• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jun 26, 2007
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 245 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 245

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. R.L.Powell
    Jul 10, 2007
    7
    Not a failure by any means. After the unqualified success, and strident uniformity, of Breakaway (which I did love, though not for it's overwhelming artistic merit), My December is a excellent move forward for a songsmith who is pushing her boundaries. There is a distinct impression of her exploring, not only the grief of a ruined relationship, but the range of emotions and musical Not a failure by any means. After the unqualified success, and strident uniformity, of Breakaway (which I did love, though not for it's overwhelming artistic merit), My December is a excellent move forward for a songsmith who is pushing her boundaries. There is a distinct impression of her exploring, not only the grief of a ruined relationship, but the range of emotions and musical language she uses to describe it. Some truly charming and engaging surprises, along with some ham-fisted fumbles, but "Irvine" and "Chivas" are some damn fine pieces of performance. Kelly, I have a special place in my heart for ya, but I had no idea that you were capable of nuance. Keep this up and I may have to take off my hat to you sometime in the very near future. Expand
  2. jakeK
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    My december is a strong overall album. Kelly's stunning vocals shine through all 14 tracks.
  3. MarkV
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    Anyone who listens to this album and can't cheer Kelly Clarkson, I say "Whaaaa" These are Kelly's most strongest vocals and lyrics yet. And yes, it is bitter in parts, but seriously do you always want the same churned out music from your artists? I applaud Kelly for standing her ground to make this album. Her Album!! Rremember, even though her past work was great, it was not Anyone who listens to this album and can't cheer Kelly Clarkson, I say "Whaaaa" These are Kelly's most strongest vocals and lyrics yet. And yes, it is bitter in parts, but seriously do you always want the same churned out music from your artists? I applaud Kelly for standing her ground to make this album. Her Album!! Rremember, even though her past work was great, it was not hers. Kelly owns this record and I love it. Don't get stuck in a rut with music. Art is form and content.. Expand
  4. AustinC
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    Kelly Clarkson has became known as the girl who does incredibly addicting and catchy pop music. Her sophomore album, 'Breakaway,' was all about that. Yes, it was fantastic, and probably one of 2004's best albums. However, 'My December' is much better. At first, it's a shock to hear this deeper, more raw side of Clarkson, but listen closely. Give the album two Kelly Clarkson has became known as the girl who does incredibly addicting and catchy pop music. Her sophomore album, 'Breakaway,' was all about that. Yes, it was fantastic, and probably one of 2004's best albums. However, 'My December' is much better. At first, it's a shock to hear this deeper, more raw side of Clarkson, but listen closely. Give the album two or three more tries. You'll soon see that 'My December' is easily Kelly Clarkson's best album to date. The lyrics are strong and deep meaningful. Some standouts in the lyrics definitely belong to "Sober." Just check out the first verse: "And I don't know/This could break my heart or save me/Nothing's real/Until you let go completely/So here I ho with all my thoughts/I've been saving/So here I go with all my fear/Weighing on me". Not only are the lyrics simply amazing, but the instrumentals to all the songs are a mature pop/rockers bliss. Some of the best instrumentals can be heard in "Never Again," "Haunted," and "Judas." All have spine-tingling strings and the drums are outstanding. It's raw and real. It's an album you can sit and listen to all the way through without skipping a single track. It's is depressing that the album lacked promo and especially lacked in singles. "Never Again" and "Sober" were the US singles. "One Minute" and "Don't Waste My Time" were international singles, but didn't have very good promo at all. You can thank Clive Davis for that. There were many hits on this album, it's just that people needed time to get used to this side of Clarkson that they weren't used to seeing. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    This is (along with Breakaway) one of the best Kelly albums! Is 2013 now, and still is a master piece. Very personal, dark (even though "BR album" is as dark as this one), rocker and souful. MAYBE is by far a master piece, Irvine, Sober, Haunted, Yeah, Fading are so perfect. I think for the most of people, they have to be in "the mood" for get into it and see its greatness. This album isThis is (along with Breakaway) one of the best Kelly albums! Is 2013 now, and still is a master piece. Very personal, dark (even though "BR album" is as dark as this one), rocker and souful. MAYBE is by far a master piece, Irvine, Sober, Haunted, Yeah, Fading are so perfect. I think for the most of people, they have to be in "the mood" for get into it and see its greatness. This album is the reason that I ended for having respect for Kelly as an artist and not just as another poppy singer out there. Many people were influenced by media and got blinded for appreciate all the beauty about this jewel. And if you add the Clive Davis complot, that's why this album "didn't got well" (fyi this album sold over 1Million in US... So, I don't get the hate) and stopped its potencial to be a huge success as it deserved... Orgullosa de ser fan de una artista y verdadera cantante como Kelly So proud to be her fan! Expand
  6. MatthewT.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    A wonderful album that speaks of troubles of life. I think this album exceeds any expectations I had on it. It showed Kelly Clarkson's talent as a songwriter and though it doesn't have its infectious pop tunes like Breakaway, artistically, it soars. Great Job Kelly
