User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 1228 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    What the hell is this? This music is just swearing mixed with **** at his fans with a few good songs inside. Also, based on the 16 reviews it has, it should be at a 94, not 100, although that is still much too high for this stupid album. I really cannot stand this, and I hold nothing against Kanye West. Dark Fantast, Power and All Of The Lights are very good, and most of the other songsWhat the hell is this? This music is just swearing mixed with **** at his fans with a few good songs inside. Also, based on the 16 reviews it has, it should be at a 94, not 100, although that is still much too high for this stupid album. I really cannot stand this, and I hold nothing against Kanye West. Dark Fantast, Power and All Of The Lights are very good, and most of the other songs are annoyingly repetitive, especially So Appalled and Monster. Collapse
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    I have a tendency to approach any wildly praised album with a degree of skepticism...admittedly, I approached this album looking to be as critical as possible. A part of me was trying to dislike it. That part of me failed miserably, and the rest of me told the contrarian part to shut up and just listen to the awesomeness. It's the best-reviewed new release of 2010 for a reason. You oweI have a tendency to approach any wildly praised album with a degree of skepticism...admittedly, I approached this album looking to be as critical as possible. A part of me was trying to dislike it. That part of me failed miserably, and the rest of me told the contrarian part to shut up and just listen to the awesomeness. It's the best-reviewed new release of 2010 for a reason. You owe it to yourself to own this. I could sit here and analyze the music to try and convince you, but seriously...just get it and listen for yourself. That is all. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    A truly remarkable album that in the long run will change the game as Dr. Dre's Chronic and as Marshall's LP. The album has an insanely catchy intro and finishes off with raw power and soul. Kanye's latest may have some ****ing ridiculous; ****ing ridiculous repetitions, but even with Fantasy's few flaws, it remains the best new album of 2010.
  4. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This Album is the best album in the past ten years. He has discovered the fact that people don't buy music anymore and buy releasing tracks online every friday makes him a true legend. He has also included 5 covers and a movie for $3 more on the album. I mean what artist has ever done that. The production is amazing as well, he switches up the vocals on blame game so the listener canThis Album is the best album in the past ten years. He has discovered the fact that people don't buy music anymore and buy releasing tracks online every friday makes him a true legend. He has also included 5 covers and a movie for $3 more on the album. I mean what artist has ever done that. The production is amazing as well, he switches up the vocals on blame game so the listener can recognize that there is two people talking to each other. All of the Lights has to be my personal best. I mean what rap artist has transformed a song by putting Rihanna, Fergie, Elton John, Kid Cudi, La-Roux's Lead Singer, The Dream, John Legend, and Ryan Leslie all on one track. People have criticized this man long enough for his "stealing of moments" ...give me a break. I haven't heard a hip hop album this moving since about the time Nas released Illmatic. This man deserves true respect and loves his job. The least you can do is check out some of the previews then buy it because a true hip hop fan would know that is a good choice. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Excellently edgy lyrics and a simultaneously raw, yet polished sound. It's one of the best hip hop albums of 2010, along with Big Boi's and Gorillaz' efforts, Sir Lucious Left Foot and Plastic Beach, respectively. And maybe even Janelle Monáe's record, too, if you overlook the heavy soul influences.
  6. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    I'm wondering why those Kanye "fans" rated this album poorly claiming it doesn't live up to their expectations or it's not what they expected. If they were fans, they would have known what to expect with G.O.O.D. Fridays posting almost half the album. Anyway, this is a great album. Fantastically produced, and the lyrics are on par with what he did in his first two albums. Just plain good music.
  7. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  8. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    Is he the best rapper alive? Maybe. Is he the best producer right now? You bet. (sorry Dre, you gotta put out more stuff) But the question is... Is he really and truly the voice of this generation? Well.... no.
    Kanye is somewhat outlandish to be a representative of a generation. Sure, he spits some truth but musically he is on a different level. He is on level infinity (aka the Kanye
    Is he the best rapper alive? Maybe. Is he the best producer right now? You bet. (sorry Dre, you gotta put out more stuff) But the question is... Is he really and truly the voice of this generation? Well.... no.
    Kanye is somewhat outlandish to be a representative of a generation. Sure, he spits some truth but musically he is on a different level. He is on level infinity (aka the Kanye level). But the fact that he isn't a voice of a generation does not diminish the significance of his role in pop music today. He is the freshest, most innovative, and most daring of all pop stars. And MBDTF is yet another testament to his genius.

    While it does seem like a culmination of his first four albums in terms of sound, lyrically it is a pumped up Kanye taking on various victims like the government, South Park, and SNL. But MBDTF also features the more vulnerable side of Kanye while also promoting the man through brilliant braggadocio. The thumping POWER features Kanye spitting "I guess every superhero needs his theme music" at the same time saying "No one man should have all that power" as if he is aware of both sides to the argument.

