Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. It does signal a turn toward a more thoughtful, artistically ambitious sound than before, not just maintaining the Scottish neo-prog quartet's penchant for forward movement but catapulting them out of minor-league status.
  2. My Heart Has a Wish That You Would Not Go is an album that could accurately be described as “lush”, “layered”, or “lovely”... an achievement for a band that made its name in noise and cacophony.
  3. There are too many special effects surrounding the messages-- Craig B's penchant for preadolescent vocals included.
  4. 40
    Too often, Aereogramme's tastefulness veers on the side of caution. [Mar 2007, p.75]
  5. Occasionally... it cloys. [Mar 2007, p.110]
  6. An album that sounds like it was written as a soundtrack to the best film never made. [20 Jan 2007, p.31]
  7. For the most part, My Heart is the sound of a good band overreaching.
  8. Here, Aereogramme have created something more than deserving of all the praise lavished upon it.
  9. 40
    Rafter-reaching wuss rock that might appeal to those who find Snow Patrol a little too heavy. [Mar 2007, p.86]
  10. There are elements of everything from Radiohead to Sigur Rós and even the shimmering beauty of the Cocteau Twins, yet their sharp songwriting conjures up Snow Patrol with less obvious strokes.
  11. There are no walls of distortion or crunching riffs; this time, they've traded all that for the beauty of Craig B.'s vocals and understated ambience. [Apr 2007, p.180]
  12. It is something brand new and completely unexpected.
  13. A bland alt-pop stew that meanders aimlessly.
  14. Whereas their back catalog centered on decidedly un-rogue waves of distortion, My Heart Has A Wish That You Would Not Go is a collection of quiet, often surreal songs that border on balladry.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. MattF
    May 14, 2007
    10
    this album is one of the best records that i've ever listened to. they use more strings on this one than any of their previous releases, this album is one of the best records that i've ever listened to. they use more strings on this one than any of their previous releases, but i think it suites craig's voice perfectly, giving the record an overall softer feel. they still maintain their heaviness but in a more dramatic and dynamic fashion, taking it up and down so smoothly that it is probably their easiest album to listen to, for those of you that can't handle the serious rock. these guys deserve much more recognition that they get, and in my opinon, the best album of 07 so far. Full Review »
  2. SianR
    May 11, 2007
    8
    Ive loved aereogramme since hearing A Story in White years ago. Went to see them live in feb after hearing 'My Heart...' only once- Ive loved aereogramme since hearing A Story in White years ago. Went to see them live in feb after hearing 'My Heart...' only once- they were excellent. While i dont think this abl is as good as White or Sleep and Release it is better than Seclusion which doesnt quite cut it. If you like any of Aereogramme's stuff you will like this. The highlights are Exits, A Life Worth Living and A Conscious Life for Coma Boy. Full Review »
  3. toml
    Apr 5, 2007
    10
    My favorite album of '07 so far. It's amazing to say the least.