  7. MilesD.
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    If you don't like this album, you don't like Kelly Clarkson. Period. This is by far her best work to date -- and it is HER work, what she has to say in the way she wants to say it. It is emotional, sometimes immature, often touching, stirring, beautiful. It is rock, not pop, with plenty of cool riffs, muscular guitars and growling bass. Clarkson doesn't use her vocal If you don't like this album, you don't like Kelly Clarkson. Period. This is by far her best work to date -- and it is HER work, what she has to say in the way she wants to say it. It is emotional, sometimes immature, often touching, stirring, beautiful. It is rock, not pop, with plenty of cool riffs, muscular guitars and growling bass. Clarkson doesn't use her vocal talents to show off -- which she could be excused for doing, given her astounding treasure-chest of tone, control, power and expression. Instead, there's a straightforwardness about her performances, with the raw and honest lyrics dictating her delivery. There are plenty of great moments on My December, but Clarkson's point here is the whole, not its various parts. This is an album that stands up to repeated listening, and one that will age much better than her previous two flashier hit-making outings. My only complaint? Several of the songs cry out for head-turning guitar solos that never happen. Maybe next album. Overall, My December is proof that Kelly is here for the long haul, and it's going to be a great ride. Expand
  8. HarryU.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    I still wonder why most of the comments sent by the public are so annoying. Kelly, your album is extremely awesome. Everything people tend to say is not true. For me, your album is always the best. Futhermore, it is much better than any other female artists like the thin Avril or the disgusting Nelly Furtado. And of course far better than the 'talking rather than singing" Fergie. A I still wonder why most of the comments sent by the public are so annoying. Kelly, your album is extremely awesome. Everything people tend to say is not true. For me, your album is always the best. Futhermore, it is much better than any other female artists like the thin Avril or the disgusting Nelly Furtado. And of course far better than the 'talking rather than singing" Fergie. A huge appreciation from me for publishing this overwhelming CD. I really love Never Again. It's so rebellious and sincere. Just one more thing Kelly, i would like to affirm that Simon was absolutely right about you. I was not strong enough to deny it. Expand
  9. noahS.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    She made a CD that is about love and the hurt and pursuit. She is 25 and so am I , I understand what it is like to have my heart broken everytime. This is a stepping stone to the next album. I love My december and think you just need to stop expecting a pop princess and listen to "maybe" or "yeah"........you have to listen to it to hear the story.
  10. ElizabethT
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    This album is less poppy, and it harder to find classic "Kelly Clarkson singles" like in breakaway. Kelly's amazing vocals and lyrics that sound like they're coming from the heart, make this her best record yet.
  11. PatrickY.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    The BEST ALBUM EVER~!!!!!! Her voice is as angelic as her beautiful body
  12. ZonieZen
    Sep 20, 2007
    8
    Fine album. although breakaway was much much better.
  13. Annie
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    I didn't like this album at first, but gradually, i found myself addicted to it, can't stop listening to it. All songs are great.
  14. AndrewL
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    Kelly out does herself! Who cares if it's not "Breakway Part II"--this is way better!
  15. TimT
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    I know I'm one of a very few, but I wasn't an immediate fan of Kelly's last album, "Breakaway." So I'm probably one of a very few again in that I loved "My December" on first listen. Sure, there are a couple of songs that I consider "filler," but I hear a lot of hook-y, radio friendly fare ("One Minute," "Can I Have a Kiss," ) and some great concert anthems ("Hole," I know I'm one of a very few, but I wasn't an immediate fan of Kelly's last album, "Breakaway." So I'm probably one of a very few again in that I loved "My December" on first listen. Sure, there are a couple of songs that I consider "filler," but I hear a lot of hook-y, radio friendly fare ("One Minute," "Can I Have a Kiss," ) and some great concert anthems ("Hole," and "Yeah,"). Clive Davis can bite me... Kelly's here to stay! Expand
  16. IsraelP.
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    Finally some real music, Thank God she didnt go all bubblegum teeny bopper stuff!!
  17. LukasX
    Jun 26, 2007
    8
    First things first, yes, there's no "Since U Been Gone Part 2" on My December. What it does have is a pop singer growing into a legitemate artist. Although there are some misfires ("Judas"), it's worth it for the many moments of brilliance (the new wave-y "How I Feel", the sexy and subtle "Be Still", the heartwrenching "Sober" and "Irvine"). If you're looking for a pretty First things first, yes, there's no "Since U Been Gone Part 2" on My December. What it does have is a pop singer growing into a legitemate artist. Although there are some misfires ("Judas"), it's worth it for the many moments of brilliance (the new wave-y "How I Feel", the sexy and subtle "Be Still", the heartwrenching "Sober" and "Irvine"). If you're looking for a pretty singer singing pretty songs written by middle-aged men, don't get this album. If you're looking for honesty, growth, and good music, go get it. Expand
  18. RobertW
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    On this, Kelly Clarkson's third album, she has become a true star. I have always liked Kelly, but now I am a full-blown convert. The song "Sober" is heartbreaking..."How I Feel" is fun and peppy..."Irvine" is dark and sad. Ms. Clarkson has come into her own and the musical landscape is richer for it.
