My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1998 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Breaking traditional mainstream hip-hop guidelines, Kanye West's latest release features epic raps and long instrumental variations for his most innovative album to date.
Buy On

Top Track

All of the Lights
All of the lights, (lights, lights) All of the lights Turn up the lights in here, baby Extra bright, I want y'all to see this Turn up the lights in... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    100
    The effort to canonize My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy as one of hip-hop's all-time high points is already underway, and I'm confident that Kanye's new album can weather the backlash that all potential classics must confront.
  3. XXL
    Dec 23, 2010
    100
    The end result is a body of work that pushes hip-hop in a bold new direction and puts Mr,. West back at the forefront of the culture once again.
  4. 90
    After the celebri-beef and ALL CAPS blog posts fade away, Fantasy will stand as an album that dare to push the entire medium of recorded music forward, for better or worse.
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    90
    In fact, this record's only flaw is that its scale is so awe-inspiring it tends to paper over any weaker cracks.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    90
    Maybe it's not surprising that My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is so seamlessly his personal best.
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    40
    This album offers beats that retread past glories, and an emotional palette narrowed to a range roughly as wide as West's navel.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 375
  1. Mar 18, 2015
    10
    You don't even have to be a hip hop fan to like this album. His ability to mix so many elements into his music is powerful. He even manages toYou don't even have to be a hip hop fan to like this album. His ability to mix so many elements into his music is powerful. He even manages to have great guest appearances and substantial and honest lyrics. Kanye West has achieved his greatest work with "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy". It is truly a MASTERPIECE!!! Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    What can I say... my masterpiece. I worked hard and gave you this classic. Thanks for the respect... I deserve it!!! HATERS: RUNAWAY FAST ASWhat can I say... my masterpiece. I worked hard and gave you this classic. Thanks for the respect... I deserve it!!! HATERS: RUNAWAY FAST AS YOUUU CANNN Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy takes Mr. West in a completely new musical direction than any of his other albums have taken him. MyMy Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy takes Mr. West in a completely new musical direction than any of his other albums have taken him. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is as different from College Dropout as it is from 808s & Heartbreak, and that's what makes it absolutely brilliant. For those who are stuck in the past wishing for the "old" Kanye to return, need to look forward and see how brilliant Mr. West's new musical style is. If this isn't the best album of 2010 then I don't know what is. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    I'm wondering why those Kanye "fans" rated this album poorly claiming it doesn't live up to their expectations or it's not what they expected.I'm wondering why those Kanye "fans" rated this album poorly claiming it doesn't live up to their expectations or it's not what they expected. If they were fans, they would have known what to expect with G.O.O.D. Fridays posting almost half the album. Anyway, this is a great album. Fantastically produced, and the lyrics are on par with what he did in his first two albums. Just plain good music. Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2011
    9
    The more I want to hate Kanye (and as a person, I do), the more I'm disappointed that I actually liked "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy."The more I want to hate Kanye (and as a person, I do), the more I'm disappointed that I actually liked "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy." Not sure all the hype is warranted, but track after track, the album is nothing if not solid. Any of these tracks would do well on the radio but hold their own with music snobs alike. Not surprising, really, this album is a natural progression for me from his previous works - albeit bigger, and more exciting. Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2010
    0
    This album feels hollow compared to his last releases. The music itself is uninteresting and has Kanye trying to reinvent himself yet again;This album feels hollow compared to his last releases. The music itself is uninteresting and has Kanye trying to reinvent himself yet again; however, unlike past releases, he failed at creating a solid album. Expand

See all 375 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Hip-Hop Albums of the 21st Century

    The Best Hip-Hop Albums of the 21st Century Image
    Published: October 19, 2017
    These are the 30 highest-scoring hip hop albums released since 2000.
  2. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.
  3. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  4. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.