kanye goes for it all on this album, and it works in the best way possible. Expand
  29. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    I was surprised by the universal praise for a new Kanye West album, haven't picked up any of his music since his debut . This genre has been dead for quite a while now, at least commercially, and I'd completely written him off along with the rest of it.

    It's not instantly appealing, like all the best things and builds with each listen, rather than deteriorating into a spiral of radio
    I was surprised by the universal praise for a new Kanye West album, haven't picked up any of his music since his debut . This genre has been dead for quite a while now, at least commercially, and I'd completely written him off along with the rest of it.

    It's not instantly appealing, like all the best things and builds with each listen, rather than deteriorating into a spiral of radio punching hatred. The lyrics are clever, but he's not trying to be too clever with them, he seems to have been influenced by song writing from sources outside of rap (unusual in hip-hop), and the music has benefited.

    It's amazing how something can sound or look when the creator has talent and really cares about the product, and not only the profit (although it's unlikely he worries about finances now; Surprisingly, he does seem to refrain from reminding the listener of this fact. Again, unusual in hip-hop.) He's made actual music here, one of the best albums of the year. Maybe the genre can all get together in a room and call it a day now, most of the rest seem incapable of creating anything anywhere near this level.
    Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Uncut
    Sep 19, 2012
    80
    West is far from rap's deftest lyricist but his neurotic grandstanding is compelling and often pretty funny to boot. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  3. Mojo
    Apr 20, 2011
    100
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is genuinely a great record. [Feb. 2011, p. 108]