  19. [Anonymous]
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    Kelly's third album displays the artist's writing and vocal talent at its best. Every song is ingrained with intense emotion and feeling. The album is indeed much darker, though that isn't a bad thing in this case. Most of the songs aren't your traditional verse-chorus songs--which will hinder the album's radio play--but are more creative and artful. If you are Kelly's third album displays the artist's writing and vocal talent at its best. Every song is ingrained with intense emotion and feeling. The album is indeed much darker, though that isn't a bad thing in this case. Most of the songs aren't your traditional verse-chorus songs--which will hinder the album's radio play--but are more creative and artful. If you are expecting another "Breakaway," this album isn't for you. But if you want to hear what Kelly Clarkson is truly all about, then go out and buy this album. Then again, who wants another "Breakaway" anyway? Expand
  20. MarissaG
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    This album is full of emotion and vocal ranges that surpass any "artist" out right now. It isn't that much of a change in direction but people might stray because they are only used to formula music.
  21. kenm.
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    Great album!! Give it a chance! It grows on you. Granted, there aren't any bubblegum hits here, but there is a lot of great music, and isn't that what it's all about? Americans are missing out on a lot of great female music! Madonna, PINK, Xtina Aguilera, all released really good albums, which have been massive hits around the world, except in the US? I don't get it. Great album!! Give it a chance! It grows on you. Granted, there aren't any bubblegum hits here, but there is a lot of great music, and isn't that what it's all about? Americans are missing out on a lot of great female music! Madonna, PINK, Xtina Aguilera, all released really good albums, which have been massive hits around the world, except in the US? I don't get it. Are Americans only into RAP and easy bubble gum pop? Expand
  22. GGDR
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    Strong album, with a diverse sound that overall portrays an ominous tone . She favors her established rock sound and explores different tonalities in that range -- delving deeper and more into her psyche and personalizes these songs more than any of her previous material. Beyond the established single 'Never Again,' 'Haunted' and 'Sober' were two Strong album, with a diverse sound that overall portrays an ominous tone . She favors her established rock sound and explores different tonalities in that range -- delving deeper and more into her psyche and personalizes these songs more than any of her previous material. Beyond the established single 'Never Again,' 'Haunted' and 'Sober' were two highlights... Like 'Breakaway' before it, this is not a one-pass CD that one hears and likes anything and everything instantly. After a few listens, the songs and sounds and emotions start to seep in... It's like a fine wine -- with time the flavors of the album start to truly come out beyond the initial shock of deepness that Kelly has presented. Bubblegum pop like 'Thankful' and half of 'Breakaway' can quickly lose its flavor; this is a much bolder taste that will take some getting used to for some listeners. Expand
  23. BrandonH
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    As most have said, this isn't a complete departure from kelly's previous work, but it is something new. The songs are heavier (even the most radio friendly "Never Again") and more personal. Kelly continues growing as an artist, this is proven with "My December".
  24. bruce
    Jun 27, 2007
    8
    This album is actually pretty solid, and definitely a giant leap forward for Ms. Clarkson artistically. Sober and Irvine make it wortht he proce of admission alone.
  25. wellinton
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    This album with certainty came to revolutionize pop/rock, with led strong but also with ballads very produced well
  26. ROBERTOJ.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    PERFECT ALBUM, IM TOTALLY ADDICTED TO IT, CANT STOPPING LISTEING! SOBER, MAYBE AND CHIVAS ARE THE BEST, BUT MY FAV ONE EVER IS HAUNTED!
  27. Maurice
    Jun 28, 2007
    8
    A consistent personal statement from an artist. There are two or three singles on this record - "How I Feel" and "One Minute" come to mind. Are they number one songs or big time pop-rock hook songs, in a word, no. Just let this record be a Kelly release. She can hopefully get some long term fans that care about her music and will follow her releases. She can do a smaller tour, get back in A consistent personal statement from an artist. There are two or three singles on this record - "How I Feel" and "One Minute" come to mind. Are they number one songs or big time pop-rock hook songs, in a word, no. Just let this record be a Kelly release. She can hopefully get some long term fans that care about her music and will follow her releases. She can do a smaller tour, get back in the studio and do one for the label and pop world. Why must every record be bigger than the last or more of the same? Why must every release match the so-called best record of the artist's career? Alansi never made a record that captured the magic of her breakthrough, but made some great records along the way. Kelly is on a nice journey and has a great voice. I like this record, not as much as Breakaway, but I like it. I am looking forward to hearing what she does next. I am sure that John Shanks or Max Martin or Glen Ballard or some hitmaker will get a nice pay day to write the hits that make the cash registers sing. Expand
  28. Chris
    Jun 28, 2007
    9
    Kelly's hand at songwriting and production of My December is impressive. The team she worked with deserves credit as well. I always wondered if she was the "real thing" I can't wait to hear another creative effort from Miss Kelly Clarkson! I personally wouldn't mind some country blues, or an all acoustic album of the "favorites" including some live B-sides.
