• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2010
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 1359 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2015
    10
    "Can we get much higher?" Kanye West asks on the opener and title track to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The answer is "yes", which can be seen over the course of the entire album. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was, without a doubt, the high point in West's career. From beginning to end of this album, Kanye West's lyrical (more than ever) and production talent. West uses a variety"Can we get much higher?" Kanye West asks on the opener and title track to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The answer is "yes", which can be seen over the course of the entire album. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was, without a doubt, the high point in West's career. From beginning to end of this album, Kanye West's lyrical (more than ever) and production talent. West uses a variety of production styles on this album - ranging from soul ("Devil in a New Dress") to [not so explicitly] trap ("All of the LIghts"). Kanye is also clever lyrically on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, making confessions about his personality ("Runaway", "POWER") and talking about his fantasies ("Dark Fantasy"). I love how much West is able to admit how much of a jerk he is (although I thoroughly appreciate him as an artist). And on this album, Kanye West shows a great deal of originality, also: the production and lyrics, although imperfect at times, cannot be matched by any other artist. West just shows how unique he is on this album. This album was undoubtedly one of the best of 2010, and definitely one of the best hip hop albums of all time. Grade: A+. Highlights: "All of the Lights", "Monster", "So Appalled", "Devil in a New Dress". Worst song: "Runaway" (It's not that I didn't like this song, it just bored me with its repetitive chord progression, its intense length, and the distorted Auto-Tuned vocals at the end.) Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2015
    9
    West as often changed nearly everything from his previous record in order to re-invent himself as an artist. It took him some trips to Europe and a bunch of musicians in suits to come up with an impressive achievement. It's hard to confine his music when there are trumpets over French horns over choirs over strings over beats over drums over this and over that. However it never feelsWest as often changed nearly everything from his previous record in order to re-invent himself as an artist. It took him some trips to Europe and a bunch of musicians in suits to come up with an impressive achievement. It's hard to confine his music when there are trumpets over French horns over choirs over strings over beats over drums over this and over that. However it never feels overloaded, and its power resides in its intelligent use of featured artists and some excellent choices regarding the numerous samples from all genres and eras. The album kind of makes a portrait of a lost man, but it does make sense as a whole. Some verses could’ve been under more scrutiny but it ends up being an embarrassment of great stirring tracks that never fall into the need for category. Its baroque influences and deep examination of himself and what surrounds him whether it’s real or imaginary make the record very unique and calling it the best album of 2010 isn't really an overstatement.

    Best track: Runaway
    Exact Score: 9.3
    Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2015
    10
    An instant classic, this album his Kanye's best work along with College dropout. A masterpiece in Kanye's unique style of hip-hop, the album will be hard to beat for any artist in the years to come.
  4. Apr 23, 2015
    10
    Basically this is a model of a perfect album, as far as showcasing talent Kanye West once again fails to disappoint. I'm not a critic, just a listener, and this was one of the only albums where I loved each and every song. Every single one of them, it was just awesome. From start to finish Yeezy did amazing, proving he is the greatest Rap Musician to ever live. 10/10 Album and a mustBasically this is a model of a perfect album, as far as showcasing talent Kanye West once again fails to disappoint. I'm not a critic, just a listener, and this was one of the only albums where I loved each and every song. Every single one of them, it was just awesome. From start to finish Yeezy did amazing, proving he is the greatest Rap Musician to ever live. 10/10 Album and a must listen. My favorite album of all time. Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2015
    10
    Perfectly album, elevanting hip hop to another plane.
    Cohesive innovative equilibrate, very well produced, nice raps.
    rfectly album, elevanting hip hop to another plane.
    Cohesive innovative equilibrate, very well produced, nice raps.
    rfectly album, elevanting hip hop to another plane.
    Cohesive innovative equilibrate, very well produced, nice raps.
  6. Mar 31, 2015
    5
    I am not a fan of the genre, but i like to appreciate some of the things it does, sadly this album is not one of them. As a musician i know there were some effort put on it on the production. But there is more effort than talent on the songs, and that's the huge problem. They are followed up by unexceptional (simple) chord progressions which i have nothing against, because some artistsI am not a fan of the genre, but i like to appreciate some of the things it does, sadly this album is not one of them. As a musician i know there were some effort put on it on the production. But there is more effort than talent on the songs, and that's the huge problem. They are followed up by unexceptional (simple) chord progressions which i have nothing against, because some artists have develop it really well. They did on the album, but they didn't went that far so it became repetitive and unispiring. The lyrics are above average but they are not exceptional, maybe If you haven't listen to great songwriters like Peter Gabriel, Serrat, David Bowie, etc., you may think they are great, but in reality, no. So again i see a critically acclaimed album by critics (maybe they were paid) and listeners that makes me doubt again of the credibility of Metacritic. I love music and i am not restricted to a particular genre, but i recognize something and give credit to it when i think it deserves it, and in my opinión, it doesn't deserves any. Expand
  7. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    8.6/10................................................................................................................................................
  8. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    THE GREATEST ALBUM DEFINING THE DECADE (2010s). The milestone of this album impeccable feat cannot be reached. It is not a simple mathematical rap album. You cannot compare it to any usual rap phenomenon. I speak as a fan of MUSIC when i say this, Kanye West has blessed the world with excellence. Geniuses have a right to be arrogant, "egotistical". Each song is a perfect example of hardTHE GREATEST ALBUM DEFINING THE DECADE (2010s). The milestone of this album impeccable feat cannot be reached. It is not a simple mathematical rap album. You cannot compare it to any usual rap phenomenon. I speak as a fan of MUSIC when i say this, Kanye West has blessed the world with excellence. Geniuses have a right to be arrogant, "egotistical". Each song is a perfect example of hard work, art, and creativity. Anyone who studies music, architecture, and modeling, can hear it in this sound. The album is a body of work that tells you its going to be better from now on, Who will survive in America? Expand
  9. Mar 18, 2015
    10
    You don't even have to be a hip hop fan to like this album. His ability to mix so many elements into his music is powerful. He even manages to have great guest appearances and substantial and honest lyrics. Kanye West has achieved his greatest work with "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy". It is truly a MASTERPIECE!!!
  10. Mar 11, 2015
    10
    Probably the greatest comeback in music history, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' proves that Kanye West still has it. With all the backlash against him after Taylor-gate, he somehow managed a hip-hop masterpiece. With its confessional lyrics and beautiful production to make them, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' screams the truth about Kanye West: he may be a douchebag and knows it,Probably the greatest comeback in music history, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' proves that Kanye West still has it. With all the backlash against him after Taylor-gate, he somehow managed a hip-hop masterpiece. With its confessional lyrics and beautiful production to make them, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' screams the truth about Kanye West: he may be a douchebag and knows it, but still remains one of the best rappers of his time. Expand
  11. Mar 7, 2015
    10
    I was a Kanye hater until I listened to this album for the first time, back in 2014. I thought "he's not talented, what a gay fish", until I listened to this album. This album revived my interest in Hip-Hop, and mvoed me away from listening exclusively to metal so I could expand my musical tastes. It's like a breath of fresh air, this album.