    The production is Kanye at his killer best. A song that could be another multiple guest bloated collabo turns out to be a truly majestic track (All Of the Lights) that retains ambition while also feeling fit without any corny elements. There is the buzzy Hell Of A Life featuring Kanye proudly saying, "I think I just fell in love with a porn star". But the real apex of Kanye's career is Runaway. It is a simple piano plinkering beat accompanied by bass and later some violins, all supporting a chorus that gives toast to the **** douchebags, scumbags, and jerk-offs in the world. The song gets even weirder when an auto-tuned Kanye sings unintelligible lines as the song's coda. Yet it all magically works.

    If you are one of those Kanye fans who simply loved College Dropout so much that they could not feel the same for his other albums, then you are not a Kanye fan and chances are you won't appreciate this album like the crackheads at Dot Music and Guardian (though the website surprisingly also gave a 80 to this same album). MBDTF is definitely the album of the year (even if it didn't make it into 2010 Grammy season). It's a dark fantasy. It's a twisted fantasy. It's a beautiful fantasy. But best of all, it's Kanye's beautiful dark twisted fantasy.
    Expand
  9. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    One of the best albums of all time. Of all time!

    Seriously though. Can't believe how good he is. His 4th masterpiece. The beat on 'All of the Lights' is insane.
  10. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    Kanye returns with a very strong actual rap album. This is the album that has stirred inside his head for 20 years. Despite the fame, money, and women, he truly is a psychologically troubled individual who straddles the line between unbridled ego and unbearable agony. He is a black William Burroughs - the "American Rapper."
  11. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    This album is dope- Sooooo good. Lush with sound. Beats that shake your chest. Turns of verse that make you laugh and shed a tear at the same time. It's all here if you like like the enormous sound to go along with the enormous ego/star power Kanye possesses. He's the next MJ- don't deny it haters. Yeah I'm talking to you clowns that scored this album a zero just because you don'tThis album is dope- Sooooo good. Lush with sound. Beats that shake your chest. Turns of verse that make you laugh and shed a tear at the same time. It's all here if you like like the enormous sound to go along with the enormous ego/star power Kanye possesses. He's the next MJ- don't deny it haters. Yeah I'm talking to you clowns that scored this album a zero just because you don't like Kanye and/or his type of music. Then why are you going out of your way to push your negativity on people? Silly hatin' clowns. Expand
  12. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kanye has been changing his sound with every album but this time its the biggest and best change to date, Every song is a lot different from the last and with guest spots from Jigga, Kid Cudi and Bon Iver it is truly his best piece of work yet Expand
  13. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    I can't believe this.This is the definition of music.This isn't just an awesome hip hop artist that can flow like no other,this is the best music I have ever heard in my life!I can see why it's one of the best rated albums ever.It's mind blowing,artistic,deep,intelligent,just The best hip hop album ever created and probably the best one that will ever be made unless he makes a better albumI can't believe this.This is the definition of music.This isn't just an awesome hip hop artist that can flow like no other,this is the best music I have ever heard in my life!I can see why it's one of the best rated albums ever.It's mind blowing,artistic,deep,intelligent,just The best hip hop album ever created and probably the best one that will ever be made unless he makes a better album which he probably will.Forget how eminem can flow some artists have great dance music,Kanye west has it all and he is the best lyrical genius ever.Most rap artists are just good on the surface but Kanye West has a deep lyrical nature to him that can't be touched by anyone.10, 10 ,10.If there was an 11 rating he would deserve it for this album! Expand
  14. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the best album in 2010, (for a little better than Eminem's Recovery). All of the songs are just great. I was expecting this for a long time, and I couldn't imagine so good album. everything less than 10 would be stupid.
  15. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    Kanye shows the deepest side of him in My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. He tried to exploit it on 808's And Heartbreak, but really succeeded on his fifth album. I personally bought the Deluxe edition with the Runaway movie, and I have to admit that I had to listen to the movie to really love My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. I'll say that the movie and the album really complete thisKanye shows the deepest side of him in My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. He tried to exploit it on 808's And Heartbreak, but really succeeded on his fifth album. I personally bought the Deluxe edition with the Runaway movie, and I have to admit that I had to listen to the movie to really love My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. I'll say that the movie and the album really complete this masterpiece. The original art-cover is simply amazing, but sadly banished. For a radio success, I really can't find a single song that could be a success on Billboard's Hot 100, and that's perfect for people like me who prefers albums to singles. As a whole artistic entity, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is awesome, not as much to my eyes than 808's and Heartbreak (even if 808's And Heartbreak sounded more for the radio). The use of auto-tune is clearly reduced on this new opus. I recommend this album to any Kanye fan, any quality rap fan (this means no 50 Cents fans). Good job Mr. West, keep up the good work. Expand
  16. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Kanye West's best album. His flow, lyrics, the beats, samples - all top notch. Every song is memorable. This album proves that Kanye's not just a rapper or a producer, but an artist. MBDTF is art. Anyone who calls him untalented, even before this album, but certainly now, is straight up WRONG.