  29. Kat.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    'irvine' is stunning
  30. AmyK
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing! No, it is not candy pop that will be played to death on the local Pop station but it is true talent. It will, quite honestly, not sell like Breakaway but that is because there are not those catchy Top 40 hits on this album. Refreshing to see an artist refuse to sell out to the almighty dollar in favor of producing one of the most heartfelt compilations I have ever heard. Amazing! No, it is not candy pop that will be played to death on the local Pop station but it is true talent. It will, quite honestly, not sell like Breakaway but that is because there are not those catchy Top 40 hits on this album. Refreshing to see an artist refuse to sell out to the almighty dollar in favor of producing one of the most heartfelt compilations I have ever heard. Don't tell me you can listen to "Sober" and "Irvine"(my personal fave) and not be impressed and effected. "Haunted" is a really uniquely great track and "Be Still" is both catchy and quite beautiful. Check out "Chivas" as the bonus track that is quirky, folksy and sure to cause a laugh. Way to go Kelly! Your real fans will appreciate this piece of work. Who cares what Clive and all those bubble gum babies think!! Expand
  31. ashleys
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    this album is far from being as bad as what a lot of people are making it out to be. it shows a totally different side to her as a perfromer and a person. what else do people want? its seems like mainstream artists get criticised for not being edgy enough, but then when they try to take a different direction they get slated for not being commercial enough. kelly can pretty much sing this album is far from being as bad as what a lot of people are making it out to be. it shows a totally different side to her as a perfromer and a person. what else do people want? its seems like mainstream artists get criticised for not being edgy enough, but then when they try to take a different direction they get slated for not being commercial enough. kelly can pretty much sing anything she wants (even opera apparently), her voice is amazing. it would be so incredibly easy for her to take songs from any professional song writer and have hits with them, but wheres the challenge in that? its boring. if she has the chance to do what she wants and take some control, she can grow as an artist but if not, she could still be singing the same stuff in 10 years time. and that would be a waste of a talent. good job shes defiant really. im giving the album 8 and adding an extra point for her integrity =] Expand
  32. mikeb.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    This Cd is for the people who know what pain feels like it comforts me to know that someone has been there.
  33. toddr.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    She is at the top of HER game. This is who she really is. This is the first time people hear her.......breakaway had "hear me" and "addicted" they were the best songs on the album.....buy it listen to it and try to realize this is for the people that don't live in the mainstream.
  34. mikec.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    This album is awesome.. its like every song tells a story.. great emotions!
  35. migueld
    Jul 4, 2007
    8
    I really like this album.
  36. BrianC.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    Amazing album. I already like it better than Breakaway (and I LOVED Breakaway). I'm trying really hard to stop listening to it over and over again for fear that I'll start getting sick of it! It has a really good mix of sounds that works on many levels. For a more pop/rock sound, listen to Never Again, Don't Waste Your Time and How I Feel. For a softer, more mature sound, Amazing album. I already like it better than Breakaway (and I LOVED Breakaway). I'm trying really hard to stop listening to it over and over again for fear that I'll start getting sick of it! It has a really good mix of sounds that works on many levels. For a more pop/rock sound, listen to Never Again, Don't Waste Your Time and How I Feel. For a softer, more mature sound, listen to Irvine, Chivas and Sober. Those 3 are the best songs on the album and shows a great deal of artistic growth from Ms. Clarkson. Go buy the album now!! Expand
  37. SabrinaG
    Aug 13, 2007
    10
    I love this album!
  38. JanH.
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    I really don't get what there is not to like about this album. It is real and authentic. Kelly proves she she is a real artist. vocally, this is by far kelly's best album.
  39. SelinaL.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    Great album kelly. This album is the best!I love the "yeah" song, this album really shows feeling and passion and what life is really about.Everybody should be like you!Too many people are listening to a load of bull like these stupid love songs like thats all life is about just falling in love over and over again and how its sooo special and how they made mistakes blah blah blah but you Great album kelly. This album is the best!I love the "yeah" song, this album really shows feeling and passion and what life is really about.Everybody should be like you!Too many people are listening to a load of bull like these stupid love songs like thats all life is about just falling in love over and over again and how its sooo special and how they made mistakes blah blah blah but you aren't like that and thats whats great about this album the most, a strong woman and not all these weak lovey dovey i need a boyfriend to help me live popstars. We need more people like you Kelly! Rock on! Expand
  40. MelissaB.
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    Clive Davis was wrong and so are all of the other critics who give this CD a low rating. This music has substance!! It is awesome. The lyrics very unique and different. Can I have a Kiss is my personal favorite. "Don't move, I want to remember you just like this" What words! Also love Judas! Great great great music. Go Kelly, keep writing and doing what you do.
  41. VictorH.
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    Kelly's My December shows how far she can go with her voice ability, and writing ability. Tracks such as "Can I Have A Kiss?" present Kelly's view on simple things, on her way, and also with the ok-I'm-fine "How I Feel". Kelly's lowest point, in sadness, are shown in "Irvine". It, plus "Chivas", ends up the album with a "golden key". My December hasn't shown the Kelly's My December shows how far she can go with her voice ability, and writing ability. Tracks such as "Can I Have A Kiss?" present Kelly's view on simple things, on her way, and also with the ok-I'm-fine "How I Feel". Kelly's lowest point, in sadness, are shown in "Irvine". It, plus "Chivas", ends up the album with a "golden key". My December hasn't shown the world what it can do yet. Expand
  42. Diego
    Mar 12, 2009
    9
    This CD will become appreciated within time. The haunting and intimate feeling of Irvine, the incredible composition of Sober, and the funky anthem How I Feel are all reasons that this is the best of Kelly's 4 albums even if it did not sell millions of records and make RCA as rich as they'd like to be. Platinum is not a failure.
