My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2010
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 1717 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 22, 2016
    9
    Love this album. It really shows how different Kanye's contemporary work is when compared to his older stuff. His newer raps have a much emphasis on production than lyrical wit.
  2. Jul 15, 2016
    10
    Best Songs: "Dark Fantasy", "Gorgeous" (feat. Kid Cudi and Raekwon), "POWER", "All of the Lights (Interlude)", "Monster" (feat. Jay-Z, Rick Ross, Nicki Minaj, and Bon Iver), "So Appalled" (feat. Swizz Beats, Jay-Z, Pusha T, Cyhi the Prynce, and RZA), "Devil in a New Dress" (feat. Rick Ross), "Runaway" (feat. Pusha T), "Hell of a Life", "Blame Game" (feat. John Legend), "Lost in the World"Best Songs: "Dark Fantasy", "Gorgeous" (feat. Kid Cudi and Raekwon), "POWER", "All of the Lights (Interlude)", "Monster" (feat. Jay-Z, Rick Ross, Nicki Minaj, and Bon Iver), "So Appalled" (feat. Swizz Beats, Jay-Z, Pusha T, Cyhi the Prynce, and RZA), "Devil in a New Dress" (feat. Rick Ross), "Runaway" (feat. Pusha T), "Hell of a Life", "Blame Game" (feat. John Legend), "Lost in the World" (feat. Bon Iver), "Who Will Survive in America"

    Worst Songs: "All of the Lights"
    Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2016
    10
    Best Kanye West album till today. No words to describe. It's just perfect. It's like an album which cones after decades.
    Favourite tracks - Lost in yhe World, Dark Fanrasy, All of the Lights, Blame Game, Devil in a New Dress
  4. May 6, 2016
    10
    Simply the best hip-hop album of all time - and easily one of the the bests one across all genres. Once again Mr. West successfully proves his place in the hall of fame of the greatest artists of all time. Though West's lyrics are far from the best we've heard in the rap game, the beautiful melodies and catchy beats across all of the songs stand in for the sometimes bit bland lyrics. NoneSimply the best hip-hop album of all time - and easily one of the the bests one across all genres. Once again Mr. West successfully proves his place in the hall of fame of the greatest artists of all time. Though West's lyrics are far from the best we've heard in the rap game, the beautiful melodies and catchy beats across all of the songs stand in for the sometimes bit bland lyrics. None of the songs actually stand out from the rest; the whole album is pure bliss and genious work of art. Nothing out is of it's place, and the great producing compliments the already 10/10 songs on the album. A true game changer. Easily the greatest album of the 2000's. Expand
  5. May 5, 2016
    10
    The prolific lyrics, the amazing production, and the sick collaborations all come together to create what is probably the best album of the decade so far. Any user who writes a negative review clearly hasn't understood that he's apologizing
  6. Apr 13, 2016
    10
    The greatest hip-hop album of the 21st century, a landmark moment for the entire rap genre and Kanye West's ultimate statement as a music artist. A true classic of the album art form.
  7. Mar 11, 2016
    9
    92/100. Probably my favorite Rap/Hip-Hop album ever.Kanye West brings us an amazing album here with songs that are emotional, radio-friendly, complex, innovative, and meaningful all at the same time. Say what you want about Kanye West, but the man puts out some really amazing music.
  8. Mar 8, 2016
    10
    I remember hearing Power and All of the Lights on radio stations couple of years ago and I liked them instantly.Production is absolutely magnificent,lyrics are unbelievable,the bars,the wordplay...astonishing!I wanted to listen to the whole album couple of weeks ago but Im stuck on first three songs because they are too dope.I don't know how will I be able to move on from DarkI remember hearing Power and All of the Lights on radio stations couple of years ago and I liked them instantly.Production is absolutely magnificent,lyrics are unbelievable,the bars,the wordplay...astonishing!I wanted to listen to the whole album couple of weeks ago but Im stuck on first three songs because they are too dope.I don't know how will I be able to move on from Dark Fantasy,Gorgeous and Power but I will try lol.Gorgeous has INCREDIBLE Instrumental.That guitar omg!!!! Expand
  9. Feb 24, 2016
    10
    I can't say anything about this album that hasn't been said before.

    This is the culmination of Rap music. It is 2016 and 6 years later every song still feels fresh and current.
    Each song meticulously places, start to finish, this is an album.
  10. Feb 22, 2016
    9
    I love this album to death. Not a big fan of rap or Kanye's personal affairs but I really enjoyed listening to the songs on this track. From its sound to the lyrics, this is easily one of my favorite albums of all time.
  11. Feb 16, 2016
    10
    Greatest album of all time, enough said. Incredible production, amazing features, and a godly flow that is second to none. Cannot begin to explain the effect this album has on listeners, it is a journey for everyone.
  12. Feb 14, 2016
    9
    Truly an absolute classic. This is the definition of Kanye, by far his best album and one of the best albums for an entire genre. If you are looking to start listening to hip-hop or have loved hip-hop for your whole life it is a must listen.
  13. Jan 31, 2016
    10
    Kanye West's 35-minute super-video, Runaway, peaks with a parade. Fireworks flash while red hoods march through a field. At the center of the spectacle is a huge, pale, cartoonish rendering of Michael Jackson's head. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy's gargantuan "All of the Lights" soundtracks the procession, with Kanye pleading, "Something wrong, I hold my head/ MJ gone, our **** dead."Kanye West's 35-minute super-video, Runaway, peaks with a parade. Fireworks flash while red hoods march through a field. At the center of the spectacle is a huge, pale, cartoonish rendering of Michael Jackson's head. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy's gargantuan "All of the Lights" soundtracks the procession, with Kanye pleading, "Something wrong, I hold my head/ MJ gone, our **** dead." The tribute marks another chapter in West's ongoing obsession with the King of Pop.
    West's discography contains innumerable references and allusions to Jackson. His first hit as a producer, Jay-Z's "Izzo (H.O.V.A.)", sampled the Jackson 5's "I Want You Back". For many, his first memorable lines as a rapper came during 2003's "Slow Jamz": "She got a light-skinned friend look like Michael Jackson/ Got a dark-skinned friend look like Michael Jackson." And when West's recent interview with Matt Lauer on the "Today" show went awry, he took to Twitter, writing, "I wish Michael Jackson had twitter!!!!!! Maybe Mike could have explained how the media tried to set him up!!! It's all a **** set up!!!!" Like most everything else, Kanye may exaggerate the kinship, but it's real. And it's never more apparent than on Twisted Fantasy, a blast of surreal pop excess that few artists are capable of creating, or even willing to attempt.

