Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 91
    YG's storm cloud is more inviting than most rappers' clear skies. [28 Mar 2014, p.63]
  2. Mar 20, 2014
    90
    Boldly, My Krazy Life is in the vein of Kendrick Lamar's good kid, m.A.A.d city, with a developed, knotty and, ultimately, deeply moral narrative.
  3. For such an expansive, detailed album, it can be hard to forget this is just his debut record.
  4. 83
    My Krazy Life is in essence a retooling of GKMC, and YG comes out, unexpectedly, as a talented and believable vessel for the story that the album tells to express itself.
  5. Mar 26, 2014
    81
    YG and DJ Mustard have been dress rehearsing for nationwide stardom all along, but My Krazy Life is ratchet music’s Technicolor reveal.
  6. Apr 18, 2014
    80
    My Krazy Life is a solid debut. [Apr/May 2014, p.81]
  7. Mar 26, 2014
    80
    This is the beauty of My Krazy Life, which manages to break the homogenous mould of the majors by retaining an unshakeable sense of local identity.
  8. Mar 20, 2014
    80
    YG may just want to party, but the layered storytelling displayed here proves he could be the next transcendent, endlessly original West Coast superstar.
  9. Mar 19, 2014
    80
    YG has grown mightily as a rapper, and because DJ Mustard, who produced more than half of the album, has found a way to make his sketches theatrical without sacrificing their urgency.
  10. Mar 18, 2014
    80
    There’s no desire to transcend West Coast inner-city values, and YG does traverse the hyphy and nighttime sounds with aplomb. But the thrills do have a comedown at some point. For the album as a whole, it’s the potentially ephemeral replay value because of its on-the-nose focus on 20-somethings mayhem.
  11. 75
    My Krazy Life dampens many of its heavy questions with refreshing musical forms.
  12. Apr 2, 2014
    70
    My Krazy Life is a successful debut album that achieves most of what it sets out to achieve.
  13. Mar 19, 2014
    70
    While My Krazy Life is YG’s debut, it feels more like an album-length celebration of Mustard’s ratchet revolution, a sound distilled from LA G-Funk, Atlanta snap and Bay Area hyphy.
  14. Mar 18, 2014
    70
    Think of 50 Cent's Get Rich or Die Tryin' delivered by an inspired rapper in a post-Nicki Minaj world and you're close to the thrill of this inspired debut.
  15. Mar 18, 2014
    70
    Though he doesn't quite have the narrative zeal of Kendrick Lamar or Ice Cube, YG rides beats with a singsong flow that's instantly winning.
  16. Mar 18, 2014
    60
    With the exception of “Me & My Bitch” (a tale of two way infidelity) wedged in between a festive midsection, the Pushaz Ink crew has pieced together a well sequenced and cohesive package with My Krazy Life, but this aspect and his street credibility aren’t enough to win over naysayers expecting an overall greater performance.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Apr 1, 2014
    8
    One helluva cohesive and solid debut from YG!

    It took me a week after it's release for me to play it all through cause of the fact over
    One helluva cohesive and solid debut from YG!

    It took me a week after it's release for me to play it all through cause of the fact over just how much I disliked his singles that followed up to this. More then expected, people and critics where giving this a lot of shine and praise, so I decided to check it out, once for all, seeing if it included any goods.

    A week from now (and two weeks after the release) I sat with the computer and plugged in the headphones. "My Krazy Life" started to play.
    The kick, the track "BPT" hit me with, I knew by then, my opinion of YG where going to be changed.

    ".. ni**a I'm from B-P-T".. my head was knoding, and from there and on, my whole through this I appreciated YG's work, even the singles, especially "Left, Right".

    YG might not be the most lyrical, that I've noticed.
    It's the perfect choice of beats he chooses to ride over with his smooth, bumpy flow and a on-point storytelling of a day in-life of YG in the neighbourhoods of Compton.
    YG knows what he is, he knows what he does best. And with the help of Mustard & co. YG released one fun, young, gangsta- west coast tape to be added on to the major releases of the west coast affiliated buddies Kendrick Lamar and ScHoolboy Q.

    YG turned a non-believer to a, sort of a believer. "My Krazy Life" is one fun listen with a classic feel of a "Doggystyle" and with a harsh pound of a "Straight Outta Compton". If not one top release, this might most definitely be the most entertaining we are going to come across an album in hip hop this year.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    This album was my introduction to YG and his music, the production is reminiscent to old school West Coast albums like Snoop's 'Doggystyle'This album was my introduction to YG and his music, the production is reminiscent to old school West Coast albums like Snoop's 'Doggystyle' and Dr. Dre's 'The Chronic 2001'. YG isn't the greatest lyricist in the game but it doesn't matter because he flows smoothly through DJ Mustard's production, songs are well written especially 'Sorry Momma'. The hooks are catchy, 'My Krazy Life' also has strong narrative it's YG's story and we are taken through the situations he went through, it's his equivalent to K-Dot's 'GKMC', we're provided context lyrically and through skits. 'My Krazy Life' has great features from TDE's 'Black Hippy' crew (except Ab-Soul), Drake and Ty Dolla $ign. The standout tracks for me are 'BPT', 'I Just Wanna Party', 'Meet the Flockers', 'Really be (Smokin N Drinkin)’, 'Sorry Momma' and 'Bompton'. The album is enjoyable and the beats are stellar it has a lot of replay value and I'm interested to see what direction YG takes for future projects. Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2014
    5
    Don't get it twisted, this album is not a ten. Tens are life changing albums, innovative albums, powerful albums, simply enjoyable and awesomeDon't get it twisted, this album is not a ten. Tens are life changing albums, innovative albums, powerful albums, simply enjoyable and awesome albums. This album is not any one of those. And yes, I understand it tells a story, wow that's great. But that only works if the songs are good. But Dj Mustards production is so slammin, poppin, banging, etc.,ect. But after a while, it is repetitive and to samey samey to provide any lasting impressions. At its best, this album is the good riding music, you're not really paying attention, but the beats knock if you don't listen attentively to them. The rapping, was lackluster. YG didn't grab my attention, over these kind've beats, you need to sound good. If you don't have the lyrical ability to keep me interested at least make it enjoyable to listen to. I understand that this is made for the streets, and in that case, it succeeds because it has lots of bass, and raps that talk about real, honest street stuff, real gangsta **** But overall, it was just hard for me to get through. I didn't really love any of the songs, none that I wanted to return to. And this is coming from a person who listens to a loooot of music, including all of the gangsta rap classics that this album is inspired by. This album just isn't as amazing as everyone says it is. Dat Jay Rock verse was dope though, now that's a gangsta album we need. Full Review »