  43. KevinB
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    Great stuff! Lightyears ahead of Breakaway in quality material (but not in hits). She is a true artist.
  44. ManuelS
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    Great
  45. rodneyc
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    Kelly Clarkson really shines, even with such a darkened tone album. I could easily say it's nothing like Breakaway and say all these negative comments, but in reality Breakaway was more of a stepping stone to a true artist. This is Kelly's REAL first album. The first one she put more of herself into than anything she's ever done. The first with her own experiences really Kelly Clarkson really shines, even with such a darkened tone album. I could easily say it's nothing like Breakaway and say all these negative comments, but in reality Breakaway was more of a stepping stone to a true artist. This is Kelly's REAL first album. The first one she put more of herself into than anything she's ever done. The first with her own experiences really crammed into the lyrics. And also the first she's really had any kind of say or control over. You may not like it if you were set on a Breakaway 2.0, but if you love REWAL music with REAL lyrics and a whole lot of imperfections, then you get an amazing ride. Expand
  46. PatA
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    Easily her best piece of work - its eclectic, inspiring, addictive. Kelly Clarkson is more than a great singer but also a truly talented songwriter.
  47. alexm.
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    This album shows much of her musical development and the results are remarkable.
  48. JD
    Jun 26, 2007
    8
    For the record this is the first Kelly Clarkson CD I ever bought. It seemed there was no need to buy her previous 2 since they were played CONSTANTLY on the radio. I am actually hoping this CD doesn't do as well as those 2 since I generally enjoy the majority of these songs and don't want them to saturate the airwaves. Sure it's a little grittier, a little darker, but For the record this is the first Kelly Clarkson CD I ever bought. It seemed there was no need to buy her previous 2 since they were played CONSTANTLY on the radio. I am actually hoping this CD doesn't do as well as those 2 since I generally enjoy the majority of these songs and don't want them to saturate the airwaves. Sure it's a little grittier, a little darker, but it's not Marilyn Manson or anything (who I actually like a lot). Without a doubt Kelly has a great voice and is starting to take some risks with her music. For that I comment her and wish her success with this very decent CD. Expand
  49. PeteT.
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    Fine album. I'm impressed.
  50. stfuSusanu
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    this album is amazing.
  51. TomC
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    This is by far her best cd and the best cd for 2007!! She is definitely going to prove Clive wrong when the sales are released next week!!
  52. ChrisB.
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    Amazing vocals from one of the best singers in today's music. Definitely give the album a chance; even though it may take a few listens to get in to, each song has it's own unique sound. It really does become more enjoyable on repeated listening.
  53. MichaelP
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    An amazing album. SO much better than Breakaway. It's not as mainstream which may take some getting use to but after a few listens, this album really transcends above it's predecessor.
  54. DianaL
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    This is a great album from an evolving artist. It's not perfect, but it comes very close. There's a clear growth in maturity and style from her previous 2 albums. Kelly's extremely versatile vocals are highlighted by the great production, and are outstanding here and aside from a few clunky lyrics, she delivers on all levels. I highly recommend this album. Espcially "Hole", This is a great album from an evolving artist. It's not perfect, but it comes very close. There's a clear growth in maturity and style from her previous 2 albums. Kelly's extremely versatile vocals are highlighted by the great production, and are outstanding here and aside from a few clunky lyrics, she delivers on all levels. I highly recommend this album. Espcially "Hole", "Sober", "Irvine", "Chivas", and "Maybe". Expand
  55. shannonk
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    This CD is miles better than anything on radio right now and is a real progression from her last effort. Kelly has shown growth and maturity as an artist, which in today's money driven music business is no small feat.
  56. DiGwen
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    Kelly's best album to date. I love how every song is different.
  57. JulieW
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    This album is brilliant. Each song is it's own, unlike some albums where every song sounds the same. The lyrics are so raw and emotional. I just am amazed at how great this cd is. I wasn't sure what to expect with all of the drama, but it has far exceeded my expectations. Great job, Kelly!
  58. RyanS
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    a lot deepeer than "Breakaway"....definately hear some hits!
  59. lizzy
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    amazing album! it's very personal, and her voice sounds great. I think it's her best so far...
  60. BenjaminR
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    Have read all the hype surrounding this album - don't understand what the fuss is all about. This album is about growth. Some people want to call KC a lightweight pop Idol winner and write her off. Go listen to 'Irvine'. It's stunning. KC was right to tell label management where to get off - whether their name is Clive or whoever. This album might not sell 11M Have read all the hype surrounding this album - don't understand what the fuss is all about. This album is about growth. Some people want to call KC a lightweight pop Idol winner and write her off. Go listen to 'Irvine'. It's stunning. KC was right to tell label management where to get off - whether their name is Clive or whoever. This album might not sell 11M copies...., but it's something a real artist can be proud of. Expand
  61. JeffK
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    Not as good as Breakaway but still an excellent album with stunning vocals as usual from Kelly. Sober, Haunted, Can I Have a Kiss, and One Minute are the highlights for me.