    To be clear, Kanye West is not Michael Jackson. As he told MTV last month, "I do have a goal in this lifetime to be the greatest artist of all time, [but] that's very difficult being that I can't dance or sing." He ended the thought with a laugh, but you get the impression he's not kidding. Unlike Michael, he's not interested in scrubbing away bits of himself-- his blackness, his candidness-- to appease the masses. And while Jackson's own twisted fantasies of paranoia and betrayal eventually consumed him whole, West is still aware of his illusions, though that mindfulness becomes increasingly unmoored with each newspaper-splashing controversy. The balance is tenuous, but right now it's working to his advantage. On Twisted Fantasy, Kanye is crazy enough to truly believe he's the greatest out there. And, about a decade into his career, the hardworking perfectionist has gained the talent on the mic and in the control room to make a startlingly strong case for just that.

    Kanye's last album, 2008's 808s and Heartbreak, was heavy on the Auto-Tune and stark synths, but relatively light on grandiose ideas. It was a necessary detour that expanded his emotional palette; a bloodletting after a harsh breakup and the passing of his mother that manifests itself in Twisted Fantasy's harshest lows. But musically, the new album largely continues where 2007's Graduation left off in its maximalist hip-hop bent, with flashes of The College Dropout's comfort-food sampling and Late Registration's baroque instrumentation weaved in seamlessly. As a result, the record comes off like a culmination and an instant greatest hits, the ultimate realization of his strongest talents and divisive public persona. And since the nerd-superstar rap archetype he popularized has now become commonplace, he leaves it in the dust, taking his style and drama to previously uncharted locales, far away from typical civilization.

    He's got a lot on his mind, too. After exiling himself for months following last year's infamous Taylor Swift stage bomb, the rapper made some of his first comeback appearances at the headquarters of Facebook and Twitter in late July. Videos of West standing on a table in tailored GQ duds while gesticulating through new rhymes (sans musical accompaniment) quickly made the rounds. The Silicon Valley visits seemed like a stunt, but they were prophetic. Forever an over-sharer, Kanye was looking for an outlet for his latest mirror-born musings. He found that platform with Twitter, and proceeded to dictate his own narrative in 140 character hits. Whether showing off exotic purchases, defending himself against the press, or going on stream-of-consciousness rants, Kanye finally had the middleman-free, instant-gratification platform he'd always wanted.

    Juiced on the direct connection, he began releasing weekly songs for free online, the generosity of which would be moot if the songs didn't deliver. But they did, over and over, eventually building up the same type of superstar goodwill Radiohead pulled off with their pay-what-you-want In Rainbows release plan and Lil Wayne's free mixtape barrage leading up to 2008's Tha Carter III. So while Kanye can't sing or dance like Michael, he's making meaningful connections in a fresh, oftentimes (ahem) naked way. "When I used to finish an album I would be so excited for my mom to hear the final - final!" he wrote on November 11. "The final - final is what we used to call the... completed album with all the skits!!! I made songs to please one person... MY MOM!!! I would think... would my my Mom like this song!" - Pitchfork
    Expand
  14. Jan 11, 2016
    10
    Might be my favorite album of all time, a musical experience like no other. Kanye west is one of the best artists of our century and he justifies that by coming up with a different sound every other year and dominating the music world.
  15. Dec 22, 2015
    6
    Um... I guess the production was cool, but what he's rapping about doesn't interest me much. I guess the project was "okay". I don't really see all the hype around this record to be honest.
  16. Dec 22, 2015
    9
    This is, without a doubt, Kanye's most complete, defined and breathtaking album to date. Everything on this record has a purpose and reason. A wild array of sounds from so many directions crash into one another and somehow, through sheer genius, come out as near to perfection as possible.

    There are some weaker moments, with some tracks that stand out a little less than others, but
    This is, without a doubt, Kanye's most complete, defined and breathtaking album to date. Everything on this record has a purpose and reason. A wild array of sounds from so many directions crash into one another and somehow, through sheer genius, come out as near to perfection as possible.

    There are some weaker moments, with some tracks that stand out a little less than others, but overall this album is a package of extraordinary songs that is both forward-thinking and compelling to listen to. "POWER", "All of the Lights", "Runaway", and "Lost in the World" are particular highlights, with synthetic sounds, orchestras and beats that blend into one another in spectacular style.

    There are moments of honesty, gloating, pain and regret. Throughout its 13 tracks, My Dark Twisted Fantasy is proof of extraordinary talent and ideas. Five years on and this album continues to delight. Whatever you may think of Kanye West, you cannot deny his talent as a producer and navigator of creative thinking.
    Expand
  17. Dec 19, 2015
    10
    My beautiful dark twisted fantasy is a real classic. Favourite tracks 'so apalled', 'dark fantasy', 'runaway' and 'power', but everything is absolutely perfect. :)
  18. Nov 25, 2015
    10
    A phenomenal hip hop masterpiece. Provides a great blend of more accessible pop-rap tracks and introspective, grand, and complex rap compositions that really set the bar for hip hop musicians to come. It is large in scope but still a joy to listen to.
  19. Nov 14, 2015
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is one of the most amazingly constructed hip-hop albums of all time. For years on, this album will be talked about as a: masterpiece, classic, work of genius. These are just examples of the words used to describe this monument in hip-hop history. If you don't like this album for any reason, you must respect it. Kanye over his years as an artist, **not aMy Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is one of the most amazingly constructed hip-hop albums of all time. For years on, this album will be talked about as a: masterpiece, classic, work of genius. These are just examples of the words used to describe this monument in hip-hop history. If you don't like this album for any reason, you must respect it. Kanye over his years as an artist, **not a rapper/MC** has provided insight of life through his eyes and the knowledge he has consumed and developed as an artist, with the creative capacity to show it in such beautiful form. The film Runaway is a must if you loved this album. Expand
  20. Nov 3, 2015
    10
    The best hip hop album to date. The emotional lyrical content mixed with West's sublime production creates an etjereal listening experience that should not be passed up.
  21. Sep 12, 2015
    10
    This album is the definiton of musical perfection. kanye, with this album, cemented himself as a genius in my mind. I don't think I have ever heard such a cohesive, emotional collection of songs before. Kanye is simply a king, as proved by this phenomenon.
  22. Jul 5, 2015
    10
    One of my favorite albums. Great songs all trough it.

