My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2010
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 1742 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    THE GREATEST ALBUM DEFINING THE DECADE (2010s). The milestone of this album impeccable feat cannot be reached. It is not a simple mathematical rap album. You cannot compare it to any usual rap phenomenon. I speak as a fan of MUSIC when i say this, Kanye West has blessed the world with excellence. Geniuses have a right to be arrogant, "egotistical". Each song is a perfect example of hardTHE GREATEST ALBUM DEFINING THE DECADE (2010s). The milestone of this album impeccable feat cannot be reached. It is not a simple mathematical rap album. You cannot compare it to any usual rap phenomenon. I speak as a fan of MUSIC when i say this, Kanye West has blessed the world with excellence. Geniuses have a right to be arrogant, "egotistical". Each song is a perfect example of hard work, art, and creativity. Anyone who studies music, architecture, and modeling, can hear it in this sound. The album is a body of work that tells you its going to be better from now on, Who will survive in America? Expand
  2. Jun 22, 2015
    9
    "Can we get much higher?" Kanye West asks on the opener and title track to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The answer is "yes", which can be seen over the course of the entire album. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was, without a doubt, the high point in West's career. From beginning to end of this album, Kanye West's lyrical (more than ever) and production talent. West uses a variety"Can we get much higher?" Kanye West asks on the opener and title track to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The answer is "yes", which can be seen over the course of the entire album. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was, without a doubt, the high point in West's career. From beginning to end of this album, Kanye West's lyrical (more than ever) and production talent. West uses a variety of production styles on this album - ranging from soul ("Devil in a New Dress") to [not so explicitly] trap ("All of the LIghts"). Kanye is also clever lyrically on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, making confessions about his personality ("Runaway", "POWER") and talking about his fantasies ("Dark Fantasy"). I love how much West is able to admit how much of a jerk he is (although I thoroughly appreciate him as an artist). And on this album, Kanye West shows a great deal of originality, also: the production and lyrics, although imperfect at times, cannot be matched by any other artist. West just shows how unique he is on this album. This album was undoubtedly one of the best of 2010, and definitely one of the best hip hop albums of all time. Grade: A. Highlights: "All of the Lights", "Monster", "So Appalled", "Devil in a New Dress". Worst song: "Runaway" (It's not that I didn't like this song, it just bored me with its repetitive chord progression, its intense length, and the distorted Auto-Tuned vocals at the end.) Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2015
    9
    West as often changed nearly everything from his previous record in order to re-invent himself as an artist. It took him some trips to Europe and a bunch of musicians in suits to come up with an impressive achievement. It's hard to confine his music when there are trumpets over French horns over choirs over strings over beats over drums over this and over that. However it never feelsWest as often changed nearly everything from his previous record in order to re-invent himself as an artist. It took him some trips to Europe and a bunch of musicians in suits to come up with an impressive achievement. It's hard to confine his music when there are trumpets over French horns over choirs over strings over beats over drums over this and over that. However it never feels overloaded, and its power resides in its intelligent use of featured artists and some excellent choices regarding the numerous samples from all genres and eras. The album kind of makes a portrait of a lost man, but it does make sense as a whole. Some verses could’ve been under more scrutiny but it ends up being an embarrassment of great stirring tracks that never fall into the need for category. Its baroque influences and deep examination of himself and what surrounds him whether it’s real or imaginary make the record very unique and calling it the best album of 2010 isn't really an overstatement.

