My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1989 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Breaking traditional mainstream hip-hop guidelines, Kanye West's latest release features epic raps and long instrumental variations for his most innovative album to date.
Buy On

Top Track

All of the Lights
All of the lights (all of the lights) (Lights, lights) all of the lights Turn up the lights in here baby Extra bright, I want y'all to see this Turn... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    100
    The effort to canonize My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy as one of hip-hop's all-time high points is already underway, and I'm confident that Kanye's new album can weather the backlash that all potential classics must confront.
  3. XXL
    Dec 23, 2010
    100
    The end result is a body of work that pushes hip-hop in a bold new direction and puts Mr,. West back at the forefront of the culture once again.
  4. 90
    After the celebri-beef and ALL CAPS blog posts fade away, Fantasy will stand as an album that dare to push the entire medium of recorded music forward, for better or worse.
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    90
    In fact, this record's only flaw is that its scale is so awe-inspiring it tends to paper over any weaker cracks.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    90
    Maybe it's not surprising that My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is so seamlessly his personal best.
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    40
    This album offers beats that retread past glories, and an emotional palette narrowed to a range roughly as wide as West's navel.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 373
  1. Mar 11, 2015
    10
    Probably the greatest comeback in music history, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' proves that Kanye West still has it. With all theProbably the greatest comeback in music history, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' proves that Kanye West still has it. With all the backlash against him after Taylor-gate, he somehow managed a hip-hop masterpiece. With its confessional lyrics and beautiful production to make them, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' screams the truth about Kanye West: he may be a douchebag and knows it, but still remains one of the best rappers of his time. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    This album is just amazing! Each and every song is great and only downside in my opinion is that Runaway has a long part at the end wereThis album is just amazing! Each and every song is great and only downside in my opinion is that Runaway has a long part at the end were nothing much is happening but slightly annoying noise. Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy takes Mr. West in a completely new musical direction than any of his other albums have taken him. MyMy Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy takes Mr. West in a completely new musical direction than any of his other albums have taken him. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is as different from College Dropout as it is from 808s & Heartbreak, and that's what makes it absolutely brilliant. For those who are stuck in the past wishing for the "old" Kanye to return, need to look forward and see how brilliant Mr. West's new musical style is. If this isn't the best album of 2010 then I don't know what is. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    I'm wondering why those Kanye "fans" rated this album poorly claiming it doesn't live up to their expectations or it's not what they expected.I'm wondering why those Kanye "fans" rated this album poorly claiming it doesn't live up to their expectations or it's not what they expected. If they were fans, they would have known what to expect with G.O.O.D. Fridays posting almost half the album. Anyway, this is a great album. Fantastically produced, and the lyrics are on par with what he did in his first two albums. Just plain good music. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2011
    9
    Kanye is a completely unapologetic a-hole. Let us get that out of the way first. This is admittedly a somewhat reactionary review directed atKanye is a completely unapologetic a-hole. Let us get that out of the way first. This is admittedly a somewhat reactionary review directed at those who claim that the album is revolutionary because Kanye admits he is at fault and loathes himself. Well, that's quite a misleading summation by many reviewers who wanted to find a concrete reason to give it a perfect score, and really not suited at all to this album, only one element of the song Runaway. The rest of the album is a dark, unapologetically twisted fantasy, as far removed from the tone of Eminem's more therapeutic Recovery as possible because, while Eminem tried to work through everything that was going down in his life, Kanye does nothing to attempt to mitigate his gargantuan ego. Instead, he celebrates it and directs his uniquely self-centered but honest personality at various aspects of what is, well, his fantasy. God only knows how you can shrink-wrap Kanye's mind into one You can try to toss various intelligent phrases into the blogosphere to sum up the album if you really feel like it, but you won't find one because it's quite sprawling in every way. It is a discussion of the excesses of being a celebrity, sure. It's also Kanye just doing what he does best, bragging. It's also Kanye making such outlandish claims and statements that nothing he says could be taken as anything but fantasy. So really, it can be summed up as Kanye spitting out his creative music visions of what goes on in his head, and, knowing him, it's probably an honest vision.

    You've heard enough about the music, but it is important to address anyway. The beats get repetitive because of the song lengths, but this isn't too much of a problem because different twists are thrown in to make it interesting. The quality of the music is unbelievable, as full orchestras are wrangled together to make a boisterous, complex, and flamboyant sound that really does transcend genres of music.

    Love him or hate him, his music is more carefully crafted and thought-provoking than most. I think he's a fascinatingly distasteful man, as are most images projected by this album. But whatever other distastefulness goes on in his life, this album harnesses the distastefulness into great music, and oddly 50 years after Bob Dylan came on the scene introspective music is still underappreciated and under-represented on the pop scene. Well, Kanye's oblique method of introspection consists of projecting every image of debauchery, excess, and egoism running through his mind's picture reel. And at the risk of inflating his ego too much, I do believe he has 21st century pop stardom pretty well pegged. God knows we've heard enough linguistically creative but utterly negative, nihilistic, "realistic" rap and hip hop to want something more creative, different, and INTERESTING. Well, hip hop fans, here it is. Pop fans, you might want to check it out too if you don't mind cussing.
    Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2010
    0
    This album feels hollow compared to his last releases. The music itself is uninteresting and has Kanye trying to reinvent himself yet again;This album feels hollow compared to his last releases. The music itself is uninteresting and has Kanye trying to reinvent himself yet again; however, unlike past releases, he failed at creating a solid album. Expand

See all 373 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.