    Highlights :
    - POWER
    - Gorgeous
    - Runaway

    "All of the lights" and "Lost in the Woods" are fantastic as well
  23. Jun 22, 2015
    9
    "Can we get much higher?" Kanye West asks on the opener and title track to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The answer is "yes", which can be seen over the course of the entire album. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was, without a doubt, the high point in West's career. From beginning to end of this album, Kanye West's lyrical (more than ever) and production talent. West uses a variety"Can we get much higher?" Kanye West asks on the opener and title track to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The answer is "yes", which can be seen over the course of the entire album. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was, without a doubt, the high point in West's career. From beginning to end of this album, Kanye West's lyrical (more than ever) and production talent. West uses a variety of production styles on this album - ranging from soul ("Devil in a New Dress") to [not so explicitly] trap ("All of the LIghts"). Kanye is also clever lyrically on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, making confessions about his personality ("Runaway", "POWER") and talking about his fantasies ("Dark Fantasy"). I love how much West is able to admit how much of a jerk he is (although I thoroughly appreciate him as an artist). And on this album, Kanye West shows a great deal of originality, also: the production and lyrics, although imperfect at times, cannot be matched by any other artist. West just shows how unique he is on this album. This album was undoubtedly one of the best of 2010, and definitely one of the best hip hop albums of all time. Grade: A. Highlights: "All of the Lights", "Monster", "So Appalled", "Devil in a New Dress". Worst song: "Runaway" (It's not that I didn't like this song, it just bored me with its repetitive chord progression, its intense length, and the distorted Auto-Tuned vocals at the end.) Expand
  24. May 27, 2015
    8
    The only Kanye album I own, the only hip hop album I own. Kanye's willingness to experiment with his music is what I've always loved about him as an artist, and never has this experimental side of his work been so successful as it is on this album. While occasionally you're left questioning how some of his experiments ever escaped the recording studio, the majority of this album is pure gold.
  25. Apr 29, 2015
    9
    West as often changed nearly everything from his previous record in order to re-invent himself as an artist. It took him some trips to Europe and a bunch of musicians in suits to come up with an impressive achievement. It's hard to confine his music when there are trumpets over French horns over choirs over strings over beats over drums over this and over that. However it never feelsWest as often changed nearly everything from his previous record in order to re-invent himself as an artist. It took him some trips to Europe and a bunch of musicians in suits to come up with an impressive achievement. It's hard to confine his music when there are trumpets over French horns over choirs over strings over beats over drums over this and over that. However it never feels overloaded, and its power resides in its intelligent use of featured artists and some excellent choices regarding the numerous samples from all genres and eras. The album kind of makes a portrait of a lost man, but it does make sense as a whole. Some verses could’ve been under more scrutiny but it ends up being an embarrassment of great stirring tracks that never fall into the need for category. Its baroque influences and deep examination of himself and what surrounds him whether it’s real or imaginary make the record very unique and calling it the best album of 2010 isn't really an overstatement.

    Best track: Runaway
    Exact Score: 9.3
    Expand
  26. Apr 28, 2015
    10
    An instant classic, this album his Kanye's best work along with College dropout. A masterpiece in Kanye's unique style of hip-hop, the album will be hard to beat for any artist in the years to come.
  27. Apr 23, 2015
    10
    Basically this is a model of a perfect album, as far as showcasing talent Kanye West once again fails to disappoint. I'm not a critic, just a listener, and this was one of the only albums where I loved each and every song. Every single one of them, it was just awesome. From start to finish Yeezy did amazing, proving he is the greatest Rap Musician to ever live. 10/10 Album and a mustBasically this is a model of a perfect album, as far as showcasing talent Kanye West once again fails to disappoint. I'm not a critic, just a listener, and this was one of the only albums where I loved each and every song. Every single one of them, it was just awesome. From start to finish Yeezy did amazing, proving he is the greatest Rap Musician to ever live. 10/10 Album and a must listen. My favorite album of all time. Expand
  28. Apr 10, 2015
    10
    Perfectly album, elevanting hip hop to another plane.
    Cohesive innovative equilibrate, very well produced, nice raps.
    rfectly album, elevanting hip hop to another plane.
    Cohesive innovative equilibrate, very well produced, nice raps.
    rfectly album, elevanting hip hop to another plane.
    Cohesive innovative equilibrate, very well produced, nice raps.
  29. Mar 31, 2015
    5
    I am not a fan of the genre, but i like to appreciate some of the things it does, sadly this album is not one of them. As a musician i know there were some effort put on it on the production. But there is more effort than talent on the songs, and that's the huge problem. They are followed up by unexceptional (simple) chord progressions which i have nothing against, because some artistsI am not a fan of the genre, but i like to appreciate some of the things it does, sadly this album is not one of them. As a musician i know there were some effort put on it on the production. But there is more effort than talent on the songs, and that's the huge problem. They are followed up by unexceptional (simple) chord progressions which i have nothing against, because some artists have develop it really well. They did on the album, but they didn't went that far so it became repetitive and unispiring. The lyrics are above average but they are not exceptional, maybe If you haven't listen to great songwriters like Peter Gabriel, Serrat, David Bowie, etc., you may think they are great, but in reality, no. So again i see a critically acclaimed album by critics (maybe they were paid) and listeners that makes me doubt again of the credibility of Metacritic. I love music and i am not restricted to a particular genre, but i recognize something and give credit to it when i think it deserves it, and in my opinión, it doesn't deserves any. Expand
  30. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    8.6/10................................................................................................................................................
  31. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    THE GREATEST ALBUM DEFINING THE DECADE (2010s). The milestone of this album impeccable feat cannot be reached. It is not a simple mathematical rap album. You cannot compare it to any usual rap phenomenon. I speak as a fan of MUSIC when i say this, Kanye West has blessed the world with excellence. Geniuses have a right to be arrogant, "egotistical". Each song is a perfect example of hardTHE GREATEST ALBUM DEFINING THE DECADE (2010s). The milestone of this album impeccable feat cannot be reached. It is not a simple mathematical rap album. You cannot compare it to any usual rap phenomenon. I speak as a fan of MUSIC when i say this, Kanye West has blessed the world with excellence. Geniuses have a right to be arrogant, "egotistical". Each song is a perfect example of hard work, art, and creativity. Anyone who studies music, architecture, and modeling, can hear it in this sound. The album is a body of work that tells you its going to be better from now on, Who will survive in America? Expand
  32. Mar 18, 2015
    10
    You don't even have to be a hip hop fan to like this album. His ability to mix so many elements into his music is powerful. He even manages to have great guest appearances and substantial and honest lyrics. Kanye West has achieved his greatest work with "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy". It is truly a MASTERPIECE!!!
  33. Mar 11, 2015
    10
    Probably the greatest comeback in music history, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' proves that Kanye West still has it. With all the backlash against him after Taylor-gate, he somehow managed a hip-hop masterpiece. With its confessional lyrics and beautiful production to make them, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' screams the truth about Kanye West: he may be a douchebag and knows it,Probably the greatest comeback in music history, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' proves that Kanye West still has it. With all the backlash against him after Taylor-gate, he somehow managed a hip-hop masterpiece. With its confessional lyrics and beautiful production to make them, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' screams the truth about Kanye West: he may be a douchebag and knows it, but still remains one of the best rappers of his time. Expand
  34. Mar 7, 2015
    10
    I was a Kanye hater until I listened to this album for the first time, back in 2014. I thought "he's not talented, what a gay fish", until I listened to this album. This album revived my interest in Hip-Hop, and mvoed me away from listening exclusively to metal so I could expand my musical tastes. It's like a breath of fresh air, this album.