    Best track: Runaway
    Exact Score: 9.3
    Expand
  4. Apr 10, 2015
    10
    Perfectly album, elevanting hip hop to another plane.
    Cohesive innovative equilibrate, very well produced, nice raps.
    rfectly album, elevanting hip hop to another plane.
    Cohesive innovative equilibrate, very well produced, nice raps.
    rfectly album, elevanting hip hop to another plane.
    Cohesive innovative equilibrate, very well produced, nice raps.
  5. Apr 28, 2015
    10
    An instant classic, this album his Kanye's best work along with College dropout. A masterpiece in Kanye's unique style of hip-hop, the album will be hard to beat for any artist in the years to come.
  6. Apr 23, 2015
    10
    Basically this is a model of a perfect album, as far as showcasing talent Kanye West once again fails to disappoint. I'm not a critic, just a listener, and this was one of the only albums where I loved each and every song. Every single one of them, it was just awesome. From start to finish Yeezy did amazing, proving he is the greatest Rap Musician to ever live. 10/10 Album and a mustBasically this is a model of a perfect album, as far as showcasing talent Kanye West once again fails to disappoint. I'm not a critic, just a listener, and this was one of the only albums where I loved each and every song. Every single one of them, it was just awesome. From start to finish Yeezy did amazing, proving he is the greatest Rap Musician to ever live. 10/10 Album and a must listen. My favorite album of all time. Expand
  7. May 27, 2015
    8
    The only Kanye album I own, the only hip hop album I own. Kanye's willingness to experiment with his music is what I've always loved about him as an artist, and never has this experimental side of his work been so successful as it is on this album. While occasionally you're left questioning how some of his experiments ever escaped the recording studio, the majority of this album is pure gold.
  8. Jan 31, 2016
    10
    Kanye West's 35-minute super-video, Runaway, peaks with a parade. Fireworks flash while red hoods march through a field. At the center of the spectacle is a huge, pale, cartoonish rendering of Michael Jackson's head. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy's gargantuan "All of the Lights" soundtracks the procession, with Kanye pleading, "Something wrong, I hold my head/ MJ gone, our **** dead."Kanye West's 35-minute super-video, Runaway, peaks with a parade. Fireworks flash while red hoods march through a field. At the center of the spectacle is a huge, pale, cartoonish rendering of Michael Jackson's head. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy's gargantuan "All of the Lights" soundtracks the procession, with Kanye pleading, "Something wrong, I hold my head/ MJ gone, our **** dead." The tribute marks another chapter in West's ongoing obsession with the King of Pop.
    West's discography contains innumerable references and allusions to Jackson. His first hit as a producer, Jay-Z's "Izzo (H.O.V.A.)", sampled the Jackson 5's "I Want You Back". For many, his first memorable lines as a rapper came during 2003's "Slow Jamz": "She got a light-skinned friend look like Michael Jackson/ Got a dark-skinned friend look like Michael Jackson." And when West's recent interview with Matt Lauer on the "Today" show went awry, he took to Twitter, writing, "I wish Michael Jackson had twitter!!!!!! Maybe Mike could have explained how the media tried to set him up!!! It's all a **** set up!!!!" Like most everything else, Kanye may exaggerate the kinship, but it's real. And it's never more apparent than on Twisted Fantasy, a blast of surreal pop excess that few artists are capable of creating, or even willing to attempt.

    To be clear, Kanye West is not Michael Jackson. As he told MTV last month, "I do have a goal in this lifetime to be the greatest artist of all time, [but] that's very difficult being that I can't dance or sing." He ended the thought with a laugh, but you get the impression he's not kidding. Unlike Michael, he's not interested in scrubbing away bits of himself-- his blackness, his candidness-- to appease the masses. And while Jackson's own twisted fantasies of paranoia and betrayal eventually consumed him whole, West is still aware of his illusions, though that mindfulness becomes increasingly unmoored with each newspaper-splashing controversy. The balance is tenuous, but right now it's working to his advantage. On Twisted Fantasy, Kanye is crazy enough to truly believe he's the greatest out there. And, about a decade into his career, the hardworking perfectionist has gained the talent on the mic and in the control room to make a startlingly strong case for just that.

    Kanye's last album, 2008's 808s and Heartbreak, was heavy on the Auto-Tune and stark synths, but relatively light on grandiose ideas. It was a necessary detour that expanded his emotional palette; a bloodletting after a harsh breakup and the passing of his mother that manifests itself in Twisted Fantasy's harshest lows. But musically, the new album largely continues where 2007's Graduation left off in its maximalist hip-hop bent, with flashes of The College Dropout's comfort-food sampling and Late Registration's baroque instrumentation weaved in seamlessly. As a result, the record comes off like a culmination and an instant greatest hits, the ultimate realization of his strongest talents and divisive public persona. And since the nerd-superstar rap archetype he popularized has now become commonplace, he leaves it in the dust, taking his style and drama to previously uncharted locales, far away from typical civilization.

    He's got a lot on his mind, too. After exiling himself for months following last year's infamous Taylor Swift stage bomb, the rapper made some of his first comeback appearances at the headquarters of Facebook and Twitter in late July. Videos of West standing on a table in tailored GQ duds while gesticulating through new rhymes (sans musical accompaniment) quickly made the rounds. The Silicon Valley visits seemed like a stunt, but they were prophetic. Forever an over-sharer, Kanye was looking for an outlet for his latest mirror-born musings. He found that platform with Twitter, and proceeded to dictate his own narrative in 140 character hits. Whether showing off exotic purchases, defending himself against the press, or going on stream-of-consciousness rants, Kanye finally had the middleman-free, instant-gratification platform he'd always wanted.

