My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 1205 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Breaking traditional mainstream hip-hop guidelines, Kanye West's latest release features epic raps and long instrumental variations for his most innovative album to date.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    100
    The effort to canonize My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy as one of hip-hop's all-time high points is already underway, and I'm confident that Kanye's new album can weather the backlash that all potential classics must confront.
  3. Dec 23, 2010
    100
    The end result is a body of work that pushes hip-hop in a bold new direction and puts Mr,. West back at the forefront of the culture once again.
  4. 90
    After the celebri-beef and ALL CAPS blog posts fade away, Fantasy will stand as an album that dare to push the entire medium of recorded music forward, for better or worse.
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    90
    In fact, this record's only flaw is that its scale is so awe-inspiring it tends to paper over any weaker cracks.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    90
    Maybe it's not surprising that My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is so seamlessly his personal best.
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    40
    This album offers beats that retread past glories, and an emotional palette narrowed to a range roughly as wide as West's navel.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 326
  1. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    This is truly my favourite album of this year. My favourite song would be Monster with Bon Iver, Jay-Z and Nicki Minaj. This is my favourite album of all-time and I would 110% recommend this to any rap fan. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    My Beautiful Dark twisted Fantasy is the "Achtung Baby" of Kanye West albums. Forget what you already know about Kanye and his mic stealing antics. Kanye is more than just some rapper talking about "Living Young,Wild and Free or talking through a overly used Auto-tune (Though 808's and Heartbreaks was mostly auto-tuned). If rappers are modern day poets then Kanye West is the king of Modern day poets! Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    Wow, this album is amazing! This is hands down the best Kanye album since Late Registration. Every track is is great, no skips and the massive amounts of guests do not weigh it down nor drown out West. I didn't expect this album to be as good as I thought, I would gladly buy 2 of them as gifts. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Everybody's favorite a--hole is back and better than ever. "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" without a doubt will stand as his masterpiece. I don't want to reveal too much as this album is better to be experienced first hand. His lyricism is masterful and his beats are immaculate. Somehow he is able to carry the theme of his album so effortlessly throughout each song. The album stands alone as a work of art, rather than the usual single driven albums we are all too used to hearing. Maybe now we can see the real Kanye when he finally gets the recognition he's been craving. Even the Kanye haters will find this album hard to ignore. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    Kanye returns with a very strong actual rap album. This is the album that has stirred inside his head for 20 years. Despite the fame, money, and women, he truly is a psychologically troubled individual who straddles the line between unbridled ego and unbearable agony. He is a black William Burroughs - the "American Rapper." Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2012
    0
    how anyone can listen 2 this album blows my mind, this is total crap, i mean kanye west is not cool, listen 2 real music, not some loser christian rapper or rappers with kids, i mean these people don't know when to quit, i wish i metsomeone who listens to this crap, holy shot **** kanye is awful, with his cocaine smile, and moody behavior, spoiled brat, u ain't no thug Expand

See all 326 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.