    Kanye's one of, if not, the most influential
    I was a Kanye hater until I listened to this album for the first time, back in 2014. I thought "he's not talented, what a gay fish", until I listened to this album. This album revived my interest in Hip-Hop, and mvoed me away from listening exclusively to metal so I could expand my musical tastes. It's like a breath of fresh air, this album.

    Kanye's one of, if not, the most influential rap artist of the 21st century. He took a genre which was desperately in need of a re-vamp, and successfully pulled it off with the release of four albums before "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy".

    MBDTF is dark, unforgiving, grand, and uses imagery which only Kanye West could pull off. It's a culmination of all of his frustrations in the 21st Century. Themes include celebrity, consumerism, the culture surrounding hip-hop, fidelity, and West's career.

    The album features appearances from Raekwon, Rick Ross, Nicki Minaj, and John Legend, each of the tracks they feature on are highlights for me.

    This is just a perfect album. One of few I've ever listened to.

    A clear 10 for me.
    Expand
  35. Feb 26, 2015
    0
    How this man managed to pull the wool over so many peoples' eyes is anyone's guess. From the awkwardly-sampled stolen beats and riffs to the stuttered, a-rhythmic "rapping," this album is a mess. I recognize that rhyming is a bendable concept when it comes to popular music, but words do not rhyme with themselves and repeated phrases do not you Robert Frost make.

    West had trouble getting
    How this man managed to pull the wool over so many peoples' eyes is anyone's guess. From the awkwardly-sampled stolen beats and riffs to the stuttered, a-rhythmic "rapping," this album is a mess. I recognize that rhyming is a bendable concept when it comes to popular music, but words do not rhyme with themselves and repeated phrases do not you Robert Frost make.

    West had trouble getting others to accept his rapping at first, and for good reason. I will admit that I am not a big fan of rap at all, but it has its place; Kanye doesn't seem to know that place. He passes off his jarring, conversational, I'm-trying-to-explain-philosophy-in-my-college-discussion-section-while-drunk voice as music and it just doesn't fly. Rap works when you're doing things with your voice not possible when singing. Kanye simply does things with his voice not pleasant either way.

    I can only hope that this overwhelming delusion the general public and so many reviewers seem to suffer from is a passing fad. I can only hope in 10 years we'll look back on this like many now do on Will Smith and say, "We listened to what?" I can only hope this isn't this generation's legacy.
    Expand
  36. Jan 17, 2015
    10
    Kanye West does it again and this album shows that after the Taylor Swift incident and made a big comeback. The production on the album showcased Kanye's ability to outshine on the boards and it also showed me that Kanye is truly great
  37. Jan 13, 2015
    5
    Has a few good songs, but the style is repetetive and gets annoying very quickly.

    This album has a group confirmation-bias cult following, but in reality it's not that great.
    Production was very good, deserving of a 9-10, but the lyrical content and performance of Kanye were Good at best.
  38. Jan 8, 2015
    10
    Kanye West is called many things by many people but at the end of the day he is an incredible artist and My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is just brilliant. What takes real talent and what makes you a great artist is when you know what real talent sounds like. On tracks like Lost in World, Runaway, and Monster, West allows for younger upcoming talent to truly prove why they belong on thisKanye West is called many things by many people but at the end of the day he is an incredible artist and My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is just brilliant. What takes real talent and what makes you a great artist is when you know what real talent sounds like. On tracks like Lost in World, Runaway, and Monster, West allows for younger upcoming talent to truly prove why they belong on this album. At times they even out do the man whose name is on the cover the album. West tells us about love and what it's like going through a relationship and it's one of the main reasons why I love music. This album not only proves that West is genius but it also proves why rap is a true art form and is something that can truly mean something. West has created one of the greatest albums of all time and will forever keep the name Kanye West in the music world as someone who simply knows and makes good music. Expand
  39. Dec 10, 2014
    10
    greatest album of all time gcfgfffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff
  40. Dec 8, 2014
    10
    This classic stands at Mr. West's greatest work so far, as his sonic abilities and witty lyricism has raised the bar on a genre that already had a high bar to begin with. Easily the greatest hip-hop record I've ever listened to, and my favorite album to boot, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is unbelievable in every single aspect. The greatest track is his nine-minute emotional rollerThis classic stands at Mr. West's greatest work so far, as his sonic abilities and witty lyricism has raised the bar on a genre that already had a high bar to begin with. Easily the greatest hip-hop record I've ever listened to, and my favorite album to boot, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is unbelievable in every single aspect. The greatest track is his nine-minute emotional roller coaster midway through the album, "Runaway." Expand
  41. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    I have not yet given an album a 10/10, simply because I believe that sets a standard for everything else I will rate. I gave MBDTF a 10 because I find it is worthy of being that standard. Some people may dislike Kanye West, in fact many hate him, but it is undeniable that the man is a great artist. I believe this album has the ability to resonate with absolutely anyone, so long as theyI have not yet given an album a 10/10, simply because I believe that sets a standard for everything else I will rate. I gave MBDTF a 10 because I find it is worthy of being that standard. Some people may dislike Kanye West, in fact many hate him, but it is undeniable that the man is a great artist. I believe this album has the ability to resonate with absolutely anyone, so long as they listen to it. Not only that, but a listener will be graced with a glimpse into the mind of the artist himself. This is a masterpiece that will stand the test of time. And a masterpiece that may be more appreciated in the future than it is now. Expand
  42. Oct 20, 2014
    0
    This album was really nothing special. More of the same for Kanye, which sucks because I really thought he was one of the more revolutionary artists of our time. Oh well, at least he has some good old stuff.
  43. Oct 1, 2014
    10
    One of the best hip-hop records of all time without a doubt.
    And the entire controversy around the album art and the lyrics are a freaking joke sparked by misguided feminists and trolls.
  44. Aug 19, 2014
    8
    Woww. This is really good. He has a lot of different elements,transparent themes. And the subject matter is explored. The music ranges alot which is really awesome. Songs got a funky rythm with some occasionly raunchy (in a bad way rthyms). But all in all Kanye has done a good job.
  45. Jul 16, 2014
    8
    "Graduation" has more of my favourite Kanye songs, but as an album, this here is probably his finest hour. It has some standout tracks but works best as an album with the collective parts coming together perfectly. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is not only bursting with creativity but with epic tunes and melodies as well. Lyrically, Kanye is on top form and matches the quality of the"Graduation" has more of my favourite Kanye songs, but as an album, this here is probably his finest hour. It has some standout tracks but works best as an album with the collective parts coming together perfectly. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is not only bursting with creativity but with epic tunes and melodies as well. Lyrically, Kanye is on top form and matches the quality of the music. You have to take your hat off to the man when you listen to this - its pure brilliance. Expand
  46. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    A controversial artist makes an album studying himself as an artist, and creates the Illmatic of the 21st century. It's something we've never heard before, with every single featured artist making the most of their time to shine. Kanye even spits some of his best verses in his career (gone off lr is still his best). The album features incredible production, which, in my opinion surpassesA controversial artist makes an album studying himself as an artist, and creates the Illmatic of the 21st century. It's something we've never heard before, with every single featured artist making the most of their time to shine. Kanye even spits some of his best verses in his career (gone off lr is still his best). The album features incredible production, which, in my opinion surpasses most production from the golden era of 90's rap. Is it the best hip hop album ever as Kanye claims it to be? Not quite.. but it's pretty damn close.

