My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 1742 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Breaking traditional mainstream hip-hop guidelines, Kanye West's latest release features epic raps and long instrumental variations for his most innovative album to date.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    100
    The effort to canonize My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy as one of hip-hop's all-time high points is already underway, and I'm confident that Kanye's new album can weather the backlash that all potential classics must confront.
  3. XXL
    Dec 23, 2010
    100
    The end result is a body of work that pushes hip-hop in a bold new direction and puts Mr,. West back at the forefront of the culture once again.
  4. 90
    After the celebri-beef and ALL CAPS blog posts fade away, Fantasy will stand as an album that dare to push the entire medium of recorded music forward, for better or worse.
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    90
    In fact, this record's only flaw is that its scale is so awe-inspiring it tends to paper over any weaker cracks.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    90
    Maybe it's not surprising that My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is so seamlessly his personal best.
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    40
    This album offers beats that retread past glories, and an emotional palette narrowed to a range roughly as wide as West's navel.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 364
  1. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Arguably the pinnacle of modern hip-hop, Kanye's production and creativity have reached unseen heights in MBDTF. Seriously, give it a listen,Arguably the pinnacle of modern hip-hop, Kanye's production and creativity have reached unseen heights in MBDTF. Seriously, give it a listen, and keep giving it the attention it deserves. This album is damn good. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  3. May 23, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece, no doubt. And while Kanye may be a little screwy in his public life, the album is not a mess. Music is Yeezy's reflection andA masterpiece, no doubt. And while Kanye may be a little screwy in his public life, the album is not a mess. Music is Yeezy's reflection and hearing Fantasy makes you see what a whirlwind of emotions 2009-2010 had been towards him. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    One of the best all around albums I have ever heard! Lots of creativity going on here!! The album has a great concept that will make it hardOne of the best all around albums I have ever heard! Lots of creativity going on here!! The album has a great concept that will make it hard for other rap artist to compete with! Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is an instant classic, for the second i put my headphones on and started to listen to the 1st track on theMy Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is an instant classic, for the second i put my headphones on and started to listen to the 1st track on the album, i was assured that this album will be Kanyes best album to date.
    The guy is a genius, a living legend. And he was able to accept the events that happened at the VMAs and the backlash he had after it, and put out one of the best albums OF ALL TIME.....OF ALL TIME!
    Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2016
    9
    Love this album. It really shows how different Kanye's contemporary work is when compared to his older stuff. His newer raps have a muchLove this album. It really shows how different Kanye's contemporary work is when compared to his older stuff. His newer raps have a much emphasis on production than lyrical wit. Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2015
    0
    How this man managed to pull the wool over so many peoples' eyes is anyone's guess. From the awkwardly-sampled stolen beats and riffs to theHow this man managed to pull the wool over so many peoples' eyes is anyone's guess. From the awkwardly-sampled stolen beats and riffs to the stuttered, a-rhythmic "rapping," this album is a mess. I recognize that rhyming is a bendable concept when it comes to popular music, but words do not rhyme with themselves and repeated phrases do not you Robert Frost make.

    West had trouble getting others to accept his rapping at first, and for good reason. I will admit that I am not a big fan of rap at all, but it has its place; Kanye doesn't seem to know that place. He passes off his jarring, conversational, I'm-trying-to-explain-philosophy-in-my-college-discussion-section-while-drunk voice as music and it just doesn't fly. Rap works when you're doing things with your voice not possible when singing. Kanye simply does things with his voice not pleasant either way.

    I can only hope that this overwhelming delusion the general public and so many reviewers seem to suffer from is a passing fad. I can only hope in 10 years we'll look back on this like many now do on Will Smith and say, "We listened to what?" I can only hope this isn't this generation's legacy.
    Expand

See all 364 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.