    Kanye's one of, if not, the most influential
    I was a Kanye hater until I listened to this album for the first time, back in 2014. I thought "he's not talented, what a gay fish", until I listened to this album. This album revived my interest in Hip-Hop, and mvoed me away from listening exclusively to metal so I could expand my musical tastes. It's like a breath of fresh air, this album.

    Kanye's one of, if not, the most influential rap artist of the 21st century. He took a genre which was desperately in need of a re-vamp, and successfully pulled it off with the release of four albums before "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy".

    MBDTF is dark, unforgiving, grand, and uses imagery which only Kanye West could pull off. It's a culmination of all of his frustrations in the 21st Century. Themes include celebrity, consumerism, the culture surrounding hip-hop, fidelity, and West's career.

    The album features appearances from Raekwon, Rick Ross, Nicki Minaj, and John Legend, each of the tracks they feature on are highlights for me.

    This is just a perfect album. One of few I've ever listened to.

    A clear 10 for me.
    Expand
  12. Feb 26, 2015
    0
    How this man managed to pull the wool over so many peoples' eyes is anyone's guess. From the awkwardly-sampled stolen beats and riffs to the stuttered, a-rhythmic "rapping," this album is a mess. I recognize that rhyming is a bendable concept when it comes to popular music, but words do not rhyme with themselves and repeated phrases do not you Robert Frost make.

    West had trouble getting
    How this man managed to pull the wool over so many peoples' eyes is anyone's guess. From the awkwardly-sampled stolen beats and riffs to the stuttered, a-rhythmic "rapping," this album is a mess. I recognize that rhyming is a bendable concept when it comes to popular music, but words do not rhyme with themselves and repeated phrases do not you Robert Frost make.

    West had trouble getting others to accept his rapping at first, and for good reason. I will admit that I am not a big fan of rap at all, but it has its place; Kanye doesn't seem to know that place. He passes off his jarring, conversational, I'm-trying-to-explain-philosophy-in-my-college-discussion-section-while-drunk voice as music and it just doesn't fly. Rap works when you're doing things with your voice not possible when singing. Kanye simply does things with his voice not pleasant either way.

    I can only hope that this overwhelming delusion the general public and so many reviewers seem to suffer from is a passing fad. I can only hope in 10 years we'll look back on this like many now do on Will Smith and say, "We listened to what?" I can only hope this isn't this generation's legacy.
    Expand
  13. Jan 17, 2015
    10
    Kanye West does it again and this album shows that after the Taylor Swift incident and made a big comeback. The production on the album showcased Kanye's ability to outshine on the boards and it also showed me that Kanye is truly great
  14. Jan 13, 2015
    5
    Has a few good songs, but the style is repetetive and gets annoying very quickly.

    This album has a group confirmation-bias cult following, but in reality it's not that great.
    Production was very good, deserving of a 9-10, but the lyrical content and performance of Kanye were Good at best.
  15. Jan 8, 2015
    10
    Kanye West is called many things by many people but at the end of the day he is an incredible artist and My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is just brilliant. What takes real talent and what makes you a great artist is when you know what real talent sounds like. On tracks like Lost in World, Runaway, and Monster, West allows for younger upcoming talent to truly prove why they belong on thisKanye West is called many things by many people but at the end of the day he is an incredible artist and My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is just brilliant. What takes real talent and what makes you a great artist is when you know what real talent sounds like. On tracks like Lost in World, Runaway, and Monster, West allows for younger upcoming talent to truly prove why they belong on this album. At times they even out do the man whose name is on the cover the album. West tells us about love and what it's like going through a relationship and it's one of the main reasons why I love music. This album not only proves that West is genius but it also proves why rap is a true art form and is something that can truly mean something. West has created one of the greatest albums of all time and will forever keep the name Kanye West in the music world as someone who simply knows and makes good music. Expand
  16. Dec 10, 2014
    10
    greatest album of all time gcfgfffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
  17. Dec 8, 2014
    10
    This classic stands at Mr. West's greatest work so far, as his sonic abilities and witty lyricism has raised the bar on a genre that already had a high bar to begin with. Easily the greatest hip-hop record I've ever listened to, and my favorite album to boot, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is unbelievable in every single aspect. The greatest track is his nine-minute emotional rollerThis classic stands at Mr. West's greatest work so far, as his sonic abilities and witty lyricism has raised the bar on a genre that already had a high bar to begin with. Easily the greatest hip-hop record I've ever listened to, and my favorite album to boot, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is unbelievable in every single aspect. The greatest track is his nine-minute emotional roller coaster midway through the album, "Runaway." Expand
  18. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    I have not yet given an album a 10/10, simply because I believe that sets a standard for everything else I will rate. I gave MBDTF a 10 because I find it is worthy of being that standard. Some people may dislike Kanye West, in fact many hate him, but it is undeniable that the man is a great artist. I believe this album has the ability to resonate with absolutely anyone, so long as theyI have not yet given an album a 10/10, simply because I believe that sets a standard for everything else I will rate. I gave MBDTF a 10 because I find it is worthy of being that standard. Some people may dislike Kanye West, in fact many hate him, but it is undeniable that the man is a great artist. I believe this album has the ability to resonate with absolutely anyone, so long as they listen to it. Not only that, but a listener will be graced with a glimpse into the mind of the artist himself. This is a masterpiece that will stand the test of time. And a masterpiece that may be more appreciated in the future than it is now. Expand
  19. Oct 20, 2014
    10
    Kanye's best production yet. Anyone who can get Nicki Minaj and Rick Ross to spit at least passable rhymes is worth listening to, especially when coupled with great King Crimson and Aphex Twin samples. In retrospect, while Yeezus was very good, this album has fewer terrible lyrics; less black dick in your spouse and more classic nights. Chief Keef does not take a festering auto-tunedKanye's best production yet. Anyone who can get Nicki Minaj and Rick Ross to spit at least passable rhymes is worth listening to, especially when coupled with great King Crimson and Aphex Twin samples. In retrospect, while Yeezus was very good, this album has fewer terrible lyrics; less black dick in your spouse and more classic nights. Chief Keef does not take a festering auto-tuned dump all over any songs either. This album will probably be (if you could even imagine it) more critically acclaimed in the distant future than it was in 2010. He's the only truly amazing modern pop star, and this album is up there with the best rock, pop, and hip hop albums. Expand
  20. Oct 20, 2014
    0
    This album was really nothing special. More of the same for Kanye, which sucks because I really thought he was one of the more revolutionary artists of our time. Oh well, at least he has some good old stuff.
  21. Oct 1, 2014
    10
    One of the best hip-hop records of all time without a doubt.
    And the entire controversy around the album art and the lyrics are a freaking joke sparked by misguided feminists and trolls.
  22. Aug 19, 2014
    8
    Woww. This is really good. He has a lot of different elements,transparent themes. And the subject matter is explored. The music ranges alot which is really awesome. Songs got a funky rythm with some occasionly raunchy (in a bad way rthyms). But all in all Kanye has done a good job.
  23. Jul 16, 2014
    8
    "Graduation" has more of my favourite Kanye songs, but as an album, this here is probably his finest hour. It has some standout tracks but works best as an album with the collective parts coming together perfectly. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is not only bursting with creativity but with epic tunes and melodies as well. Lyrically, Kanye is on top form and matches the quality of the"Graduation" has more of my favourite Kanye songs, but as an album, this here is probably his finest hour. It has some standout tracks but works best as an album with the collective parts coming together perfectly. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is not only bursting with creativity but with epic tunes and melodies as well. Lyrically, Kanye is on top form and matches the quality of the music. You have to take your hat off to the man when you listen to this - its pure brilliance. Expand
  24. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    A controversial artist makes an album studying himself as an artist, and creates the Illmatic of the 21st century. It's something we've never heard before, with every single featured artist making the most of their time to shine. Kanye even spits some of his best verses in his career (gone off lr is still his best). The album features incredible production, which, in my opinion surpassesA controversial artist makes an album studying himself as an artist, and creates the Illmatic of the 21st century. It's something we've never heard before, with every single featured artist making the most of their time to shine. Kanye even spits some of his best verses in his career (gone off lr is still his best). The album features incredible production, which, in my opinion surpasses most production from the golden era of 90's rap. Is it the best hip hop album ever as Kanye claims it to be? Not quite.. but it's pretty damn close.

