My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1932 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Breaking traditional mainstream hip-hop guidelines, Kanye West's latest release features epic raps and long instrumental variations for his most innovative album to date.
Buy On

Top Track

All of the Lights
All of the lights (all of the lights) (Lights, lights) all of the lights Turn up the lights in here baby Extra bright, I want y'all to see this Turn... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    100
    The effort to canonize My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy as one of hip-hop's all-time high points is already underway, and I'm confident that Kanye's new album can weather the backlash that all potential classics must confront.
  3. XXL
    Dec 23, 2010
    100
    The end result is a body of work that pushes hip-hop in a bold new direction and puts Mr,. West back at the forefront of the culture once again.
  4. 90
    After the celebri-beef and ALL CAPS blog posts fade away, Fantasy will stand as an album that dare to push the entire medium of recorded music forward, for better or worse.
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    90
    In fact, this record's only flaw is that its scale is so awe-inspiring it tends to paper over any weaker cracks.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    90
    Maybe it's not surprising that My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is so seamlessly his personal best.
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    40
    This album offers beats that retread past glories, and an emotional palette narrowed to a range roughly as wide as West's navel.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 368
  1. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    A controversial artist makes an album studying himself as an artist, and creates the Illmatic of the 21st century. It's something we've neverA controversial artist makes an album studying himself as an artist, and creates the Illmatic of the 21st century. It's something we've never heard before, with every single featured artist making the most of their time to shine. Kanye even spits some of his best verses in his career (gone off lr is still his best). The album features incredible production, which, in my opinion surpasses most production from the golden era of 90's rap. Is it the best hip hop album ever as Kanye claims it to be? Not quite.. but it's pretty damn close.

    Edit 2014: This is definitely my favourite hip hop album of all time now.
    Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  3. May 18, 2011
    10
    Album of the year 2010 and Kanye's masterpiece. All the 0/10s and the likes are all from the Taylor Swift defence force who still haven't gotAlbum of the year 2010 and Kanye's masterpiece. All the 0/10s and the likes are all from the Taylor Swift defence force who still haven't got over Kanye giving her the best publicity she's ever had. Expand
  4. May 29, 2011
    10
    People need to really carry out a lot of research before sharing their opinion especially in a review about this album. You need to keep inPeople need to really carry out a lot of research before sharing their opinion especially in a review about this album. You need to keep in mind the meaning in his music, even though less emotional than his previous songs such as Roses or Hey Mama his music is a fine balance of intellectual and fun hip hop. He is oh so creative, and because he is a producer he know how to make his music real. He uses real instruments in his beats and doesn't use phony electro beats. He really knows how to make something of good quality, and in this case he has shown quality over quantity. He really made this album shine with his fun lyrically witty punch lines to his realism, and his message. He leaves his music up for interpretation, which makes it better because he is great with puns and one can only find more and more multiple meaning of the words he plays with. He is truly a creative mastermind. On the other hand I would say that he could have shorten a few songs by shortening a few peoples' rap parts in some of his songs, and instead make another track or two. Sometimes a song more than five minutes can get boring and repetitive. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    I'm wondering why those Kanye "fans" rated this album poorly claiming it doesn't live up to their expectations or it's not what they expected.I'm wondering why those Kanye "fans" rated this album poorly claiming it doesn't live up to their expectations or it's not what they expected. If they were fans, they would have known what to expect with G.O.O.D. Fridays posting almost half the album. Anyway, this is a great album. Fantastically produced, and the lyrics are on par with what he did in his first two albums. Just plain good music. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    Kanye returns with a very strong actual rap album. This is the album that has stirred inside his head for 20 years. Despite the fame, money,Kanye returns with a very strong actual rap album. This is the album that has stirred inside his head for 20 years. Despite the fame, money, and women, he truly is a psychologically troubled individual who straddles the line between unbridled ego and unbearable agony. He is a black William Burroughs - the "American Rapper." Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2010
    0
    This album feels hollow compared to his last releases. The music itself is uninteresting and has Kanye trying to reinvent himself yet again;This album feels hollow compared to his last releases. The music itself is uninteresting and has Kanye trying to reinvent himself yet again; however, unlike past releases, he failed at creating a solid album. Expand

See all 368 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.