My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 1283 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Breaking traditional mainstream hip-hop guidelines, Kanye West's latest release features epic raps and long instrumental variations for his most innovative album to date.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    100
    The effort to canonize My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy as one of hip-hop's all-time high points is already underway, and I'm confident that Kanye's new album can weather the backlash that all potential classics must confront.
  3. Dec 23, 2010
    100
    The end result is a body of work that pushes hip-hop in a bold new direction and puts Mr,. West back at the forefront of the culture once again.
  4. 90
    After the celebri-beef and ALL CAPS blog posts fade away, Fantasy will stand as an album that dare to push the entire medium of recorded music forward, for better or worse.
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    90
    In fact, this record's only flaw is that its scale is so awe-inspiring it tends to paper over any weaker cracks.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    90
    Maybe it's not surprising that My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is so seamlessly his personal best.
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    40
    This album offers beats that retread past glories, and an emotional palette narrowed to a range roughly as wide as West's navel.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 332
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    If there was ever a definition of a "modern day classic" this would be it. If you don't own this album then you must buy it now. Kanye WestIf there was ever a definition of a "modern day classic" this would be it. If you don't own this album then you must buy it now. Kanye West bares his soul in an album so bold it will never get old. I come from a guitar based background but this album is extraordinary. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  3. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mr. West comes out from his self-imposed exile to deliver grandiose production , star-studded features and West's best lyrics to date.

    1. Dark Fantasy : One of the best intros I have heard in a while , from the huge intro to the RZA assisted piano beat this song is just one of the main reasons to own a car with a crazy sound system.

    2. Gorgeous : One of the album's more lyrical songs over a menacing guitar loop. One of the highlights of this song is the breakdown that comes in the second half followed by a Raekwon verse .

    3. Power:

    The album's first single . This song was the first snippet of the album that we received , the chanting and clapping are as if a hero had returned are a long absence and is being welcomed home accordingly.
    The militaristic beat and guitar riffs just give this song that triumphant feel or should I say 'theme music'

    4. All of the lights [Interlude] : The prelude to the album's most grandiose effort , unlike the track that comes after this one this is filled with soft keys and cello that get you ready for what's to come

    5. All of the lights : As I've said before this is the album's most grandiose effort , blaring horns , non-stop drums and percussion and over 11 vocalists on one track all lead by Rihanna who delivers the infectious chorus.

    6. Monster :

    The bass filled track that host's verses from Jay-z , Rick Ross and Nicki Minaj is full of lyrics that boast braggadocio and keeps you bobbing your head from the menacing start to the Justin Vernon ending

    7. So Appalled: Another posse cut featuring the likes of Jay-z ...again , Pusha T , Swizz Beatz and G.O.O.D Music newcomer CyHi da Prynce. This song is line after line of lyrical genius .

    8. Devil In a New Dress:

    One of my favourites off the album , this Smokey Robinson song is just smooth Kanye raps about relationship falling apart followed by a guitar solo provided by Kanye's right hand man Mike Dean , then a surprisingly great verse from Rick Ross.

    9. Runaway :

    One of the album's most emotional songs which is sung over an emotionless key-driven loop and a Pete Rock sampled beat which has Kanye toasting to the 'Douchebags and **** The song ends with a 3 minutes vocoder solo bursting with emotion .

    10. Hell of A Life : Hell of a Life has Kanye rapping about how he wishes to marry a pornstar over a really heavy sample while interpolating Black Sabbath's 'Iron Man' for the chorus .

    11. Blame Game :

    This Aphex Twin sampled beat showcases Kanye's frustration with fame , relationships and love while being assisted by John Legend and an outro by Comedian Chris Rock

    12. Lost in the World: The grand finale of the album using Bon Iver's 'Woods' as the building block for this song . West's verse is full of dichotomy and hopes for leaving a 'plastic life' .

    13. Who Will Survive In America

    I view this as the album's epilogue with social commentary given by Gill Scott-Heron and ends with clapping to tell you that the show is over .
    Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    Wow, this album is amazing! This is hands down the best Kanye album since Late Registration. Every track is is great, no skips and theWow, this album is amazing! This is hands down the best Kanye album since Late Registration. Every track is is great, no skips and the massive amounts of guests do not weigh it down nor drown out West. I didn't expect this album to be as good as I thought, I would gladly buy 2 of them as gifts. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    An instant classic. Kanye has always delivered very solid albums, (excluding 808's and heartbreaks, IMO), but My Beautiful Dark TwistedAn instant classic. Kanye has always delivered very solid albums, (excluding 808's and heartbreaks, IMO), but My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy takes genius to the next level. Every track is unique and stays fresh for what seems like thousands of listens. The featured artists are numerous and among the most talented in hip-hop. For a while, it seemed like Kanye's career was in a slow descent, but MBDTF along with his spectacular "G.O.O.D Friday" releases will no doubt rejuvenate and reinstate Yeezy as a king of the music industry. Favorite tracks: "Monster", "Dark Fantasy", "Hell of a life", "Gorgeous", "Blame Game". Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    Kanye returns with a very strong actual rap album. This is the album that has stirred inside his head for 20 years. Despite the fame, money,Kanye returns with a very strong actual rap album. This is the album that has stirred inside his head for 20 years. Despite the fame, money, and women, he truly is a psychologically troubled individual who straddles the line between unbridled ego and unbearable agony. He is a black William Burroughs - the "American Rapper." Collapse
  7. Jun 26, 2013
    0
    Guy is such a tool it's not even funny.
    He has no talent whatsoever.
    Seriously people if you think this is music or that this guy is
    Guy is such a tool it's not even funny.
    He has no talent whatsoever.
    Seriously people if you think this is music or that this guy is anything more than a hip-hop hack, you're delusional.
    Expand

See all 332 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.