  17. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    If there was ever a definition of a "modern day classic" this would be it. If you don't own this album then you must buy it now. Kanye West bares his soul in an album so bold it will never get old. I come from a guitar based background but this album is extraordinary.
  18. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This is a GREAT album. A sure contender for the album of 2010. People that are hating on the album are basically complaining because of some of the words he says. Lets be serious now, if you are a fan of rap music then this is nothing and if you don't like it then you can go and pick up the clean version and then listen to it and you can appreciate the ammount of effort that he puts intoThis is a GREAT album. A sure contender for the album of 2010. People that are hating on the album are basically complaining because of some of the words he says. Lets be serious now, if you are a fan of rap music then this is nothing and if you don't like it then you can go and pick up the clean version and then listen to it and you can appreciate the ammount of effort that he puts into every song. Add GOOD Fridays and that just adds up to the appreciation of effort.
    I don't care what anybody says because All Of The Lights owns all. It has to be played with the interlude. Its just not the same otherwise!
    Expand
  19. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    Well, Kanye came back pretty strong. This album is a huge step up from 808s & Heartbreak, but he still maintains a good sense of experimentation with his music. Whether it be him dabbling in an outside genre or even features like Bon Ivers or sampling world music tunes, that essence of Kanye looks like it isnt going anywhere. He remains to be lyrically solid and growing, despite whomeverWell, Kanye came back pretty strong. This album is a huge step up from 808s & Heartbreak, but he still maintains a good sense of experimentation with his music. Whether it be him dabbling in an outside genre or even features like Bon Ivers or sampling world music tunes, that essence of Kanye looks like it isnt going anywhere. He remains to be lyrically solid and growing, despite whomever may despise his "arrogant" personality. He isn't lyrically clever just for cheap entertainment, he's also got something behind most of those punches, none of which he pulls for most of the album. What weakened this album were merely the performance of some of Kanye's cameos. Its ok to have features, but not if they are going to water down your performance. Overall, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy will prove to be one of the biggest new albums of this time, completely shunning the hopes those that (after the Taylor Swift incident) wished "he [Kanye] never sold another record ever again" Expand
  20. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    I wrote my initial review the day this album came out... i did not give it enough time to sink in... now that i have listened to the entire album 20 or more times i can comfortably say this... This is one of the best rap albums to ever come out and one of the best albums ever in popular culture. Kanye from beginning to finish delivers song after song of unique, deep and emotion. The beatsI wrote my initial review the day this album came out... i did not give it enough time to sink in... now that i have listened to the entire album 20 or more times i can comfortably say this... This is one of the best rap albums to ever come out and one of the best albums ever in popular culture. Kanye from beginning to finish delivers song after song of unique, deep and emotion. The beats are unique and rivaled by few, The direction of the songs themselves, filled with tangents of audio awe and the crisp, clean, and much of the time dirty lyrics make this album a sensation. We have never seen this side of Kanye West before. Sure in the past he has slowed down and made heartfelt and emotional songs but never like this. Because this album is focused on one thing, not his dead mother (rip) not his love that left him and not about child slaves who harvest diamonds. This album is 68 minutes and 42 seconds spent on Kayne, specifically his Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasies of his mind. What is in the mind of this self absorbed notoriously inconsiderate a**hole of a man? Well it is in the title. A Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Expand
  21. Dec 10, 2010
    9
    I'm not the biggest Kanye West fan but this album is the best thing I've heard in ages. It's very complex and creative with the lyrics and the music and it kept me fully engrossed from start to finish on a long train journey. Sometimes artists are just on fire and ooze creativity and for some reason this has happened to Kanye West when he made this album. There are no club bangers orI'm not the biggest Kanye West fan but this album is the best thing I've heard in ages. It's very complex and creative with the lyrics and the music and it kept me fully engrossed from start to finish on a long train journey. Sometimes artists are just on fire and ooze creativity and for some reason this has happened to Kanye West when he made this album. There are no club bangers or breakfast radio tunes on here, its deeper than that and I commend him for not taking the lazy route. Expand
  22. May 5, 2013
    10
    It's hard to know where to start talking about a record like this in all honesty. Never before have I heard an album that combines so much ambition, creativity, genius, hubris and darkness with so much skill, restraint and care to prevent it from collapsing under its own weight. Albums like this should implode, become disasters, and exist as nothing but unfinished, shelved projects thatIt's hard to know where to start talking about a record like this in all honesty. Never before have I heard an album that combines so much ambition, creativity, genius, hubris and darkness with so much skill, restraint and care to prevent it from collapsing under its own weight. Albums like this should implode, become disasters, and exist as nothing but unfinished, shelved projects that live among public myths as rubble, wreckage and hopes of what might have been. But this is Kanye West, and this is My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.