    Edit 2014: This is definitely my favourite hip hop album of all time now.
    Expand
  25. Jun 4, 2014
    9
    When this album came out in 2010 i only heard a few songs from it and they where catchy, so i decided to give this album a listen, and wasn't disappointed. kanye did most of the production on this, it was very well done. kanye flow changes throughout the tracks. I'm really liking the tracks gorgeous,power and runaway all of the lights is catchy too. each track on this has its own uniqueWhen this album came out in 2010 i only heard a few songs from it and they where catchy, so i decided to give this album a listen, and wasn't disappointed. kanye did most of the production on this, it was very well done. kanye flow changes throughout the tracks. I'm really liking the tracks gorgeous,power and runaway all of the lights is catchy too. each track on this has its own unique feel to it like on the track runaway the instrumental is really nice, along with a few verses from Kanye, Pusha T verse was a stand for sure. the track blame game is Kanye telling a story about a relationship which he does well with John Legend signing the chorus fits in with the theme of the song. the guests singers/rappers on this are good they seem to fit in alright, especially on the track so appalled with a group of rappers delivering hard hitting verses. the rest of the track on this are good. definitely check this album out. Expand
  26. TEM
    May 21, 2014
    10
    The best album of all time hands down. This proves that Kanye is a genius. The song Runaway is enough to give this album a 10/10 but, every other track is just pure perfection.
  27. May 3, 2014
    10
    If someone told me to play a single rap album for them, I would play them this.
    This album sort of defines the rap genre for me similar to how Dark Side of The Moon defines rock and roll. So Appalled, Devil in a New Dress, and Runaway may be my favourite three song streak of all time.
  28. May 3, 2014
    10
    Kanye West does everything right on this album.

    The incredibly luscious and grandiose production combines the greatness off all his previous albums. The soulfulness of his early work and the electronic influences of the Graduation- and 808s & Heartbreak-eras. Lyrically Kanye explores the contrasting juxtaposition between self-aggrandizement, and self-doubt and self-loathing.
    Kanye West does everything right on this album.

    The incredibly luscious and grandiose production combines the greatness off all his previous albums. The soulfulness of his early work and the electronic influences of the Graduation- and 808s & Heartbreak-eras.

    Lyrically Kanye explores the contrasting juxtaposition between self-aggrandizement, and self-doubt and self-loathing.

    Adding to that, Kanye brings in a number of guest-features with incredible features (bar Swizz Beats - I'm sorry buddy, but you should stay behind the board).

    This is a musical masterpiece.
    Expand
  29. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    The best album Kanye has ever made. Hands down. In my opinion he will never make a better album than this, Yeezus does not even come close to this great album. There is never a dull moment with this album, all the tracks fit together perfectly, and will go down in history as one of the greatest albums ever made. Kanye West is a musical/creative genius.
  30. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    Do ever think on the perspective of an artist when an albums out, what must be going through their mind as its been released. Today for some its all about meeting the contract terms of the record label and just simply having good numbers in its 1st week. Someone who always sets the bar high in hip hop on a regular basis believes perfection is one thing to always take away when recordingDo ever think on the perspective of an artist when an albums out, what must be going through their mind as its been released. Today for some its all about meeting the contract terms of the record label and just simply having good numbers in its 1st week. Someone who always sets the bar high in hip hop on a regular basis believes perfection is one thing to always take away when recording art such as the likes of Kanye. Do I need to repeat my love for My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy and how its a serious contender for Album Of The Decade, YESSSSS!!!! An intro so epic and intense as Dark Fantasy with the likes of Nicki Minaj giving a Roald Dahl inspirised rhyme of entering Kanye's "Fantasy" is jaw dropping at first listen. Referred to putting in 5000 hours on "Power" to the beautiful charismatic "Runaway" to Chris Rock bootlegging copies on "Blame Game" lets not forget falling in love with Porn stars on "Hell Of A Life" the honestly and courage shown in his lyrics is a huge gain from his previous works. Bursting into the scene with College Dropout after working with Jay-Z in his early years his personality has changed now as well as his ego. With money an flowing into his bank account we all know its comes down to the absolute core when good music is concerned. Joined by the likes of Jay-Z, Raekwon, Elton John...yes Elton John he has crafted something special. Ambition is a trait we all have in us but using it takes skill and hard work. From start to finish you are reliving an epic never before told story of a man at the pinnacle heights of his powers and you will truly be touched. Albums come and go but this will easily be considered one of the greatest albums ever to be released in hip-hop.....scratch that of all time. In Power the sample of King Crimson's 21st century schizoid man is used for a reason and can't lie this album is going to be talked about for years to come. Bravo Kanye [A+] Expand
  31. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    I am not the biggest rap fan, but Kanye West always seems to know what he's doing. MBDTF, at the time of it's release, was like a revelation to the rap world. It wasn't a rap album, it was music. It was beautiful. It was intense, and it was a hell of a lot to take on. Now four years later, the album still holds strong. It's still Kanye's most mature effort, with ideas that span along MoneyI am not the biggest rap fan, but Kanye West always seems to know what he's doing. MBDTF, at the time of it's release, was like a revelation to the rap world. It wasn't a rap album, it was music. It was beautiful. It was intense, and it was a hell of a lot to take on. Now four years later, the album still holds strong. It's still Kanye's most mature effort, with ideas that span along Money and Power, to Lost Love, to people's destruction of our country. The title of the album describes it better than anything else. Though it doesn't have the longevity that would be liked. Some of the songs are a bit tedious to listen to now. And thus is why it takes some marks off.