  62. JCR.
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    A very pleasant surprise after all the negative hype. It's NOT a pop album, so get over it already! There will not be 7 hit singles from it. Big deal! When's the last time you hear your favorite artist on the radio? Let alone your favorite track from an album? Kelly took a risk, and I think it paid off. This is a very mature, edgy, heartfelt collection of songs and she earns A very pleasant surprise after all the negative hype. It's NOT a pop album, so get over it already! There will not be 7 hit singles from it. Big deal! When's the last time you hear your favorite artist on the radio? Let alone your favorite track from an album? Kelly took a risk, and I think it paid off. This is a very mature, edgy, heartfelt collection of songs and she earns (more) my respect for it Expand
  63. JoeyG.
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    "Irvine"/"Chivas" is worth the price of admission alone.
  64. jasonb
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    Love the new album! ... my faves: "Sober" "One Minute", "Dont Waste Your Time", "Maybe", "How I feel" and of course "Never Again"!
  65. AbrahamS.
    Jun 27, 2007
    8
    kelly is amazing i think she has one of the best voices ever and with this new material she show eveyone
  66. Mikem
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    I think this albums great but I don't think its gonna do to well I tend to like stuff thats more out there and independent movies. So for people like me you'll love the album. Next time listen to Clive hes been in this business for a very long time and knows what hes doing.
  67. TheresaC
    Jun 28, 2007
    9
    Beautifully put together tracks. Very intimate and moving. A refreshing change from many other pop artists that need to sample old hits to try to make new ones or have no ties to what they sing.
  68. AnneliseR.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    This is her best album!! Sober is hypnotic as Clarkson said...And How I feel is so cool...Simply AMAZING...I loved How I feel, Don't waste your time, HAUNTED (the best), Never Again (of course), Can I have a kiss (very sweet...), Judas, Hole, Maybe (oh God...I love that song)..And CHIVAS o/o/ ahahahah It's so funny...
  69. KAYG
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    I thought this cd was probably her best so far. Not as catchy as her earlier stuff but I like it a way batter
  70. stephaniew.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    I love this cd it shows growth not only as a person but a artist something we don't see much of relly these days .It haves have pop songs , rock songs, country, rnb songs something for everyone.It also meaniful lyrics that we all can relate to cause lets face it like is not perfact its not going to be happy all the time or bad either its some of both . This cd talks about both the I love this cd it shows growth not only as a person but a artist something we don't see much of relly these days .It haves have pop songs , rock songs, country, rnb songs something for everyone.It also meaniful lyrics that we all can relate to cause lets face it like is not perfact its not going to be happy all the time or bad either its some of both . This cd talks about both the good and bad times like a cd should .And i have to say im very impress with kellys writing on this cd there so much better than some songs out there today like for example hey hey hey i want to be your girlfriend yeah its catchy but its not meaningful.I think kelly will be make it through this rough time and come out on top and she will have a long carrer i know that for she i thank god for her . Expand
  71. NickyS
    Jun 28, 2007
    8
    This is Kelly's best album, by far, but the songs come off as a bit childish.
  72. HaleyGina
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    I think this is Kelly's best album yet. I love all the songs, but my most favorite are Hole, Sober, How I Feel, Maybe, Chivas, Never Again, Yeah and Judas. Good for Kelly! I'm glad she fought the good fight.
  73. Aaron
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    My December is an obvious transition from Breakaway. This is a true ALBUM, not just 8 songs packed in with 4 top ten hits. Each and every song on this album is a masterpiece; they all work together to tell a really heartbreaking story. For those who say there are no hits on this album, they are dead wrong. Never Again, the lead single for this album, has already become a top ten hit, My December is an obvious transition from Breakaway. This is a true ALBUM, not just 8 songs packed in with 4 top ten hits. Each and every song on this album is a masterpiece; they all work together to tell a really heartbreaking story. For those who say there are no hits on this album, they are dead wrong. Never Again, the lead single for this album, has already become a top ten hit, though admittedly not as catchy as Since You Been Gone; but this album has songs on it that I believe could be bigger hits than Since You Been Gone. One Minute could easily go no. 1 on the Hot 100 and become Kelly's biggest pop hit yet. Sober will probably become a top ten hit and reach the top of the Adult Contemporary charts. Maybe and Can I Have a Kiss could also become major hits for Kelly. This album is definitely worth purchasing and I can't wait to hear what else Ms. Clarkson has in store for us. Expand
  74. KennyH.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    this is an amazing album! can't understand the bad reviews of some.. listen the album a couple times and you won't stop playing it anymore! I did!