    Kanye never loses control of the ambition, or the creation or the experimentation. He creates a level all of his own in this respect despite having so many guest producers, collaborators, range of song styles and song writers. To putt it simply, Kanye’s ability to be so incredibly introspective and self-aware keeps his 2010 release interesting right up until the last note. In this case, Kanye is the man stood on the side of the street juggling knives, bowling balls and pieces of fruit while others stand and wait for him to drop everything. But his character, ego and personality shine through and manifest themselves through sampling artistry, a grasp of a range of atmosphere that hasn't been mirrored since its 2010 release and an effective ear for pop and hip-hop's most positive traits.

    Thanks, Kanye. I'll let you finish.
    Expand
  23. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    One of the best albums of the year and a modern classic in this decade. Kanye has officially become the king of rap as his hero MJ became the king of pop. Amazing.
  24. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This is an album that deserves the acclaim it is getting through the press. It has some pretty awesome transitions between tracks and some pretty cutting edge stuff for a "mainstream" rap album. I actually think a lot of "mainstream" fans are going to resist this album, and for that, and the risk-taking that Kanye is taking, I give this CD a 10.
  25. Dec 5, 2010
    9
    Even though I hate Kanye as a person and dislike rap in general, I can't give this album any worse a score just because it's such interesting, well-made and compelling music. Contrasting the most breathtaking highs with the most crushing lows, exploring the limits of his mind and soul, with My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Kanye shows how powerful and thoughtful music can be - and it'sEven though I hate Kanye as a person and dislike rap in general, I can't give this album any worse a score just because it's such interesting, well-made and compelling music. Contrasting the most breathtaking highs with the most crushing lows, exploring the limits of his mind and soul, with My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Kanye shows how powerful and thoughtful music can be - and it's very difficult to not love him for it. Expand
  26. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    I generally have no feelings towards Kanye (and don't own any of his music), I usually listen to Radiohead as my staple music listening diet. This CD so far is AWESOME... it actually has interesting things to say and is decent to listen to.. I think this music really is inspiring and perfect for so many different moods.. I think i've heard about 80% of it on the radio and youtube. Going toI generally have no feelings towards Kanye (and don't own any of his music), I usually listen to Radiohead as my staple music listening diet. This CD so far is AWESOME... it actually has interesting things to say and is decent to listen to.. I think this music really is inspiring and perfect for so many different moods.. I think i've heard about 80% of it on the radio and youtube. Going to buy it tomorrow. The Bon Iver track is GOLD! Bon Iver rocks. Glad it's not just ripping it up and he actually dragged the guy in to lay down some vocals. Expand
  27. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Imma let you finish, but this is an awesome album. Every track is boldly produced and perfectly. And it has a certain flame within each song.
  28. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    Probably Kanye's best album since The College Dropout. Superb production quality, varying and eclectic styles of music mixed with self loathing, searching for the answer lyrical themes. In this album, he is more regretful but realistic about his egomaniac attitude. He doesn't really celebrate his ego but rather saying that this is how he works but is trying hard to understand why. KudosProbably Kanye's best album since The College Dropout. Superb production quality, varying and eclectic styles of music mixed with self loathing, searching for the answer lyrical themes. In this album, he is more regretful but realistic about his egomaniac attitude. He doesn't really celebrate his ego but rather saying that this is how he works but is trying hard to understand why. Kudos to West, RZA and others for putting together a collection of near flawlessly produced songs and I commend this album for being a completely different hip-hop album itself. Expand
  29. May 24, 2011
    9
    Whilst some of it (power and gorgeous) becomes completely disengaging the other songs like all of the lights, lost in the world and dark fantasy create one of the best dark albums in years.
  30. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Kanye West My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the best hip hop album in years. It is the best so far this new decade of the 10's. My opinion of Kanye is he is the most talented rapper alive. This album sh***** on the haters. Kanye crafted a masterpiece and it needs to be bought this holiday season!!! From the RZA crafted Dark Fantasy to the mind blowing Lost In The World, this album isKanye West My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the best hip hop album in years. It is the best so far this new decade of the 10's. My opinion of Kanye is he is the most talented rapper alive. This album sh***** on the haters. Kanye crafted a masterpiece and it needs to be bought this holiday season!!! From the RZA crafted Dark Fantasy to the mind blowing Lost In The World, this album is pure fire, chaos, love and redemption. A beautiful dark twisted fantasy Kanye, you did hip hop proud!!! Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    West is far from rap's deftest lyricist but his neurotic grandstanding is compelling and often pretty funny to boot. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    100
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is genuinely a great record. [Feb. 2011, p. 108]