    A-
    Expand
  32. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    For everyone joking around Yeezus, I simply point to this album as a true example of Kanye's gift of making music. This album, to this day is pure brilliance with great beats and a powerful messages that convey the artist that Kanye West truly is.
  33. Mar 26, 2014
    0
    All hype and no substance.

    That basically sums up what I think of this album and of the artist. Kanye West is a rapper who can't rap (can't even enunciate properly), a songwriter who doesn't write songs ("sampling" and using a stable of credited writers), a producer who uses auto tune to fix his garbage.

    You know an album is dreck when Pitchfork likes it.
  34. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You can listen to it straight through. not one bad track. closest album to perfection. maad city is the only album even close. Filled with hits like power, all of the lights, runaway. Yet it is filled with some of his best songs EVER including dark fantasy, all of the lights, monster. Expand
  35. Feb 6, 2014
    9
    This album is definitely one of the best albums of my generation. Great lyrics, production and features on the album. Kanye brings his talent to the table when it came to songs like "Gorgeous", "Runaway", "Hell Of A Life" & "So Appalled". The production is marvelous. It makes me appreciate Kanye's work a lot more. This is one of my favorite albums of all time. This album is a must listen.
  36. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    MBDTF is masterful work of art. Every track fits together perfectly, enabling Kanye to show the public what's inside his mind. This album ranks among the best hip-hop albums of all time.

    Best track: "Runaway"
    Other tracks that stand out: "Power", "Monster", and well.. everything else
  37. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    Kanye West at his prime. This album is a masterpiece on every aspect. This instant classic has raised the bar for hip hop by revolutionizing the genre.
  38. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    May be the greatest collection of songs I've ever listened to. Lyrics and production are incredible. If you don't like this album you're wrong. This album will be something that in 20 or 30 years we will look back on and say that it was one of the best of all time. Kanye is a musical genius.
  39. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    First CD I bought with my own money. Classic! Yep... I have no idea why you would want 150 characters to explain this CD. This is a great release from Yeezy. OH YES finally, now I can post this :D Thank you Kanye, please make more stuff like this
  40. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Certainly his greatest work. A masterpiece from a genius artist not only in the art of hip hop and rap but in all of music. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is one of the greatest albums of all time.
  41. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Great album. Amazing display of music. Lyric wise it's still a great album and every song is a hit. Not for one second did I not enjoy listening to this album with songs like gorgeous, power, monster and runaway it's hard to not enjoy it. It's no a super long album either, you don't get bored half way through.
  42. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Kanye West doesn't fail. He hasn't yet and he probably never will. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy shows a different kinda Kanye. No sane man could've written this album. It's flawless to the teeth. Each track is a hip hop masterpiece. The lyrics are raw, the production is exquisite, this album is a landmark in music history. All In All, Twisted Fantasy is flawless in every aspect. A
  43. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Once you dive into this album, you'll grasp why he holds the label "musical genius." This album is a culmination and a bringing together of everything Kanye has accomplished as a rapper and a producer. "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" is an epic mixture of "Late Registration," "Graduation," and "808's and Heartbreak." Kanye raps with some of his best verses to date, produces unrealOnce you dive into this album, you'll grasp why he holds the label "musical genius." This album is a culmination and a bringing together of everything Kanye has accomplished as a rapper and a producer. "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" is an epic mixture of "Late Registration," "Graduation," and "808's and Heartbreak." Kanye raps with some of his best verses to date, produces unreal beats, and truly brings out the best of all the features he brings in. Truly a hip hop classic, a game changer, and his best album to date. Expand
  44. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    My all-time favorite album. The deterioration of a man (Kanye), but with a hopeful tone. This album is life. If there is ever such a "perfect" album, this is it.
  45. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    The best hip-hop album ever. Took me by surprise if I'm honest. Was blown away when started to listen to it and I just can't get enough. It will probably never get old. Perfect forever.
  46. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    I'd put this in the top 10 albums of all time and for sure the best rap album ever. Kanye always bring something fresh and this time he decided to make the perfect album
  47. Aoi
    Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time.
  48. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Is there anything I can really praise about this album that hasn't already been said over and over again? It's career-defining in every sense of the word, and rightfully so.
  49. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    There are two types of people in this world: people who acknowledge that Kanye West is brilliant (even though he may be an a$$hole), and people who are wrong. This album is one of only a couple hip hop records that I can honestly say changed my life, it deserved to be the best rated album of 2010.
  50. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Arguably the pinnacle of modern hip-hop, Kanye's production and creativity have reached unseen heights in MBDTF. Seriously, give it a listen, and keep giving it the attention it deserves. This album is damn good.
  51. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    Kanye should've have won the Grammy of album and song of year with this album. One of the best Albums is last decade. The composition, production, vocal arrangements are flawless; it has its weak points with like So appalled and Devil in a new dress, but the rest of the songs are amazing. The mixture of classic music with Rock and Hip-Hop makes this album unique. Kanye really outdidKanye should've have won the Grammy of album and song of year with this album. One of the best Albums is last decade. The composition, production, vocal arrangements are flawless; it has its weak points with like So appalled and Devil in a new dress, but the rest of the songs are amazing. The mixture of classic music with Rock and Hip-Hop makes this album unique. Kanye really outdid himself with a production like this. And proved that he's a musical genius. Expand
  52. Jun 26, 2013
    0
    Guy is such a tool it's not even funny.
    He has no talent whatsoever.
    Seriously people if you think this is music or that this guy is anything more than a hip-hop hack, you're delusional.
  53. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    I hadn't really listened to Kanye West's music, I'd heard some of his big hits and quite enjoyed them but his music isn't usually to my taste. I thought I'd give MBDTF a try due to all the praise, which set my expectations quite high, but they were blown away. This album is brilliant. Great lyrics, fantastic music. Devil in a New Dress is my personal favourite from the album, it blew myI hadn't really listened to Kanye West's music, I'd heard some of his big hits and quite enjoyed them but his music isn't usually to my taste. I thought I'd give MBDTF a try due to all the praise, which set my expectations quite high, but they were blown away. This album is brilliant. Great lyrics, fantastic music. Devil in a New Dress is my personal favourite from the album, it blew my mind.

