My December

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jun 26, 2007
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 246 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 246

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RichardR
    Jun 26, 2007
    6
    This album severely lacks hooks. Clive was right in saying the album lacks hits. However, its personal and unified and showcases Kelly the artist. Hopefully she'll grow with her next record but untill then, this won't be getting many spins from this huge Kelly fan
  2. Erica
    Jul 9, 2007
    5
    I have always been a huge fan of Kelly, but this album was a big dissapointment. In previous albums I have loved how I can relate to the songs and each song had different beat to groove to, but all the songs sounded the same here and I didn't find myself interested in the lyrics. Nevertheless, I like 2 of the songs (though in previous albums I have liked an average of all but 2 of I have always been a huge fan of Kelly, but this album was a big dissapointment. In previous albums I have loved how I can relate to the songs and each song had different beat to groove to, but all the songs sounded the same here and I didn't find myself interested in the lyrics. Nevertheless, I like 2 of the songs (though in previous albums I have liked an average of all but 2 of the songs), and her voice is strong and solid as always. Not complete trash, but I look forward to a hopefully improved next album. Expand
  3. GingerJ.
    Jul 1, 2007
    4
    I liked a few songs on this CD but for the most part bleh.
  4. JoeyM
    Aug 30, 2007
    4
    I am a huge fan of Kelly's previous work...but I'msorry...she took such a big risk by releasing this album....now she must pay the price its such a vengeful album...though i loved 'yeah' and 'one minute' there the only decent uplifting songs...the rest is a complete misery fest I'm sorry but what a complete letdown 2 breakaway.
  5. DonnaD
    Jun 26, 2007
    4
    There isn't much to feel happy about in this angst ridden cd.
  6. alfredom
    Jun 29, 2007
    4
    Her worst album. She has a fantastic voice, but the songs sucked!!!!!!!!!!!
  7. anonimousehatesyou
    Jul 4, 2007
    5
    At its best, this is a fairly neat little mash-up of Amy Lee and Alanis Morrisette. At its worst, it's almost unlistenable. Good for Clarkson to stand her ground and put out the kind of music she wanted to, but other than "Can I Have A Kiss" and "How I Feel" there's nothing that stands up to more than a few listens.
  8. PhatG.
    Jun 28, 2007
    5
    Screaming.
  9. Aug 30, 2013
    5
    Perhaps over acclaimed at the time of its release, My December has aged poorly. With tracks sounding more unpolished than ever before, Clarkson's usually superb vocals are squandered in a debris of noise. The track listing is heavily flawed, with poor progression and little attempt at sounding like an album by one of pop's most famous artists of the mid-2000's. Following in the footsteps,Perhaps over acclaimed at the time of its release, My December has aged poorly. With tracks sounding more unpolished than ever before, Clarkson's usually superb vocals are squandered in a debris of noise. The track listing is heavily flawed, with poor progression and little attempt at sounding like an album by one of pop's most famous artists of the mid-2000's. Following in the footsteps, or rather shadow, of Breakaway, My December struggles to categorize itself as more than Clarkson's "dark period", with divinely written Be Still, Maybe, Can I Have A Kiss, Sober, and Irvine, all being ensnared by crude production and poor lyricism in Judas, Haunted, One Minute, and the shrill delivery of Don't Waste Your Time. Perhaps best remembered as the album where a pop star dared to defy her management, it works best at proving that pop stars don't always don't best. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. She writes in bland generalities... and uses her opulent voice as a battering ram.
  2. Kelly Clarkson's darker, more personal, riskier third CD.
  3. There are no hooks, nothing to suck in the many adults that liked Clarkson's first two records.