  75. JasonS.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    This album is amazing! Kelly has one of the best voices of our time and people who do not think so are crazy! :)
  76. PerryR.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    Great album!!!!!
  77. MichaelA
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    My December is Clarkson's best record to date. Although label execs worried over the lack of radio-friendly material, the album contains enough pop-rock to please Clarkson's old fans, and it also showcases her versatility to draw in new listeners. With raw acoustic ballads, powerful guitar-driven tracks, and both intimate and playful lyrics, My December brings a much-needed My December is Clarkson's best record to date. Although label execs worried over the lack of radio-friendly material, the album contains enough pop-rock to please Clarkson's old fans, and it also showcases her versatility to draw in new listeners. With raw acoustic ballads, powerful guitar-driven tracks, and both intimate and playful lyrics, My December brings a much-needed refreshment to music. Expand
  78. DonnaG.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    So it's not a pop bubble gum, hooky, anthemy album. It's shows Kelly's range and willingness to take risks. We know that it's coming from a personal place not from a label's song list.
  79. heywoodyablowme
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Good album
  80. DCh
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    at last something fresh and true in this artificial poppy world!
  81. MichaelP.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    v good, but not as good as breakaway.
  82. MattD.
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    Kelly was right, and Clive was wrong! This album has rock hooks, majestic ballads that give her voice room to emote, and even some fun in "How I Feel" and the power poppy "Can I Have a Kiss." The only song I didn't like was "Yeah."
  83. JBB.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    Kelly Clarkson is back, and better then ever. If you don't like Kelly Clarkson then you haven't listened with your sole. She is a personal as can get, and she will be here for a long long time! Kelly Clarkson RULES!
  84. qeemyphantom
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Best album ever from Kelly Clarkson.Breakaway is the best too but i think this album shows that Kelly is really versatile and have a variety in music.
  85. MMC
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    This is a great CD. Very relatable to anyone who has had past realationships that were ambiguous and at a crossroads. Took a few listens be cause I was trying to hear Breakaway. Much growth. Who needs catchy hooks in every song. Tell me a story I can relate to and jam on with meaning. That's what Kelly has done. "Maybe" is a very well written. I think probably the best track.
  86. BigAl
    Jul 25, 2007
    10
    Clarkson wrote most if not all of this album herself, which is probably why some critics hate it; they would rather hear a second version of regurgitated "Breakaway" songs than watch Kelly grow as a legitimate artist. It doesn't matter to me how catchy the songs are. I listen to music to hear real emotions written by real musicians, not professional songwriters hired by Clive Davis. Clarkson wrote most if not all of this album herself, which is probably why some critics hate it; they would rather hear a second version of regurgitated "Breakaway" songs than watch Kelly grow as a legitimate artist. It doesn't matter to me how catchy the songs are. I listen to music to hear real emotions written by real musicians, not professional songwriters hired by Clive Davis. Leave that kind of music to the 'tweeners and let Kelly perform for the grown adults. I look forward to hearing more of her original material. Expand
  87. JessicaM
    Jul 28, 2007
    8
    I have to admit that the songs on this CD aren't as catchy as the songs on her "Breakaway" album, but you can't expect an artist to just pull out hit albums from their butt all the time. With that said, I don't think that this album is in any way a failure either. I feel that Kelly made a more raw personal album with more emotion and a little more substance than some of the I have to admit that the songs on this CD aren't as catchy as the songs on her "Breakaway" album, but you can't expect an artist to just pull out hit albums from their butt all the time. With that said, I don't think that this album is in any way a failure either. I feel that Kelly made a more raw personal album with more emotion and a little more substance than some of the cookie cutter songs that she's done in her previous album. Also I feel bad that her record sales weren't as good as previous ones for whatever reason, and I hope she doesn't take it as a failure. Making an album isn't only about record sales...it's about the love of music and the passion of singing and expressing yourself. To me doing what you love is more important than just the sales. Expand
  88. LaurenceH.
    Jul 6, 2007
    7
    Not a fan of Clarkson's other work, I might say I am pretty thrilled with her latest outing. 'My December' may just look like your typical rock-chick screamout album, and I can understand some are seriously doubtful after the very bland 'Breakaway', but this one has a distinct truthfulness and edginess that raises it well-above the usual pop-crap album. I can now Not a fan of Clarkson's other work, I might say I am pretty thrilled with her latest outing. 'My December' may just look like your typical rock-chick screamout album, and I can understand some are seriously doubtful after the very bland 'Breakaway', but this one has a distinct truthfulness and edginess that raises it well-above the usual pop-crap album. I can now officially say Clarkson is now very far off from American Idol territory, and that talentless airhead Carrie Underwood & her lame ballads can crawl back under a rock after they hear 'Hole', 'Irvine' and 'Judas'. Expand
  89. AngieB.
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this CD and all of the songs on it. The first time I listened through it I wasn't impressed... but the more that I listen to it, the more real it is! She is showing her true heart and the lyrics in many of the songs have touched me to the core (especially Don't Waste Your Time and Maybe!). Love it, Kelly!