    Overall, one of the best albums I've heard for a while.
    Expand
  54. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Not only is this Kanye's best album (in my opinion) but it's also arguably the gold standard for alternative hip-hop. Every single track on here resonates with me and has a uniqueness about it. There's no filler here, this is a masterpiece. Believe the hype.
  55. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    This is one of the best and most ambitious albums that I have heard in the past couple of years. Kanye West is the Michael Jackson of present times.

    Kanye did a absolutely beautiful job promoting this album. From the Good Friday releases to the multiple big performances, this album had a lot of hype behind it. Its safe to say that this album came through big time. The production is
    This is one of the best and most ambitious albums that I have heard in the past couple of years. Kanye West is the Michael Jackson of present times.

    Kanye did a absolutely beautiful job promoting this album. From the Good Friday releases to the multiple big performances, this album had a lot of hype behind it. Its safe to say that this album came through big time.

    The production is the main driving force behind this album. From the very triumphant production on "Power" to the guitar solo on "Devil in a New Dress" everything works very well. The only songs where the production wasn't all that innovative was on "Monster" and "Gorgeous".

    The raps and features on this album are great. Pusha T on "Runaway" is a great contradiction to Kanye's raps. Nicki Minaj destroys the Monster verse. Jay-Z brings one of his best verses in recent memory on "So Appalled". Chris Rock on "Blame Game" is hilarious.

    Minor problems I have are with the song "Gorgeous" and length of the songs. "Gorgeous" has a great message and raps behind it from Kanye, but the beat is a typically Kid Cudi beat and its safe to say that I am not a Kid Cudi fan. Songs like Hell of a Life and Runaway are great, yet they overstay their welcome. Both could be shortened by two or three minutes.

    This is one of raps best albums in the past couple of years, and maybe the best production that we have ever heard on a rap album.
    Expand
  56. May 23, 2013
    9
    No duds, a couple songs (2) that aren't great, but all songs at least good. Some of Kanye's best work yet, and that's saying a lot. Overall his second best album and one of the best the hip hop world has ever seen.
  57. May 10, 2013
    10
    The perfect album. Simply put. Nothing more. Nothing less. This is art. Not hip-hop. Not any genre. Just art. A piece of art that we're lucky Kanye only made us pay $9.99 for it. This album is worth at least $100. But I digress. Its beautiful. In any way.
  58. May 5, 2013
    10
    It's hard to know where to start talking about a record like this in all honesty. Never before have I heard an album that combines so much ambition, creativity, genius, hubris and darkness with so much skill, restraint and care to prevent it from collapsing under its own weight. Albums like this should implode, become disasters, and exist as nothing but unfinished, shelved projects thatIt's hard to know where to start talking about a record like this in all honesty. Never before have I heard an album that combines so much ambition, creativity, genius, hubris and darkness with so much skill, restraint and care to prevent it from collapsing under its own weight. Albums like this should implode, become disasters, and exist as nothing but unfinished, shelved projects that live among public myths as rubble, wreckage and hopes of what might have been. But this is Kanye West, and this is My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.

    Kanye never loses control of the ambition, or the creation or the experimentation. He creates a level all of his own in this respect despite having so many guest producers, collaborators, range of song styles and song writers. To putt it simply, Kanye’s ability to be so incredibly introspective and self-aware keeps his 2010 release interesting right up until the last note. In this case, Kanye is the man stood on the side of the street juggling knives, bowling balls and pieces of fruit while others stand and wait for him to drop everything. But his character, ego and personality shine through and manifest themselves through sampling artistry, a grasp of a range of atmosphere that hasn't been mirrored since its 2010 release and an effective ear for pop and hip-hop's most positive traits.

    Thanks, Kanye. I'll let you finish.
    Expand
  59. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    This is both Kanye West's best album and the joint best album of 2010 (with Arcade Fire's The Suburbs). Each song on the album deals with fame, power, money and can be seen as Kanye's autobiography, he relies on autotune for most of the album which, despite its annoyance in certain cases, works for the album since it relies heavily on some impressive synthesiser work. If you like hip-hop,This is both Kanye West's best album and the joint best album of 2010 (with Arcade Fire's The Suburbs). Each song on the album deals with fame, power, money and can be seen as Kanye's autobiography, he relies on autotune for most of the album which, despite its annoyance in certain cases, works for the album since it relies heavily on some impressive synthesiser work. If you like hip-hop, this is a must have; if you don't then buy Arcade Fire, and then this. Expand
  60. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    An amazing album, probably the best rap album ever created on the face of the Earth, Kanye West provides an amazing sounding rap album and nails every line of every verse, making this a fun album to listen to. Its absolutely incredible.
  61. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    To put this in a few words, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' is the Greatest Hip-Hop Album of the 21st Century. Take this into account, 'The College Dropout' and 'Late Registration' are two influential hip-hop Masterpieces that live on though music forever, and this album (My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy) is better than both of them... That's got to mean something...
  62. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    If this album was weird to you at first, listen to it again. And again, until you understand that this is epic as hell. Epic as hell in every sense possible.
  63. Duu
    Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This album was an all-time classic from the moment it was released. The very first time I heard it, I knew it was a classic. It was as obvious as the sun in the sky is: nothing like it had been heard before in terms of hip-hop music.
  64. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    My personal all-time favourite. Some of the best production in the history of rap. The ambition of this album cannot be understated. Don't listen to it as 13 songs, but rather listen to it as one cohesive, beautiful piece of music.
  65. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    After the mixed bag that was 808s & Heartbreaks, Kanye went on to release the best album of his career, titled My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. One of the greatest albums of all time, MBDTF combines orchestral and thematic pop with the Kanye we all know and love. The album shows a two sided Kanye; a tortured star rapping about his life and revealing his inner emotions, and aAfter the mixed bag that was 808s & Heartbreaks, Kanye went on to release the best album of his career, titled My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. One of the greatest albums of all time, MBDTF combines orchestral and thematic pop with the Kanye we all know and love. The album shows a two sided Kanye; a tortured star rapping about his life and revealing his inner emotions, and a braggadocious rapper showing of all the girls and money he gets. You really get a sense of Kanye's world and what has led him to the point of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. There is not one note of this album that is out of place. Even the 9 minute epic Runaway feels completely natural and unforced. This is hip hop art, and Kanye West at his best. Expand
  66. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    A modern classic this. The Sgt. Peppers of hip-hop. Great melodies and hooks abound, a wealth of styles, moods and layers of production that reward repeated listening. My only gripes are with Kanye's lyrics, namely his trademark rhyming the same word over 2-3 lines, that really rubs me up the wrong way. Then there's the Chris Rock sketch at the end of Blame Game, wasn't funny the firstA modern classic this. The Sgt. Peppers of hip-hop. Great melodies and hooks abound, a wealth of styles, moods and layers of production that reward repeated listening. My only gripes are with Kanye's lyrics, namely his trademark rhyming the same word over 2-3 lines, that really rubs me up the wrong way. Then there's the Chris Rock sketch at the end of Blame Game, wasn't funny the first time, incredibly annoying on successive listens. These problems aside there are still more than enough solid gold moments to still make this an incredible album. Expand
  67. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    As an artist My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is definitely Kanye West's best work yet. Kanye puts together what he did in his previous 4 albums and creates this master piece.
  68. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Hip-Hop relies on innovation - constant progression is essential for its vitality. This single characteristic makes it one of the most interesting of the new genres that the late 20th century has spawned. Just look at how much it has changed throughout the years - the 70's (Disco, comedy influences), the 80's (Jazz/Rock/Soul influences, rich storytelling), the 90's (hard-nosed, oftenHip-Hop relies on innovation - constant progression is essential for its vitality. This single characteristic makes it one of the most interesting of the new genres that the late 20th century has spawned. Just look at how much it has changed throughout the years - the 70's (Disco, comedy influences), the 80's (Jazz/Rock/Soul influences, rich storytelling), the 90's (hard-nosed, often political lyricism, heavy drums, post-Jazz influences) and... and... then it stopped. The 2000's are often regarded as the decade of downfall for Hip-Hop, and, although that's not entirely true, there is some validity behind the argument - the progression throughout the decade was not as evident. Sure, there were the stars (Eminem, 50 Cent, Ludacris), but, overall, only two major forces in mainstream Hip-Hop showcased that progression in style that had become so rare - Outkast and Kanye West. Kanye was always changing - from the soul-influences of "College Dropout" to the melancholic electronic R&B of "808s & Heartbreak". This album, "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy", shows Kanye at his strongest - both lyrically and musically. Each song is entirely distinct and perfected to the highest degree . The 90's Gangsta Rap inspired (yet so seemingly modern) "Dark Fantasy", the Rock-influenced "Gorgeous" and, the album's centerpiece, "Runaway" - all these tracks fully showcase Kanye's thirst for progression and perfection, two aspects that are very rarely combined in perfection. Is it the best Hip-Hop album of all time? No. There is no best album. Is it the best produced Hip-Hop album of all time? Perhaps - it's definitely up there with "The Chronic" and "Stankonia". Is it a great album that's worthy of your attention? Definitely.