    Edit 2014: This is definitely my favourite hip hop album of all time now.
    Expand
  47. Jun 4, 2014
    9
    When this album came out in 2010 i only heard a few songs from it and they where catchy, so i decided to give this album a listen, and wasn't disappointed. kanye did most of the production on this, it was very well done. kanye flow changes throughout the tracks. I'm really liking the tracks gorgeous,power and runaway all of the lights is catchy too. each track on this has its own uniqueWhen this album came out in 2010 i only heard a few songs from it and they where catchy, so i decided to give this album a listen, and wasn't disappointed. kanye did most of the production on this, it was very well done. kanye flow changes throughout the tracks. I'm really liking the tracks gorgeous,power and runaway all of the lights is catchy too. each track on this has its own unique feel to it like on the track runaway the instrumental is really nice, along with a few verses from Kanye, Pusha T verse was a stand for sure. the track blame game is Kanye telling a story about a relationship which he does well with John Legend signing the chorus fits in with the theme of the song. the guests singers/rappers on this are good they seem to fit in alright, especially on the track so appalled with a group of rappers delivering hard hitting verses. the rest of the track on this are good. definitely check this album out. Expand
  48. TEM
    May 21, 2014
    10
    The best album of all time hands down. This proves that Kanye is a genius. The song Runaway is enough to give this album a 10/10 but, every other track is just pure perfection.
  49. May 3, 2014
    10
    If someone told me to play a single rap album for them, I would play them this.
    This album sort of defines the rap genre for me similar to how Dark Side of The Moon defines rock and roll. So Appalled, Devil in a New Dress, and Runaway may be my favourite three song streak of all time.
  50. May 3, 2014
    10
    Kanye West does everything right on this album.

    The incredibly luscious and grandiose production combines the greatness off all his previous albums. The soulfulness of his early work and the electronic influences of the Graduation- and 808s & Heartbreak-eras. Lyrically Kanye explores the contrasting juxtaposition between self-aggrandizement, and self-doubt and self-loathing.
    Kanye West does everything right on this album.

    The incredibly luscious and grandiose production combines the greatness off all his previous albums. The soulfulness of his early work and the electronic influences of the Graduation- and 808s & Heartbreak-eras.

    Lyrically Kanye explores the contrasting juxtaposition between self-aggrandizement, and self-doubt and self-loathing.

    Adding to that, Kanye brings in a number of guest-features with incredible features (bar Swizz Beats - I'm sorry buddy, but you should stay behind the board).

    This is a musical masterpiece.
    Expand
  51. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    The best album Kanye has ever made. Hands down. In my opinion he will never make a better album than this, Yeezus does not even come close to this great album. There is never a dull moment with this album, all the tracks fit together perfectly, and will go down in history as one of the greatest albums ever made. Kanye West is a musical/creative genius.
  52. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    Do ever think on the perspective of an artist when an albums out, what must be going through their mind as its been released. Today for some its all about meeting the contract terms of the record label and just simply having good numbers in its 1st week. Someone who always sets the bar high in hip hop on a regular basis believes perfection is one thing to always take away when recordingDo ever think on the perspective of an artist when an albums out, what must be going through their mind as its been released. Today for some its all about meeting the contract terms of the record label and just simply having good numbers in its 1st week. Someone who always sets the bar high in hip hop on a regular basis believes perfection is one thing to always take away when recording art such as the likes of Kanye. Do I need to repeat my love for My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy and how its a serious contender for Album Of The Decade, YESSSSS!!!! An intro so epic and intense as Dark Fantasy with the likes of Nicki Minaj giving a Roald Dahl inspirised rhyme of entering Kanye's "Fantasy" is jaw dropping at first listen. Referred to putting in 5000 hours on "Power" to the beautiful charismatic "Runaway" to Chris Rock bootlegging copies on "Blame Game" lets not forget falling in love with Porn stars on "Hell Of A Life" the honestly and courage shown in his lyrics is a huge gain from his previous works. Bursting into the scene with College Dropout after working with Jay-Z in his early years his personality has changed now as well as his ego. With money an flowing into his bank account we all know its comes down to the absolute core when good music is concerned. Joined by the likes of Jay-Z, Raekwon, Elton John...yes Elton John he has crafted something special. Ambition is a trait we all have in us but using it takes skill and hard work. From start to finish you are reliving an epic never before told story of a man at the pinnacle heights of his powers and you will truly be touched. Albums come and go but this will easily be considered one of the greatest albums ever to be released in hip-hop.....scratch that of all time. In Power the sample of King Crimson's 21st century schizoid man is used for a reason and can't lie this album is going to be talked about for years to come. Bravo Kanye [A+] Expand
  53. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    I am not the biggest rap fan, but Kanye West always seems to know what he's doing. MBDTF, at the time of it's release, was like a revelation to the rap world. It wasn't a rap album, it was music. It was beautiful. It was intense, and it was a hell of a lot to take on. Now four years later, the album still holds strong. It's still Kanye's most mature effort, with ideas that span along MoneyI am not the biggest rap fan, but Kanye West always seems to know what he's doing. MBDTF, at the time of it's release, was like a revelation to the rap world. It wasn't a rap album, it was music. It was beautiful. It was intense, and it was a hell of a lot to take on. Now four years later, the album still holds strong. It's still Kanye's most mature effort, with ideas that span along Money and Power, to Lost Love, to people's destruction of our country. The title of the album describes it better than anything else. Though it doesn't have the longevity that would be liked. Some of the songs are a bit tedious to listen to now. And thus is why it takes some marks off.

