My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 1711 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Breaking traditional mainstream hip-hop guidelines, Kanye West's latest release features epic raps and long instrumental variations for his most innovative album to date.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    100
    The effort to canonize My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy as one of hip-hop's all-time high points is already underway, and I'm confident that Kanye's new album can weather the backlash that all potential classics must confront.
  3. XXL
    Dec 23, 2010
    100
    The end result is a body of work that pushes hip-hop in a bold new direction and puts Mr,. West back at the forefront of the culture once again.
  4. 90
    After the celebri-beef and ALL CAPS blog posts fade away, Fantasy will stand as an album that dare to push the entire medium of recorded music forward, for better or worse.
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    90
    In fact, this record's only flaw is that its scale is so awe-inspiring it tends to paper over any weaker cracks.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    90
    Maybe it's not surprising that My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is so seamlessly his personal best.
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    40
    This album offers beats that retread past glories, and an emotional palette narrowed to a range roughly as wide as West's navel.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 362
  1. May 10, 2013
    10
    The perfect album. Simply put. Nothing more. Nothing less. This is art. Not hip-hop. Not any genre. Just art. A piece of art that we're luckyThe perfect album. Simply put. Nothing more. Nothing less. This is art. Not hip-hop. Not any genre. Just art. A piece of art that we're lucky Kanye only made us pay $9.99 for it. This album is worth at least $100. But I digress. Its beautiful. In any way. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  3. May 11, 2011
    10
    As a fan of mainly punk, hardcore, and modern rock, I am always open minded to listen to all types of music and see the creativity that isAs a fan of mainly punk, hardcore, and modern rock, I am always open minded to listen to all types of music and see the creativity that is unique to each artist. The past decade I have been unhappy with most rap/hip-hop releases, and I have never found a rap album before this one that could equal the excellence of LL Cool J's "Mama Said Knock You Out". I am not even a real big fan of Kanye, but I am mesmerized by the beauty and excellence he has created on this album. The various styles that make each song unique, and the collection of guest artists were planned perfectly, and fit well with the messages he conveys in each song. The first time I listened to this I could just feel how much of his heart he put into this collection of songs, and I was not really even paying close attention to the lyrics. Some people may find much of the language graphic, but I feel that it actually enhances the feel and character, and is necessary to get his emotions released to the listeners. I personally think "Hell Of a Life" is my favorite song, followed by "Runaway"; however, the most passionate song that demonstrates the hurt Kanye has felt at one time or another in his life as well as many listeners is "Blame Game" - by far one of the most powerful ballads of any music genre released in the last decade. Chris Rock is excellent in his end-of-the-song diatribe phone call, and even with that humor added, it is blended well enough to not tarnish the best song Kanye has probably ever written. I feel this should be one of the 10 albums every music fan needs to hear before they die - even if you are not a fan of Kanye, this album deserves to be listened to because it will be a long time before another album with this type of perfection will be produced by anyone in the music industry. Thank you so much, Kanye - you have definitely won me over into being one of your fans. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    One of the best all around albums I have ever heard! Lots of creativity going on here!! The album has a great concept that will make it hardOne of the best all around albums I have ever heard! Lots of creativity going on here!! The album has a great concept that will make it hard for other rap artist to compete with! Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is an instant classic, for the second i put my headphones on and started to listen to the 1st track on theMy Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is an instant classic, for the second i put my headphones on and started to listen to the 1st track on the album, i was assured that this album will be Kanyes best album to date.
    The guy is a genius, a living legend. And he was able to accept the events that happened at the VMAs and the backlash he had after it, and put out one of the best albums OF ALL TIME.....OF ALL TIME!
    Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2016
    9
    92/100. Probably my favorite Rap/Hip-Hop album ever.Kanye West brings us an amazing album here with songs that are emotional, radio-friendly,92/100. Probably my favorite Rap/Hip-Hop album ever.Kanye West brings us an amazing album here with songs that are emotional, radio-friendly, complex, innovative, and meaningful all at the same time. Say what you want about Kanye West, but the man puts out some really amazing music. Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2015
    0
    How this man managed to pull the wool over so many peoples' eyes is anyone's guess. From the awkwardly-sampled stolen beats and riffs to theHow this man managed to pull the wool over so many peoples' eyes is anyone's guess. From the awkwardly-sampled stolen beats and riffs to the stuttered, a-rhythmic "rapping," this album is a mess. I recognize that rhyming is a bendable concept when it comes to popular music, but words do not rhyme with themselves and repeated phrases do not you Robert Frost make.

    West had trouble getting others to accept his rapping at first, and for good reason. I will admit that I am not a big fan of rap at all, but it has its place; Kanye doesn't seem to know that place. He passes off his jarring, conversational, I'm-trying-to-explain-philosophy-in-my-college-discussion-section-while-drunk voice as music and it just doesn't fly. Rap works when you're doing things with your voice not possible when singing. Kanye simply does things with his voice not pleasant either way.

    I can only hope that this overwhelming delusion the general public and so many reviewers seem to suffer from is a passing fad. I can only hope in 10 years we'll look back on this like many now do on Will Smith and say, "We listened to what?" I can only hope this isn't this generation's legacy.
    Expand

See all 362 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.