    10/10
    Expand
  69. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    If there was ever a definition of a "modern day classic" this would be it. If you don't own this album then you must buy it now. Kanye West bares his soul in an album so bold it will never get old. I come from a guitar based background but this album is extraordinary.
  70. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    An album this meticulously crafted, this unique, this complex, and this endlessly emotional and thrilling deserves all the praise for generations and generations I'm sure it will get; it's a milestone in hip-hop - bending the genre and making it the personal, soulful thing it always aims to be.
  71. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest hip hop albums of all time. Kanye West is a pure genius and it showed in this beautiful piece of art - yes, it is art, not just music. Life-altering stuff on there.
  72. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest albums of the millenium. Every song is different, yet still great. Kanye's rapping, the guest verses, production... it's all great. I really like the aggressively exciting feeling the album gives off. Lost in the World is the best song I've ever heard.
  73. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    AMAZING !!! BRILLIANT !!! Before this album had no opinion about Kanye but after hearing My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy I was completely amazed !!!!!
    If you don't like hip-hop you have to hear this album because I started to love Kanye !
  74. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    20 years from now, when people look back on hip-hop music, and how it's evolved over the years, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy will be looked at as a game changer. In fact, it very well could be grouped along with albums such as 36 chambers and Illmatic as one of the greatest albums in the history of the genre. With this album, West creates a groundbreaking work that has been previously20 years from now, when people look back on hip-hop music, and how it's evolved over the years, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy will be looked at as a game changer. In fact, it very well could be grouped along with albums such as 36 chambers and Illmatic as one of the greatest albums in the history of the genre. With this album, West creates a groundbreaking work that has been previously unseen in the genre as far as artistry goes. The production is unbelievably different from any other hip hop album made, with the instrumentation having such a "real" sound to it, for lack of a better word. With My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Kanye expands the definition of hip-hop so broadly that many artists will look to this album as inspiration. The saying "hip hop isn't art" although already invalid; My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is probably the finest work of art the genre has seen. Expand
  75. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Kanye West is certainly not the most popular icon in pop culture, but he sure deserves his credit as not a rapper, but an artist. Calling Kanye a "rapper" is a prime example of an understatement. Each and every song on this album shows true artistic vision at it's finest. The least satisfying song on the album is "So Appalled", not because of the production, not because of the lyrics, butKanye West is certainly not the most popular icon in pop culture, but he sure deserves his credit as not a rapper, but an artist. Calling Kanye a "rapper" is a prime example of an understatement. Each and every song on this album shows true artistic vision at it's finest. The least satisfying song on the album is "So Appalled", not because of the production, not because of the lyrics, but because there is just not enough Kanye, his verse winds up being lost in the slew of features he collected for the song. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, simply put, is a masterpiece, a pop culture triumph, and deserves every bit of acclaim that it has received. Mr. West has yet again, shown growth, and truly remarkable artistry. Expand
  76. Jul 14, 2012
    0
    how anyone can listen 2 this album blows my mind, this is total crap, i mean kanye west is not cool, listen 2 real music, not some loser christian rapper or rappers with kids, i mean these people don't know when to quit, i wish i metsomeone who listens to this crap, holy shot **** kanye is awful, with his cocaine smile, and moody behavior, spoiled brat, u ain't no thug
  77. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The greatest gift music has given the earth is its expression. Some of the most beautiful, haunting music is inspired by the most painful moments of an individual's life, think of "For Emma, Forever Ago" or "Pinkerton". So it's no surprise that Kanye West's most inspired, maniacal, and inglorious music was made during a time when the whole world seemed to hate his guts. Sure President Obama repeatedly called him a "jackass" and Taylor Swift now probably throws darts at a picture of his face, but damn the music that resulted from all the self-loathing and self-pity from his self-enforced exile is impressive. Controversy suits Mr. West well, and amazingly the music featured steals the stop-light from his turbulent life. The opening "Dark Fantasy" boasts a triumphant, angelic chorus and sharp lyrical word play that references everything from "Family Matters" to The Kings of Leon, early fan favorite "POWER" is every bit magnificent and moving as its title suggests, "All of the Lights" is a mainstream ready single that features an elegant piano interlude, but it all builds up to the climax "Runaway". The song is hauntingly disarming. Its blunt, unforgiving, uncomfortable, and beautiful. This is the sound of West's life crystalized, it captures all the noisy chatter of the media and his self-hatred into a song that is real in a way that few songs can hope to achieve. All in all this album is a tour-de-deforce and easily West's best work. It may just make you forget whoever Kanye West is, because this isn't just the work of a man; it's the work of his soul. Expand
  78. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is a great album with well written and produced songs. It is truely a masterpiece. There isn't a bad son on the track at all. It's also nice how each song has a very nice and Lon length to it.
  79. May 31, 2012
    10
    In November of 2010, I was awaiting nothing more than Kanye West's My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. I'll admit, I was a little bit wary of the results, especially after the disappointment from listening to 808's. However, I found myself indulged in the greatest music I'd ever heard. From the only good thing Nicki Minaj has ever done (the intro of Dark Fantasy), the the powerful closingIn November of 2010, I was awaiting nothing more than Kanye West's My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. I'll admit, I was a little bit wary of the results, especially after the disappointment from listening to 808's. However, I found myself indulged in the greatest music I'd ever heard. From the only good thing Nicki Minaj has ever done (the intro of Dark Fantasy), the the powerful closing music under Gil Scott-Heron's Comment No. 1. Interspersed with good, marketable music, in addition to some amazing, less mainstream tracks, I found myself loving it the entire time. My personal favorite moments were Gorgeous, Devil in a New Dress, Runaway, and Lost In The World, all of which were staples in the rest of the album. This album is something completely different from most hip-hop we hear today, and is without a doubt one of the greatest, if not the greatest, albums I have ever listened to. Expand