    A-
    Expand
  54. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    For everyone joking around Yeezus, I simply point to this album as a true example of Kanye's gift of making music. This album, to this day is pure brilliance with great beats and a powerful messages that convey the artist that Kanye West truly is.
  55. Mar 26, 2014
    0
    All hype and no substance.

    That basically sums up what I think of this album and of the artist. Kanye West is a rapper who can't rap (can't even enunciate properly), a songwriter who doesn't write songs ("sampling" and using a stable of credited writers), a producer who uses auto tune to fix his garbage.

    You know an album is dreck when Pitchfork likes it.
  56. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You can listen to it straight through. not one bad track. closest album to perfection. maad city is the only album even close. Filled with hits like power, all of the lights, runaway. Yet it is filled with some of his best songs EVER including dark fantasy, all of the lights, monster. Expand
  57. Feb 6, 2014
    9
    This album is definitely one of the best albums of my generation. Great lyrics, production and features on the album. Kanye brings his talent to the table when it came to songs like "Gorgeous", "Runaway", "Hell Of A Life" & "So Appalled". The production is marvelous. It makes me appreciate Kanye's work a lot more. This is one of my favorite albums of all time. This album is a must listen.
  58. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    MBDTF is masterful work of art. Every track fits together perfectly, enabling Kanye to show the public what's inside his mind. This album ranks among the best hip-hop albums of all time.

    Best track: "Runaway"
    Other tracks that stand out: "Power", "Monster", and well.. everything else
  59. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    Kanye West at his prime. This album is a masterpiece on every aspect. This instant classic has raised the bar for hip hop by revolutionizing the genre.
  60. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    May be the greatest collection of songs I've ever listened to. Lyrics and production are incredible. If you don't like this album you're wrong. This album will be something that in 20 or 30 years we will look back on and say that it was one of the best of all time. Kanye is a musical genius.
  61. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    First CD I bought with my own money. Classic! Yep... I have no idea why you would want 150 characters to explain this CD. This is a great release from Yeezy. OH YES finally, now I can post this :D Thank you Kanye, please make more stuff like this
  62. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Certainly his greatest work. A masterpiece from a genius artist not only in the art of hip hop and rap but in all of music. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is one of the greatest albums of all time.
  63. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Great album. Amazing display of music. Lyric wise it's still a great album and every song is a hit. Not for one second did I not enjoy listening to this album with songs like gorgeous, power, monster and runaway it's hard to not enjoy it. It's no a super long album either, you don't get bored half way through.
  64. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Kanye West doesn't fail. He hasn't yet and he probably never will. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy shows a different kinda Kanye. No sane man could've written this album. It's flawless to the teeth. Each track is a hip hop masterpiece. The lyrics are raw, the production is exquisite, this album is a landmark in music history. All In All, Twisted Fantasy is flawless in every aspect. A
  65. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Once you dive into this album, you'll grasp why he holds the label "musical genius." This album is a culmination and a bringing together of everything Kanye has accomplished as a rapper and a producer. "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" is an epic mixture of "Late Registration," "Graduation," and "808's and Heartbreak." Kanye raps with some of his best verses to date, produces unrealOnce you dive into this album, you'll grasp why he holds the label "musical genius." This album is a culmination and a bringing together of everything Kanye has accomplished as a rapper and a producer. "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" is an epic mixture of "Late Registration," "Graduation," and "808's and Heartbreak." Kanye raps with some of his best verses to date, produces unreal beats, and truly brings out the best of all the features he brings in. Truly a hip hop classic, a game changer, and his best album to date. Expand
  66. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    My all-time favorite album. The deterioration of a man (Kanye), but with a hopeful tone. This album is life. If there is ever such a "perfect" album, this is it.
  67. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    The best hip-hop album ever. Took me by surprise if I'm honest. Was blown away when started to listen to it and I just can't get enough. It will probably never get old. Perfect forever.
  68. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    I'd put this in the top 10 albums of all time and for sure the best rap album ever. Kanye always bring something fresh and this time he decided to make the perfect album
  69. Aoi
    Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time. Greatest album of all time.
  70. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Is there anything I can really praise about this album that hasn't already been said over and over again? It's career-defining in every sense of the word, and rightfully so.
  71. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    There are two types of people in this world: people who acknowledge that Kanye West is brilliant (even though he may be an a$$hole), and people who are wrong. This album is one of only a couple hip hop records that I can honestly say changed my life, it deserved to be the best rated album of 2010.
  72. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Arguably the pinnacle of modern hip-hop, Kanye's production and creativity have reached unseen heights in MBDTF. Seriously, give it a listen, and keep giving it the attention it deserves. This album is damn good.
  73. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    Kanye should've have won the Grammy of album and song of year with this album. One of the best Albums is last decade. The composition, production, vocal arrangements are flawless; it has its weak points with like So appalled and Devil in a new dress, but the rest of the songs are amazing. The mixture of classic music with Rock and Hip-Hop makes this album unique. Kanye really outdidKanye should've have won the Grammy of album and song of year with this album. One of the best Albums is last decade. The composition, production, vocal arrangements are flawless; it has its weak points with like So appalled and Devil in a new dress, but the rest of the songs are amazing. The mixture of classic music with Rock and Hip-Hop makes this album unique. Kanye really outdid himself with a production like this. And proved that he's a musical genius. Expand
  74. Jun 26, 2013
    0
    Guy is such a tool it's not even funny.
    He has no talent whatsoever.
    Seriously people if you think this is music or that this guy is anything more than a hip-hop hack, you're delusional.
  75. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    I hadn't really listened to Kanye West's music, I'd heard some of his big hits and quite enjoyed them but his music isn't usually to my taste. I thought I'd give MBDTF a try due to all the praise, which set my expectations quite high, but they were blown away. This album is brilliant. Great lyrics, fantastic music. Devil in a New Dress is my personal favourite from the album, it blew myI hadn't really listened to Kanye West's music, I'd heard some of his big hits and quite enjoyed them but his music isn't usually to my taste. I thought I'd give MBDTF a try due to all the praise, which set my expectations quite high, but they were blown away. This album is brilliant. Great lyrics, fantastic music. Devil in a New Dress is my personal favourite from the album, it blew my mind.

