My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 1256 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Breaking traditional mainstream hip-hop guidelines, Kanye West's latest release features epic raps and long instrumental variations for his most innovative album to date.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    100
    The effort to canonize My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy as one of hip-hop's all-time high points is already underway, and I'm confident that Kanye's new album can weather the backlash that all potential classics must confront.
  3. Dec 23, 2010
    100
    The end result is a body of work that pushes hip-hop in a bold new direction and puts Mr,. West back at the forefront of the culture once again.
  4. 90
    After the celebri-beef and ALL CAPS blog posts fade away, Fantasy will stand as an album that dare to push the entire medium of recorded music forward, for better or worse.
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    90
    In fact, this record's only flaw is that its scale is so awe-inspiring it tends to paper over any weaker cracks.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    90
    Maybe it's not surprising that My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is so seamlessly his personal best.
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    40
    This album offers beats that retread past glories, and an emotional palette narrowed to a range roughly as wide as West's navel.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 331
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest hip hop albums of all time. Kanye West is a pure genius and it showed in this beautiful piece of art - yes, it is art, notOne of the greatest hip hop albums of all time. Kanye West is a pure genius and it showed in this beautiful piece of art - yes, it is art, not just music. Life-altering stuff on there. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    It's rare to hear an album with such diversity such as My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. I think that's why I respect Mr. West so much, heIt's rare to hear an album with such diversity such as My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. I think that's why I respect Mr. West so much, he has the guts to make an album the way he wants without any concern for how others will react. This album gets better with each track from the soft start of Dark Fantasy to the powerful end of Who Will Survive in America. Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    This album totally changed my mind about Kanye West. Before the release of this album, I thought he was just another rapper trying to get fameThis album totally changed my mind about Kanye West. Before the release of this album, I thought he was just another rapper trying to get fame and money and wasn't a true artist. However, one day I was on YouTube and I saw the Runaway video (the longest one, which features all the songs in the album) on the recommendation bar, and I decided to give it a chance. I was extremely shocked at how good he was. After that, I bought MBDTF. This album is truly one the best I've heard. It is perfectly produced, the lyrics are deep and it really reinvents the term Hip-Hop. It's a shame that this album wasn't nominated by the Grammys for Album Of The Year. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Beautiful. Dark. Twisted.....and an Amazing Reality. Not many albums like this one come across in one's lifetime. A superb blend of genresBeautiful. Dark. Twisted.....and an Amazing Reality. Not many albums like this one come across in one's lifetime. A superb blend of genres along with the deeply personal lyrical content delivered bi-polarly from start to finish. This is the most definitive progressive rap album to hit the mainstream pop world. Kanye continually redefines the rules of the rap/pop genre while making a classic that ranks up there with Illmatic and 36 Chambers. Kanye's ability to express the travels and emotions that have occurred through his Hell Of A Life(the highlight of the album for me) is the reason that combined with extravagant yet sublime production ....that this is one Hell Of An Album. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    Kanye returns with a very strong actual rap album. This is the album that has stirred inside his head for 20 years. Despite the fame, money,Kanye returns with a very strong actual rap album. This is the album that has stirred inside his head for 20 years. Despite the fame, money, and women, he truly is a psychologically troubled individual who straddles the line between unbridled ego and unbearable agony. He is a black William Burroughs - the "American Rapper." Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2012
    0
    how anyone can listen 2 this album blows my mind, this is total crap, i mean kanye west is not cool, listen 2 real music, not some loserhow anyone can listen 2 this album blows my mind, this is total crap, i mean kanye west is not cool, listen 2 real music, not some loser christian rapper or rappers with kids, i mean these people don't know when to quit, i wish i metsomeone who listens to this crap, holy shot **** kanye is awful, with his cocaine smile, and moody behavior, spoiled brat, u ain't no thug Expand

See all 331 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.