  80. May 30, 2012
    9
    Explorations of Kanye West on the previous Graduation and 808s & Heartbreak pay on this fifth studio album, his best career. Not only do we find the efficiency of raw hip-hop's first efforts - pressing this flow and clever - but West maintains interest throughout the 69 minutes drive thanks to its ability to play with sounds (electric guitar, brass, piano, violins, electronic loops).Explorations of Kanye West on the previous Graduation and 808s & Heartbreak pay on this fifth studio album, his best career. Not only do we find the efficiency of raw hip-hop's first efforts - pressing this flow and clever - but West maintains interest throughout the 69 minutes drive thanks to its ability to play with sounds (electric guitar, brass, piano, violins, electronic loops). Guests and artists sampled (from King Crimson to Bon Iver, KiD CuDi through and Elton John) give an idea of the wide registry covered. Kanye gives birth and takes advantage of very great songs. Not convinced? Take a look at the movie Runaway, available on the web: 33 minutes of the best moments of the compact. Expand
  81. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    Kanye West was let loose on this concept-ish album, this is sooo Kanye. Crazy beats, self-centered lyrics, artsy and very technical with the production. This album is one of the greatest in rap history with classics like Runaway and Monster and will continue revolutionizing the rap game 5 years from now. The sole downside of this album is the inclusion of Swiss Beatz, one of the worstKanye West was let loose on this concept-ish album, this is sooo Kanye. Crazy beats, self-centered lyrics, artsy and very technical with the production. This album is one of the greatest in rap history with classics like Runaway and Monster and will continue revolutionizing the rap game 5 years from now. The sole downside of this album is the inclusion of Swiss Beatz, one of the worst performers in rap history, but even his part is limited. All in all, this album is a classic and I'm glad I was a fan when it came out. Expand
  82. Apr 20, 2012
    10
    'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' is Kanyes masterpiece, so unique and wonderfully crafted that it's easy to understand it's critical success.
    This 5th album once again shows Kanyes evolving nature, with the album (like his others) taking on it's own persona, sounding like no other Kanye album to date. It's this evolving style that makes Kanye seem so fresh each new release. Can't wait
    'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' is Kanyes masterpiece, so unique and wonderfully crafted that it's easy to understand it's critical success.
    This 5th album once again shows Kanyes evolving nature, with the album (like his others) taking on it's own persona, sounding like no other Kanye album to date. It's this evolving style that makes Kanye seem so fresh each new release. Can't wait for his 6th studio album now.
    Expand
  83. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    A meticulously drawn sketch of perfection, Kanye West proves that he is on the top of the world, bringing in new and old friends all over the music world to aid with his magnum opus, he takes influences from Aphex Twin, Trent Reznor, Dr Dre and shows that he can deconstruct his ego to create something truly beautiful.
    The highlight of the album, Monster, is worth the ticket price alone,
    A meticulously drawn sketch of perfection, Kanye West proves that he is on the top of the world, bringing in new and old friends all over the music world to aid with his magnum opus, he takes influences from Aphex Twin, Trent Reznor, Dr Dre and shows that he can deconstruct his ego to create something truly beautiful.
    The highlight of the album, Monster, is worth the ticket price alone, with Jay Z's verse interlocking with West's production to unleash a few seconds of intelligent dance music, created from distorted samples and rap vocals, West has created something which is as advanced as technology and his brain can allow it to be; which places him above the rest.
    I give this album an 9 from a 10 for some unintelligent and unnecessarily vulgar lyrical content.
    Expand
  84. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    I'm not the type to just give out 10's to every album I please, but this is a record that truly deserves it. Kanye went the extra mile to release one of the most compelling hip hop albums of all time, inspiring and ground breaking in every way possible. I'll be listening to this one for years to come.
  85. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    Kanye West's My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is a style all its own, a new form of hip-hop. Kanye makes intelligent collaborations with brilliant writers, both from and not from the hip-hop world, to create an album that astounds, sparkles, and surprises. The sound is very modern, very alternative, and very compatible to Kanye, making recording a breeze. Kanye is aware that his sound isKanye West's My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is a style all its own, a new form of hip-hop. Kanye makes intelligent collaborations with brilliant writers, both from and not from the hip-hop world, to create an album that astounds, sparkles, and surprises. The sound is very modern, very alternative, and very compatible to Kanye, making recording a breeze. Kanye is aware that his sound is noticeably different in this album, but recompenses by bringing his unique, powerful vocal swagger into the mix. The result? A subset of hip-hop, a sound that can be appreciated by all people from all walks of Earth (who also appreciate modern music). And the reason this album deserves a double-digit rating is because, although the sound may not be perfect, it can't be improved on. This album has been revised over and over until the perfect sound has been squeezed out. Overall, this album is by far the strongest album from Kanye, the strongest hip-hop album of the year, and arguably one of the best albums of the year. Expand
  86. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    I remember buying this album and putting into my car's CD player on the way back. The booming sounds of "Dark Fantasy" instantly had me hooked. As I kept listening, I was astonished at how good it was. Kanye sure does know how to make fantastic beats and samples. Not to mention he accompanies them with the perfect tone with the right lyrics. One of the best albums of the decade so far. TheI remember buying this album and putting into my car's CD player on the way back. The booming sounds of "Dark Fantasy" instantly had me hooked. As I kept listening, I was astonished at how good it was. Kanye sure does know how to make fantastic beats and samples. Not to mention he accompanies them with the perfect tone with the right lyrics. One of the best albums of the decade so far. The Grammy's got it wrong, and it should have definitely been at least nominated for Album of the Year. Expand
  87. Mar 20, 2012
    7