    Juiced on the direct connection, he began releasing weekly songs for free online, the generosity of which would be moot if the songs didn't deliver. But they did, over and over, eventually building up the same type of superstar goodwill Radiohead pulled off with their pay-what-you-want In Rainbows release plan and Lil Wayne's free mixtape barrage leading up to 2008's Tha Carter III. So while Kanye can't sing or dance like Michael, he's making meaningful connections in a fresh, oftentimes (ahem) naked way. "When I used to finish an album I would be so excited for my mom to hear the final - final!" he wrote on November 11. "The final - final is what we used to call the... completed album with all the skits!!! I made songs to please one person... MY MOM!!! I would think... would my my Mom like this song!" - Pitchfork
    Expand
  9. Jul 5, 2015
    10
    One of my favorite albums. Great songs all trough it.

    Highlights :
    - POWER
    - Gorgeous
    - Runaway

    "All of the lights" and "Lost in the Woods" are fantastic as well
  10. Nov 14, 2015
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is one of the most amazingly constructed hip-hop albums of all time. For years on, this album will be talked about as a: masterpiece, classic, work of genius. These are just examples of the words used to describe this monument in hip-hop history. If you don't like this album for any reason, you must respect it. Kanye over his years as an artist, **not aMy Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is one of the most amazingly constructed hip-hop albums of all time. For years on, this album will be talked about as a: masterpiece, classic, work of genius. These are just examples of the words used to describe this monument in hip-hop history. If you don't like this album for any reason, you must respect it. Kanye over his years as an artist, **not a rapper/MC** has provided insight of life through his eyes and the knowledge he has consumed and developed as an artist, with the creative capacity to show it in such beautiful form. The film Runaway is a must if you loved this album. Expand
  11. Nov 25, 2015
    10
    A phenomenal hip hop masterpiece. Provides a great blend of more accessible pop-rap tracks and introspective, grand, and complex rap compositions that really set the bar for hip hop musicians to come. It is large in scope but still a joy to listen to.
  12. Dec 19, 2015
    10
    My beautiful dark twisted fantasy is a real classic. Favourite tracks 'so apalled', 'dark fantasy', 'runaway' and 'power', but everything is absolutely perfect. :)
  13. Jan 11, 2016
    10
    Might be my favorite album of all time, a musical experience like no other. Kanye west is one of the best artists of our century and he justifies that by coming up with a different sound every other year and dominating the music world.
  14. Feb 16, 2016
    10
    Greatest album of all time, enough said. Incredible production, amazing features, and a godly flow that is second to none. Cannot begin to explain the effect this album has on listeners, it is a journey for everyone.
  15. Mar 11, 2016
    9
    92/100. Probably my favorite Rap/Hip-Hop album ever.Kanye West brings us an amazing album here with songs that are emotional, radio-friendly, complex, innovative, and meaningful all at the same time. Say what you want about Kanye West, but the man puts out some really amazing music.
  16. Apr 13, 2016
    10
    The greatest hip-hop album of the 21st century, a landmark moment for the entire rap genre and Kanye West's ultimate statement as a music artist. A true classic of the album art form.
  17. Aug 9, 2016
    10
    10.0
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
  18. Jun 29, 2016
    10
    Best Kanye West album till today. No words to describe. It's just perfect. It's like an album which cones after decades.
    Favourite tracks - Lost in yhe World, Dark Fanrasy, All of the Lights, Blame Game, Devil in a New Dress
  19. May 5, 2016
    10
    The prolific lyrics, the amazing production, and the sick collaborations all come together to create what is probably the best album of the decade so far. Any user who writes a negative review clearly hasn't understood that he's apologizing
  20. May 6, 2016
    10
    Simply the best hip-hop album of all time - and easily one of the the bests one across all genres. Once again Mr. West successfully proves his place in the hall of fame of the greatest artists of all time. Though West's lyrics are far from the best we've heard in the rap game, the beautiful melodies and catchy beats across all of the songs stand in for the sometimes bit bland lyrics. NoneSimply the best hip-hop album of all time - and easily one of the the bests one across all genres. Once again Mr. West successfully proves his place in the hall of fame of the greatest artists of all time. Though West's lyrics are far from the best we've heard in the rap game, the beautiful melodies and catchy beats across all of the songs stand in for the sometimes bit bland lyrics. None of the songs actually stand out from the rest; the whole album is pure bliss and genious work of art. Nothing out is of it's place, and the great producing compliments the already 10/10 songs on the album. A true game changer. Easily the greatest album of the 2000's. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Uncut
    Sep 19, 2012
    80
    West is far from rap's deftest lyricist but his neurotic grandstanding is compelling and often pretty funny to boot. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  3. Mojo
    Apr 20, 2011
    100
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is genuinely a great record. [Feb. 2011, p. 108]