My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 1322 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Breaking traditional mainstream hip-hop guidelines, Kanye West's latest release features epic raps and long instrumental variations for his most innovative album to date.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    100
    The effort to canonize My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy as one of hip-hop's all-time high points is already underway, and I'm confident that Kanye's new album can weather the backlash that all potential classics must confront.
  3. Dec 23, 2010
    100
    The end result is a body of work that pushes hip-hop in a bold new direction and puts Mr,. West back at the forefront of the culture once again.
  4. 90
    After the celebri-beef and ALL CAPS blog posts fade away, Fantasy will stand as an album that dare to push the entire medium of recorded music forward, for better or worse.
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    90
    In fact, this record's only flaw is that its scale is so awe-inspiring it tends to paper over any weaker cracks.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    90
    Maybe it's not surprising that My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is so seamlessly his personal best.
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    40
    This album offers beats that retread past glories, and an emotional palette narrowed to a range roughly as wide as West's navel.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 337
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    If there was ever a definition of a "modern day classic" this would be it. If you don't own this album then you must buy it now. Kanye WestIf there was ever a definition of a "modern day classic" this would be it. If you don't own this album then you must buy it now. Kanye West bares his soul in an album so bold it will never get old. I come from a guitar based background but this album is extraordinary. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    What defines a perfect album? The question has been asked for years. It exists in the personal opinions of millions of musicgoers, whether itsWhat defines a perfect album? The question has been asked for years. It exists in the personal opinions of millions of musicgoers, whether its little girls who enjoy Miley Cyrus, or teens who listen to Lil' Wayne because they speak to him, or the estranged hipster listening to his favorite indie rock record on vinyl. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy by the decade's most talented new rapper and producer, Kanye West, is the very definition of perfect. It is a hip-hop masterpiece, bridging the gap between old school hip-hop and modern mainstream and indie sensibilities. Fusing fashions, tastes, and thinking minds of various statures, BDTF is a record that deals with the very esscence of a flawed human being firing back on the world around him, it is a departure from the bad guy, and a start to a new villain, it asks the question, Why do I exist, and what good is there to be found in me? It keeps the train a rollin' and stops it all the while.
    Please excuse my long rant, but MBDTF is quite possibly one of the best hip-hop records I've ever heard. It's one that both critics and simple listeners will adore, and it is an artists struggle to regain his ego from his peers and people. It does so many different things and does them on so many different grand levels. First of all, the beats and synths and all around instrumental work on BDTF is perfect. The production for the album is staggering, some of the best found on any record, ever. The song, "All of the Lights"is a perfect example of this with ten people singing at once, an orchestra striking trumpets and trombones in the background, timpanies and beats flaring about, all while Kanye West raps about the big city and his daughter's life. We find him contemplating his love life and his mistakes on "Runaway" all while firing back on the people who blew out on him on the Taylor Swift epidemic. Dark Fantasy asks the question "Can we get much higher?" and most definetely answers it. The quest spots are nailed excellently, ranging from Raekwon to Cudi, Beyonce to Pusha T, even indie kid Bon Iver! Even the auto-tuned parts, which I usually detest are found incredible on this piece of history. Top that off with Kanye West's old styles with new ways of getting them across with "Power" ranting about being kicked off his throne with King Crimson being sampled in the background. "Monster" sees him and friends ranting about hurting and killing and all dark fantasies are about. On Dark Fantasy we see West as the **** he's always been trying to shun away from, but finally accepts in full glory, we see a flawed man trying to improve all while a flawed past won't allow him. We see a man maturing even with darkness in the light, overall Kanye West's My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is a deeply intricate hip-hop record and the best album of 2010. Simply and utterly perfect, it is the view of the modern world and the old one coinciding in the life of one man, his story, the stories around him, and the world he lives in, and is so brilliant.
    Expand
  4. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    The BEST album of 2010. It's art, Hip-Hop, a masterpiece, creative, genius, and unique. It's hard for me to explain about this album. GreatThe BEST album of 2010. It's art, Hip-Hop, a masterpiece, creative, genius, and unique. It's hard for me to explain about this album. Great Production. This album was well though of and Kanye West took his time on the album and it has paid off. This album and Janelle Monae's album, The ArchAndroid, was the best albums of 2010! Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    An instant classic. Kanye has always delivered very solid albums, (excluding 808's and heartbreaks, IMO), but My Beautiful Dark TwistedAn instant classic. Kanye has always delivered very solid albums, (excluding 808's and heartbreaks, IMO), but My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy takes genius to the next level. Every track is unique and stays fresh for what seems like thousands of listens. The featured artists are numerous and among the most talented in hip-hop. For a while, it seemed like Kanye's career was in a slow descent, but MBDTF along with his spectacular "G.O.O.D Friday" releases will no doubt rejuvenate and reinstate Yeezy as a king of the music industry. Favorite tracks: "Monster", "Dark Fantasy", "Hell of a life", "Gorgeous", "Blame Game". Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    8.6/10................................................................................................................................................
  7. Jun 26, 2013
    0
    Guy is such a tool it's not even funny.
    He has no talent whatsoever.
    Seriously people if you think this is music or that this guy is
    Guy is such a tool it's not even funny.
    He has no talent whatsoever.
    Seriously people if you think this is music or that this guy is anything more than a hip-hop hack, you're delusional.
    Expand

See all 337 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.