My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 1184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Breaking traditional mainstream hip-hop guidelines, Kanye West's latest release features epic raps and long instrumental variations for his most innovative album to date.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    100
    The effort to canonize My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy as one of hip-hop's all-time high points is already underway, and I'm confident that Kanye's new album can weather the backlash that all potential classics must confront.
  3. Dec 23, 2010
    100
    The end result is a body of work that pushes hip-hop in a bold new direction and puts Mr,. West back at the forefront of the culture once again.
  4. 90
    After the celebri-beef and ALL CAPS blog posts fade away, Fantasy will stand as an album that dare to push the entire medium of recorded music forward, for better or worse.
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    90
    In fact, this record's only flaw is that its scale is so awe-inspiring it tends to paper over any weaker cracks.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    90
    Maybe it's not surprising that My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is so seamlessly his personal best.
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    40
    This album offers beats that retread past glories, and an emotional palette narrowed to a range roughly as wide as West's navel.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 323
  1. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Kanye West as good as ever! Best Album 2010.
    A perfect mix between electro-pop ballad 'Runaway' , dynamic and energetic songs like 'POWER' and
    'All of the Lights' and rocking sounds. Lyrics brilliant. Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    Wow, this album is amazing! This is hands down the best Kanye album since Late Registration. Every track is is great, no skips and the massive amounts of guests do not weigh it down nor drown out West. I didn't expect this album to be as good as I thought, I would gladly buy 2 of them as gifts. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Everybody's favorite a--hole is back and better than ever. "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" without a doubt will stand as his masterpiece. I don't want to reveal too much as this album is better to be experienced first hand. His lyricism is masterful and his beats are immaculate. Somehow he is able to carry the theme of his album so effortlessly throughout each song. The album stands alone as a work of art, rather than the usual single driven albums we are all too used to hearing. Maybe now we can see the real Kanye when he finally gets the recognition he's been craving. Even the Kanye haters will find this album hard to ignore. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2014
    9
    When this album came out in 2010 i only heard a few songs from it and they where catchy, so i decided to give this album a listen, and wasn't disappointed. kanye did most of the production on this, it was very well done. kanye flow changes throughout the tracks. I'm really liking the tracks gorgeous,power and runaway all of the lights is catchy too. each track on this has its own unique feel to it like on the track runaway the instrumental is really nice, along with a few verses from Kanye, Pusha T verse was a stand for sure. the track blame game is Kanye telling a story about a relationship which he does well with John Legend signing the chorus fits in with the theme of the song. the guests singers/rappers on this are good they seem to fit in alright, especially on the track so appalled with a group of rappers delivering hard hitting verses. the rest of the track on this are good. definitely check this album out. Expand
  6. May 2, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In a world where celebrities hide from the paparazzi and disguise their "pop" lifestyles in order to relate with their fans, Kanye West is really doing the opposite: His beautiful dark twisted fantasy about marrying a pornstar and divorcing her by the end of the night (Hell of a Life) doesn't really seem like a fantasy because for West it could very well happen - yet he manages to create a vibe that says otherwise, because his feelings as a sexual/normal individual (his Id) are always stronger than his boastfull self that knows of fame and fortune. That is what makes My Beautiful Dark Twisted..."Fan"tasty": Kanye West is able to portray his life as a public superstar figure honestly whilst still being a character that everybody can relate to. This is a skill Mr. West has had since the time he sang "wait til i get my money right" on Can't Tell Me Nothing although he already had enough of it: He walked in the shoes of a fan that might not, although he didn't step out of his own because wanting more money is a feeling that goes beyond numbers. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is a sonic collage of juxtapositions that aren't really juxtaposed because they interact with each other so well: West has the gift of making genre-less music that still holds some level of credibility in all of the genres it stems from: Having said that, this album (like most Kanye West albums with the exception of 808s & Heartbreak) is no less a hip hop album, in fact it's really as close if not closer to oldschool hiphop as it is to pop and rock. Not buying it? go listen to the hard hitting drums on Dark Fantasy which is a quarter of the album title. Twisted Fantasy is more hiphop than The College Dropout, yet it's so much more: The samples reach you in a way that rap usually can't even dream of, which is a surprise in that he uses samples that are quite unknown as opposed to the grandiose songs he would use on previous works (e.g. Diamonds are Forever - Shirley Bassey ). West's musical repertoire has definetly gotten bigger since then and now consists of much more than just adding drums and a baseline on his Akai Mpc 2000, although he at that exact time proved this by having score composer and multi instrumentalist Jon Brion co-produce the entire Late Registration. Common for both, but much more so on this album are the details that are small yet so significant. From Nicki Minaj giving her english accent over Mozart's Lacrimosa to Bon Iver's "at the mall there was a seance" over semi-dramatic violins, this is an album filled with layers that leave goose bumps on woman that have been lasered. Expand

See all 323 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.