    Overall, one of the best albums I've heard for a while.
    Expand
  76. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Not only is this Kanye's best album (in my opinion) but it's also arguably the gold standard for alternative hip-hop. Every single track on here resonates with me and has a uniqueness about it. There's no filler here, this is a masterpiece. Believe the hype.
  77. May 23, 2013
    9
    No duds, a couple songs (2) that aren't great, but all songs at least good. Some of Kanye's best work yet, and that's saying a lot. Overall his second best album and one of the best the hip hop world has ever seen.
  78. May 10, 2013
    10
    The perfect album. Simply put. Nothing more. Nothing less. This is art. Not hip-hop. Not any genre. Just art. A piece of art that we're lucky Kanye only made us pay $9.99 for it. This album is worth at least $100. But I digress. Its beautiful. In any way.
  79. May 5, 2013
    10
    It's hard to know where to start talking about a record like this in all honesty. Never before have I heard an album that combines so much ambition, creativity, genius, hubris and darkness with so much skill, restraint and care to prevent it from collapsing under its own weight. Albums like this should implode, become disasters, and exist as nothing but unfinished, shelved projects thatIt's hard to know where to start talking about a record like this in all honesty. Never before have I heard an album that combines so much ambition, creativity, genius, hubris and darkness with so much skill, restraint and care to prevent it from collapsing under its own weight. Albums like this should implode, become disasters, and exist as nothing but unfinished, shelved projects that live among public myths as rubble, wreckage and hopes of what might have been. But this is Kanye West, and this is My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.

    Kanye never loses control of the ambition, or the creation or the experimentation. He creates a level all of his own in this respect despite having so many guest producers, collaborators, range of song styles and song writers. To putt it simply, Kanye’s ability to be so incredibly introspective and self-aware keeps his 2010 release interesting right up until the last note. In this case, Kanye is the man stood on the side of the street juggling knives, bowling balls and pieces of fruit while others stand and wait for him to drop everything. But his character, ego and personality shine through and manifest themselves through sampling artistry, a grasp of a range of atmosphere that hasn't been mirrored since its 2010 release and an effective ear for pop and hip-hop's most positive traits.

    Thanks, Kanye. I'll let you finish.
    Expand
  80. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    This is both Kanye West's best album and the joint best album of 2010 (with Arcade Fire's The Suburbs). Each song on the album deals with fame, power, money and can be seen as Kanye's autobiography, he relies on autotune for most of the album which, despite its annoyance in certain cases, works for the album since it relies heavily on some impressive synthesiser work. If you like hip-hop,This is both Kanye West's best album and the joint best album of 2010 (with Arcade Fire's The Suburbs). Each song on the album deals with fame, power, money and can be seen as Kanye's autobiography, he relies on autotune for most of the album which, despite its annoyance in certain cases, works for the album since it relies heavily on some impressive synthesiser work. If you like hip-hop, this is a must have; if you don't then buy Arcade Fire, and then this. Expand
  81. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    An amazing album, probably the best rap album ever created on the face of the Earth, Kanye West provides an amazing sounding rap album and nails every line of every verse, making this a fun album to listen to. Its absolutely incredible.
  82. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    To put this in a few words, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' is the Greatest Hip-Hop Album of the 21st Century. Take this into account, 'The College Dropout' and 'Late Registration' are two influential hip-hop Masterpieces that live on though music forever, and this album (My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy) is better than both of them... That's got to mean something...
  83. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    If this album was weird to you at first, listen to it again. And again, until you understand that this is epic as hell. Epic as hell in every sense possible.
  84. Duu
    Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This album was an all-time classic from the moment it was released. The very first time I heard it, I knew it was a classic. It was as obvious as the sun in the sky is: nothing like it had been heard before in terms of hip-hop music.
  85. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    My personal all-time favourite. Some of the best production in the history of rap. The ambition of this album cannot be understated. Don't listen to it as 13 songs, but rather listen to it as one cohesive, beautiful piece of music.
  86. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    After the mixed bag that was 808s & Heartbreaks, Kanye went on to release the best album of his career, titled My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. One of the greatest albums of all time, MBDTF combines orchestral and thematic pop with the Kanye we all know and love. The album shows a two sided Kanye; a tortured star rapping about his life and revealing his inner emotions, and aAfter the mixed bag that was 808s & Heartbreaks, Kanye went on to release the best album of his career, titled My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. One of the greatest albums of all time, MBDTF combines orchestral and thematic pop with the Kanye we all know and love. The album shows a two sided Kanye; a tortured star rapping about his life and revealing his inner emotions, and a braggadocious rapper showing of all the girls and money he gets. You really get a sense of Kanye's world and what has led him to the point of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. There is not one note of this album that is out of place. Even the 9 minute epic Runaway feels completely natural and unforced. This is hip hop art, and Kanye West at his best. Expand
  87. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    A modern classic this. The Sgt. Peppers of hip-hop. Great melodies and hooks abound, a wealth of styles, moods and layers of production that reward repeated listening. My only gripes are with Kanye's lyrics, namely his trademark rhyming the same word over 2-3 lines, that really rubs me up the wrong way. Then there's the Chris Rock sketch at the end of Blame Game, wasn't funny the firstA modern classic this. The Sgt. Peppers of hip-hop. Great melodies and hooks abound, a wealth of styles, moods and layers of production that reward repeated listening. My only gripes are with Kanye's lyrics, namely his trademark rhyming the same word over 2-3 lines, that really rubs me up the wrong way. Then there's the Chris Rock sketch at the end of Blame Game, wasn't funny the first time, incredibly annoying on successive listens. These problems aside there are still more than enough solid gold moments to still make this an incredible album. Expand
  88. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    As an artist My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is definitely Kanye West's best work yet. Kanye puts together what he did in his previous 4 albums and creates this master piece.
  89. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Hip-Hop relies on innovation - constant progression is essential for its vitality. This single characteristic makes it one of the most interesting of the new genres that the late 20th century has spawned. Just look at how much it has changed throughout the years - the 70's (Disco, comedy influences), the 80's (Jazz/Rock/Soul influences, rich storytelling), the 90's (hard-nosed, oftenHip-Hop relies on innovation - constant progression is essential for its vitality. This single characteristic makes it one of the most interesting of the new genres that the late 20th century has spawned. Just look at how much it has changed throughout the years - the 70's (Disco, comedy influences), the 80's (Jazz/Rock/Soul influences, rich storytelling), the 90's (hard-nosed, often political lyricism, heavy drums, post-Jazz influences) and... and... then it stopped. The 2000's are often regarded as the decade of downfall for Hip-Hop, and, although that's not entirely true, there is some validity behind the argument - the progression throughout the decade was not as evident. Sure, there were the stars (Eminem, 50 Cent, Ludacris), but, overall, only two major forces in mainstream Hip-Hop showcased that progression in style that had become so rare - Outkast and Kanye West. Kanye was always changing - from the soul-influences of "College Dropout" to the melancholic electronic R&B of "808s & Heartbreak". This album, "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy", shows Kanye at his strongest - both lyrically and musically. Each song is entirely distinct and perfected to the highest degree . The 90's Gangsta Rap inspired (yet so seemingly modern) "Dark Fantasy", the Rock-influenced "Gorgeous" and, the album's centerpiece, "Runaway" - all these tracks fully showcase Kanye's thirst for progression and perfection, two aspects that are very rarely combined in perfection. Is it the best Hip-Hop album of all time? No. There is no best album. Is it the best produced Hip-Hop album of all time? Perhaps - it's definitely up there with "The Chronic" and "Stankonia". Is it a great album that's worthy of your attention? Definitely.