    I was skeptical about this one, I had never listened to West before. I was pleasantly surprised. While not the greatest thing ever as everyone seems to think, this album shows how West's production talents and some clever rhymes, but the reason it is rated at a 7 is because I find West annoying and he only cares and writes about himself. I listened to his other albums after this one, andI was skeptical about this one, I had never listened to West before. I was pleasantly surprised. While not the greatest thing ever as everyone seems to think, this album shows how West's production talents and some clever rhymes, but the reason it is rated at a 7 is because I find West annoying and he only cares and writes about himself. I listened to his other albums after this one, and him while he was still somewhat humble, he sounds better. I prefer his earlier albums to this one because of West. Expand
  88. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    I give it a perfect. It had many flaws but they blended so well. He was capable of creating 10+ different sounding songs, but yet put it together as one. Not to mention almost every song had radio play. Not to say that means anything, but just to say it can be playe in different enviromets.
  89. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    A staggering work of musical genius. A 75-plus minute jaunt through the inner thoughts and passions of a man ravaged by (much-publicized) tragedy. West does not pander to anyone's taste but his own, and the result is something so grandiose, gaudy and good that it practically demands to be identified as a masterpiece. A magnum opus that lives up to its title as West's "Beautiful DarkA staggering work of musical genius. A 75-plus minute jaunt through the inner thoughts and passions of a man ravaged by (much-publicized) tragedy. West does not pander to anyone's taste but his own, and the result is something so grandiose, gaudy and good that it practically demands to be identified as a masterpiece. A magnum opus that lives up to its title as West's "Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy". Expand
  90. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    I never thought one of my favorite hip-hop artists would be able to top his first two albums. This album shocked me in accomplishing that feat in only 12 actual tracks. The thematic elements illustrate the intricacies of fame and all that comes with it. West is at the zenith of creativity in his productivity, however the anthemic 'All of the Lights' is challenged by RZA's 'Dark Fantasy'I never thought one of my favorite hip-hop artists would be able to top his first two albums. This album shocked me in accomplishing that feat in only 12 actual tracks. The thematic elements illustrate the intricacies of fame and all that comes with it. West is at the zenith of creativity in his productivity, however the anthemic 'All of the Lights' is challenged by RZA's 'Dark Fantasy' for beat of the album. It's a moody, bombastic, visceral, gritty, polished package laced with West's trademark confidence and emotion. It's truly unfortunate this album was snubbed for an Album of the Year nomination. Expand
  91. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Holy **** And I mean holy **** Every track from Dark Fantasy to Who Will Survive In America is **** genius. Especially the song Runaway. Holy **** **** I think I shat my pants around the 5 minute part and then almost came when the song was over. This album sure is dark, twisted but unbelievably beautiful. LISTEN
  92. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    Not over-rated at all and deserving its recognition as one of the best mainstream hip-hop releases of the decade. My Beautiful... is complex, satisfying and overcooked in every possible way but its a natural progression to Kanye's swaggery and boastfulness in lyrical content to what essentially is one of the most epic releases of our generation while expanding the genre boundaries.
  93. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    My Beautiful Dark twisted Fantasy is the "Achtung Baby" of Kanye West albums. Forget what you already know about Kanye and his mic stealing antics. Kanye is more than just some rapper talking about "Living Young,Wild and Free or talking through a overly used Auto-tune (Though 808's and Heartbreaks was mostly auto-tuned). If rappers are modern day poets then Kanye West is the king of ModernMy Beautiful Dark twisted Fantasy is the "Achtung Baby" of Kanye West albums. Forget what you already know about Kanye and his mic stealing antics. Kanye is more than just some rapper talking about "Living Young,Wild and Free or talking through a overly used Auto-tune (Though 808's and Heartbreaks was mostly auto-tuned). If rappers are modern day poets then Kanye West is the king of Modern day poets! Expand
  94. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Kanye West as good as ever! Best Album 2010.
    A perfect mix between electro-pop ballad 'Runaway' , dynamic and energetic songs like 'POWER' and 'All of the Lights' and rocking sounds. Lyrics brilliant.
  95. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    This album totally changed my mind about Kanye West. Before the release of this album, I thought he was just another rapper trying to get fame and money and wasn't a true artist. However, one day I was on YouTube and I saw the Runaway video (the longest one, which features all the songs in the album) on the recommendation bar, and I decided to give it a chance. I was extremely shocked atThis album totally changed my mind about Kanye West. Before the release of this album, I thought he was just another rapper trying to get fame and money and wasn't a true artist. However, one day I was on YouTube and I saw the Runaway video (the longest one, which features all the songs in the album) on the recommendation bar, and I decided to give it a chance. I was extremely shocked at how good he was. After that, I bought MBDTF. This album is truly one the best I've heard. It is perfectly produced, the lyrics are deep and it really reinvents the term Hip-Hop. It's a shame that this album wasn't nominated by the Grammys for Album Of The Year. Expand
  96. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Yeezy leaves the country for a year and DEFINITELY comes back with a bang. This album is one of his best since Graduation! He managed to reinvent himself and his music yet again! 10/10
  97. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    I love this album. Kanye West once again showed us that he's one of the best musicians in music right now. MBDTF has many highlights: Dark fantasy, Blame game, Lost in the world, Runaway, All of the lights etc. I enjoyed the album. It's Kanye's heart served on a plate.
  98. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    Epic! West was able to incorporate your wounded soul in each one of these songs. Recovery really fancy, after all this pretentious Rapper lived. Unmissable and engaging!
  99. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy crawls into Kanye's psyche and shows his deepest emotions through beautiful soul, well-executed rap, and most importantly killer production.
  100. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    The BEST album of 2010. It's art, Hip-Hop, a masterpiece, creative, genius, and unique. It's hard for me to explain about this album. Great Production. This album was well though of and Kanye West took his time on the album and it has paid off. This album and Janelle Monae's album, The ArchAndroid, was the best albums of 2010!
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    West is far from rap's deftest lyricist but his neurotic grandstanding is compelling and often pretty funny to boot. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    100
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is genuinely a great record. [Feb. 2011, p. 108]