  90. RobertF.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    I have to admit I was a bit weary of this album due to the controversy surrounding it. That being said I love this album. The change in musical direction is obvious although not a complete 180. This album is one of the best this year. The songs are deep, personal and reflect Kelly at the crossroads in her life/career she is at and allows us to glimpse a little more of Kelly as a person I have to admit I was a bit weary of this album due to the controversy surrounding it. That being said I love this album. The change in musical direction is obvious although not a complete 180. This album is one of the best this year. The songs are deep, personal and reflect Kelly at the crossroads in her life/career she is at and allows us to glimpse a little more of Kelly as a person and artist. Her voice is undeniably powerful and it also makes these songs stand out. Songs like One Minute/Judas and Don't Waste Your Time are reminiscent if not a progression from Since You Been Gone and Behind These Hazel Eyes. Sober is a powerful ballad that is sung to perfection. Other standouts are the funky Yeah, The haunting Be Still. At the end of the day Kelly is a great song writer. If you were expecting this to be another Breakaway you may be shocked. This is less pop and more Kelly. Her passion and emotion is so evident in her songs. She is honest and true to her self and her music. This album is a shining jem in the over produced music world we are living in at the moment. This album will carry Kelly to new heights that nobody may ever have expected!! This album deserves huge success. Expand
  91. A.T
    Sep 2, 2007
    10
    I think this album is really a piece of art, i mean it's really a wonderful parade of emotions and depth, people just think that music is all about hits and fun things like " oh i like you boy i want you mine " or crap like that they forget that music is also a way of dealing with serious issues and this album is really great, i mean Kelly Clarkson has the most I think this album is really a piece of art, i mean it's really a wonderful parade of emotions and depth, people just think that music is all about hits and fun things like " oh i like you boy i want you mine " or crap like that they forget that music is also a way of dealing with serious issues and this album is really great, i mean Kelly Clarkson has the most wonderful/powerful/deep voice I've ever listened to! this girl is gifted and she's the best! keep on the good work I'm glad that we have someone like you who knows what's life and not like all the bimbo celebrities! i really love her ! you're an idol for everyone!your kindness and your smile! how you're so down to earth and how beautiful you are!you're a the one to look up to! Expand
  92. KenyZ
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    This album is not amazing... it is amaz-zing.
  93. Ameliaw
    Feb 10, 2009
    10
    Wonderful album! Since when is an album a joke because it has meaningful lyrics? You go Kelly! We love you!
  94. CarlosD
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    a KICK-ASS album by kelly, this is an ALBUM not just songs by different producers on a cd like her previous efforts, here she writes on EVERY song. The songs are great, maybe 1 or 2 that really do not work, but overall they are excellent, she shows great range. I praise her for actually being an artist, meaning that she just doesn't wait for the songs to be written for her, she goes a KICK-ASS album by kelly, this is an ALBUM not just songs by different producers on a cd like her previous efforts, here she writes on EVERY song. The songs are great, maybe 1 or 2 that really do not work, but overall they are excellent, she shows great range. I praise her for actually being an artist, meaning that she just doesn't wait for the songs to be written for her, she goes and makes her OWN music. My highligts for the cd are: Never Again, Irvine, Maybe, Can I have a kiss, Haunted, Sober and One Minute. Yes, its not anywhere near as catchy as "Since you've been gone" but what is? Expand
  95. Jr.F.
    Jun 26, 2007
    8
    The album is bursting with artistic growth, and even though, yes, the lyrics at times are juvenile there are occasional bursts of real maturity that suggest the things to come from Clarkson in the future ("I could crash and burn, but maybe, at the end of this road I might catch a glimpse of me"). This is most evident on the extremely affecting tracks "Sober" and "Irvine", two of the The album is bursting with artistic growth, and even though, yes, the lyrics at times are juvenile there are occasional bursts of real maturity that suggest the things to come from Clarkson in the future ("I could crash and burn, but maybe, at the end of this road I might catch a glimpse of me"). This is most evident on the extremely affecting tracks "Sober" and "Irvine", two of the album's best. There are one or two not-so-appealing songs, but for the most part it is a great record. Clarkson's voice is at times overly shrieky ("Haunted"), but it is also her voice that drives the record. From the bluesy calmess of "Be Still" to the soulful funk of "Yeah", and the agressiveness of "Never Again" to the fun confidence of "How I Feel", it's her voice that keeps you listening. This is not to say the band is unsatisfying, because this is the best group Clarkson has ever had backing her, they had even more to the blistering excitement of the rock tracks. No, there aren't a lot of obvious hooks as "Since U Been Gone", but this music is better- better than the formulaic pop of Breakaway. This is Kelly Clarkson the artist, not Kelly Clarkson the pop tart. Expand
  96. caladoniak.
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    Good stuff. This album really demonstrates her growth as an artist.
  97. katym.
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing album. Kelly goes in a different direction but it pays off, her voice is spot on!
  98. Tony
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    A great album! Better than Thankful but not as good as Breakaway!
  99. DanielS.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    Kelly Clarkson will eventually be considered one of the best females singers-songwriters of all time. This album shows her weight as an artist and I am truly surprised. Just like the first time I heard Radiohead's Ok Computer I know this is the album that will defined her career. "Irvin" is just a masterpiece.
  100. EliseS.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    A fabulous album from a fabulous performer. Highlight's include hidden track "Chivas," "Maybe" "Can I Have a Kiss," and "Sober."
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. She writes in bland generalities... and uses her opulent voice as a battering ram.
  2. Kelly Clarkson's darker, more personal, riskier third CD.
  3. There are no hooks, nothing to suck in the many adults that liked Clarkson's first two records.