    10/10
    Expand
  90. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    If there was ever a definition of a "modern day classic" this would be it. If you don't own this album then you must buy it now. Kanye West bares his soul in an album so bold it will never get old. I come from a guitar based background but this album is extraordinary.
  91. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    An album this meticulously crafted, this unique, this complex, and this endlessly emotional and thrilling deserves all the praise for generations and generations I'm sure it will get; it's a milestone in hip-hop - bending the genre and making it the personal, soulful thing it always aims to be.
  92. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest hip hop albums of all time. Kanye West is a pure genius and it showed in this beautiful piece of art - yes, it is art, not just music. Life-altering stuff on there.
  93. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest albums of the millenium. Every song is different, yet still great. Kanye's rapping, the guest verses, production... it's all great. I really like the aggressively exciting feeling the album gives off. Lost in the World is the best song I've ever heard.
  94. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    AMAZING !!! BRILLIANT !!! Before this album had no opinion about Kanye but after hearing My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy I was completely amazed !!!!!
    If you don't like hip-hop you have to hear this album because I started to love Kanye !
  95. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    20 years from now, when people look back on hip-hop music, and how it's evolved over the years, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy will be looked at as a game changer. In fact, it very well could be grouped along with albums such as 36 chambers and Illmatic as one of the greatest albums in the history of the genre. With this album, West creates a groundbreaking work that has been previously20 years from now, when people look back on hip-hop music, and how it's evolved over the years, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy will be looked at as a game changer. In fact, it very well could be grouped along with albums such as 36 chambers and Illmatic as one of the greatest albums in the history of the genre. With this album, West creates a groundbreaking work that has been previously unseen in the genre as far as artistry goes. The production is unbelievably different from any other hip hop album made, with the instrumentation having such a "real" sound to it, for lack of a better word. With My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Kanye expands the definition of hip-hop so broadly that many artists will look to this album as inspiration. The saying "hip hop isn't art" although already invalid; My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is probably the finest work of art the genre has seen. Expand
  96. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Kanye West is certainly not the most popular icon in pop culture, but he sure deserves his credit as not a rapper, but an artist. Calling Kanye a "rapper" is a prime example of an understatement. Each and every song on this album shows true artistic vision at it's finest. The least satisfying song on the album is "So Appalled", not because of the production, not because of the lyrics, butKanye West is certainly not the most popular icon in pop culture, but he sure deserves his credit as not a rapper, but an artist. Calling Kanye a "rapper" is a prime example of an understatement. Each and every song on this album shows true artistic vision at it's finest. The least satisfying song on the album is "So Appalled", not because of the production, not because of the lyrics, but because there is just not enough Kanye, his verse winds up being lost in the slew of features he collected for the song. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, simply put, is a masterpiece, a pop culture triumph, and deserves every bit of acclaim that it has received. Mr. West has yet again, shown growth, and truly remarkable artistry. Expand
  97. Jul 14, 2012
    0
    how anyone can listen 2 this album blows my mind, this is total crap, i mean kanye west is not cool, listen 2 real music, not some loser christian rapper or rappers with kids, i mean these people don't know when to quit, i wish i metsomeone who listens to this crap, holy shot **** kanye is awful, with his cocaine smile, and moody behavior, spoiled brat, u ain't no thug
  98. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The greatest gift music has given the earth is its expression. Some of the most beautiful, haunting music is inspired by the most painful moments of an individual's life, think of "For Emma, Forever Ago" or "Pinkerton". So it's no surprise that Kanye West's most inspired, maniacal, and inglorious music was made during a time when the whole world seemed to hate his guts. Sure President Obama repeatedly called him a "jackass" and Taylor Swift now probably throws darts at a picture of his face, but damn the music that resulted from all the self-loathing and self-pity from his self-enforced exile is impressive. Controversy suits Mr. West well, and amazingly the music featured steals the stop-light from his turbulent life. The opening "Dark Fantasy" boasts a triumphant, angelic chorus and sharp lyrical word play that references everything from "Family Matters" to The Kings of Leon, early fan favorite "POWER" is every bit magnificent and moving as its title suggests, "All of the Lights" is a mainstream ready single that features an elegant piano interlude, but it all builds up to the climax "Runaway". The song is hauntingly disarming. Its blunt, unforgiving, uncomfortable, and beautiful. This is the sound of West's life crystalized, it captures all the noisy chatter of the media and his self-hatred into a song that is real in a way that few songs can hope to achieve. All in all this album is a tour-de-deforce and easily West's best work. It may just make you forget whoever Kanye West is, because this isn't just the work of a man; it's the work of his soul. Expand
  99. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is a great album with well written and produced songs. It is truely a masterpiece. There isn't a bad son on the track at all. It's also nice how each song has a very nice and Lon length to it.
  100. May 31, 2012
    10
    In November of 2010, I was awaiting nothing more than Kanye West's My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. I'll admit, I was a little bit wary of the results, especially after the disappointment from listening to 808's. However, I found myself indulged in the greatest music I'd ever heard. From the only good thing Nicki Minaj has ever done (the intro of Dark Fantasy), the the powerful closingIn November of 2010, I was awaiting nothing more than Kanye West's My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. I'll admit, I was a little bit wary of the results, especially after the disappointment from listening to 808's. However, I found myself indulged in the greatest music I'd ever heard. From the only good thing Nicki Minaj has ever done (the intro of Dark Fantasy), the the powerful closing music under Gil Scott-Heron's Comment No. 1. Interspersed with good, marketable music, in addition to some amazing, less mainstream tracks, I found myself loving it the entire time. My personal favorite moments were Gorgeous, Devil in a New Dress, Runaway, and Lost In The World, all of which were staples in the rest of the album. This album is something completely different from most hip-hop we hear today, and is without a doubt one of the greatest, if not the greatest, albums I have ever listened to. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Uncut
    Sep 19, 2012
    80
    West is far from rap's deftest lyricist but his neurotic grandstanding is compelling and often pretty funny to boot. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  3. Mojo
    Apr 20, 2011
    100
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is genuinely a great record. [Feb. 2011, p. 108]