My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 1108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Breaking traditional mainstream hip-hop guidelines, Kanye West's latest release features epic raps and long instrumental variations for his most innovative album to date.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    100
    The effort to canonize My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy as one of hip-hop's all-time high points is already underway, and I'm confident that Kanye's new album can weather the backlash that all potential classics must confront.
  3. Dec 23, 2010
    100
    The end result is a body of work that pushes hip-hop in a bold new direction and puts Mr,. West back at the forefront of the culture once again.
  4. 90
    After the celebri-beef and ALL CAPS blog posts fade away, Fantasy will stand as an album that dare to push the entire medium of recorded music forward, for better or worse.
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    90
    In fact, this record's only flaw is that its scale is so awe-inspiring it tends to paper over any weaker cracks.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    90
    Maybe it's not surprising that My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is so seamlessly his personal best.
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    40
    This album offers beats that retread past glories, and an emotional palette narrowed to a range roughly as wide as West's navel.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 315
  1. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Yeezy leaves the country for a year and DEFINITELY comes back with a bang. This album is one of his best since Graduation! He managed to reinvent himself and his music yet again! 10/10 Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    The mixing and production are great. It's what he cut his teeth doing. The guest list is star-studded and generally does not disappoint, but all rap guests far outshine Kanye when they're at the mic (save for Jay-Z's lazy verse in "Monster"). Kanye's delivery is generally flat and saps the power of lyrics when he does have his moments (see "Blame Game"). When he doesn't have his lyrical moments, he's doing the standard disses, recitation of haute-couture brands and freeze-frames of lady trouble. The samples are great and so are the aforementioned extra hands, but they really can't prop this album up much. I almost feel like people are desperate to make a pop star a new godhead in the wake of Michael Jackson's death. So Kanye has willingly donned that mantle with this album. Even Christgau has said as much before. I think this is part of a disturbing trend; as long as stars demonstrate that they have a modicum of self-awareness we give them free passes in criticism. The fact that the reviews focus so much more on the man than the music demonstrates a willing commitment to this attitude. If anyone else made the exact same album, it would have been as passed-by as N.A.S.A.'s album. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    An instant classic. Kanye has always delivered very solid albums, (excluding 808's and heartbreaks, IMO), but My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy takes genius to the next level. Every track is unique and stays fresh for what seems like thousands of listens. The featured artists are numerous and among the most talented in hip-hop. For a while, it seemed like Kanye's career was in a slow descent, but MBDTF along with his spectacular "G.O.O.D Friday" releases will no doubt rejuvenate and reinstate Yeezy as a king of the music industry. Favorite tracks: "Monster", "Dark Fantasy", "Hell of a life", "Gorgeous", "Blame Game". Expand
  5. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    Kanye returns with a very strong actual rap album. This is the album that has stirred inside his head for 20 years. Despite the fame, money, and women, he truly is a psychologically troubled individual who straddles the line between unbridled ego and unbearable agony. He is a black William Burroughs - the "American Rapper." Expand
  6. Feb 10, 2011
    0
    Ouch, my ears! Since when did stealing others' music and shouting at people qualify as creating? This is just another example of meglomania unchecked, a man surrounded by yes-men, the critics falling into that category as a whole. Give me some great Wyclef any day over this. Expand

See all 315 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.